View Full Version : Squad

gufc2000
06/02/2009, 5:54 PM
Who have ye kept on and what players are not being retained?

06/02/2009, 8:21 PM
Who have ye kept on and what players are not being retained?

kept on so far:andy bermingham
not kept so far: virually the rest of last seasons squad wont be kept...if i list them it will take too long ...

Town Legend
06/02/2009, 9:34 PM
kept on so far:andy bermingham
not kept so far: virually the rest of last seasons squad wont be kept...if i list them it will take too long ...

I'll give you start Marty!!! All these players haven't been offered contracts as of yet. Other players were released during the season or joined other clubs during the season and at the end of it. So I've put there current locations as I know them to be in brackets after their names!!!

Neil Gallagher
John McGuinness
Ronan Frawley
Daithi Garry
Alan O'Riordan
Stephen Gough (joined Bray end of season but apparently released again!!)
Ryan O'Donnell (left during the season)
Ryan Casey
Luke Hardy
Colin Murray (joined Kildare during the season)
Michael Hogan (released during the season)
Daire Doyle (joined Bray end of season)
Shane Harte
Michael McCarthy (released during the season)
Jason Oladele
Nathan Weiss
Dean Barrett (released during the season)
Brian Kelly (released during the season)
Darren McKenna
Iarfhaith Davoren (joined Galway during the season)
Gary Murphy
Ken Butler
Alan Lynch
Keith Kelch (joined Mount Merrion FC during the season)
Robert Douglas
Damien Rushe
Evan Connolly (joined UCD during the season)
Adrian Cregg (joined Salthill Devon during the season)
Shay Kelly (retired)

If I'm wrong with any of these I'm sure someone will point it out!!!

07/02/2009, 5:32 PM
I'll give you start Marty!!! All these players haven't been offered contracts as of yet. Other players were released during the season or joined other clubs during the season and at the end of it. So I've put there current locations as I know them to be in brackets after their names!!!

Neil Gallagher
John McGuinness
Ronan Frawley
Daithi Garry
Alan O'Riordan
Stephen Brennan
Stephen Gough (joined Bray end of season but apparently released again!!)
Ryan O'Donnell (left during the season)
Ryan Casey
Luke Hardy
Colin Murray (joined Kildare during the season)
Michael Hogan (released during the season)
Daire Doyle (joined Bray end of season)
Shane Harte
Michael McCarthy (released during the season)
Jason Oladele
Nathan Weiss
Dean Barrett (released during the season)
Brian Kelly (released during the season)
Darren McKenna
Iarfhaith Davoren (joined Galway during the season)
Gary Murphy
Ken Butler
Alan Lynch
Keith Kelch (joined Mount Merrion FC during the season)
Robert Douglas
Damien Rushe
Evan Connolly (joined UCD during the season)
Adrian Cregg (joined Salthill Devon during the season)
Shay Kelly (retired)

If I'm wrong with any of these I'm sure someone will point it out!!!

stephen brennan played in westport today he came on as sub and is back training with the club..

Town Legend
07/02/2009, 5:36 PM
Just changed the list there!!! Any info on the team today?

07/02/2009, 5:46 PM
team best of my knowledge was:

murphy

tom king bermingham brian mccarthy michael lee

dean clarke gary curran liam lynch jason mccartney

adrian murphy glynn

subs:
concannon, mark hutchison (ex sligo rovers) colm jinks justin perrin craig toner chris kelly ( sligo rovers youth) steve brennan carmine russo

very impressed with derek glynn hes way too good for us to be honest. hes fast and direct and theres a great understandin between the strikeforce.. brendan murphy made some good saves and have a fierce kickout with the hands( obviously his gaa background comes in handy)
he scored two goals and adrian murphy scored the other in a three one win for the town..

mark huthison is on trial at the moment.. no sign of ray kenny so maybe hes not joinin( oops!!)

I was beside Alan gough in the dugout and from my observations so far he is a way better communicator than aaron will ever be..

also heard from a westport official that theres a strong chance that da town could be invited into the connacht senior cup today...

Town Legend
07/02/2009, 5:48 PM
Do you know where dean clarke and justin perrin came from?

07/02/2009, 6:06 PM
Do you know where dean clarke and justin perrin came from?

dean clarkes from mullingar he has bein in towns underage panel for the last few seasons.. justin perrin is from strokestown i work with his father .. hes also came from the underage setup.

surprisingly enough the game kicked off at two.. so much for the speculation for a 2.30 pm., 3pm ko!! i made it in time by 10 mins but poor ronnieb didnt!!:p

i stood beside gough the whole game and he was always out of his box givin instructions.. imo hes a better communicator than callaghan was.. mark huthicson came on as sub( recognised him from his days at sligo rovers) . apprently him and alan gough were teammates at shels in the late nineties..
huthison is only on trial with us at the moment but could be a good signing.. there was no sign of ray kenny there( oops!!)

derek glynn if he stays with us the whole of this season could be the next ritchie parsons or dave mooney (both got golden boots from their time with us). hes fast and direct and already theres a bit of an understandin between him and adrain murphy..

athlones craig toner came on and steve brennan made a surprise comeback!!

anyone goin to rathnew tues nite??

hoop4life
07/02/2009, 7:07 PM
how did tom king and jay mccartney play?

two very good signings for ye in my opinion

atfconline
07/02/2009, 8:14 PM
athlones craig toner came on and steve brennan made a surprise comeback!!

He's not a printer, it's just Tone!

hollocaine
07/02/2009, 8:17 PM
According to the Bohs website, Brian McCarthy is in Spain with them on their training camp. He was a sub in their friendly today against Lokomotiv Moscow.

Rocky77
07/02/2009, 8:36 PM
Any sign of Duffy or Robbie Farrell, Marty?

Town Legend
07/02/2009, 11:29 PM
According to the Bohs website, Brian McCarthy is in Spain with them on their training camp. He was a sub in their friendly today against Lokomotiv Moscow.

Just seen that on extratime.ie. Who do we believe??? Marty or Bohs????:D
Or are there 2 Brian McCarthy's???:confused:

On another note have we only Glynn and Murphy as strikers?? No sign of Farrell or Duffy on that panel so doesn't look promising. Bit bare if we only have them 2 lads as out and out strikers.

braysnumber1
08/02/2009, 2:08 PM
Brian Kelly and Shane Harte both signed with Mount Merrion too. Dont think Keith Kelch is still there though...

What position does Daire Doyle play? Any good? Passing? Tracking? Tackling? Heading? You know... The usual info be greatful!!!
Also, did I hear Alan Lynch was sisgning with us? Same info please if he is!!!;)
Thanks

Rocky77
08/02/2009, 2:13 PM
If you're looking for a nice guy but who does f**k all, then Daire is your man.

If you want a winger with a load of talent but not interested in using it, then look no further than Alan Lynch.

Town Legend
08/02/2009, 2:30 PM
Just checked out the Mount Merrion website and there's no sign of Brian Kelly or Shane Harte on it, although Keith Kelch seems to be still there. And there's also a David Lee there. Is that the big blonde bombshell that played up front for us for a couple of games but just spent the time falling over himself????

braysnumber1
08/02/2009, 2:42 PM
thats last years squad. hasnt been updated. harte and kelly are with them, kelch isnt, david lee is gone.

any info on the players?

Town Legend
08/02/2009, 3:03 PM
Ok i'll take your word for it!!!

I'd have to agree with Rocky on that one with the players. Lynch has a lot of talent but just when he decides to use it which was very rare when he was with Longford but maybe Gormley will be the man to get it out of him.

Doyle was captain last year until it was stripped of him apparently for turning up to training a little worse for wear (Lynch apparently along with him). Can have a good game one week and a desperate one the next. Be an decent squad player but can't see him been a regular.

braysnumber1
08/02/2009, 3:07 PM
Ok i'll take your word for it!!!

I'd have to agree with Rocky on that one with the players. Lynch has a lot of talent but just when he decides to use it which was very rare when he was with Longford but maybe Gormley will be the man to get it out of him.

Doyle was captain last year until it was stripped of him apparently for turning up to training a little worse for wear (Lynch apparently along with him). Can have a good game one week and a desperate one the next. Be an decent squad player but can't see him been a regular.

cool thanks

08/02/2009, 6:56 PM
Any sign of Duffy or Robbie Farrell, Marty?

nope rocky77

08/02/2009, 6:57 PM
Just seen that on extratime.ie. Who do we believe??? Marty or Bohs????:D
Or are there 2 Brian McCarthy's???:confused:

On another note have we only Glynn and Murphy as strikers?? No sign of Farrell or Duffy on that panel so doesn't look promising. Bit bare if we only have them 2 lads as out and out strikers.

im pretty sure that it was brian mccarthy hes the defender with the blackbushy hair!! why would he be in spain??? im was told that he was definitely joining us on loan..

atfconline
08/02/2009, 7:14 PM
Brian has longish, straight black hair and is about 7 foot!

http://www.since1887.net/senior/BrianMcCarthy.png

08/02/2009, 7:27 PM
Brian has longish, straight black hair and is about 7 foot!

http://www.since1887.net/senior/BrianMcCarthy.png

yep that is brian i saw both in ballymahon and in westport.. i remember alan gough saying to me at the training session two weeks ago that brian was training that day.. is brian from athlone??

atfconline
08/02/2009, 7:53 PM
Pretty much!

Family is from Cork, I'm not sure how long they are in Athlone though. Came through on the same youth team as Carmine Russo, (and Noel McGee who is staying with us).

atfconline
08/02/2009, 8:07 PM
im pretty sure that it was brian mccarthy hes the defender with the blackbushy hair!! why would he be in spain??? im was told that he was definitely joining us on loan..

Wearing No.4? Going by RonnieB's photos, that doesn't look like Brian McCarthy.

howsyourtouch
08/02/2009, 9:12 PM
number 4 in ronnieB's photos is dean clarke...i know its hard to believe as he is a tank for 16 years of age!!!!birmingham is the oldest defender we have i thnik??16 and 20 year old centre half pairing...

22/02/2009, 7:51 PM
saw on ucds forum that luke hardy has left us to go to ucd..he wont be missed..

hoop4life
22/02/2009, 8:01 PM
number 4 in ronnieB's photos is dean clarke...i know its hard to believe as he is a tank for 16 years of age!!!!birmingham is the oldest defender we have i thnik??16 and 20 year old centre half pairing...

is this dean clarke from longford or is he and outsider?

on another note, do yer u16s, u17s, u18s play in combined counties football league or some other league?

22/02/2009, 8:28 PM
saw on ucds forum that luke hardy has left us to go to ucd..he wont be missed..

Thought he was a decent enough player for the First Division myself. A little lacking in pace maybe but he was far from our worst player last season. I would have kept him all things being equal.

RockofGibraltar
22/02/2009, 8:45 PM
heard last night from a fella whoson the committee that shane barrett MIGHT be coming back to us..think his deal with shels fell through a few weeks back didnt it? this guy was very quick to point out that it was only a MIGHT that he would be signing..still..theres no smoke without fire..

22/02/2009, 8:58 PM
I'd assume it would depend on how much training he'd have to do, think that was why he couldn't commit to Shels, he's got a good new job recently that wouldn't leave him as free as he was before that. He may not be as stuck for cash either though which could be a help and he's always thought fondly of his time with the Town as far as I know. Still, we'll see if it comes off or not.

RockofGibraltar
22/02/2009, 9:01 PM
i always thought he was a class act with us..never forget his goal curled into the top corner against waterford in flancare in the cup

22/02/2009, 9:09 PM
Yeah he gave some great displays for us and earned us 55k when Drogs came in for him!. Injuries always disrupted his career though, right from when he was with Wolves.

22/02/2009, 10:35 PM
I'd take Shane back even if he couldn't train once a week. Would be amazing to get him back... When Shaney goes up and down the wing... BARRETT BARRETT

howsyourtouch
23/02/2009, 4:31 AM
is this dean clarke from longford or is he and outsider?

on another note, do yer u16s, u17s, u18s play in combined counties football league or some other league?

dean is from dublin originally but is living just outside mullingar...the under 16's and under 18's play in that league,no under 17 league just in the cups,its made up of best from under 16 and under 18's that are under age...

23/02/2009, 5:06 PM
heard last night from a fella whoson the committee that shane barrett MIGHT be coming back to us..think his deal with shels fell through a few weeks back didnt it? this guy was very quick to point out that it was only a MIGHT that he would be signing..still..theres no smoke without fire..

i heard the same rumour but i heard yesterday morning from someone else whos reliable that he is definitely NOT coming to us.. wishful thinkin im afraid.. i first heard this on the way back from the brandywell that there was a possible chance but there had to be ball jugglin for it to happen...