View Full Version : Anyone thinking of leaving the country in the current climate?

Pages : 1 [2]

06/02/2009, 12:23 PM
Jesus Pauro - that sounds like a cool gig - how/where does one apply for these kind of jobs?

i'll have to ask my mate but although it's not all good times on board, the idea of not spending a penny for a few months sounds ideal, as well as escape from bills, contracts, commuting etc.

Wolfie
06/02/2009, 12:47 PM
I was offered a "one off", no questions asked job in sunny Colombia - cash in hand.

Apparently all I have to do is travel to Colombia (all expenses covered), pick up a job load of cuddly toys and carry them back through customs.

I'll let you know how I get on..................

06/02/2009, 12:55 PM
Be sure and say hello to Ruben Sosa for us.

Unless he wasn't all he made himself out to be...

Wolfie
06/02/2009, 1:01 PM
Be sure and say hello to Ruben Sosa for us.

Unless he wasn't all he made himself out to be...

What a coincidence!! Do you carry out export work for Senior Sosa too!!!

06/02/2009, 6:43 PM
I hope to be finished with college inside of a year. I'll be going wherever there's work then, in the short term anyway.

07/02/2009, 6:44 AM
i'll have to ask my mate but although it's not all good times on board, the idea of not spending a penny for a few months sounds ideal, as well as escape from bills, contracts, commuting etc.

cheers Pauro, Im waiting:)

eamo1
07/02/2009, 9:37 PM
Lads the problem now is that its not the 1950's anymore.Back then you left Ireland and went to a country with a much better jobs climate,U.S,Oz etc.But these days the "go to" countries are also screwed and dont have great jobs climate's.Still though,Ireland(and Iceland) and the countries furthest up the creek with no paddle's.As was said at the start of the Thread,if i do leave Rays Patterson's words in the Simpsons will be my last words at Shannon airport- "its so gratifying to leave you wallowing in the mess you've made,your screwed,thank you,bye":).

irishultra
08/02/2009, 3:18 AM
latvia is a bit like us actually, they had growth rates never seen before but then BANG, financial crisis.

brianw82
08/02/2009, 9:15 AM
It may be blindingly obvious but if you are heading anywhere make sure you can speak the lingo, it will greatly affect you chances of success - obviously not an issue for US, UK, Etc .

Might try and learn a language myself

Not a problem. The utterly fantastic language teaching in Ireland will remove all lignuistic barriers.

"Voulez-vous coucher avec moi?" - eh, ya whaa?

08/02/2009, 6:40 PM
cheers Pauro, Im waiting:)So am I Pauro, it's something I've always been interested in trying out so any info appreciated;).

Alternatively, I'm tempted to go to Canada for 3 months. Travelling, not working. Then in September do a 1 year bar work course and go travelling(with work hopefully) to Canada or Oz for a year.

08/02/2009, 7:27 PM
Great Barrier Reef anyone (http://www.islandreefjob.com/webdata/content/2/59.pdf?ts=1229652407)?

13/02/2009, 2:53 PM
I'm waiting for info off my mate, i'll pm ye if i hear anything. I'm being let go myself from my temping position, and not a sniff of a full-time job anywhere, might be tempted to go for it myself! even if its just bar-work, its a nice escape from the doom and gloom.

13/02/2009, 4:42 PM
tx pauro