View Full Version : Office antics

Mad Moose
19/02/2009, 12:34 PM
Bit of a strange one this but as I am a bit of a prankster about work I have exhausted most of my tricks around the place. From moving desks around the place to changing phones and setting up repetitive tasks on people's computers or stealing the office christmas tree and messing up decorations. I'm not a fan of prank calls because you can get a serious call and think its a prank but it doesn't stop me anyhow.

So I'm looking for a few fresh ones on this. Because work is a bit crazy at the minute so I don't find the time to get planning. Any ideas.

Brendan

19/02/2009, 12:36 PM
Sellotape on the phone usually works once (tape the bit under the receiver, so it keeps ringing after you pick it up).

Wolfie
19/02/2009, 12:45 PM
Reminds me of this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/fastshow/characters/colin_hunt.shtml

prince20
19/02/2009, 1:14 PM
Bit of a strange one this but as I am a bit of a prankster about work I have exhausted most of my tricks around the place. From moving desks around the place to changing phones and setting up repetitive tasks on people's computers or stealing the office christmas tree and messing up decorations. I'm not a fan of prank calls because you can get a serious call and think its a prank but it doesn't stop me anyhow.

So I'm looking for a few fresh ones on this. Because work is a bit crazy at the minute so I don't find the time to get planning. Any ideas.
Brendan
Try working instead of messing about, there is enough people unemployed and would love to have a job

Sligo Hornet
19/02/2009, 1:25 PM
Try working instead of messing about, there is enough people unemployed and would love to have a job

With your cheery disposition you'll retire in the same position!:(

19/02/2009, 1:34 PM
Little bit of black shoe polish on the earpiece of the phone. Tends to work better on Caucasian folks mind you...:D

kingdom hoop
19/02/2009, 1:59 PM

Well if you're out of work I'm currently casting for my latest play at the Drama School.
We're looking for a Queen and I think you'd be perfect!

19/02/2009, 2:03 PM
That's strange, a Wacky Prank Calls advert just above this very thread. Strange!

19/02/2009, 2:03 PM
Leave him off lads, he has a point. Back on topic though, please. Here's my contribution:

http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/electronic/b278/

That's strange, a Wacky Prank Calls advert just above this very thread. Strange!They parse the pages and deliver appropriate ads. That's why I use them, it's the best of a bad lot. :)

Lev Yashin
19/02/2009, 2:14 PM

Brendan

if you have ever watched the american office you'll see some crackers...like inserting a weight every day into someones handset so it steadily gets heavier and then one day taking them all out so they lift it fast and slap themselves in the head....of hiding someones mobile above the tiles in the roof and ringing it...

Wangball
19/02/2009, 3:08 PM
....of hiding someones mobile above the tiles in the roof and ringing it...

I like taking someone's mobile and taping it to the underside of their desk or chair and then ringing it.

Another old favourite is the poppoing and switching around of keys on the keyboard, the less obvious ones like switcking N with M...CLASS

19/02/2009, 3:37 PM
Send the newbie down to stores for a long stand.

corkboy360
19/02/2009, 4:17 PM

Brendan

Divert calls from someones phone to say for example there mams phone or one of their buddies mind you lot easier if you get their mobile;)or swap around peoples key's

willymccann
19/02/2009, 6:43 PM
a small bit of sellotape over the optical sensor on the bottom of a mouse is always funny - i've caught out a couple of lads in work with it - and they're all IT heads

19/02/2009, 6:55 PM
When the person is away from their chair, take off the the lock on the chair (assuming there is one and it's locked when the person uses it) so the next time they sit down they might fall back.

If the phone is a headset, unplug the connection and stick a piece of paper into it then re-connect the headset. The person on other end of phone won't be able to hear anyone the next time phone is used.

Sellotape the phone to the computer. Fairly annoying having to unwrap the whole thing:)

Hit the mute button on the other persons phone before, or even better during, a call.

Shut down their computer when they're in the middle of reading something on screen to a customer.

Stick a thumbtack on their chair.

19/02/2009, 7:10 PM
Change a number in their mobile phone, of the wife or the girlfriend, to the local police dept or an ex if you have it:D

19/02/2009, 7:26 PM
Our office sleaze ball old fella thought he was getting a loan of a hot porno video (a few years ago) off one of the lads in the office.

Later when he got home and hot gotten his missus off to bed and himself sat down on his own to watch it,he pressed play.

The tape started and looked promising but just when it got down to business
the tape cut to our office and there was the whole staff shouting at him telling him to button up his pants,etc,etc :D

(I had camcorded the office bit and stitched it into the tape)

I believe the dirty old goat nearly died of fright.

Mad Moose
19/02/2009, 7:36 PM
When the person is away from their chair, take off the the lock on the chair (assuming there is one and it's locked when the person uses it) so the next time they sit down they might fall back.

I've done a bit of messing around with the chairs but drew the line at causing somebody either the embarrassment or risk of injury. As a health and safety inspector I have to draw the line carefully right there.

Some cracking idea's up there. There's a bit to do around the phone so I may draw on a few ideas there.

When I worked in Ipswich there was an area called the 'break out area' between both sides of the floor. After weeks of discussion on possible interpretations of the break out area we managed to justify our actions, simultaneously ran out and screamed. The few that got the joke found it funny.

I've always had a thing for stealing christmas trees and the year before last I went a bit far designating it its own locker and heading to Ireland for christmas.I came back to all out war between two teams. One blamed the other for taking the tree. Queue my return to desperately try to calm down and appease. Tree returned with note stating 'I had to get away'. Signed tree.

Keep them coming anyhow. I'm clean out of ideas and haven't the time to dream as many up. Resorting to simpler methods at the minute.

prince20
20/02/2009, 8:31 AM
With your cheery disposition you'll retire in the same position!:(

Cant believe ye fell for my wind up folks!!!:p If any of ye knew me you would know im a complete messer, dont work in an office though.
Seriously though there are numerous things to do in an office. Have you tried putting salt in the sugar bowl for starters????

20/02/2009, 9:45 AM
Cling film on the toilet bowl...

I tend to wind up my colleague with Photoshop skits about them and leave them on his screen....

20/02/2009, 10:38 AM
When in college and computers were back to back I connected my keyboard to the computer opposite me and started typing "I am watching you" on the poor unsuspecting persons screen. They right freaked out.

Another thing I enjoyed doing was eating popping candy while on the phone and they would all complain about this weird crackling noise and I would say I couldnt hear it.

My dad used to be in a band and they used to play mad pranks on each other when on tour. He once put a massive breeze block in someone's suitcase and they carried it to the airport and onto plane (obviously well before the tight security of today).

One other time staying in a hotel the room next door where some of their band mates were staying had a colour tv and theirs was black and white. My dad got his roomate to go knock on their door at the time they were due to go downstairs to go on stage and when they left the room, my dad crossed the balcony and in through their window, opened their door, stole their tv, replaced it with theirs and legged it down back stairs to venue arriving on their heels. That night after the gig, the lads next door couldnt figure out how their once colour tv was now black and white. They rang maintenance and guy came up to fix it and laughed at them telling them it was never going to show colour as it was black and white.

anto1208
20/02/2009, 12:44 PM
You could sexually harrass the ladies thats allways a larff

Wolfie
20/02/2009, 12:55 PM
Leap to your feet brandishing an M60 and begin roaring at all the staff to "Get to the floor - or else - MotherF**kers".

Then outline your list of 10 demands that include a helicopter and the delivery of Girls Aloud to the office (Ginger one is optional).

To trick them into thinking your serious - shoot one or two.

The drawback of this prank is that it will only work once in my experience - as I'm currently posting from Mountjoy Prison.

20/02/2009, 2:11 PM
If someone leaves thier desk with their PC unlocked, go to their desktop and hit CTRL+A and Enter, to open all applications. Works great if there's loads of applications and the PC is a bit slow.

hunt4the
20/02/2009, 3:18 PM
When they're not around their pc, goto start> control panel>display and quickly load up a screensaver of an inappropriate picture of your choice from google images etc.., (massive pair of tits i find works best) and set it to come up when the pc is inactive for 5 mins.
Queue next time they leave their desk inappropriate pic left in full view of all office staff, bosses, managing directors (has happened)

ps this prank works repeatedly with excellent results everytime