View Full Version : 2009 squad
WexCar
13/02/2009, 12:12 PM
Whats the news with the squad for this year? any new players? anyone not returning?
just heard Mick say on local radio tat theres a shortage of goalkeepers at club with 2 being injured.
Darkglasses
14/02/2009, 1:25 AM
There was a new goalkeeper at the friendly against St. Pats earlier this evening, wasn't Pa or Willie Doyle, and not Jayo Russell either...He was very decent, didn't hear his name though.
I think Joey Wadding's gone for the foreseeable future, but Johnny Flynn-O'Connor was back for the game earlier this evening. And we've a whole new defender, Tim Mcgrath played centre-half tonight also. He looked quite good, supposed to have trained with Glasgow Celtic before?
The Optimist
14/02/2009, 9:06 AM
I think the keepers name was Packie Holden.He was brought in on short notice because we didn't have any other keeper available.
Youths4Ever
14/02/2009, 11:12 AM
There was a new goalkeeper at the friendly against St. Pats earlier this evening, wasn't Pa or Willie Doyle, and not Jayo Russell either...He was very decent, didn't hear his name though.
I think Joey Wadding's gone for the foreseeable future, but Johnny Flynn-O'Connor was back for the game earlier this evening. And we've a whole new defender, Tim Mcgrath played centre-half tonight also. He looked quite good, supposed to have trained with Glasgow Celtic before?
Keeper was Packie Holden was Waterford keeper last year our lads could learn a lot from watching him last night.
Tim McGgrath starting training with us at start of last season but got injured and was out for season so think last night was his first game back after injury he appears to read the game very well.
Splurge
14/02/2009, 11:30 AM
Keeper was Packie Holden was Waterford keeper last year our lads could learn a lot from watching him last night.
Tim McGgrath starting training with us at start of last season but got injured and was out for season so think last night was his first game back after injury he appears to read the game very well.
I missed the game last night, how did it go and what was the squad?
Youths4Ever
14/02/2009, 12:07 PM
I missed the game last night, how did it go and what was the squad?
It went ok we looked fit enough think of the lads learned from last year and returned a bit better to per season training. We created a few chances near the end.
Holden did very well in goal shouting at the defenders not letting them drop back at any stage made one excellent save from a header and showed what experience can do. Near end of game Shane Dempsey got a knock in the box ball went out a throw Shane went to get up and Holden told me to stay put to help us get organised.
I think if he agrees to become ameutaur he would be good signing good player for Pa and Willie to learn from and having another keeper could do us no harm at all
Pat's had a few on trial for them.
Holden
JFOC - McGrath - Rossi - Kearney
Miller - Pasty - Anto - S Dempsey - Fitz
Doyle
Bench: Stuuy, K Dempsey, Boarders, Aust, Kelly
Anto played in front of back four with Pasty pushing up a bit to support Doyle
not sure if anyone else on the bench but everyone on bench got a run out
report here http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1291/
none of the under 18 players involved as still in inter county competition so that meant the likes of the Connor Wallace not involved.
Connor Sinnott Danny Furlong, Paul Murphy all out injured.
stann
14/02/2009, 12:54 PM
Is that the same Tim McGrath that played with us ten or so years ago?
From Wexford? Probably still only 29 or 30? Was a youngster at Celtic but got homesick and signed for us under Foxy Tommy and then Sheephead Flanagan?
A superb player if so. Formed a brilliant centreback partnership with Sean Riordan for a couple of seasons. Great reader of the game is right.
ball went out a throw Shane went to get up and Holden told me to stay put to help us get organised.
Have you just given something away there? :D
Youths4Ever
14/02/2009, 1:35 PM
Have you just given something away there? :D
No totally typo :D
5ForKeeps
17/02/2009, 8:54 PM
Tim or Timmy McGrath if it is the latter he used to play for Town Celtic(back in the day) played against him in under 16's could be 25 or 26.
Splurge
17/02/2009, 11:17 PM
Tim or Timmy McGrath if it is the latter he used to play for Town Celtic(back in the day) played against him in under 16's could be 25 or 26.
Nah, he's older, 28 at least, more likely 30,
Iorfa2MaccaJim
18/02/2009, 12:48 PM
Two ex Blues.
Tim McGrath last played for us in the 1999 - 2000 season.
And of course Packie is a class keeper, I was very sorry to loose him.
18/02/2009, 2:19 PM
I get the impression Holden isn't signed. Wallace referred to him as a guest player helping out because we had no keeper fit.
I hope he has signed because the defence has struggled at times without an experienced keeper behind them. He sounds like the kind of talker and organiser that would be perfect, would he know McGrath from time at Waterford? They'd be similar ages, it might be how he came to be playing.
No, he'd have missed McGrath by two or three years I'd say, though they would be about the same age alright.
Packie's only been at the RSC (on-and-off) about the last six seasons. Tim (if it actually is the same lad, ye still haven't confirmed that for me :D) finished up with us in 2000. He would have played in front of Jody Byrne and Mick Devine.
18/02/2009, 3:12 PM
I don't think there was two Tim McGrath's that went to Celtic from Wexford so I'd be pretty sure it's the same fella.
I know who 5forKeeps is referring to too, I'm just not sure of his name, he'd be 24 or 25, I marked him in an under 16 game when I was 16 and he was only 14 but already had a big reputation he was left wing I was right, I was warned to mark him close in the first half, I did and then I scored twice in the second and we won 3-0. :D
GT blue
20/02/2009, 11:47 AM
Any truth in the rumour that David Breen(ex blues) is signing for ye?
oldyouth
20/02/2009, 12:19 PM
He played on Wednesday V Dundalk but I don't know the long term plan. What's his background?
Splurge
20/02/2009, 12:54 PM
He played on Wednesday V Dundalk but I don't know the long term plan. What's his background?
What was the team and how did it pan out on wed, missed it again but ill be at the Rovers game on Saturday.
20/02/2009, 11:03 PM
Two of ours on their way to you :rolleyes: thank you Mr Kerley
20/02/2009, 11:16 PM
Do you mind revealing which two? Glad to see Wallace open the frontiers a little.
I see Sheehan mentioned on your forum, would be great for us.
Sunny Jim
21/02/2009, 6:51 AM
Two of ours on their way to you :rolleyes: thank you Mr Kerley
Eh? What's going on here? And if it's true, are we seeing a change of signing policy from Mick?
oldyouth
21/02/2009, 8:43 AM
Eh? What's going on here? And if it's true, are we seeing a change of signing policy from Mick?
I think Mick is using the little known clause in the club's Articles of Association which allows anyone who has eaten strawberries to qualify as being a Wexford man
Splurge
21/02/2009, 10:04 AM
Do you mind revealing which two? Glad to see Wallace open the frontiers a little.
I see Sheehan mentioned on your forum, would be great for us.
I heard of Sheehan months back, couldnt say anything though as it came from within, apparently Noel knows him, he was coincidentally one of the players Mick mentioned as strange not to be playing the night LK refused to play us!
Reading the LK forums at the time he was class, know he's a "headless chicken":D
21/02/2009, 1:14 PM
I heard of Sheehan months back, couldnt say anything though as it came from within, apparently Noel knows him, he was coincidentally one of the players Mick mentioned as strange not to be playing the night LK refused to play us!
Reading the LK forums at the time he was class, know he's a "headless chicken":D
splurge ur a moron, Gary is class and simple as that. he is something that you have never had....a footballer with pace, heading ability and will finish top scorer for you this season. I'd say with him and the other player heading your way from us that you could finish top five now. NOC coaches in Mary I college in Limerick this is how he knows him but it isnt NOC or anything WY are doing or have done to get him down there, It turns out Mike Kerley has done you a massive favour by not offering our most lethal striker and top scorer last season....no contract. By the time mike walked out itwas too late he had made commitments to WY. Best of luck to him
dublin_owl
21/02/2009, 4:11 PM
splurge ur a moron
Abuse!
Splurge
21/02/2009, 4:24 PM
splurge ur a moron, Gary is class and simple as that. he is something that you have never had....a footballer with pace, heading ability and will finish top scorer for you this season. I'd say with him and the other player heading your way from us that you could finish top five now. NOC coaches in Mary I college in Limerick this is how he knows him but it isnt NOC or anything WY are doing or have done to get him down there, It turns out Mike Kerley has done you a massive favour by not offering our most lethal striker and top scorer last season....no contract. By the time mike walked out itwas too late he had made commitments to WY. Best of luck to him
Im just saying i heard from an excellent source sometime before xmas that he was coming to us, i didnt know anything about him but when I researched it i turned out that he was named in Wallaces statement in the LKwontwarmupinthedarkbuteveroneelsewill gate. Wallace said at the time that maybe there was more to it than meets the eye, maybe he meant this.
Also it turns out he is class, turned your season around by all accounts.
Looking forward to seeing him tonight. As for being something we've never had, in Connor Sinnot we have arguably the finest player in the division.
As regards Kerley, he was god a few weeks back, couldnt be faulted after the Ferrycarrig incident and a lot of your lot considered you favourites for promotion. Now he's apparently ****e, like NoC, who incidently a lot of you would like to see return. Your a strange bunch, no doubt about it.
Sunny Jim
21/02/2009, 5:02 PM
If he's coming, he's hardly coming for expenses is he? So is Mick going to start signing players from other teams or what? Or is this a one-off?
21/02/2009, 6:29 PM
in Connor Sinnot we have arguably the finest player in the division.
If he was training with us now (which he isn't thank god, wouldn't want to shatter our, ahem, "expenses" structure) he would be the fourth choice centre mid in our squad.
I know you're not used of much but fuppin hell.
On Gary Sheehan, he came on very well last season (never rated him quite as highly as a lot of my fellow lims but anywho) in his gradual conversion from winger to striker. He's making a big mistake goig down there IMO as the levels of "coaching" he recieves will only retard his progress as a footballer.
Still has a questionable first touch and will miss chances as often as he puts them away (a problem for a team like yourselves which struggles to create). You will also have to change tack to accomodate him as humping high balls will be futile due to his lack of physicality. (Unless teams push their back four up against ye. Which they wont. Well some might. The ones with competent coaches wont)
Overal, has the potential to be a very good player mind and if you lot want to see vintage Gary Sheehan I suggest checking out the goal he scored in our 2-0 victory away to Dundalk on Dundalk tv.
On the otherhand if you want to see my main issue with Gary check out the build up to the first goal in the same game where he misses an absolute sitter.
With Limerick they could challenge the top clubs. With Wexford they will possibly drag the club up from battling with the rubbish up in to mid table respectability.
Splurge
21/02/2009, 8:00 PM
With Limerick they could challenge the top clubs. With Wexford they will possibly drag the club up from battling with the rubbish up in to mid table respectability.
Big Deal.
No Ambition.
No Loss.
It'll be intresting to see how LK go this season but i seriously doubt they will get promoted. With us he'll get stability and be part of something special, who knows how it will go?
Our preseason is going good, draws with Pats, Dundalk & Shams, talking to a Rovers fan tonight he said we should definitely be contenders for promotion, personally i'd be amazed/delighted to see us challenging for the the top 4 or even to half.
I understand your ****ed off with us, us getting 7pts v you'se last season, your best player defecting to us and all,,
21/02/2009, 8:26 PM
It'll be intresting to see how LK go this season but i seriously doubt they will get promoted.
Where did I mention promotion??
With us he'll............. be part of something special
talking to a Rovers fan tonight he said we should definitely be contenders for promotion
A Rovers fan said it?? Must be right so.....
us getting 7pts v you'se last season
your best player defecting to us
Nowhere near champ.
Captain2007
21/02/2009, 9:14 PM
Our preseason is going good, draws with Pats, Dundalk & Shams, talking to a Rovers fan tonight he said we should definitely be contenders for promotion, personally i'd be amazed/delighted to see us challenging for the the top 4 or even to half.
I was at the Game tonite very entertaining and in Gavin Doyle the best striker on the pitch by a distance, scored a great goal and will do well for ye next year if you can hold on to him,can surely play at a higher level. The Pitch is a credit to Wexford Yths probably the best in the league.Hope you do have a good season.
oldyouth
21/02/2009, 9:47 PM
I was at the Game tonite very entertaining and in Gavin Doyle the best striker on the pitch by a distance, scored a great goal and will do well for ye next year if you can hold on to him,can surely play at a higher level. The Pitch is a credit to Wexford Yths probably the best in the league.Hope you do have a good season.
Cheers for your comments Blackcastle. We are looking more assured this season and have tried a good few new players in pre-season as well as bringing some of the younger lads through. Should be interesting
oldyouth
22/02/2009, 8:40 AM
I know you're not used of much but fuppin hell.
He's making a big mistake goig down there IMO as the levels of "coaching" he recieves will only retard his progress as a footballer.
You will also have to change tack to accomodate him as humping high balls will be futile due to his lack of physicality.
There's 19 other teams in the lague but if the height of his ambition is to simply follow NOC around then good riddance to be honest.
I'm not too pushed about the other lad that's gone down to be honest. I'm sure mediocre is tattoed somewhere on he's person and there's only one way his game is going below in Wexford. (Backwards incase you're wondering)
Above all only two pawns for NOCs masterplan anyway (A fact so obvious and transparent it's hilarious) but unfortunately for all concerned his masterplan aint going to work so they are going to have to waste a year of their careers down there.
Big Deal.
No Ambition.
No Loss.
Firstly, Noel O'Connor is highly respected by everyone involved with Wexford Youths. The fact that players are following him here speaks more about his abilities as a coach than the opinion of a few bitter fans. It seems as if once you 'leave the fold' of Limerick you were never any good.
If you think we hump high balls, you haven't seen enough of us play. We always try and play the ball on the ground, as we have never had any particularily tall strikers. Yes, we can defend too deep (in my opinion) at times, but link up play is how we bring it out. Ask any fan of the 3 Premier teams to have played us this pre-season about that. The only goal we conceded was from a dodgy penalty and we matched each team for the full ninety minutes for playing ball.
I'm not going to start slagging off your club because I don't take the view that one or 2 fans are representitive of all, but from your own position, you should look at what you say and see if it compares to anyhing closer to home.
If you have any more 'useless' lads send them over. We'll show them how to be appreciated and they won't be slagged off if they eventually move on elsewhere. If they become part of what the club is trying to achieve, their contibution will always be recongnised
Splurge
22/02/2009, 9:15 AM
Doyle was very inconsistent last yr but played really well towards the end of the season, played the majority of games out wide and working back wouldnt be his best attribute. But when he played up front later in the season following Murphys injury he looked a much better player.
mr pink
22/02/2009, 3:59 PM
yeah sunny jim i thought the plan was local wexford players on a wexford side, i have no problem with signing players from other countys , its just some of our home lads will get pushed out now ,if we want to compete looks like its the way to go, what the rest of you think;)
22/02/2009, 4:41 PM
Its not a case of if they leave Limerick and we suddenly consider them crap players. Every player has his pros and cons.
Gary Sheehan:
Pros: Very Fast and can hit a good shot.
Cons: A bit headless and can be too selfish at times.
Peter White:
Pros: Quick, Committed and Solid enough.
Cons: Can have Stormers or absolute shockers, purely a left back, can struggle in the Centre Back position.
Two good signings and a pity it had to go this way from a Limerick point of view.
da bishop
22/02/2009, 5:30 PM
i am certainly sad to see white and sheean leave our club and wish them the best,there is no doubt that wallace and noc will look after them as proved by all the youngsters getting their chance at wexford.sheehan is not our best player for sure but he was top scorer and has the one thing all defenders dread....pace.we could struggle to score without him.despite what some say on here noc is highly respected by people in limk and has the silverware to prove it ,people have short memories.
oldyouth
22/02/2009, 9:20 PM
The last 2 posts are reasoned comments. If any of our top players eventually move on, I'll acknowledge it accordingly (though with not a lot of pleasure)
Youths4Ever
23/02/2009, 11:58 AM
Tim (if it actually is the same lad, ye still haven't confirmed that for me :D)
same guy
23/02/2009, 12:07 PM
So will these Limerick boys be getting paid to play with WYFC? (It's hard to see a scenario where they wouldn't be). If so, then this could cause a bit of tension with the locally based amateurs..
Youths4Ever
23/02/2009, 12:15 PM
So will these Limerick boys be getting paid to play with WYFC? (It's hard to see a scenario where they wouldn't be). If so, then this could cause a bit of tension with the locally based amateurs..
to be honest don't know if then are or not.
Nothing confirmed from Wexford on any of these players yet or any of the rest on trial.
Personally think that then should not be signed if not willing to be amateurs or start paying all the players
23/02/2009, 12:19 PM
Did Wallace say at the start that eventually the club would give up on the amateur ethos? I mean, in the long term I think you'll need to pay players if you are to ever push for promotion..
LK37oldskool
23/02/2009, 12:20 PM
Since MK left on Thur the 2 players mentioned were contacted by the club to see if they would return but it seems they have committed themselves to ye.
Will be sorry to see them go and they'll hardly travel up and down to ye without getting a few bob?
oldyouth
23/02/2009, 12:24 PM
Since MK left on Thur the 2 players mentioned were contacted by the club to see if they would return but it seems they have committed themselves to ye.
Will be sorry to see them go and they'll hardly travel up and down to ye without getting a few bob?
They'll get good mileage rates, don't worry
Splurge
23/02/2009, 12:59 PM
I presume they'll get travel expenses, maybe generous ones at that but i doubt they'll get paid other than the usual few bob all player get per game. Maybe Mick has set them up with work, they're studying and he'll be flexible or something like that. Do they live in Limerick, the lads in WD cant be far away but maybe the LK lads are based in Dublin or eastern parts.
L37Ultra
23/02/2009, 3:34 PM
I presume they'll get travel expenses, maybe generous ones at that but i doubt they'll get paid other than the usual few bob all player get per game. Maybe Mick has set them up with work, they're studying and he'll be flexible or something like that. Do they live in Limerick, the lads in WD cant be far away but maybe the LK lads are based in Dublin or eastern parts.
Sheahan would be based in Limerick but as far as I know White is based in Waterford.
Sunny Jim
23/02/2009, 5:58 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0223/limerick.html
KevB76
23/02/2009, 6:13 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0223/limerick.html
Statement under the photos is utter nonsense - "Mike Kerley was quickly followed out the exit door by two key players "
The players left because Kerley froze them out. If he'd left a couple of weeks sooner the club would have signed them up. The first thing the club did once Kerley left was to get straight on the phone to Sheehan and White. It was too late, they'd already committed to the Youths by the time Kerley resigned.
blue til i die
23/02/2009, 7:27 PM
Sheahan would be based in Limerick but as far as I know White is based in Waterford.
Maybe, but tbh i've never heard of him.
Would have liked Sheehan with us next year, we need another striker.
Big loss to limerick?
Is Sheehan really "one the brightest prospects in the country"??
24/02/2009, 10:03 AM
Maybe, but tbh i've never heard of him.
Would have liked Sheehan with us next year, we need another striker.
Big loss to limerick?
Is Sheehan really "one the brightest prospects in the country"??
With himself and Grincell ye certainly would have had alot of speed.
Definatley not one of the brightest prospects in the country. Limerick have Jason Hughes, Paul Danaghar, Thomas Lyons and one or two more that would be brighter prospects. As do Waterford in someone like Grincell. Sheehan is a good player but i wouldn't say one of the brightest prospects.
Also in a previous post i said White was purely a left back, i meant right back :o
oldyouth
24/02/2009, 12:23 PM
Sheehan is a good player but i wouldn't say one of the brightest prospects. :o
Do you know the nature of the injury which kept him out of our last friendly??