View Full Version : More fupping Dublin bias
I hear on the radio that Shels v Rovers match on the last day of the season has been moved now from the Sunday (when supposedly every team had to play), to Friday night!!!
wonder if they'll allow us to move our drogs match to friday night...:rolleyes:
NorthoftheLee
25/11/2003, 8:16 AM
ya saw that last night on eL weekly....was fucin shocked when I heard it.........does this mean that ollie has got the checkbook out again...........surely lennox will be fuming at the loss of gate receipts.........its a complete disgrace......
DolansWaistcoat
25/11/2003, 8:30 AM
Thats crap alright,was any reason given why the dub,s match is on the friday now?
Would have been great if City had their game on friday night.Sunday games are sh*te to be honest compared to friday nights,plus Chelsea are playing man ure on sky which will effect the attendence as well.
The idea of it is that Rovers and Shels have nothing to play for.
City have a eurospot to play for, and in theory so do Pats. It would be unfair on US if we played Friday night and lost/drew then Pats would know on Sunday exactly what they need.
Pats play on Thursday so we wont know til then.
No Dublin bias, just Dublin incompetence.
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
No Dublin bias, just Dublin incompetence.
Now you're talking
Originally posted by James
I hear on the radio that Shels v Rovers match on the last day of the season has been moved now from the Sunday (when supposedly every team had to play), to Friday night!!!
wonder if they'll allow us to move our drogs match to friday night...:rolleyes:
Originally posted by NorthOfTheLee
ya saw that last night on eL weekly....was fucin shocked when I heard it.........does this mean that ollie has got the checkbook out again...........surely lennox will be fuming at the loss of gate receipts.........its a complete disgrace......
Chrsit sake lads, will ye ever stop moaning. Its moved to sunday. Live with it. look at it this way, we'll have a damn good day out. Remember the last day of last season??????
Also, btw, i hope the league dont allow us move the game to stop it clashing with stuping Manyoo and Chelski. If we do, itll show we, as a league, have no pride/confidence in our own pulling power. If the have to do anything, they can bring it forward by 15 mins, or get Sky to delay the game by an hour!
wiseman
25/11/2003, 10:30 AM
[City have a eurospot to play for, and in theory so do Pats. It would be unfair on US if we played Friday night and lost/drew then Pats would know on Sunday exactly what they need.
No Dublin bias, just Dublin incompetence. [/B]
Good point re having something to play for that makes a lot of sense,
but as you said the incompetence of allowing one fixture to be changed is staggering. Make the ruling and stick with it regardless.
Originally posted by Gary
Chrsit sake lads, will ye ever stop moaning. Its moved to sunday. Live with it. look at it this way, we'll have a damn good day out. Remember the last day of last season??????
Also, btw, i hope the league dont allow us move the game to stop it clashing with stuping Manyoo and Chelski. If we do, itll show we, as a league, have no pride/confidence in our own pulling power. If the have to do anything, they can bring it forward by 15 mins, or get Sky to delay the game by an hour!
it should be moved to avoid the Man Utd Chelsea game.
surely if Cork City can get a bigger crowd and more money it's better than saying that "we have no pride/confidence in our own pulling power."
NorthoftheLee
25/11/2003, 10:49 AM
Chrsit sake lads, will ye ever stop moaning.
Christ Gary, thats some comment coming from you.......:rolleyes:
my problem is that Friday night is Cities home night and the club is going to lose out on money with it being moved to Sunday and then they allow other teams to move theirs back to the Fri..........or put into terms that you are worried about ...it would have been a great night for a final game **** up and people wouldnt have to worry about taking the Monday off for hangover reasons...;)
Variety is the spice of life fellas.
Besides, your constant cribbing about Dublin bias, its just pathetic at this point. Get a new hobby horse. I swear to god, this season, City fans have become so uptight its unreal.
And anyone who thinks we should move the match to accomadaye Skys premiership, well :rolleyes: .
25/11/2003, 11:33 AM
i thought i'd get colm going on a rant on dub bias
not you gary :) going the other way
all good though
25/11/2003, 11:53 AM
cant see the logic in moving all games to a sunday anyway.
most sides home games are on a friday night so y not make them all kick off at the same time on a friday night:confused:
Originally posted by thecorner
cant see the logic in moving all games to a sunday anyway.
most sides home games are on a friday night so y not make them all kick off at the same time on a friday night:confused:
Pats Longford is on Thursday so you cant expect them to play again on Friday.
The Dublin bias doesnt apply here, at least in this circumstance.
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
my problem is that Friday night is Cities home night and the club is going to lose out on money with it being moved to Sunday
I think that's the crucial point alright.
I would much prefer if the game was on friday but with Pats playing Thursday I suppose that can't happen as long as they've got a chance of catching us. Saturday night would have been the best night to play the game, in the circumstances, imo.
The club arent moaning about it, so why should we? We have something to play for, Shams and Shels dont. The last game of the season has traditionally been played on a sunday, so why are people throwing their rattle around about it now? Its one game ( i know the opener was moved as well, but that wasnt the worst thing to ever happen us, crap game though!), so get over it. I dont think we will loose out on much money. We will get 3-4000 through the gates defo. remember, its only Drogs. Even if this were on a friday evening, we wouldnt be getting much of a crowd.
They all got moved to sunday, because of our abandoned game against Shels that was played last night.... We already had to fit the Pats game in as well....
Shels and Rovers have nothing to play for, and it's happened loads of times in the past. For example in 2001, we played Kilkenny after the season was officially over, as neither of us could effect the European spots or relegation...
Did you lot complain when Sunday was your match day, and all the matches were moved, as they were?
25/11/2003, 12:42 PM
The last game of the season is always on Sunday and that's the way it should be. Am not surprised though that the league authorities would change that to suit Shelsbourne.
25/11/2003, 12:58 PM
Well in fairness they are changing to suit Rovers as its a Rovers home game. The extra crowd won't bring in one cent more for Shels
Originally posted by Macy
They all got moved to sunday, because of our abandoned game against Shels that was played last night....
So it's ALL Longford's fault :eek:
Originally posted by joe
So it's ALL Longford's fault :eek:
Yeah, God is a Town fan, and me and him cooked up this cunning ploy to make it bucket down for the shels match just to p!ss Cork off :)
Actually we've been effected most, as two of our games had to moved away from Saturday to Friday nights to try and finish the season this weekend (and it's pretty clear Friday night football isn't a goer in Longford).
I vote for Gary to be co-opted onto the league's board of management so he can bring peace and co-operation to all clubs........;)
NorthoftheLee
25/11/2003, 1:07 PM
when they were all changed to sunday i wasnt happy but i accepted it as all the teams were finishing at the same time and it was the fairest thing to do given the backlog....
now they go and change teh rovers- shels game to friday ......dont rovers still have a league position to play for. wont their result on friday not have a baring on the teams around them in the league. You play for the highest position you can get.....
I think you will also find that there will be a few comments coming from city about this...You dont think that Pat will leave this one alone.???:D
as for getting 3-4000 on sunday.....unfortunately I doubt it..hope I'm wrong tho......i'll buy ya a pint Gary if I'm wrong.......given the last few attendance 3-4000 will be a good crowd...
In all fairness, Rovers have nothing to play for but pride (I mean FFS the players aren't even getting paid at the moment), and there's no money involved for where teams finish (AFAIK).
I think everyone's making a big deal out of nothing here, so I fully expect Dolo to take this further... :rolleyes:
Lads at the end of the day we will see the last game of ball on the sunday so shut up and stop whinging the lot of you.
COME ON CITY FOR EUROPE:) :)
Dolo
FFS that the 2nd time in a week you've been speaking jackeen.
You've been living with them too long, next thing you know you'll be supporting Pats:D
FFS that the 2nd time in a week you've been speaking jackeen.
You've been living with them too long, next thing you know you'll be supporting Pats:D
Hey - it's getting worse, now I'm in Wickla, deliverance country!
south county dubland
you're only south county DUBland
The club arent moaning about it, so why should we? We have something to play for, Shams and Shels dont. The last game of the season has traditionally been played on a sunday, so why are people throwing their rattle around about it now? Its one game ( i know the opener was moved as well, but that wasnt the worst thing to ever happen us, crap game though!), so get over it.
Just cause you booked the Monday off work! :D
Originally posted by James
south county dubland
you're only south county DUBland
No, proper Wickla, not Finglas on Sea.....
25/11/2003, 2:36 PM
Originally posted by ian
stop whinging the lot of you.
says the man that hasnt stopped whinging since march
Your point being?
Point?
Who said anything about having a point?
I spose when you are as good a City fan as you, you don't need a point eh!:p
jofyisgod
25/11/2003, 6:04 PM
The whole things stupid-why change to suit one team? I mean, i know it doesn't really matter, but it would just seem quite cool with everyone ending together.
Dr.Nightdub
25/11/2003, 11:51 PM
The League HASN'T always finished on a Sunday, the notion that Sunday is some kind of "traditional final day of the season" is pure piffle. When we pipped Shels for the League in 1998, the last match was on a Friday night.
Also I'm pretty sure that the year Bohs won the double, they already had the League wrapped up by the time we played them in our last match so it ended up being played at Saturday teatime. I could be wrong on this one though - Dodge / WWS?
Yeah, but Nightdub, surely the games in which teams had something to play for kicked off at the same time? And this season the only way to do that this season is with Sunday kick offs....
Exactly. Not sure about that Saturday evening game either Doc...
I'm sure all genuine City fans will make the game on Sunday as it's the last game of the season and a very important one at that.
If the attendance is lower than usual due to the game on sky then those of us that go to the game will just have to sing louder and ensure we cheer the boys to a european spot!!!
And to be honest qualifying for europe on a sunday will be as good as qualifying on a friday:D :D