View Full Version : Rovers v Longford Town

Rovers Maniac
17/02/2009, 2:39 PM
Anybody heading to this? I hope this Xano guy turns up :)

Rovers fan
17/02/2009, 2:43 PM
Might be going,if I can convince someone to come with me! Bus times are a wee bit tight aswell.

17/02/2009, 3:16 PM
Feo's going, so's Martinho. I was gonna but decided not to.

17/02/2009, 3:18 PM
Can't go as I have training tonight...Raging.

17/02/2009, 3:19 PM
Might be there myself, if I can find a ticket for not too far over face value..Ye'll probably win handy enough but sure it's a good test for us.

17/02/2009, 4:38 PM
im headin off myself in twenty mins when i am off this forum!!:p

atfconline
17/02/2009, 4:40 PM
Anyone know how good the floodlights are at the ground?

17/02/2009, 6:31 PM
Schlingerman
Noctor
Keohane
Feeney
Cash
Torpey
Cretaro
Ventre
McT
Fallon
Curry

17/02/2009, 6:42 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/702/1/

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 6:43 PM

Will there be regular updates or just half-time and full-time updates ?

17/02/2009, 6:45 PM
1-0, Cretaro penalty.

17/02/2009, 6:50 PM
Will there be regular updates or just half-time and full-time updates ?

Updated there.

Boo_Boy
17/02/2009, 6:55 PM
Put Xano on, he's my hero!!

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 7:04 PM
Put Xano on, he's my hero!!

Is he actually in the team tonight ?

17/02/2009, 7:16 PM
2-0, Paul Curry with the goal.

17/02/2009, 7:30 PM
updated again, subs included

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 7:32 PM
Half-time substitutions: Shaun Holmes for Danny Ventre, Ciaran Kelly for Michael Schlingerman and Alan Keane for Jason Noctor.

Boo_Boy
17/02/2009, 7:39 PM
Ahhhh, Ciaran Kelly back in a Rovers jersey :)

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 8:19 PM
Must be nearly over now, is it still 2-0 ? any word on how Holmes,Kelly and Keane are getting on ?

17/02/2009, 8:22 PM
3-0 final score. Owen Morrison with the 3rd.

17/02/2009, 8:28 PM
Must be nearly over now, is it still 2-0 ? any word on how Holmes,Kelly and Keane are getting on ?

they're sound

Keen2win
17/02/2009, 8:30 PM
Im after getting a text saying we lost 3-1???

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 8:37 PM
Sligo Rovers have beaten Longford Town 3-0 in Ballinasloe, with Owen Morrison marking his debut with a goal.
An experimental starting line-up saw a mixture of senior, "A" team and under-20 players. Rafael Cretaro opened the scoring from the penalty spot. The Tubbercurry man was brought down and he converted with ease.

Rovers had to wait until just before halt-time to score again and it was a special moment for Paul Curry Making his first appearance for the first team, Curry, struck on the stroke of half-time to give Rovers a comfortable lead.
The Bit o'Red made three changes at half-time. Shaun Holmes, Alan Keane and former Rovers goalkeeper Ciaran Kelly have been training with the club and they came on for the second half.

Stephen Parkhouse and Morrison also came off the bench to make their debuts for the club, with the latter finding the net on 80 minutes after a shot from 20 yards.
That signalled the end of the scoring in what was a useful run-out for Paul Cook's side in their first outing of the year. Rovers now face Dundalk in The Showgrounds on Saturday night

17/02/2009, 8:39 PM
do ya mind not putting that up without the link?

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 8:40 PM
do ya mind not putting that up without the link?

sorry, fixed it.

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 9:29 PM
Why was McT playing tonight ? was he not released ?

Rovers fan
17/02/2009, 10:00 PM
Made the second half(well most of it anyway):). Pitch was shocking,restricted it. Keane looked pretty good and morrison was eager too,scored a nice goal,just creeped over the line! No chances apart from that(in the 2nd half that is) apart from longford hitting the post. Good to see kelly back, will be adequate backup for dick. Parky looking to give a few flick ons to boco. A few ex-rovers players playing for longford including jim Sherian.Attendance of about 800 or 900,stu you can take that as an official figure.

Redkenrover
17/02/2009, 10:08 PM
Can I just say well done and full credit to the lads from the website for the updates during the match. Great stuff. Will this be a common thing for away games during the season?

Rovers Maniac
17/02/2009, 10:47 PM
Yes well done to the boys concerned for getting the info up there.

18/02/2009, 12:07 AM
Made the second half(well most of it anyway):). Pitch was shocking,restricted it. Keane looked pretty good and morrison was eager too,scored a nice goal,just creeped over the line! No chances apart from that(in the 2nd half that is) apart from longford hitting the post. Good to see kelly back, will be adequate backup for dick. Parky looking to give a few flick ons to boco. A few ex-rovers players playing for longford including jim Sherian.Attendance of about 800 or 900,stu you can take that as an official figure.

:eek: I'm sure that's taking the **** but there was about 100 or less there I'd say. Good second half after a bad first half once we got our better players on. Ye made a good few more changes than three at half time I would have thought it was more like 8 or 9. All the lads that were togged out in white warming up at half time came on.

redtildead
18/02/2009, 1:45 AM
Ya bout 100 or so there, his vision was possibly blurred,

No sign of any Xano fella.

Rovers fan
18/02/2009, 2:02 AM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;1107526 Ye made a good few more changes than three at half time I would have thought it was more like 8 or 9.[/QUOTE]

Everyone except cash and ventre came off at ht I think.

18/02/2009, 8:38 AM
Can I just say well done and full credit to the lads from the website for the updates during the match. Great stuff. Will this be a common thing for away games during the season?

Maybe the odd game but not really.

18/02/2009, 9:15 AM
Ahhhh, Ciaran Kelly back in a Rovers jersey :)

How did he play?

Jeebus
18/02/2009, 9:17 AM
Maybe the odd game but not really.

i.e. when Rory is sober..................which will be the very odd game I would say.

Fivesilver
18/02/2009, 12:12 PM
i.e. when Rory is sober..................which will be the very odd game I would say.

Ah, you beat me to it. :p

hoop4life
18/02/2009, 12:54 PM
fair play to rovers giving young lads a go. how did fallon, torpey and curry do? them three along with schlingermann in goal have a lot of potential.

sligofan4ever
18/02/2009, 12:58 PM
fair play to rovers giving young lads a go. how did fallon, torpey and curry do? them three along with schlingermann in goal have a lot of potential.

Curry scored one of the goals last night, and Schlingerman played in the first half.

Cloggs
18/02/2009, 2:55 PM
Curry scored one of the goals last night, and Schlingerman played in the first half.

is that paul curry who played with snugboro utd in the mayo super league last year?fair play to him

hoop4life
18/02/2009, 5:01 PM
is that paul curry who played with snugboro utd in the mayo super league last year?fair play to him

yes it is. good player. didn't see him much for snugboro but when he was with celtic he looked impressive. was up front when celtic won fai youths cup in 2007.

18/02/2009, 11:10 PM

It is not really about that, I'm not in the position at the moment to do it for the league games.Looking into options of people who can update it for away ones especially.

90minutes
19/02/2009, 9:20 AM
lads. was gary curran playing for longford

Rovers Maniac
19/02/2009, 9:50 AM

Ithink he came in the second half for them.

Rovers fan
19/02/2009, 12:33 PM

Ya played centre mid in the second half. Didn't get much of the ball. Gave a couple of simple passes but gave it away 2 or 3 times aswell.

Cloggs
19/02/2009, 12:34 PM
yes it is. good player. didn't see him much for snugboro but when he was with celtic he looked impressive. was up front when celtic won fai youths cup in 2007.

cheers for that.hope he gets on well and takes his chance with sligo.hes made a good start anyway