Home to Bohs
Away to Drogs

Last match of the seaon Home to Drogs

16/02/2009, 4:06 PM
Looking forward to March 14th:)

sligofan4ever
16/02/2009, 4:08 PM
Are all our home games the day after every other team plays ?

March 14th will be a big game, also looking forward to 4th April :).

16/02/2009, 4:22 PM
Are all our home games the day after every other team plays ?:confused:, we do play Saturday's. Saturday's tend to come after Friday's, when most other teams play.

Rovers Maniac
16/02/2009, 4:30 PM
Link here !

http://www.eircomloi.ie/news-centre/news-centre/news/news-2/news-1/news/news/news-1/news/news/news/news/news/index.xml

dong
16/02/2009, 4:32 PM
Looking forward to March 14th:)
Couldn't agree more. Mouthwatering. Great to get the list and have some football to look forward to.

Well Red
16/02/2009, 4:58 PM
Ironic that we played Shamrock Rovers in the last ever competitive game on their old ground at Milltown and now we play them again in the first competitive match at their new ground in Tallagh.

forza rovers
17/02/2009, 7:23 AM
cant wait to play shams in tallagh

17/02/2009, 7:55 AM
You might have to. All indications are that the ground won't be ready

Guts&Glory
17/02/2009, 1:06 PM
Having gone by the ground at the weekend seems alot of tidying up / finishing work needs to be done yet but you never know.

As for the coincidence of Rovers (of Sligo) being the first team to visit Shams (well possibly depending on the ongoing works) to visit Tallgaht is quiet a coincidence indeed!!

Fair play to the FAI....I mean imagine having such luck as to pull that one out on the computer fixture list programme.

You know the newspaper articles and TV coverage will be full of the last game at Milltown first game at Tallaght Stadium link when the game comes around.

Even Con Murphy of MNS mentioned what a great occasion and coincidence it would be in his interview with TBORST website back in November.

LondonRover
18/02/2009, 2:53 AM
Absolutely gutted that I won't be able to make that first game at Tallaght but flights to Dublin for that weekend (with it being close to Paddy's Day) are just criminal.

Just booked my flights for my first game of the season though - Dundalk away on Friday 29th May. Ages away yet but can't wait - hope it doesn't get pp for any reason!!!

Inside Man
18/02/2009, 10:37 AM
The game won't be in tallaght because the floodlights won't be ready. They have to undergo 3 tests before they can be used in a LOI match. Sorry to blow the bubble but we'll be playing Shams in Tolka.

Rovers Maniac
18/02/2009, 10:50 AM
The game won't be in tallaght because the floodlights won't be ready. They have to undergo 3 tests before they can be used in a LOI match. Sorry to blow the bubble but we'll be playing Shams in Tolka.

Doing this sort of act to a monkey is just sick :mad:

dong
18/02/2009, 11:33 AM
At least we can keep the "Homeless" jibe going for another while!!

Guts&Glory
18/02/2009, 12:41 PM

Fair enough, I suppose a 3pm kick off isn't a runner either given most of their fans dont get out of bed until after 6pm : )

blackholesun
18/02/2009, 9:13 PM

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/images/webstartfirstgamein7.jpg

Was speaking to one of the Rovers directors last night and we are going full steam ahead for the Sligo game to be in Tallaght.

Obviously, Id guess the final call will be made a week or so before hand but at this stage supposedly its looking good, fingers crossed!

bhs

18/02/2009, 9:16 PM
Please God.

18/02/2009, 9:19 PM
Only 3,000?:eek: I was thinking there would be a bigger crowd than that for this game.

blackholesun
18/02/2009, 9:32 PM
Only 3,000?:eek: I was thinking there would be a bigger crowd than that for this game.

We could obviously sell way more tickets than this for the first game as could any other club in similar circumstances, but to be honest the council are very nervous about safety etc especially as there prob wont even be a dry run under age match in the ground beforehand. Id say there might be a few 100 terrace tkts for behind either goal maybe released in the week before hand, but again the council are very nervous about safety :(

There are already over 1000 season tkts sold, I say final figure will be about 1500 so obviously tkts for the first game wont be easy to come by out of whats left over after the season tkt holders.

bhs

18/02/2009, 9:35 PM
We could obviously sell way more tickets than this for the first game as could any other club in similar circumstances, but to be honest the council are very nervous about safety etc especially as there prob wont even be a dry run under age match in the ground beforehand. Id say there might be a few 100 terrace tkts for behind either goal maybe released in the week before hand, but again the council are very nervous about safety :(

There are already over 1000 season tkts sold, I say final figure will be about 1500 so obviously tkts for the first game wont be easy to come by out of whats left over after the season tkt holders.

bhsWhat percentage of tickets do we get?

blackholesun
18/02/2009, 9:43 PM
What percentage of tickets do we get?

I dont know what the exact arrangements are for away fans but rumours suggest the number will be small.

Later in the season the club are hoping to have another stand open, so capacity then will be 6000+ and more tkts will be given to away fans then.

I am sure if Sligo were opening a new ground they'd be looking to look after their own fans and sponsors etc first too.

bhs

18/02/2009, 10:09 PM
What would Sligo be opening a new ground for?. We have the Showgrounds and you'll never see houses built on that.:D

Jeebus
18/02/2009, 10:17 PM
I dont know what the exact arrangements are for away fans but rumours suggest the number will be small.
bhs

I hope those of us that were in Glenmalure Park 22 years ago will get first preference on the away tickets!!! ;)

Rovers Maniac
18/02/2009, 10:19 PM
I hope those of us that were in Glenmalure Park 22 years ago will get first preference on the away tickets!!! ;)

As long as you have your used stub :p

18/02/2009, 10:20 PM
I am sure if Sligo were opening a new ground they'd be looking to look after their own fans and sponsors etc first too.The fans that have stuck with the club for the past 20 or so years yeah, not the blow in's who are just coming back cos ye are in Tallaght;).

srfc1928
18/02/2009, 10:38 PM
Wow, 22 years ago.
I was at the match myself that day Tony O'Kelly scored early on for us,
and I think it was Mick Byrne who scored for them.
Milltown was a proper football ground it was a shame to see it go

Redkenrover
18/02/2009, 10:43 PM
What would Sligo be opening a new ground for?. We have the Showgrounds and you'll never see houses built on that.:D

We hope!!:D

Jeebus
18/02/2009, 10:57 PM
As long as you have your used stub :p

Dunno about the ticket stub, will photographic evidence do??!!:)

18/02/2009, 10:59 PM
best case scenario we get 300( would probably sell that much), worst about 150??? Season ticket holders will have to get first preference I assume....or queues at the Showgrounds office all the way from O'Neills :D

Jeebus
18/02/2009, 11:05 PM
best case scenario we get 300( would probably sell that much), worst about 150??? Season ticket holders will have to get first preference I assume....or queues at the Showgrounds office all the way from O'Neills :D

Cans for the queue?? :D

Rovers Maniac
18/02/2009, 11:07 PM

Actually if the whole ground holds 3k at the moment and under the licensing we are only entitled to 5% of the capacity. If it is reduced to what the Shams lad was saying around 1,500 for the opening games we will get only 75 tickets so its going to be tight stuff to get them if that happens.

Link for the whole thing here http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Club_Licensing_Manual_2009.pdf Page 47 Inf 1.08

dublinred
19/02/2009, 10:40 AM
Actually if the whole ground holds 3k at the moment and under the licensing we are only entitled to 5% of the capacity. If it is reduced to what the Shams lad was saying around 1,500 for the opening games we will get only 75 tickets so its going to be tight stuff to get them if that happens.

Link for the whole thing here http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Club_Licensing_Manual_2009.pdf Page 47 Inf 1.08

5% of 1500 would be a nightmare , there is a big fuss about Shams latest ground rental agreement I can remember a similar excitment in the early nineties when they were renting the RDS , massive crowd for the First game against Pats but between them they played out a dire 0-0 draw , there were queues to get out from half-time onwards and only a few returned for the subsequent matches hence we are being called upon to put on a show of football for the first match this time around to help them to encourage people to return for subsequent matches.

Jeebus
19/02/2009, 11:03 AM
....... there were queues to get out from half-time onwards.....

Maybe they were all heading to Bob the Builder across the road in Simmonscourt LR??!!

;):D

Fivesilver
19/02/2009, 11:16 AM
Tony O'Kelly scored early on for us,
and I think it was Mick Byrne who scored for them.

Spot on - big Tony's header right in front of us. Then piling onto the pitch at half-time to support the Shams fans' protest. Someone should have got a Nobel Peace Prize for that one. In fairness, KRAM returned the favour and sent us a few bob later when we were (imagine this) in financial crisis.

sligored
19/02/2009, 3:25 PM
surely if the match is sold out , it will be shown live on tv.

Rovers Maniac
19/02/2009, 3:29 PM

I think they should think about switching it to a bigger ground !

19/02/2009, 3:45 PM

LOL, why? so the 500 who can't get tickets can see?

19/02/2009, 5:16 PM
5% of 1500 would be a nightmare...
It's 5% of the overall capacity. So the mininum that you are entitled to is 150 tickets.

sligored
19/02/2009, 5:30 PM
LOL, why? so the 500 who can't get tickets can see?

another great contribution to this site by dodge.
lol,very funny.
get a life instead of trawling other clubs sites and having nothing worthwhile or constructive to say.
we would be lost without your input. thanks.

19/02/2009, 5:59 PM
another great contribution to this site by dodge.
lol,very funny.
get a life instead of trawling other clubs sites and having nothing worthwhile or constructive to say.
we would be lost without your input. thanks.

Leave Dodge alone, Sligored - he takes your mind off me.

blackholesun
20/02/2009, 11:05 AM
"Tallaght Stadium Update
20 Feb 2009. As well as confirming the first match in Tallaght on Saturday March 14th, the club can confirm that the SDCC will be building a stand on the east side of the stadium and that this 3,000 capacity permament structure is expected to be open in June. The current (main) accommodates 3,300 spectators."

This was posted on the official site today and from what Ive heard from some people in the know, the Rovers v Rovers game in Tallaght will definately happen!

bhs

dong
20/02/2009, 11:49 AM
Any official comment on this? Which is it to be???? I love the League of Ireland. Nothing is ever as it seems.:confused:

20/02/2009, 1:26 PM
Are all our home games the day after every other team plays ?

Our and your fixtures are reversed every week, meaning on March 14th, we're the last team to play at home in the league, and yous are the last team to play away, given that both clubs play Saturdays. When we're at home, yous must be away, and the reverse is also true. It guarantees a Saturday night game* every week of the season.

*tv permitting/international weeks.

blackholesun
20/02/2009, 1:52 PM
I think having at least one game every Sat is good for the league, if Setanta or TG4 or whoever start showing these games and the two Rovers' get plenty of coverage I wouldnt be surprised to see some teams switch some games to Sat next season.

bhs

sligofan4ever
20/02/2009, 2:15 PM
If were playing Shams in Tallaght on 14th March, will it be televised seeing as its the first game to be played there ?

Inside Man
20/02/2009, 2:36 PM
Any official comment on this? Which is it to be???? I love the League of Ireland. Nothing is ever as it seems.:confused:
My bad. I obviosly take bhs' word for it. But the word in my workplace was that it wasn't going to be ready for our match and that came from what i thought was a good source. Great news! Hope i get a ticket.:)

20/02/2009, 2:43 PM
I think having at least one game every Sat is good for the league, if Setanta or TG4 or whoever start showing these games and the two Rovers' get plenty of coverage I wouldnt be surprised to see some teams switch some games to Sat next season.

The TV channels switched games from Saturdays in the last couple of years to show on TV on Friday and Sunday evenings.

srfc1928
20/02/2009, 10:25 PM
"Tallaght Stadium Update
20 Feb 2009. As well as confirming the first match in Tallaght on Saturday March 14th, the club can confirm that the SDCC will be building a stand on the east side of the stadium and that this 3,000 capacity permament structure is expected to be open in June. The current (main) accommodates 3,300 spectators."

This was posted on the official site today and from what Ive heard from some people in the know, the Rovers v Rovers game in Tallaght will definately happen!

bhs
Also reported in The Daily Mail today that Tallaght will be ready.
Game will go ahead and snag list will be carried out afterwards.
Capacity will be 3,300 rising to 6,300 early summer.

24/02/2009, 3:43 PM
Shams game moved to Friday 13th for live TV coverage on RTE. 8.05pm kick off.

24/02/2009, 4:50 PM
Shams game moved to Friday 13th for live TV coverage on RTE. 8.05pm kick off.

****ing hell.