View Full Version : An optimistic outlook for this Irish team

Noelys Guitar
08/02/2009, 1:58 AM
We will win on Wednesday. Possibly by more than two goals. Duff was excellent yesterday for Newcastle. Tons of guile. Whelan is the new Carsley. Gibson could be anything. I just have a feeling this guy could run the show on Wednesday. Given was sublime yesterday. Pat Jennings like. The Reading lads are going through a lull. So what. I expect Kevin Doyle to score on Wednesday because he is always looking for the ball. Never hides. We have a good defense. And Trap is getting us into a position to at least nick second place. If we win our next two games his and our expectations will be bad news for the Italian's. Come on Ireland!

Colbert Report
08/02/2009, 3:46 AM
Nice to read an optimistic post on here for once! I think we will win comfortably on Wednesday as well.

richieos
08/02/2009, 2:36 PM
this thread makes a lot more sense than the pessimistic thread, i completely agree with all the points made

Jicked
08/02/2009, 2:54 PM
We'll win, we'll control the game, but saying we'll win by more than two goals is highly unlikely. No side in any game in this group has won by more than two and we don't play an expansive game, and won't do so on Wednesday, quite rightly too.

seanfhear
08/02/2009, 4:40 PM
this thread makes a lot more sense than the pessimistic thread, i completely agree with all the points made
Only machocists read the pessimistic thread.

What kind of a manager would the guy be that posted that thread.

His pre-match speech would run along the lines of
"Ye are useless"
"there is no point in ye lot turning up"
"How much are ye going to be beaten by"

We are supposed to be supporters not anti-supporters
Anyway thats enough of that only optimism from here on in.

Kevin77
09/02/2009, 6:34 AM

What kind of a manager would the guy be that posted that thread.

His pre-match speech would run along the lines of
"Ye are useless"
"there is no point in ye lot turning up"
"How much are ye going to be beaten by"

I am not a pessimist. That thread was created with a pessimistic outlook in mind to promote discussion. Just because there are many unpalatable things about the current Irish talent pool doesn't mean we should bury our head in the sand.

I could of course create an optimistic thread and it if you re read some of my initial post you will see that there are plenty of encouraging signs and if you chose to put a positive slant on it and look for a the best case outcome then perhaps the future is rosy.

I suppose my pessimism is borne out of getting my hopes up for a number of years about players performing above themselves and 'the next big thing' that I have decided the best way to avoid disappointment with this current crop is to not get carried away.

DeLorean
09/02/2009, 10:00 AM
The best thing about this forum is the variety of views. There are many positive and negative posts in realtion to Ireland and because somebody points out that something might not be quite right, I don't think it means that they have a generally negative outlook. For example, I have serious reservations about Irelands central midfield but I still think they'll probably finish in the top 2 in the group, as Bulgaria look dreadful at the minute. Does that make me positive or negative- who cares? If everybody was in full agreement that Ireland were going to qualify it would make for a very boring forum. The optimism can wait for the stands of Croker and the streets of Bari, Sofia and Nicosia but on here I'd prefer to read what people actually think.

I do think we'll scrape a win on Wednesday though, but it won't be pretty!!

Kevin77
10/02/2009, 1:47 AM
The best thing about this forum is the variety of views. There are many positive and negative posts in realtion to Ireland and because somebody points out that something might not be quite right, I don't think it means that they have a generally negative outlook. For example, I have serious reservations about Irelands central midfield but I still think they'll probably finish in the top 2 in the group, as Bulgaria look dreadful at the minute. Does that make me positive or negative- who cares? If everybody was in full agreement tha Ireland were going to qualify it would make for a very boring forum. The optimism can wait for the stands of Croker and the streets of Bari, Sofia and Nicosia but on here I'd prefer to read what people actually think.

I do think we'll scrape a win on Wednesday though, but it won't be pretty!!

Agreed

It's a little disappointing that because I chose to express a considered opinion with some negative conclusions (it wasn't a 'Robbie Keane is ****e and overrated' post that you often see on forums) that I am tarred as not a real fan.

Of course once the game starts I am as nervous and praying that we can get the right result.

I am not making sweeping generalisations or harmful accusations. I was merely pointing out that taking the positive approach and best case scenario often leads (and has done more often than not) to disappointed.

So essentially what I am saying is that I am not particularly confident in the short term, but I am hopeful.

back of the net
10/02/2009, 12:49 PM

we are all supporters - but supporters no matter how good at supporting their team dont have be eternally positive about the outlook of the teams prospects - some fans would view their non optimistic views not as pessimism just realism.

anyway if we all shared the optimistic opinons - then this would be a pretty worthless and pointless thread

BTW i do have an optimistic view of tomorrows game - think we will win by 2-0 or 2-1 but no more - 3 points is the main thing

billybunter
11/02/2009, 3:49 AM
We will win on Wednesday. Possibly by more than two goals. Duff was excellent yesterday for Newcastle. Tons of guile. Whelan is the new Carsley. Gibson could be anything. I just have a feeling this guy could run the show on Wednesday. Given was sublime yesterday. Pat Jennings like. The Reading lads are going through a lull. So what. I expect Kevin Doyle to score on Wednesday because he is always looking for the ball. Never hides. We have a good defense. And Trap is getting us into a position to at least nick second place. If we win our next two games his and our expectations will be bad news for the Italian's. Come on Ireland!

Amen. Good man Noely. You are a true supporter. I to share your sentiment and am confident of a good result, and of good times ahead. We have a nice mix of youth, skill, experience, and thanks to trappatoni, a sound discipline and organization. May not be always entertaining, but we will never be Brazil, and thats just fine with me. C'mon ireland!! - will be roaring them on from sunny South Florida.

back of the net
11/02/2009, 12:22 PM
Amen. Good man Noely. You are a true supporter.

and people who may not agree with noely's point are NOT true supporters??? is that what your saying??

billybunter
11/02/2009, 2:17 PM
and people who may not agree with noely's point are NOT true supporters??? is that what your saying??

yes. That is exactly what I'm saying. Never had much time for the cynics / begrudgers, in fact I wish they stayed away and pi$$ed an moaned in private. Just my opinion.

Pike B
11/02/2009, 2:30 PM
yes. That is exactly what I'm saying. Never had much time for the cynics / begrudgers, in fact I wish they stayed away and pi$$ed an moaned in private. Just my opinion.
Agreed. Theres an unreal amount of them on here. Its a sad outlook on Irish supporters. Happiest when moaning.
Sign me up to Happy Supporters United..

paulie_walnuts
11/02/2009, 2:38 PM
There have been games that I've not looked forward to before. But why should we be so negative about playing Georgia at home? We've always been relatively strong at home. We've been steady if unspectacular so far (bar Poland, be we know that we are a different prospect in competitive games). I just think for a game like this I find it astounding that people are so negative about our chances. Understandable if its Italy, but its Georgia ffs. I'm not saying that last sentence expecting a walkover, but I fully expect us to take tha game.

11/02/2009, 3:07 PM
Exactly, our home record against the mid to low ranking teams in the last decade has been more than decent. In the last campaign we beat Wales & Slovakia but only fcuked up against Cyprus. Other than that I can really only think of Albania who caused us trouble and we even won that, by fluke. I think it's only because we are so keen on the result that we're anxious.

I'd be happy with a win like the 1-0 over Macedonia all those years ago at Lansdowne but delighted with a 2-0 like the two home games against Estonia.

You could even argue that against Poland we wasted good chances and whilst we conceded a few, the quality of their finishing was superb.

back of the net
11/02/2009, 11:12 PM

your opinion billy and your well entitled to it.

but i never said anything about fans moaning/begrudgers ,i was just talking about being realistic, for example , we made hard work of georgia tonight(the weakest team in our group...probably)

i figured tonight would be tough prior to the game and it was, and i consider myself a true supporter of the lads and i always will be and i am not a moaner/begrudger/cynic

Eirambler
12/02/2009, 1:34 AM
Thought I'd add to the optimism by pointing out that we're now the best ranked second placed team!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)#Ranking_o f_second-placed_teams

Its early days still but you wouldn't be quaking in your boots facing some of those lot in the playoffs. Northern Ireland anyone? :)

ramondo
12/02/2009, 10:28 AM
I'd say that's as high as NI will get in their group - I'd expect them to be in the lower half come the end of the qualifiers.

Scotland though - that's an interesting group. You never know...