View Full Version : Fund Raiser in the Southern Hotel

Rovers Maniac
02/02/2009, 12:56 PM
Chairman Michael Toolan and Club PRO Dermot Brannigan have today confirmed to local radio that manager Paul Cook will remain Sligo Rovers' manager on the condition that sixty thousand euro is raised in the next two weeks to fund the income of two new players.

It emerged that Cook has resigned due to the fact that he wanted two players to increase his squad to sixteen as Rovers look to embark in five competitions in 2009, but now to the relief of Sligo fans, they have a chance to get the much loved Liverpudlian back at the helm.

If this money is raised before Valentine's Day, Sligo's budget will be increased by the FAI and only then will Cook retake the Sligo mangerial position.

To faciliatate this, a fundraiser is planned in the Sligo Southern Hotel next Saturday night. No admission fee will be charged on the door, with supporters donating whatever they feel appropiate for entry. No acts have been confirmed as of yet, but there will be auctions on the night in order to boost the figure. Toolan also mentioned that the club were seeking twelve donations of five thousand euro to raise this money as soon as possible. "It's up to the supporters'" said Brannigan.

This will come as great news to the Bit O'Red followers, to whom Cook holds a special place in the heart of as he has achieved European qualification for the first time in over ten years.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1207/

Hopefully there will be a good turnout on the night !

02/02/2009, 1:07 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/689/1/

Why don't ye lads check the offical site. It's full of the the latest news;)

Fivesilver
02/02/2009, 2:42 PM
Again I'm harping back on the Billy Sinclair example, but I hope there's more being done regarding businesses. Are the committee hoping an announcement on the website and in local media will coax sponsors out of the woodwork, or are they willing to do the legwork of actually approaching businesses?
Sligo Rovers bring in a lot of revenue to local shops and pubs each year - they worst they can do if you go in to them and ask for a grand or two (or five) is say no. The 'R' word will be thrown out there like a magic shield, and no doubt it will apply to some, but it's being used by many companies across the country as an excuse to protect profits by throwing loyal workers out on their ears.
Remind potential sponsors of the good the club has done to the town down the years. Remind them of how much Cook achieved under tough circumstances last season and point out how good a position we would be in for the coming season if we can hold onto him and get a couple more players in.
€60,000, given the amount of businesses in Sligo, should be possible to split up into manageable amounts

02/02/2009, 2:50 PM
As admirable as an idea that is, and yes it's definetely worth trying as (As you said) they worst they can say is "no", I would be very surprised to see shopps and businesses giving out sums of money like that in the current financial climate....

akearins
02/02/2009, 3:42 PM
Lads what we need now is as many people to spread the word about Saturday nights event in the southern.It may be the biggest signal we can send to the club that we are willing to back the club in this time of need.Also there is a Public forum on Thursday evening in the southern hotel at 8pm.This will explain the €2 fundraiser, where we are with it and what we can do to increase numbers.Also any queries fans may have in relation to it will be answered.Gerry Carr will also be in attendance.
Please do all we can to get the finances together and dont simply think that someone else will get it ,everyone needs to help with this.
Anyone with fundraisieng ideas and need any assitance from the trust just let me know.

02/02/2009, 3:48 PM
Alan, will there be a table for the €2 fundrasier there on Thursday and Sat night?

Rovers fan
02/02/2009, 5:04 PM
Someone should tell keith to send out a text about the fundraiser in the southern.

Rwrover??

02/02/2009, 5:07 PM
to who though?

That text thingy isn't on the go anymore AFAIK...

Rovers fan
02/02/2009, 5:18 PM
Oh right didn't know that...

02/02/2009, 5:48 PM
Well I'm fairly certain anyway like.

Was only a season long thing I think.

Knappagh Red
03/02/2009, 1:58 PM
Again I'm harping back on the Billy Sinclair example

What's this?, start the season with 14 players and win the league

RGMY
03/02/2009, 8:57 PM
just to let ye know lads some more items have been given to us to auction on saturday night

celtic match tickets

framed ireland jersey, signed by mick mccarthys squad

also hopeing to get a corporate ireland match package, tickets to game, meet and greet the players, dinner etc
further updates tomorrow.

Redkenrover
03/02/2009, 9:26 PM
lads what time is this thing kicking off at.

03/02/2009, 10:18 PM
Is this expected to be a late one? Will pop in if back in time.

D Brannigan
03/02/2009, 10:43 PM
lads what time is this thing kicking off at.

8 till late!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

akearins
04/02/2009, 10:49 AM
Just to fill you in a bit more about Saturday Night in the Southern Hotel.
It start at 8pm until late.
Entertainemnt will be provided by
Graham Monaghan
The Nighthawkes Band
Catherine Scott DJ

Auction Prizes:
Signed Ireland Jersey
Signed Rovers Jersey
1977 Sligo Rovers League Winning Jersey
1995/1996 Sligo Rovers Signed Jersey
2 Match Day Sligo Rovers Jerseys
Signed Wayne Rooney Man Utd signed Jersey
Signed LIVERPOOL 2008/2009 Squad Jersey
Signed Seamus Colemans 1st Everton Jersey(May not arrive on time for Sat but we will have written guarantee of it from Seamies Agent)
2 Ireland V Bulgaria World Cup Qualifier Tickets(Hogan Stand Seats value €140)
2 Arsenal v Chelsea Tickets

Spot Prizes
2 Signed Rovers Footballs
2 Ireland V Georgia World Cup Qualifier Tickets
Weekend in Skylon Hotel Dublin
6 Months FREE membership to Mercy Gym
Various other spot prizes

04/02/2009, 9:01 PM
The bank details for the recently announced Players Fund 2009 are:
BANK-AIB
Type Of Account: Current
Sort Code: 937258 Account No: 18082-059.

neutrino
05/02/2009, 11:25 AM
The bank details for the recently announced Players Fund 2009 are:
BANK-AIB
Type Of Account: Current
Sort Code: 937258 Account No: 18082-059.

Excellent.
this is the overall 60k fund into trust account to get cook back yes ?

Maybe it should be out on it's own as a thread or a sticky so it's gets maximimum exposure and not lost in a thread ?

05/02/2009, 11:35 AM
Excellent.
this is the overall 60k fund into trust account to get cook back yes ?

Maybe it should be out on it's own as a thread or a sticky so it's gets maximimum exposure and not lost in a thread ?

Added (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1099270#post1099270)