View Full Version : Singing Section Post Match

11/02/2009, 9:55 PM
very poor lads, when the crowd zoomed in on ye there was no one singing!!

Ill get ye going in march :D

irishultra
11/02/2009, 10:28 PM
don't know what your talking about. was ****ing epic being in there.

oh and btw all national teams, well most, have very 'poor'(in the way we see it here in western europe) atmospheres when playing at home. I enjoyed the SS tonight because it was good craic and I could stand for the whole game from a good vantage point and chant without weird looks. I actually enjoyed the experience of an Ireland match for the first time EVER.

11/02/2009, 11:55 PM
I have to say I've never sang for as long in my life. Even the big games and the away games. That was non-stop with the only break at half time.

I hear it couldn't be heard on TV but I couldn't care less. The few hundred of us that moved to this section sang non-stop.

Anyway, I lost my temper a bit at the start of the match. Myself and a friend got to our seats in Row NN and I could hear plenty of people shouting "sit down". After having a few pints and with Ireland conceding so early my blood was boiling. Row NN wasn't exactly where the singing section crowd was but it was where I got my SS ticket. I was told we were allowed to stand. Someone close to me told me to sit down and I lost it. I stormed down above the entrance into the section.

I stood there anyway and sang along with the rest of the crowd. After a few minutes I could hear someone shouting in my direction. I wasn't standing in any seating area so I immediately thought it was a stewart and didn't turn around. Then the guy started calling me a *****. I just kept watching the game with a slight smirk on my face. A stewart then went over to the chap and told him to keep quiet. 2 or 3 minutes later and a decent stewart with a smile on his face told me that someone asked if I would sit down. I told him I wasn't going back to where I was sitting and if it would be ok if I took one of the empty seats beside the crowd that were standing. That was no problem and that was the end of the problems.

From then on we all sang. The usual songs were sang as well as On the One Road and the Celtic/St Pauli/Bohs/Derry song. I was suprised how much that was sang and it seems to be catching on already. There was also smatterings of some other songs we made up online and it was clear a lot of people knew them.

A point I want to make is that the match was so bad for an hour or so that it drains any singing out of you. But many of us kept going. It wasn't as much a singing session but more a case of trying to lift the team. The team got booed off at half time and our section sang for them. I hoped at the time that they heard us singing and let them think "we'll go out and win it for that crowd".

I'm sure I could go on and on but I've a few drinks on me at this stage. :) Whether anyone could hear us on TV I thought we did a brilliant job and I hope it keeps up for the Bulgaria match. I'd seriously recommend a huge ****up at some stage though. I think once most of us got to know each other it would make a huge difference. As the match was coming to an end I just wish I could put up a huge "bounce bounce or the boys in green" banner to get everyone doing just that. :)

irishultra
12/02/2009, 12:00 AM
awww eireboy that sucks with that goon. the atmosphere was a bit tense at the start, i think some people confused what a 'singing section' was. me and my mate moved into the row of seats beside where the general noice was coming from, the people on front of us and behind were into the chanting so was really good. thankfully nobody came to displace us and we had a great night.

btw did anyone notice me, blonde highlights in hair, was wearing a blue hat thingy for a bit and neck warmer and doing really weird faces when chanting and also a real annoying screachy voice at times?:D

i have to say irish people are good, i mean the way we clap for the opposing team and anthem, it makes me proud.

OH BTW just one thing on the one road is a good official fan song but it doesnt get you in the zone for a match before the team come out. the boys are back in town, shipping out to boston, where the streets have no name etc. would be better.

i'd go as far as to say for bulgaria it should be where the streets have no name

12/02/2009, 12:28 AM
btw soccerc - "singing section my arse ;) - I was right behind you at half time. :D I recognised your face from pictures online and when I saw the big camera I knew it was you. :)

soccerc
12/02/2009, 12:58 AM
btw soccerc - "singing section my arse - I was right behind you at half time. I recognised your face from pictures online and when I saw the big camera I knew it was you.

Haven't a notion what you're on about?

What does "btw soccerc - "singing section my arse " mean as I was not in the Davin stand.

Dunno how you'd recognise my face from online as I don't believe there are many images of me on the web.

At half time I didn't have a big camera!

http://photos4.pix.ie/20/7C/207C44FEBA50442F99B5039E06A16AF3-500.jpg (http://pix.ie/soccerc/826840)

irishultra
12/02/2009, 12:59 AM
lol evil twin

12/02/2009, 1:04 AM
Haven't a notion what you're on about?

Ignore that so. :) Thought you were one of the cameramen because of your pics. I'm 100% I recognised the guys face though I don't know why I thought it was you. :D That's my head wrecked now.

btw, I definitely saw your face online. I think maybe even in a video interview?

Beavis
12/02/2009, 4:55 AM
I was watching it on ESPN in Oz and I definitely noticed the difference with the atmosphere. In previously circumstances, if we were a goal down to a weaker team there would be an eerie silence over Croke Park. Today there was constant noise going and I believe it is a massive aid to reducing the tension on the pitch.

In the second half, when we were getting close and eventually scored the atmosphere reached great heights but this is when it's easy. Finding your voice when the chips are down is what good support is all about.

Fair play all involved and f*ck the sit down brigade :)

Jegg
12/02/2009, 7:39 AM
was sat in row nn block 321. i stood for the first 5 or 10 minutes and we kept being told to sit down, so the 4 of us found a space to stand over to right of us where all the craic was happening. have to say it was the most enjoyable match at croker yet. i think the fai have totally ****ed up the SS, it obvious that existing block bookers have remained in that area and that was why there was so many people sitting down and not singing.

12/02/2009, 7:49 AM
was sat in row nn block 321. i stood for the first 5 or 10 minutes and we kept being told to sit down
Yeh that's exactly where we were supposed to be sat. Stayed there for all of 2 minutes before moving. I'm going to have to ask the FAI to move us further down for the Bulgaria match.

jaykay
12/02/2009, 9:16 AM
Fair play to all who were in the singing section. I was in the Hogan Stand, and was really impressed with the great wall of noise coming from the SS. The best I've seen at Croke Park. Hopefully this will continue and I can see it being even more effective in the 'smaller confines' of the new Lansdowne.:)

Pike B
12/02/2009, 9:21 AM
Watched the whole game on TV and heard hardly any singing at all??? Whats up with that?
Do RTE not have any good mics or what??
Reading this you guys obviously gave it a good go..

swinfordfc
12/02/2009, 9:27 AM
Well done to the singing section in theCanal end - only for ye - place would have being dead last night - ye were great crack!

12/02/2009, 9:29 AM
I was watching it on ESPN in Oz

You've left us?!

I thought it worked well, although I was over to the right of the section. It was slow to get going (the game's start didn't help in fairness), but when it did get going, it was very good. It spread a lot easier than before too. Though I thought the booing at half time wasn't warranted.

12/02/2009, 9:48 AM
lads sorry it didnt at all come through on the tele, and the one time it focused in and said about ye, there was only a few lads looking and then starting pionting at the cameras, then everyone started singing and we could hear it on tele. SO it seemed like ye weren't singing throughout.

What were others reactions to it that weren't in the singing seciton? how did it sound.

Cant wait to bulgaria now and getting involved.

galwayhoop
12/02/2009, 9:51 AM
broke my leg last monday playing 5 a side so didn't go up to match. watched a home international on TV for first time in years. singing wasn't that audible but did hear the wooo ohhh, wooo ohhhh song (aka derry/st. pauli i like it song).

would be an idea for RTE to get some mics closer to that section as that kind of signing always makes games sound better on TV.

i'll be back for the bulgaria game anyhow. does anyone know if i can send my cusack tickets back to the FAI to change for SS ones???

12/02/2009, 9:53 AM
where did keane run to when he scored? the passion was class, how much it meant to him and the whole team. Bloody brilliant.

Whoever said that the errie silence puts more pressure on our team i think that is spot on. Ive never seen them dominate and keep getting closer and closer before, and i do put a lot of that down to the noise that ye must have made. Fair play one and all.

blobbyblob
12/02/2009, 11:28 AM
Most enjoyable night in Dublin since Yugoslavia '99 in Lansdowne. Great crowd, great chants that I suprised how quick they caught on.

I was aprehensive early on when I thought we were just resorting to the same old chants x 30. Ole Ole was a bit inappropriate at 1-0 down and i did feel compelled to have to sit down for a guy behind me who have 3 small kids with him in the SS.

2nd half was relentless. Im hoarse to my stomach from singing and shouting. To hear people carry that on all the way back to town from Croker alongs the streets last night was a special feeling. Very heart warming on a cold night.
----------------------------------
Suggestion for the night night if the Sun are doleing out free T shirts again. Section them into Green, White and Orange and we hold them up over our heads at the start of the game for a slow version of The Fields

Rugby style slow version of the fields of athenry without the clapping works better

blobbyblob
12/02/2009, 11:51 AM
Oh yeah - And no mexican wave - the hoodoo is broken. lol

antrimgreen
12/02/2009, 11:52 AM
Really enjoyed being in the SS last night and recommend it to anyone who is sick of people round them sitting like they are at the cinema, a guy behind me and 3 seats across told me to sit down, i told him this is the SS and thats what we will be doing standing and singing, if he was unable to stand i would have sat down. We were chasing the equaliser and about 50 people around me were on their feet, i glanced round to see that guy and he was sitting trying to catch it on the big screen, was happy in the end as he finally got the gist and was standing for the last 10 minutes solid!!!

Love the stand up for the boys in green easy to maintain and gets most up although i feel like beating those who refuse to stand. On the one road another classic, that we should for the next game sing right to the end, if you don't know the words then get learning.

Blobbybo love your thinking that would be great, sing the slow and correct version no clapping with a massive tri colour on display. Besides ****ting myself until we had scored i agree with others most enjoyable game as a supporter and i can't wait for the next game. Hoarse today but couldn't give a monkey's!! Well done to all those who took full part in the SS and those who didn't you better up your support for the next game, the team needs YOU!!!!

12/02/2009, 12:18 PM
It didn't look like there was a mexican wave at any stage last night. Thank God.

Well done Singing Section.

Wolfie
12/02/2009, 12:23 PM
Have to start somewhere - and that was a good first effort from my birds eye view in the Upper Cusack.

Vell done to ze SS.

I'm in the Davin for the Bulgaria game. I'm getting the vocal chords charged up already.

12/02/2009, 12:23 PM
I was in the corner of the Hogan and Davin stand, and tbh whilst the singing was an improvement for Croke Park, It was nothing great by any stretch of the imagination.

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2009, 12:24 PM
Singing Section was decent last night, fair play to all involved.

However, there's 17 of us on my Block Book and we were seperated out, 10 of us in Row W seast 23 to 33 and 7 of us in Row X seats 2 to 9 which was a pain in the @rse and neither of which I'd consider to be right in the singing section. We'd hoped to have been further back and more central. Still, we managed to stand the whole game and sang for most of it but I'll be hoping to get moved so that we're at least sitting on seats parallel to each other on consecutive rows for the final two games.

Anyone know if I'd be better off trying to get that changed through the YBIG lads or direct with the FAI?

antrimgreen
12/02/2009, 12:36 PM
I was in the corner of the Hogan and Davin stand, and tbh whilst the singing was an improvement for Croke Park, It was nothing great by any stretch of the imagination.

Did you sing yourself much?

Junior
12/02/2009, 12:52 PM
I suppose it didnt help that there still seemed to be lots of empty seats within the SS. If the 1000 or so were compact together it probably would have helped the look and sound of the section to the rest of the ground and on tv.

In the BundesLiga the TV stations have microphones positioned right in with the Ultras sections - always makes the atmosphere come across much better on TV.

I was in the Upper Cusack and whilst the SS didnt look to be exactly rocking it was certainly an improvement on previous atmospheres. Hopefully more join the crew for the forthcoming Bulgaria game.

Beavis
12/02/2009, 12:55 PM

You've left us?!

I know, it's terrible! How many painful home games have I sat through (or rather banged through) and now it's become enjoyable again and I've emigrated, typical !

I wish I could go back for the Bulgaria game :o Ah well, the abundance of sun and bikini clad beauties should be of some comfort;)

12/02/2009, 1:09 PM
Just a couple of points now that I'm sober.

There seemed to be 2 groups in the singing section. 1 in front of me and one further back towards the right. Both groups knew the "we love you" song and sang it a lot. It was catching on by the end of the game. It's up to these groups to get new songs like Oro, se do bheatha bhaile sang. I can't emphasise enough how good that song is when sang in a group and it's easy to sing. I only heard it once last night and about 5 people were singing it.

And there was a few people in the section that just didn't sing. They were young, laughing and joking and should have been joining in.

Anyway, we definitely need a list of songs and for the big groups to get them going. When a few people start singing a song you feel stupid trying to join in. It requires a group to get these songs going. That's why I think we should organise a ****up in a couple of weeks. We get to know each other a bit and we're then all the one group and there'll be no problems singing.

btw - is it not "because we support the Irish, the Irish, the Irish..." ? Because I certainly wasn't hearing that line.

irishultra
12/02/2009, 1:11 PM
I suppose it didnt help that there still seemed to be lots of empty seats within the SS. If the 1000 or so were compact together it probably would have helped the look and sound of the section to the rest of the ground and on tv.

In the BundesLiga the TV stations have microphones positioned right in with the Ultras sections - always makes the atmosphere come across much better on TV.

I was in the Upper Cusack and whilst the SS didnt look to be exactly rocking it was certainly an improvement on previous atmospheres. Hopefully more join the crew for the forthcoming Bulgaria game.

as you say there was no conformity, for Hertha matches for example, where often the stadium woud be like croke park last night, all the 'hardcore fans are packed tightly together. the rest of the ground doesn't stand that much but they do partake in the odd song.

a man beside me, cool guy and i kept hitting into him and he laughed, but he's a not going to be clapping 'ireland' and then the hands in the air. it just doesn't look right.

i don't know what they can do to to make the people who want to sing closer together but they should try out something.

AND AGAIN SCRAP ON THE ONE ROAD as the players come out. it doesnt create the right atmosphere.

Hibernian
12/02/2009, 1:12 PM
have say I taught it was excellent last night.

The only downer was the idiot who at the end of first half started giving abuse to everybody as they were walking up to toilets etc for booing at half time..there was dad with his two kids and there was this fool mouthing off would not mind but he kept on for about two minutes making a ***** of himself and people just afraid or amused at him.

Anyway taught it was very good really enjoyed it and seems like there song or two more coming along as well.

Love to see "The Bounce" work would be class especially when corners come in from davin side for ireland get a real buzz and even players will feel the effect im sure.

All round well done to all who got invloved.

P.S never seen as many people go mental after a goal as we did after Robbie second fantastic.

Wolfie
12/02/2009, 1:14 PM
Was everyone adhering to seat number and row on their ticket or was it a more of a loose arrangement like on a terrace?

irishultra
12/02/2009, 1:19 PM
with the cost of tickets people should be handed a free scarf imo, even just a green white and orange one.

12/02/2009, 1:37 PM
Was everyone adhering to seat number and row on their ticket or was it a more of a loose arrangement like on a terrace?
Most people kept to their seating area because they thought they should. Stewards had no problem with anyone moving about though. If you have a ticket for the singing section they'll let you move to anywhere in that section.

LaoisLads
12/02/2009, 1:52 PM
there was 3 of us got tickets that were supposed to be the singing section but there wasn't much singing going on where we were so we just moved over into the thick of it where everyone was standing. there was no hassle changing seats at all.

12/02/2009, 2:51 PM
Did you sing yourself much?

I sang whenever I could. I'd be big into singing and atmosphere at Rovers matches. For me It wouldn't be the same otherwise.

However the impression I got last night, was of groups of lads who support Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. going to the singing section and thinking that they know it all with regards to singing and chanting and "sure jesus aren't we great".

Maybe I'm completely wrong in my opinion but just what I felt. I think people are wetting themselves with over excitement in thinking that it was "great unbelievable" atmosphere last night when in reality, it wasn't.

Newryrep
12/02/2009, 3:02 PM
I sang whenever I could. I'd be big into singing and atmosphere at Rovers matches. For me It wouldn't be the same otherwise.

However the impression I got last night, was of groups of lads who support Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. going to the singing section and thinking that they know it all with regards to singing and chanting and "sure jesus aren't we great".

Maybe I'm completely wrong in my opinion but just what I felt. I think people are wetting themselves with over excitement in thinking that it was "great unbelievable" atmosphere last night when in reality, it wasn't.

I think you have the wrong end of the stick R&WR, everybody has moaned for ages about the lack of atsmosphere in Croke park, last night was a definite improvement but I am sure they would freely admit themselves its a work in progress. Fair play to them, something needed doing otherwise its just all talk and from small acorns ......

12/02/2009, 3:32 PM
I've never sang as much at any game as I did last night. I'm sure many around me were the same. There's regular songs at away games but last night I was doing well to get a 30 second break.

As for the the Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea supporters wouldn't be the type of people that want to join this singing section. Most of them don't even want to go to the games.

irlphily
12/02/2009, 3:52 PM
would agree was slow to start with but really got going as game went on, lets keep it going lads

delighted for Robbie Keane

12/02/2009, 4:01 PM
I just downloaded the match and you can definitely hear us sing from start to finish. 2 mins30 gone and I can hear "One the one Road". Fair enough you do have to listen out for it to hear it but there's no doubt that it's a big help to the atmosphere. Without that it's a library.

4.30 a very audible Come on you boys sang.

The first 10 minutes sounds really good on TV. You'd know it was only a section of us singing obviously but it's definitely very audible.

20 mins you can clearly hear We Love You.

That was just spending a couple of seconds flicking and I'm pleasantly surprised. Without us I dread to think what the atmosphere would have been like.

12/02/2009, 4:03 PM
I will be there for the Bulgaria game when I am off the crutches and I will be giving it socks.

irishultra
12/02/2009, 4:28 PM
I just downloaded the match and you can definitely hear us sing from start to finish. 2 mins30 gone and I can hear "One the one Road". Fair enough you do have to listen out for it to hear it but there's no doubt that it's a big help to the atmosphere. Without that it's a library.

4.30 a very audible Come on you boys sang.

The first 10 minutes sounds really good on TV. You'd know it was only a section of us singing obviously but it's definitely very audible.

20 mins you can clearly hear We Love You.

That was just spending a couple of seconds flicking and I'm pleasantly surprised. Without us I dread to think what the atmosphere would have been like.

where did you download it? i'd love to watch the game in full.:)

stiffler
12/02/2009, 4:56 PM
Well done lads, best atmosphere in croker for a soccer game yet.

Mento
12/02/2009, 5:03 PM
Anyone w/ho applies for the tickets through YBIG seemed to be more or less together

Will be talking to the FAI about Bulgaria and will try get everyone in the one section

12/02/2009, 5:25 PM
where did you download it? i'd love to watch the game in full.:)
It's a torrent.

http://www.mininova.org/tor/2273896

If you download it use something like AVC player to watch it as Windows Media doesn't let you skip forward or back. If you press stop by accident you're screwed. :)

Anyone w/hoapplies for the tickets through YBIG seemed to be more or less together

Will be talking to the FAI about Bulgaria and will try get everyone in the one section
My tickets for 321 row NN but that's the front row behind the main standing section.

jmurphyc
12/02/2009, 5:30 PM
Wasn't in the singing section myself. I'm determined to try to make it there for Bulgaria. It looked great. The rest of the stadium - particularly the part I was in - was shocking until we scored though.

kingdomkerry
12/02/2009, 6:10 PM
broke my leg last monday playing 5 a side so didn't go up to match. watched a home international on TV for first time in years. singing wasn't that audible but did hear the wooo ohhh, wooo ohhhh song (aka derry/st. pauli i like it song).

would be an idea for RTE to get some mics closer to that section as that kind of signing always makes games sound better on TV.

i'll be back for the bulgaria game anyhow. does anyone know if i can send my cusack tickets back to the FAI to change for SS ones???

Yes, contact the FAI ticket office or 'you boys in green' and they'll sort you out.

12/02/2009, 6:12 PM
I've never sang as much at any game as I did last night. I'm sure many around me were the same. There's regular songs at away games but last night I was doing well to get a 30 second break.

As for the the Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea etc. Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea supporters wouldn't be the type of people that want to join this singing section. Most of them don't even want to go to the games.

Get down to your local EL club;)

I'm not on about the literal armchair supporters. More the Early/Mid 20's groups of lads...

Mayo_Bhoy
12/02/2009, 6:27 PM

Ridiculous generalisation. As for 'most of them dont even want to go the games' wtf:confused: Are they marched in at gunpoint or something?

12/02/2009, 6:45 PM
Ridiculous generalisation. As for 'most of them dont even want to go the games' wtf:confused: Are they marched in at gunpoint or something?
I don't get you? Certainly in Dublin anyway, most people with a keen interest in a premiership team wouldn't support Ireland too strongly. That's from my experience anyway. If I'm in the pub and I see someone with a Liverpool top watching Liverpool or a Man Utd top watching Man Utd, I definitely wouldn't expect them to have a great knowledge or support of the Irish team.

That's not just Irish people btw. If someone supports a club really strongly there's a big chance he doesn't have much interest in his national team. I myself would even be an exception to that so I'm not saying everybody. Anyway my point is, if I remember, the lads in the singing section last night would mainly be Ireland fans first and foremost. :)