View Full Version : Mike Kerley Is Gone

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

azizi
22/02/2009, 9:28 PM
4days ago i was blasted for "throwing rumours around"that kerley was gone.well my source seems to be right afterall.
as a fan of limerick soccer and as someone who genuinely would love to see limerick doing well i feel that if the current scenario thats happening with the management situation aint sorted out for once and for all that everyone might as well pack it in.fans are going to get very annoyed by it all and just say "what the hell,why would i bother supporting that lot".the whole thing is becoming laughable at this stage."mike was screwed over", "the club didnt support mike", "the club done everything they could to help mike and he was never happy".all it seems to be is a blame game for the pro and anti kerley supporters.
all in all the only ones in my opinion who will lose out are the players.from what ive heard limerick had a good squad of young,hungry,talented players most of who are local and who wanted to play with limerick.eventually if this whole farce aint sorted we are going to lose a load of talented players to other clubs because they will just get sick of all the uncertainty surrounding limerick on a constant basis aund the fans will get tired of it also.the whole thing needs sorting asap or else limerick may as well forget about trying to get a squad together.afterall the season id nearly upon us.

L37Ultra
22/02/2009, 9:53 PM
4days ago i was blasted for "throwing rumours around"that kerley was gone.well my source seems to be right afterall.
as a fan of limerick soccer and as someone who genuinely would love to see limerick doing well i feel that if the current scenario thats happening with the management situation aint sorted out for once and for all that everyone might as well pack it in.fans are going to get very annoyed by it all and just say "what the hell,why would i bother supporting that lot".the whole thing is becoming laughable at this stage."mike was screwed over", "the club didnt support mike", "the club done everything they could to help mike and he was never happy".all it seems to be is a blame game for the pro and anti kerley supporters.
all in all the only ones in my opinion who will lose out are the players.from what ive heard limerick had a good squad of young,hungry,talented players most of who are local and who wanted to play with limerick.eventually if this whole farce aint sorted we are going to lose a load of talented players to other clubs because they will just get sick of all the uncertainty surrounding limerick on a constant basis aund the fans will get tired of it also.the whole thing needs sorting asap or else limerick may as well forget about trying to get a squad together.afterall the season id nearly upon us.

Ya I know, why do we bother? :rolleyes:

22/02/2009, 10:08 PM

i have always been a fan of Mike, thought he was the bees knees with regard training etc. But his behavior in the last few weeks left a bitter taste, and one would have to ask why he was causing such problems? was he looking for a way out? has he been offered a more higher profile job with another club, perhalps assistant at cork city ;) as a local and one time loyal player and manager i wish him well in what ever club he finds in the comming week(s) His treatment of players such as Sheehan and white (two fans favs btw) might not endeer him to the fans either. we wont lose many players only the ones he MK ignored and insulted by his actions.

superhero
23/02/2009, 9:18 AM

NOC was ringing two players who mike didnt want in the squad and are now on their way to wexford youths.

I never knew Pat Purcell and Tommy Barrett had signed for Wexford, now that is big news!!

37Beour
23/02/2009, 10:30 AM
Declan Considine being interviewed during the week?? Is that what Live 95fm were hinting at on the 8am sports news today!:eek:

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 12:08 PM
I never knew Pat Purcell and Tommy Barrett had signed for Wexford, now that is big news!!

Gary Sheehan and Peter White. Doh!

KevB76
23/02/2009, 12:20 PM
Declan Considine being interviewed during the week??

I hear the club are to meet with a potential new manager tomorrow.
Its not Declan Considine, its not Noel O'Connor, it is not anybody local.

They have apparantly approached an experienced and respected league of Ireland manager, who is interested in working with Limerick, if they can agree the usual terms and conditions and all that.

Fingers crossed it all goes well, because if we get this guy, promotion is well and truly back on the agenda, and it'll be a clear statement of the ambition and professionalism of the people running our club.

harpin
23/02/2009, 12:21 PM
Declan Considine being interviewed during the week?? Is that what Live 95fm were hinting at on the 8am sports news today!:eek:

Interview Tuesday, don't know name of candidate

Treaty Gooner
23/02/2009, 12:23 PM
It's going to be Roddy isn't it...

23/02/2009, 12:28 PM

big swinging micky! but all your points have been shown to be incorrect so dont post up ****e like that again. For the rec NOC can contact whatever player he wants if their out of contract and he has several of their numbers as he used to manage them you know. You must also know that players and managers can be friends and as they all come from limerick forthem to have a phone conversation or whatever isnt big news. NOC and AR rang several players the night of wexfordgate but did you come on posting about that then? not a chance as it wouldnt be **** stirring enough!

tedd11
23/02/2009, 12:29 PM
Interview Tuesday, don't know name of candidate
ive been told its john gill(ex dundalk manger)would be a great appointment for limerick if it turns out to be true.was harshly treated getting the bullitt from dundalk after getting them promotion.

It's going to be Roddy isn't it...

be a laugh woudn't it.

KevB76
it's going to be roddy isn't it...

:D :D

no :(

harpin
23/02/2009, 12:32 PM
be a laugh woudn't it.

Collins, Mahon, Gill, Scully......we'll get Considine or NOC

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 12:40 PM
Collins, Mahon, Gill, Scully......we'll get Considine or NOC
Any of the first 4 would be a big show of intent,certainly keep a lot of the begrudgers on here quite.
All is not lost comrades....Keep the Faith!;)

KevB76
23/02/2009, 12:52 PM
Any of the first 4 would be a big show of intent,certainly keep a lot of the begrudgers on here quite.
All is not lost comrades....Keep the Faith!;)

All is far from lost - I went out to watch the squad training yesterday, there were 21 players looking fit and eager to get on with doing what they do best. With Dave Mahedy running the session (he's top class I hasten to add) there was a real buzz about the place. A line has well and truly been drawn behind the MK saga, the club and our players have moved on :ball:

Treaty Gooner
23/02/2009, 12:53 PM
Would they not be considered 4 mercenaries tho... Will it not be another Ski-like quick fix and land us back to square one next year?

Any local lads interested? Considine would be one I suppose, duno how the players would react to that tho. Not much to pick from I suppose.

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 12:59 PM
All is far from lost - I went out to watch the squad training yesterday, there were 21 players looking fit and eager to get on with doing what they do best. With Dave Mahedy running the session (he's top class I hasten to add) there was a real buzz about the place. A line has well and truly been drawn behind the MK saga, the club and our players have moved on :ball:

Great to hear That KevB76. Some good news at last. any sign of Shane Treacy there? Anyone know if he's still available to sign or has he committed to another club?

pimpong
23/02/2009, 1:34 PM
Great to hear That KevB76. Some good news at last. any sign of Shane Treacy there? Anyone know if he's still available to sign or has he committed to another club?
Shane Treacy done his knee again so i doubt he will be signing

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 1:59 PM
Pity that,looks like he's going to have a lot of trouble with that knee of his.

whitestripe
23/02/2009, 2:53 PM

Is that the same Dave Mahedy that ran Lim37 from UL? This was when they were without a place to train. He is top class alright, was he coaching them or just doing physical work?

thomas72
23/02/2009, 2:55 PM
roxboro under 7s are better run than LFC nowhere to train 1 friendly played with the season starting in 2 weeks and now with no manager. im not joking there 4a teams that play 5 or 6 friendly games before the start of the season and here we are our league of ireland team in tatters. im not having a go at limerick but can any of the die hards on here please explain what the **** is going on i was looking forward to this season i thought limerick fianly had a chance of going up. but yet again the club is ***** somethings never change

23/02/2009, 2:55 PM
Would they not be considered 4 mercenaries tho... Will it not be another Ski-like quick fix and land us back to square one next year?

Any local lads interested? Considine would be one I suppose, duno how the players would react to that tho. Not much to pick from I suppose.

Collins yes, Gill has something to prove after Dundalk so I'd say no, Scully is out of our price range I reckon and Mahon could never be called a mercenary in my opinion and is exactly who we need in charge of this club

whitestripe
23/02/2009, 3:02 PM
Would any of those mentionned settle with for the poor training facilities that MK had?

thomas72
23/02/2009, 3:05 PM
Would any of those mentionned settle with for the poor training facilities that MK had?

not a chance how can you expect a manager to work on set peices etc etc without some sort of desent set up

L37Ultra
23/02/2009, 3:10 PM
without some sort of desent set up

Go find a better set up in Limerick than UL's sport arena and your some man. ;)

whitestripe
23/02/2009, 3:12 PM
I hear the club are to meet with a potential new manager tomorrow.
Its not Declan Considine, its not Noel O'Connor, it is not anybody local.

They have apparantly approached an experienced and respected league of Ireland manager, who is interested in working with Limerick, if they can agree the usual terms and conditions and all that.

Fingers crossed it all goes well, because if we get this guy, promotion is well and truly back on the agenda, and it'll be a clear statement of the ambition and professionalism of the people running our club.

Best of luck to Lim37, everyone in the city would love to see the club do well but please don't delude yourself or others by using words like Professionalism? You only manageed to secure a place to train recently.

whitestripe
23/02/2009, 3:19 PM
Go find a better set up in Limerick than UL's sport arena and your some man. ;)

It depends what you want it for? Great for indoor sessions but very limited when it comes to outdoor training facilities for football.

23/02/2009, 4:15 PM

whats your beef dude? MK upset UL and UL were rightly ****ed but UL and Limerick are on good terms so id think training in UL shouldnt be a prob. But the lack of facilities was down to MK doing so your point doesnt stand up. Also his preferred training facility, sean coil in Corbally...the club signed a deal on that last week and are training there now reg so whats all this your going on about training facilities>> we have UL we have sean coil so where do you suggest we go for training?

23/02/2009, 4:20 PM
Best of luck to Lim37, everyone in the city would love to see the club do well but please don't delude yourself or others by using words like Professionalism? You only manageed to secure a place to train recently.

you use of the word "professionalism" i dont know anybody at Limerick Fc uses it as we are a semi prof club. while you stroke the "everybody wants to see Limerick fc do well" you then go back to the "you only" lark. Again the training facade and probs which you pertain to be problems were created by MK and are now solved so can you find some other gripe please

kev08
23/02/2009, 4:50 PM
tommy was trying to get transfered back to fairview last week a fairview man told me dis himself at the game yesterday must be bad down there:mad:

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 5:24 PM
I really hope the likes of whitestripe and thomas72 dont consider themselves as Limerick supporters.These are the kind of people we can do without.Nothing but negative comments and inaccurate facts as pointed out by Gael353.

KevB76
23/02/2009, 5:55 PM
Is that the same Dave Mahedy that ran Lim37 from UL? This was when they were without a place to train. He is top class alright, was he coaching them or just doing physical work?

Yes thats him. It was "just" physical work.

I am under no illusions my friend, trust me I'v been in business long enough to recognise a professional attiude. Its about getting your job done to the best of your ability with the resources that are available, and most importantly its about the respect you show to everone you deal with.

Kieran Judge, Andrew and all the volunteers running the club have always put the best interest of Limerick FC first and foremost - can you tell me the same was true of MK?
Do you think it would have been clever to pay a reputed €400 an hour for the training facilities MK wanted - do you think Limerick FC can afford that? How much money do you think the club takes in over the off-season?
Did Limerick FC get their 1st division licence for 2009 at the first attempt, without any drama? - who do you think was responsible for that?
Did you see Limerick FC make the headlines last season due to debts or unpaid wages or any of the crap we've had under previous regimes? - who do you think was responsible for that monumental achievement?
Who was at fault for the only bad press we got last year - Wexfordgate? The actions of our former manager costing the club 3 points, a €1000 fine and major embarassment.

Any manager in the league would have given his right arm to be in MK's position at the end of last season. One of the top performing squads in the latter half of the season, with club, players and fans all on a high and everybody fully behind him, MK could not have had an easier job over the last couple of months - all he had to do was tap into the good vibe and get all our players signed up and prepared for the coming season (he's one of, if not the only manager who didnt have his budget cut). How he managed to **** that up is unforgivable.
Instead he gave the cold shoulder to two of our best players, driving them away to Wexford of all places, and unsettled the rest of the squad with his hystrionics over training facilities (the club arranged the best facilities they could without bankrupting themselves before the season even starts). We are well rid of him.

KevB76
23/02/2009, 5:59 PM
tommy was trying to get transfered back to fairview last week a fairview man told me dis himself at the game yesterday must be bad down there:mad:

Backed the wrong horse, maybe ?

Treaty Gooner
23/02/2009, 6:22 PM
Instead he gave the cold shoulder to two of our best players, driving them away to Wexford of all places, and unsettled the rest of the squad with his hystrionics over training facilities (the club arranged the best facilities they could without bankrupting themselves before the season even starts).

This, the Wexford decision and the decision about White and Sheehan, there's just a hint of a witch hunt about it all. These three points seem very ambiguous.

1. He may have been right not to warm up in Wexford if there was a chance of injury-so what if nobody else ever complained about the facilities, maybe now clubs will stand up about issues rather than toeing the line.
2. The training situation may have unsettled players without Kerley even commenting on it, I mean, you tell any squad to train in a few different places every wk and see how happy they are about it - budget or no budget. It was always going to be a put up or shut up choice.
3. Was White really up to national league level? Sheehan, despite his qualities has already been spoken of as a headless chicken. Fans favourites they may have been but with Cummins, Tierney, Manjor and Ryan at the front, and O'Callaghan, Purcell, Tommy etc etc at the back, they were probably two that maybe could have been allowed to leave without much protestation.

There's a lot more than meets the eye to all this and after the impact Kerley has had on Limerick's fortunes, I think I'll be reserving judgement. There's one or two posters who have inside info and they're welcome to it but they were also the ones who less than two weeks ago were defending Kerley to the hilt. Sharpen the pitchforks lads.

Treaty Gooner
23/02/2009, 6:24 PM
Backed the wrong horse, maybe ?

Bit harsh considering the service the guy has given, don't you think? How many Limerick managers has he played under now? Think I'd be a bit tired of it all too.

KevB76
23/02/2009, 6:48 PM
Bit harsh considering the service the guy has given, don't you think? How many Limerick managers has he played under now? Think I'd be a bit tired of it all too.

Yes that was a bit harsh in fairness.

Treaty Gooner
23/02/2009, 6:54 PM
Yes that was a bit harsh in fairness.

Gentleman, KevB *doffs cap*

Not too many around here willing to take a 2nd look at their posts like that.

LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 7:30 PM
As i've said before the fact we've a relatively stable club,which is being run with an eye to the future,is far far more important than who manages the team right now.At least we have a full fixture list to look forward to this season unlike Cobh or Kildare(maybe) and Kilkenny only a few seasons ago.And only for the FAI bottled it a couple of the Prem clubs would be out of business also.
Lets just back the club and whoever is given the managers job.

4tothefloor
23/02/2009, 8:18 PM
Fans favourites they may have been but with Cummins, Tierney, Manjor and Ryan at the front, and O'Callaghan, Purcell, Tommy etc etc at the back, they were probably two that maybe could have been allowed to leave without much protestation.
If Chumka Manjor was regarded as a better striker than Gary Sheehan, then we are infinitely better off without Mike the Bike.... Personally I've always thought MK was a bit of a strange one - good football but poor man management, strange decisions and no presence on the touchline.

A good manager is worth his weight in gold - lets hope for once we can look beyond our own noses and give it to a proper experienced LOI manager who can work with the talanted players we have. Appointing another mediocre manager from Limerick is not the way to go. We're in a recession so let's not give it to NOC for one cos he'll just depress everyone even further. If he gets it I'll be watching paint dry instead of goin to the games. Get a decent manager in and stop the messing - If it's worth paying Andrew Mawhinney big bucks to be the CEO it's worth paying a decent manager to actually give it a go with the youngsters we have. Would love to see Pete Mahon or John Gill here :ball:

23/02/2009, 9:00 PM
If it's worth paying Andrew Mawhinney big bucks to be the CEO it's worth paying a decent manager to actually give it a go with the youngsters we have. Would love to see Pete Mahon or John Gill here :ball:

good to see you back "4", only thing is Andrew and all the volenteers are unpaid, and are out in Knockalisheen every day doing their bit for the club. great post by Kev above, free season ticket to that man :p

4tothefloor
23/02/2009, 9:34 PM
good to see you back "4", only thing is Andrew and all the volenteers are unpaid, and are out in Knockalisheen every day doing their bit for the club. great post by Kev above, free season ticket to that man :p
Never been away "G" :D, just couldn't be arsed posting anymore. It's turned in to a junior v senior moanfest on here most of the time

So Mawhinney is volunteering now? Hmm.......not up on the latest happenings, fair play if true, but I find that hard to be believe!

da bishop
23/02/2009, 9:51 PM
gael is spot on guys andrew is not getting any dosh,BUT,those high profile friendlys should...em....more than compensate for the lack of.

Monkfish
23/02/2009, 10:05 PM
must be bad down there:mad:
Been in Pikes shadow for a while now but a lot of peoples favourite for the FAI, so things hardly that bad regarding Fairview. :)

4tothefloor
23/02/2009, 10:09 PM
gael is spot on guys andrew is not getting any dosh,BUT,those high profile friendlys should...em....more than compensate for the lack of.
So in other words he is, it just depends on what he can bring in first. Was thinking the same, and is a fair agreement if true

kev08
23/02/2009, 10:42 PM
Been in Pikes shadow for a while now but a lot of peoples favourite for the FAI, so things hardly that bad regarding Fairview. :)
i was on about being bad down with limerick that hes thinking of going back junior footie

Monkfish
24/02/2009, 12:12 AM
i was on about being bad down with limerick that hes thinking of going back junior footie

Things are never that bad in fairness.

lfc at heart
24/02/2009, 8:44 AM
So Mawhinney is volunteering now? Hmm.......not up on the latest happenings, fair play if true, but I find that hard to be believe!

are you sure he is a volunteer, between himself and Kieran Judge last season they were getting €70k wages between then, imo even though KJ is doing a great job that wages is way over the top espectally seeing that he is only doing parttime, isnt he driving a cab as well,

24/02/2009, 10:33 AM
are you sure he is a volunteer, between himself and Kieran Judge last season they were getting €70k wages between then, imo even though KJ is doing a great job that wages is way over the top espectally seeing that he is only doing parttime, isnt he driving a cab as well,

shur give him a ring and ask him.

KevB76
24/02/2009, 12:11 PM

Thanks Gael, but I'll pay my €160 - the club needs the money. No freebies :(