View Full Version : Bohs on Lifeline. Missing Money
17/02/2009, 12:47 PM
Joe Duffy has a caller on about someone from Schoolboy section absconding with money for trip away. Bohs won't take responsibility.
Jersey Cow
17/02/2009, 12:53 PM
Surprise surprise!!....o..yet they sign lads like Joseph Ndo!!
17/02/2009, 1:16 PM
Joe Duffy has a caller on about someone from Schoolboy section absconding with money for trip away. Bohs won't take responsibility.
Just to clarify, someone has absconded with Money raised for a trip away for the Bohs Schoolboys? A Bohs employee is it?
By Bohs won't take responsibility, I assume you mean that they won't stump up to replace the money that was raised? I'll leave the question of whether they should have had theft insurance in place to one side, but why exactly should Bohs be stumping up here? Isn't it a matter for the guards to find the money and get it returned at this stage?
17/02/2009, 1:26 PM
Just to clarify, someone has absconded with Money raised for a trip away for the Bohs Schoolboys? A.[QUOTE=tiktok;1106999]By Bohs won't take responsibility, I assume you mean that they won't stump up to replace the money that was raised? I'll leave the question of whether they should have had theft insurance in place to one side, but why exactly should Bohs be stumping up here? Isn't it a matter for the guards to find the money and get it returned at this stage?The Bohs representative that was on said they were told by the Gardai that if they paid the money back the case might collapse so they're not paying it, yet anyway.
17/02/2009, 1:32 PM
Didn't someone allegedly do a runner with their bar takings a while back?. It's so hard to get good staff these days..
17/02/2009, 1:41 PM
The Bohs representative that was on said they were told by the Gardai that if they paid the money back the case might collapse so they're not paying it, yet anyway.
That's what I thought, I don't see the why they should hand over anything.
Also, the theft was outside of their control to a degree, you have to trust your staff not to do leggers like this.
How much money was it?
17/02/2009, 1:52 PM
How much money was it?10k iirc.
Moderator: Don't mention names or roles of people as it is not fair.
17/02/2009, 1:57 PM
In fairness Pete, if it's been on the Joe Duffy show what role the person held, we're only discussing something that's already well in the public domain.
Town Legend
17/02/2009, 2:09 PM
Whats not fair is this 'coach' running off with money donated to fund a trip away for the underage squad. Should be named and shamed IMO.
17/02/2009, 2:22 PM
In fairness, the club rep said that he intended recommending to the board the money will be paid back in full.
Christ the guy who took the money must be in a dire financial state to take the money from a bunch of kids.
The Bohs director responsible for the schoolboy set up walked out of their AGM (or a similar thing) because of their lack of action over the section. I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)
17/02/2009, 2:32 PM
The Bohs director responsible for the schoolboy set up walked out of their AGM (or a similar thing) because of their lack of action over the section. I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)
Wasn't that walkout more to do with the board consistently ignoring the schoolboys section rather than this individual incident though?
celticV3
17/02/2009, 2:37 PM
Sounds like sean connor stumbled across some cash when coming back to pick up a few things
Wasn't that walkout more to do with the board consistently ignoring the schoolboys section rather than this individual incident though?
from what i have heard, yes.
I think Dodge just threw that in for the laugh... ;)
17/02/2009, 2:41 PM
from what i have heard, yes.
I think Dodge just threw that in for the laugh... ;)
:confused: Isn't that what he said?
"because of their lack of action over the section"
17/02/2009, 2:42 PM
Were Bohs drinking last night and working this morning?
(I know I was...)
Have to agree with tiktok if the facts are as outlined. But then getting your information second hand from the Joe Duffy show isn't exactly the most reliable of sources.
Rovers fan
17/02/2009, 2:50 PM
I understand the head coach resigned (or perhaps didn't have his contract renewed)
The latter if I'm thinking of the same fella.
Yeah, I meant about how things were generally, and thanks for clarifying the head coach thing. I know the director was very upset about it though
BTW I wasn't trying to point score and hope evrything works out for the kids
wexfordned
17/02/2009, 5:00 PM
I assume this is a poor attempt at a wind up and/or you are journo looking for another crappy story about a LOI club.:rolleyes:
Bohs U-8's had paid deposits of approximately 2,500. for a trip to Spain & when said trip was cancelled bohs gave the money to the team manager to repay. This manager kept the money. Matter reported to gardai. Bohs told to hold off on repayment as this could affect future prosecution. Gardai since said a one off payment should be ok & this is likely to be approved this week.
Further payments depending on what the gardai investigation uncovers my be made at a later date
Just to clarify,the name of the show is Liveline,not lifeline:D
17/02/2009, 6:26 PM
Good to see that the banking fraud investigations are able to spare a few guards.
As with our crowd control friends, do they also need as many for Bohs as the whole of Lansdowne Road on a rugby international day? ;)
hoops1
17/02/2009, 9:16 PM
[QUOTE=tiktok;1106999]The Bohs representative that was on said they were told by the Gardai that if they paid the money back the case might collapse so they're not paying it, yet anyway.
Then he said that Bohs had a deal to sell the ground for 50 million and that when they got that money they would fly them all to disney for a month on a aeroplane made of sweets and lollipops:rolleyes: