View Full Version : Anyone thinking of leaving the country in the current climate?

04/02/2009, 12:32 PM
It's freezing like! :p

Seriously though, Den Perry made mention of it in the Public Sector Pay Cut thread and I think it warrants it's own thread. Would the way the country has been handled, the way country is now, or the way the country will most likely go (Fianna Fail will get voted back in I figure, we're Irish after all)make you think about leaving the country? Does anyone think emigration figures might hit pre-Celtic Tiger days again?

I pretty much made my mind up when Fianna Fail were re-elected to get out (and again when I was dumped by my girlfriend a few months later *whistles*), and have gone back to finally finish my degree so I can take off by the end of next year, although I realise this is looking like a full global recession (except in China, but you'd expect their exports to be hit as well) I really don't think I could stomach staying in this country when Fianna Fail eventually just abandon general elections under the Aren't The Irish Thick bill (or Maggie's Law as it should be called).

Plus I would love to say goodbye to family and friends at a leaving party and do the same exit as Ray Patterson in the Trash of the Titans episode of the Simpsons :D

Wolfie
04/02/2009, 12:46 PM
Plus I would love to say goodbye to family and friends at a leaving party and do the same exit as Ray Patterson in the Trash of the Titans episode of the Simpsons :D

You're all screwed. GoodBye!!...... :D

Den Perry
04/02/2009, 12:53 PM
It's freezing like! :p

Seriously though, Den Perry made mention of it in the Public Sector Pay Cut thread and I think it warrants it's own thread. Would the way the country has been handled, the way country is now, or the way the country will most likely go (Fianna Fail will get voted back in I figure, we're Irish after all)make you think about leaving the country? Does anyone think emigration figures might hit pre-Celtic Tiger days again?

I pretty much made my mind up when Fianna Fail were re-elected to get out (and again when I was dumped by my girlfriend a few months later *whistles*), and have gone back to finally finish my degree so I can take off by the end of next year, although I realise this is looking like a full global recession (except in China, but you'd expect their exports to be hit as well) I really don't think I could stomach staying in this country when Fianna Fail eventually just abandon general elections under the Aren't The Irish Thick bill (or Maggie's Law as it should be called).

Can I ask what age you are Jebus? I really would like to give it a go.However I'm 35 now and all my experience is in the financial sector so not too much opportunity there at moment!!

I don't have any children but do have a long term Girlfriend, so obviously would have to persuade her to move also.I had always planned on trying UK its just that things turned out differently. Obviously it would be a wrench (I sound like a footballer being transferred there) to leave family, friends etc, however may not have a choice as I think the country is going to be in the doldrums for a long time yet

04/02/2009, 1:11 PM
I have spent the last 8 years trying to convince my children to move abroad but they won't as they dont want to leave their dad, step-sisters and schools.

I have 7 1/2 years left of my children being at home and reliant on me so I have to put them and their wishes first. Otherwise I would be gone by now. In 8 years time I want to be posting on here from the South of France. Even if I am only able to get part time jobs or have to rely on benefits in France, I would rather be poor in the more friendly mediterrean climate than freezing and poor here.

Den Perry
04/02/2009, 1:14 PM
I have spent the last 8 years trying to convince my children to move abroad but they won't as they dont want to leave their dad, step-sisters and schools.

I have 7 1/2 years left of my children being at home and reliant on me so I have to put them and their wishes first. Otherwise I would be gone by now. In 8 years time I want to be posting on here from the South of France. Even if I am only able to get part time jobs or have to rely on benefits in France, I would rather be poor in the more friendly mediterrean climate than freezing and poor here.

Shall I come with you and we can support Monaco? formidable!!!

04/02/2009, 1:15 PM
having come to london with no connections to this city in any shape or form, and having spent the first couple of my work nights living in a hostel(i flew in on the sunday night and straight to a hostel for work the following morning) I can say that switching to somewhere like london or most parts of western europe, is not a daunting task at all, especially if you have a girlfriend that would come with you. It seems like a bit step but its not really. The only big thing is getting accomodation sorted.

Den Perry, do you mind asking what experience you have in FS. There are still jobs over here in that sector(as I work mainly in IT and FS), having said that it looks like I am going to be made redundant as they are getting rid of our FS BU. :D

Moving further afield is obviouslly a bigger step, however I dont think either are that big really. The thing i would worry about is ppl think of going travelling now for a year or year and half as the right thing to do, and when they come back everything will be hunky dory, its not the case, i know a lad who came back and has been 3 months out of work.

04/02/2009, 1:17 PM
Magicme, how coould you go to another country and scrounge off their socialist system? I remember meeting an english guy once in france who had spent about 4 years doing that in france. Its no life, and wholly wrong in my opinion.

04/02/2009, 1:45 PM
Just two and a half years left in college than I'm off to wherever. Spain is my preference but I've thought about the States, Canada, Portugal and South America as well.

Nothing to do with job prospects or the climate, I just hate Ireland and want to live in another country.

04/02/2009, 1:52 PM
Magicme, how coould you go to another country and scrounge off their socialist system? I remember meeting an english guy once in france who had spent about 4 years doing that in france. Its no life, and wholly wrong in my opinion.

I have no intention of going and scrounging, just saying in a worst case scenario if I moved there and couldnt get a job I would rather stay there in the warmth than move home in the cold.

I want to set up a business when I go there and have been building towards that for a few years now.

Den, would your girlfriend not be upset if you came to France with me? :eek: My boyfriend certainly would!! He is probably lurking here somewhere so hide!

Den Perry
04/02/2009, 1:56 PM
I have no intention of going and scrounging, just saying in a worst case scenario if I moved there and couldnt get a job I would rather stay there in the warmth than move home in the cold.

I want to set up a business when I go there and have been building towards that for a few years now.

Den, would your girlfriend not be upset if you came to France with me? :eek: My boyfriend certainly would!! He is probably lurking here somewhere so hide!

lol....sacre bleu, je suis desole!!

Was only joking there Magic!! (and her boyfriend....and my girlfriend if you are all on this site) lol

04/02/2009, 2:08 PM
lol....sacre bleu, je suis desole!!

Was only joking there Magic!! (and her boyfriend....and my girlfriend if you are all on this site) lol

Good recovery there. I would be supporting Marseille anyways.

Frank, Canada is a really good option and one I would love if I hadnt had my fill of artic climates when I was a child. If it was warmer I would move. That said Vancouver isnt too bad.

04/02/2009, 2:20 PM
if i could go back to america working legally i would, easy. I did a year there and it was brilliant, really opened my eyes in general, but Frank it is not easy to get working out there. Canada is always an option though with the new 2 year visa thing they have going. A lot of irish are heading out there/out there already.

04/02/2009, 2:22 PM
I'm 28 and 2 days Den Perry :)

My preference is to live in Spain, preferably Barcelona as I know people who have moved out there in the past year and absolutely love it, their only regret being that they didn't make the move sooner

04/02/2009, 2:23 PM
Frank, Canada is a really good option and one I would love if I hadnt had my fill of artic climates when I was a child. If it was warmer I would move. That said Vancouver isnt too bad.
I loved Canada when I was there a few years ago and I've really considered it but the cold winters is the main problem.

I did a year there and it was brilliant, really opened my eyes in general, but Frank it is not easy to get working out there.
My mother's an American citizen so I'm pretty sure I can get a US passport. I know I can get a green card so that's not a problem.

My preference is to live in Spain, preferably Barcelona as I know people who have moved out there in the past year and absolutely love it, their only regret being that they didn't make the move sooner
Supposedly, Barcelona is the Cork of Spain in terms of up-their-own-arseness.

Den Perry
04/02/2009, 2:28 PM

Happy belated birthday Jebus...you are only a young fella

Lived in New York before and enjoyed ibut was really only doing casual work.but but at this stage I find the American way of life too different...sport, early nights etc and would find it hard to get used to again.

If I did go it would be UK or Australia...

or else just open a little business in a European holiday resort and enjoy my summers!!

04/02/2009, 3:23 PM
regarding Canada, i have been here just under 3 years now (combination of fiancee and disillusionment with Ireland made it a quite easy choice) and i have to say that it is a great place to live with a really low cost but high quality of living.

The winters are really really freezing (in Sask it gets to -40 regularly) but it is a dry cold and is quite easy to dress for. The summers make up for it, 4-5 months of really dry warm weather. Also, BC (Vancouver) has a very moderate climate - little snow, decent sun but lots of rain in between - i think quite similar to home. It seems that Sask is booming, employment is high, wages are high, cost of living is low and though property prices rose since ive been here they are levelling off. I know that Ontario is suffering big time however.

I would recommend anyone thinking of moving to consider Canada - great people, good opportunites and low cost of living (outside of Quebec, Toronto and Vancouver).

for and on behalf of the Canadian Immigration Bureau :D

04/02/2009, 3:34 PM
I wouldn't give up my job to leave. If lost my job & options not attractive would think about it but not sure where jobs are in worldwide recession. TBH not clear how jobs in my sector affected as I haven't looked.

Royal rover
04/02/2009, 3:42 PM
my story as bit different - i moved back to the UK at the end of the boom in early 2007 - like Mr o'shea i work in IT in FS - and lived in a bed sit for about year,- wasn't very attracive for bringing ladies back trust me. anyway my phone was ringing every day up to the summer 2008, headhunters etc, things changed dramtically in August i decided to gamble walk from my job and try something else, moved to scotland in september and after spending a total of 6 years living in england i think it's far nicer, i'm 30 now , i was told i mad to leave london etc by everyone but so far so good, i still owe the banks a fair amount of cash from my days in dublin "(2003- 2006) and it kills me paying them in stg back into euro, but i'm lucky i can afford it, what i would say to anyone thinking about it is - if you have no real dependencies like kids, etc, and their maybe opportuniites wherever do it, don't listen to what anyone says parents, family, otherwise , i always found when living at home that people had an obsession with property ,most my age must wishing they didn't own one nowdays, the reality is you have nothing to lose by doing it?

irishultra
04/02/2009, 3:56 PM
no not with the currentl climate as all of the EU and the rest of the developed world are in a recession(laughable all the people emmigrating to Australia atm)

however i have a few things I want to do
1.live with my grandparents in gweedore for a bit...i love the west of ireland and ireland as a country in general but socially a lot of changes really need to happen.

2.probably will spend some time in paris, berlin and maby somewhere south of spain(is there any cities in southern spain that actually have proper industries and not just holiday homes?)

Bald Student
04/02/2009, 4:01 PM
I'm off to Oz in a month. I'll let yee all know how I get on.

If yee're thinking of following, being under 30 (and ideally under 25) is a big advantage in the immigration process.

04/02/2009, 5:21 PM
Have considered it, but the grass isn't necessarily greener elsewhere. Everywhere is going through the recession, and they're having the same job issues as here.

KevB76
04/02/2009, 5:56 PM
Im here to stay, for better or worse :)

Already spent 9 years in England. I was happy out over there but decided to come home for a few months after I got made redundant. Then got a job here and stayed.

It was harder to adjust to coming home than it was to adjust to living in the UK, but now that I've settled here again I have no real desire to move abroad again.

My Dad wanted to move to Australia back in the eighties, but my Mam talked him out of it. I'll never know how things might have turned out if we had moved but I'm content with the way things panned out anyways.

04/02/2009, 6:30 PM

Spain's unemployment rate heading towards 15%. Barcelona attracts migrants from all over Spain, never mind the rest of the world so work isn't easy to come by.

Newryrep
04/02/2009, 6:37 PM
It may be blindingly obvious but if you are heading anywhere make sure you can speak the lingo, it will greatly affect you chances of success - obviously not an issue for US, UK, Etc .

Might try and learn a language myself

irishultra
04/02/2009, 7:00 PM
It may be blindingly obvious but if you are heading anywhere make sure you can speak the lingo, it will greatly affect you chances of success - obviously not an issue for US, UK, Etc .

Might try and learn a language myself

german tbh. largest eu economy after all.

when emmigration/migration(i use this term for europe) will happen is when other countries have recovered and us like spain are left lagging behind.

04/02/2009, 8:05 PM

Depends where you come from in Ireland :p

I heard Oz still has a property bubble & has not burst yet?

04/02/2009, 8:27 PM
No, it hasn't burst yet.

But...

My step-dad (an Aussie) was saying that the Government are handing out $950 to every person to keep them spending as things are beginning to turn there too.

Noelys Guitar
04/02/2009, 8:31 PM
Depends where you come from in Ireland :p

I heard Oz still has a property bubble & has not burst yet?

A letter in todays Indo from someone who has just returned from Aus.
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/look-before--you-leap-down-under-1626307.html

04/02/2009, 8:58 PM
I'm told NZ has only felt the ripples of a tidal wave. I reckon moving to any country is a major risk right now.

04/02/2009, 9:07 PM
Well i have moved to London for a job, but would much prefer to be in Ireland - sh it as it is (second time living in London - south-east)

I have lived in a good few countries so living in a foreign land is not a problem - but alas I now have a wife (with a good solid job in Dublin!). At least I have good holidays and can see her every 6 weeks or so - but damn ireland for been so corrupt - I am not a member of FF so that can hinder - but then again - I never ass licked for anything in life..............

irishultra
04/02/2009, 10:11 PM
Well i have moved to London for a job, but would much prefer to be in Ireland - sh it as it is (second time living in London - south-east)

I have lived in a good few countries so living in a foreign land is not a problem - but alas I now have a wife (with a good solid job in Dublin!). At least I have good holidays and can see her every 6 weeks or so - but damn ireland for been so corrupt - I am not a member of FF so that can hinder - but then again - I never ass licked for anything in life..............

:) awww, thats cool. its good to be flexible like, with ryanair you can be in any city from stockholm to rome and get home(:p) pretty regularly and cheaply., contrast that to somewhere like canada, my cousin just can't afford to get home with costs.

a good few of my family work in brussels and yeah they get home pretty regulary.

04/02/2009, 11:07 PM
Planning on moving to Japan to teach EFL with the girlfriend in September. I'm 23, she's 24 and neither of us have any real job/mortgage commitments. We started planning back last summer and still intend to go regardless of the global recession.

irishultra
04/02/2009, 11:10 PM
Planning on moving to Japan to teach EFL with the girlfriend in September. I'm 23, she's 24 and neither of us have any real job/mortgage commitments. We started planning back last summer and still intend to go regardless of the global recession.

thats class really. its pretty tough to emmigrate there tho, right?

04/02/2009, 11:11 PM
A letter in todays Indo from someone who has just returned from Aus.
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/look-before--you-leap-down-under-1626307.html

Seems my yet disclaimer is already obselete.

Probably the only way to ride out a worldwide recession is take savings to South East Asia or India as can probably live very cheap for a couple of years.

05/02/2009, 1:00 AM
contrast that to somewhere like canada, my cousin just can't afford to get home with costs.

definitely the biggest p1sser with living here (specially Sask). Min 3 flights to Dublin and can usually only get back once a year though thats probably more to do with holidays from work (only 20 days) than cost.

05/02/2009, 1:22 AM
There goes travelling to Ireland games so.

endabob1
05/02/2009, 7:53 AM
I was among probably the last of the pre Tiger emigrants (1995), finish college/Uni on the Friday get the boat for England on the Monday.
I was lucky in that I had 2 sisters there already so was sorted for a place to stay and that initial support network. I lived in London for 7 years and really enjoyed it, I bought a place and sold it just before property went completely bonkers :-(.
Since 2002 I have spent a year in Cape Town, a year in Oz, 4 years back in the UK living in Rural England and am now 4 months back in Cape Town. I am now a fully fledged expert in Shipping companies, emigration law, visas, permanent residency etc…
My advice to anyone thinking of moving overseas is to research the hell out if it, you can’t research it enough. If you have family and/or friends somewhere it makes it 1000% easier. My wife is South African and we tried Oz as a kind of compromise, we were both tired of London and were looking for something smaller and with a slower pace of life. It’s a great country but it is (and this sounds very simplistic) very very far away, you feel it a lot if like me you’re from a big close knit family. We did a year in Melbourne but had traveled the country before and generally I have good memories, it just wasn’t right for us. That said if you are thinking of going I would advise you to speak to people who have been there and if possible people who are still there. Oz is not an easy adjustment, or it wasn’t for me.
London/UK is a much easier adjustment culturally it’s easier and thanks to Ryan Air it’s easy getting over and back, I know lads who continued to play for local teams in Ireland flying back once a week or once a fortnight.
South Africa is a different one, Cape Town is stunning and I love living here but would I do it without my wife being a local…... probably not, that said I’ve met a lot of people here who have came here as travelers and stayed.
I love travel and you get a better view of local life by living and working in it rather than just breezing through as a tourist, if you're young and don't have commitments I would whole heartedly endorse a couple of years abroad.

shantykelly
05/02/2009, 8:14 AM
planning on going for at least two years when the other half finishes her course. as it stands, there really isnt anything for us here apart from family. neither of us will further our careers to any significant level, and watching megastructures on discovery is making me jealous as ****.

05/02/2009, 9:22 AM
Not if you get a job before you go there - then the company will sponsor your visa - you will be a "specialist in humanities and international services".

05/02/2009, 9:46 AM

Not entirely sure to be honest. The course we're doing comes with a placement but there are any number of other factors to think about. We'll just have to do our research. We're both lucky enough in that the uncertainty over where we'll go and how we'll get on out there is part of the appeal- we're quite happy to go wherever the wind blows us. If we don't get sorted in Japan, we'll try just keep travelling around and try some other country. If it sounds not particularly detailed and researched, thats because it isn't but thats what makes it so exciting.

05/02/2009, 10:10 AM
I finish my MA in the summer and unfortunately it's something I'm having to increasingly think about.. If I can get a job here though I'll definitely be staying.

05/02/2009, 3:34 PM
Well - thanks to my work contract not being renewed past March 1st - I will be fecking off to Oslo in Norway on March 25th.

Got somewhere to stay initially rent free (with a couple of friends) - and a few grand in cash to take care of any expenses.

I'll be there until it runs out

kingdom hoop
05/02/2009, 5:07 PM
I'll be there until it runs out

Isn't Oslo very expensive though? There was a programme on TG4 last night (part of a series) where they went to Oslo to meet a few Irish who'd moved there and a few locals who speak Irish (rather amusingly, one old Norwegian fella had beautiful hot-potato-in-mouth Connamara Irish). Anyway, context and source provided, apparently it's €9 for a pint there! Excellent health care and social services they said alright, but still, €9 a pint! I mean, they'd really have to get their priorities right over there before I'd consider moving. :)

I've no plans to move at the moment, but if I was I'd be looking at joining MagicMe in the south of France (maybe open a vineyard together to sustain our writing exploits?) or I'd maybe head to Brazil or Argentina, or just about anywhere I could scrape by really. Key factors would be local culture, Romance language or English, scenic beauty, and friendliness of locals. If they were satisfactory, then within reason economic conditions would come after. Actually scrap that, just give me somewhere fairly warm and sunny lying in a hammock, sipping, toking, listening to music and reading, with a tiny bit of work interspersed, and I'd be happy for the rest of my days. Hey, I have to have a dream, right. :cool:

05/02/2009, 5:25 PM
Isn't Oslo very expensive though? There was a programme on TG4 last night (part of a series) where they went to Oslo to meet a few Irish who'd moved there and a few locals who speak Irish (rather amusingly, one old Norwegian fella had beautiful hot-potato-in-mouth Connamara Irish). Anyway, context and source provided, apparently it's €9 for a pint there! Excellent health care and social services they said alright, but still, €9 a pint! I mean, they'd really have to get their priorities right over there before I'd consider moving. :)

The €9 figure is a bit like quoting Temple Bar prices in Dublin as the amount across the whole country. A pint in Oslo is more around the €5 / €6 mark

I've been over there regularly over the last decade - the standard of living is high - as is the cost - but then people there earn a helluva lot more - which offsets costs a lot.

05/02/2009, 5:38 PM
The €9 figure is a bit like quoting Temple Bar prices in Dublin as the amount across the whole country. A pint in Oslo is more around the €5 / €6 mark

I've been over there regularly over the last decade - the standard of living is high - as is the cost - but then people there earn a helluva lot more - which offsets costs a lot.

Been over a few times for work & their state richest probably keeping me employed. Infrastructure is impressive but prices seemed maybe 1/3 more expensive like for like with Ireland.

06/02/2009, 5:23 AM
I'm still temping but getting sick of starting over in new sites... If I dont get a full-time job offer where i am, im half considering working on a cruise ship where my mate is managing. Wages paid in bank, everything subsidised, get to travel the world, you work hard but you play hard too.....

endabob1
06/02/2009, 5:34 AM
Pauro I know a couple of people who've done the cruise ship thing, a good way to save money but you need STAMINA ;)

06/02/2009, 8:31 AM
Where?

E9 was what I paid almost every time over there. Including the time I got drunk and bought a round of seven drinks for my new best Norwegian mates. :o The price stuck in my head after that!

06/02/2009, 9:39 AM
Pauro I know a couple of people who've done the cruise ship thing, a good way to save money but you need STAMINA ;)

Nothing wrong with my stamina I'll have ya know! ;) It'll be quite exhausting but a great way to get away from all the negativity around here. And there'll be tales to tell and money in the bank. Just an option though.

06/02/2009, 11:40 AM
I'm still temping but getting sick of starting over in new sites... If I dont get a full-time job offer where i am, im half considering working on a cruise ship where my mate is managing. Wages paid in bank, everything subsidised, get to travel the world, you work hard but you play hard too.....

Jesus Pauro - that sounds like a cool gig - how/where does one apply for these kind of jobs?