View Full Version : Is Cook coming back?
no, i let the air out of my balloon.
ahh, my mistake! :D
I'd have thought you were unlikely to get the same level of sponsorship this season as you did last year with the economy the way it is. A reduction in budget from what you could raise last year doesn't seem unreasonable.
Also Id imagine most clubs will see attendances hit aswell. People wont have the money to bring the family every second Friday.
Any club/fan who thinks their clubs income will be as high as last year is delusional. A recession will affect LOI clubs just like any other business.
Everyone should be cutting budgets to predict this
Rovers Maniac
02/02/2009, 5:20 PM
Also Id imagine most clubs will see attendances hit aswell. People wont have the money to bring the family every second Friday.
Any club/fan who thinks their clubs income will be as high as last year is delusional. A recession will affect LOI clubs just like any other business.
Everyone should be cutting budgets to predict this
This will be really interesting Micls but people still have to live a little, i would have thought you may see the trips to the premier league games hit harder !
How many people go to PL games regularly though? For most its once or twice a yea.r Theyl just head to the pub instead.
You'll still get your regulars but if Im stuck for money I wont be bringing along my little brother and Id imagine a lot of other families will be in the same position.
Rovers Maniac
02/02/2009, 5:45 PM
How many people go to PL games regularly though? For most its once or twice a yea.r Theyl just head to the pub instead.
You'll still get your regulars but if Im stuck for money I wont be bringing along my little brother and Id imagine a lot of other families will be in the same position.
Jeez go out to Dublin airport on a Saturday morning, its kaos with all the people heading away. I think the once or twice a year will have to cut down to once or not at all. Sponsorship will be a bigger issue in the league.
I think the once or twice a year will have to cut down to once or not at all.
But will those people come to LOI games instead? I doubt it.
Sponsorship will be a bigger issue in the league.
Either way I think its obvious income will drop and therefore expenditure must too
02/02/2009, 9:04 PM
Paul Cook:
Personally, at the end of the season, I think it would be more important to have a trophy in the cabinet than money in the bank.
Now there's an attitude the Eircom League's been lacking these last few years... :rolleyes:
Tell Cook to catch himself on- he's been given a budget, it's up to him to deal with it.
Inside Man
02/02/2009, 9:52 PM
Paul Cook:
Now there's an attitude the Eircom League's been lacking these last few years... :rolleyes:
Tell Cook to catch himself on- he's been given a budget, it's up to him to deal with it.
I agree.That was an awfull comment by cook.
Shiba
02/02/2009, 10:44 PM
You mean you would rather go with the people who brought your club to financial ruin last year over the people who appointed Trappatoni.....
What has Trappatoni acheived with Ireland?
I don't understand this comment. If our budget, as it stands, has been accepted by the FAI then we're not spending money we don't have.
Lads Im on the outside looking in,Im not having a go but every year there seems to be some problem with managers and promises made to managers.If im wrong tell me,but could it not be anything to do with the chairman??? or board?
03/02/2009, 9:16 PM
What has Trappatoni acheived with Ireland?
Of course your right, sure Paul Cook is a much more experienced and proven manager than Trappatoni.
This whole thing stinks, Sligo fans came out and raised huge money last season to save their club.
Do Sligo fans really think Cook is going to leave? Where will he go?
I'd let him go, there is some quality managers around who would jump at a 9grand a week budget and do very well this season.
Take Paul Hegarty, he will make ye a Professional club.
Tis-smeee
03/02/2009, 10:04 PM
what about the coleman money?
Boo_Boy
04/02/2009, 6:53 AM
what about the coleman money?
Wouldn't even cover the phone bill for calling England...
11/02/2009, 10:02 PM
He's back (http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/692/1/).
eelmonster
11/02/2009, 10:28 PM
So, what fundraising stunt have Sligo in mind for the '09 mid-season break?
11/02/2009, 10:29 PM
So, what fundraising stunt have Sligo in mind for the '09 mid-season break?You'll have to ask our management committee, they're the ones with the great ideas.
Boo_Boy
11/02/2009, 10:42 PM
Delighted he's back but it sickens me that our club would do something like this to the fans, absolutely sickening. Clearly planned out, over 40,000 off the target with 4 days still left to the deadline to raise the funds and he's returned.
F**k all involved.
12/02/2009, 12:01 PM
Was told this morning that Cooke was never leaving at all, as he has been in talks with Alan Keane from Galway for a while now, and he'll be signing for them on his return from Australia in 2 weeks time.
Seems to be spot on. 2 weeks later, he comes back. Nowhere near the amount of money raised that Sligo said needed to be raised
Twice in 6/7 months Sligo crying Wolf?
12/02/2009, 12:08 PM
I really don't know what to think...
Delighted Cook is back but just...hmmm.
12/02/2009, 12:11 PM
Seems to be spot on. 2 weeks later, he comes back. Nowhere near the amount of money raised that Sligo said needed to be raisedTo be fair, I think very few Rovers fans believed Cook was definitely gone. It was some scheme thought up in order to boost the account for the start of the season. I'm not happy with it but I do believe Cook is the right man in charge for this season so I'm glad he's back.
Hopefully some signings will be announced soon, at the press conference tonight preferably.
12/02/2009, 12:21 PM
Yeah, I should have said Sligo's board rather than imply it was Sligo fans.
As i've said adngerous game to play so soon after the last "plea"
dublinred
12/02/2009, 3:10 PM
Seems to be spot on. 2 weeks later, he comes back. Nowhere near the amount of money raised that Sligo said needed to be raised
Twice in 6/7 months Sligo crying Wolf?
Makes a joke of the FAI , they cut our budget so we would not be crying wolf so we cried wolf for a bigger budget which we have got from the FAI along with funds raised from the fans , reduction in player wages and most importantly Cook back in charge with a few new players coming in which isn't bad considering the alternative would of been a smaller budger small squad and a one way ticket back to the first division with a big financial crisis circa August. Cook cited his reasons for leaving and we tried to do something about it albeit 4 months too late the fundraising for this season should of started as soon in November all we had from the club was a plea to buy season tickets whcih is not good enough proper findraising comitee badly needed.
Makes a joke of the FAI , they cut our budget
Does no such thing. Your budget wasn't realistic. No other reason to refuse it (as they did with other clubs)
Rovers Maniac
12/02/2009, 3:58 PM
Does no such thing. Your budget wasn't realistic. No other reason to refuse it (as they did with other clubs)
What it boils down to is opinions and as we seen this week how well you get on with the FAI hierarchy !
forza rovers
12/02/2009, 4:13 PM
Does no such thing. Your budget wasn't realistic. No other reason to refuse it (as they did with other clubs)10,000 was not realistic a week for a club playing in over 50 games with a squad of 13-14 players
Maybe you're paying your players too much.
In all fairness a budget of 10k should be enough to see you competitive this year.
10,000 was not realistic a week for a club playing in over 50 games with a squad of 13-14 players
It is if you cant raise enough income to pay them.
Sean South
12/02/2009, 4:32 PM
10,000 was not realistic a week for a club playing in over 50 games with a squad of 13-14 players
This 9 or 10 grand that keeps been quoted is the basic players wages it doesn't include PRSI, the day to day running of the club like ESB bills buses hotels etc, player bonuses which most of them are on.
Anyway all these stories about it been a big scam is complete rubbish what happened happened its time to move on.
Your budget isn't based on what you need, its based on what you can raise.
12/02/2009, 4:41 PM
Your budget isn't based on what you need, its based on what you can raise.
Is there any way this can be tattoed onto the forehead of every executive at every LOI club?
I'll settle for Sligo fans at thsi stage
dublinred
12/02/2009, 4:58 PM
Maybe you're paying your players too much.
In all fairness a budget of 10k should be enough to see you competitive this year.
The manager is more important than the budget Cook has proved he can operate on a small budget and will get the best out of the current players I heard of clubs paying 18k a week last year to get relegated. The current sytem is stupid you try and keep your best players by offering reasonable contracts and job security then the FAI decide to knock a lump of the budget and leave very little room for new players withut have to re-negoiate with the current squad there should be some kind of independent arbritation to rectify rows between clubs and FAI.
Jesus Christ.
YOUR BUDGET CAN NOT BE BASED ON HOW MANY GAMES YOU PLAY OR HOW MANY FULL TIME PROS YOU WANT TO HAVE!
passerrby
12/02/2009, 5:23 PM
]The current sytem is stupid you try and keep your best players by offering reasonable contracts and job security then the FAI decide to knock a lump of the budget and leave very little room for new players [/B].
at a guess why do you think the fai knocked a lump of your budget.
because they looked at your income v expediture last year and said "there at it again" or words to that effect
BTW a player I know has been offered a deal by Sligo of €1k a week. If he's getting that you can be sure the likes of Peers etc are on a good deal more. That would mean some players at Sligo on very little if they're aiming for a budget of 10k per week
Rovers Maniac
12/02/2009, 7:00 PM
BTW a player I know has been offered a deal by Sligo of €1k a week. If he's getting that you can be sure the likes of Peers etc are on a good deal more. That would mean some players at Sligo on very little if they're aiming for a budget of 10k per week
Ah pub talk you can't beat it :D
12/02/2009, 7:12 PM
Bullplop! not a chance!
dublinred
12/02/2009, 8:11 PM
We are Red in name only we are not commies , some players get paid more than others.
12/02/2009, 8:55 PM
Bullplop! not a chance!
Parkhouse is on a huge pay packet and I doubt if he is a top earner at the club.
12/02/2009, 9:02 PM
Parkhouse is on a huge pay packet and I doubt if he is a top earner at the club.
i noticed someone posted that on the Harps forum, saying he was on €1k a week. :rolleyes: if our budget is 9-10k how the hell could we have Peers and Parkhouse taking up 2k of the budget? with 12/13 other players and 3 or 4 more yet to come in.
13/02/2009, 12:25 AM
Maybe your budget is more than 10k? It wouldn't be like your board to lie to you, would it? ("were going out of business" "No actually we made a profit" "We need 60k or he's off")
Sligo have allegedly offered Alan Keane €1,000 a week and have been in contact with him while he was in Australia on Holidays. There has to be serious questions asked of the MC in Sligo or are the fans just going to say no problems as long as Cokkie is back.
sligored
13/02/2009, 9:49 AM
Sligo have allegedly offered Alan Keane €1,000 a week and have been in contact with him while he was in Australia on Holidays. There has to be serious questions asked of the MC in Sligo or are the fans just going to say no problems as long as Cokkie is back.
galway have allegedly offered beckham 200k per week.
I cant back it up but thats what i heard.
Hearsay Bulls**t
13/02/2009, 10:08 AM
Bury your heads in the sand lads but there are definitely serious questions to be asked by the fans before ye end up like all the clubs it couldnt have happened to before.
dublinred
13/02/2009, 11:29 AM
He wouldn't be due to re-negogiate his contract by any chance ? Find it hard to believe we would pay a player of his quality that much , he is probably spinning to get a better deal from ye I would call his bluff. BTW Boco is highest paid player at rovers and his package is not massive by any means in comparison to some of the numbers quoted on here and what some players were on last season , to put things into context Faz was offered a record breaking 1400 a week to stay last year but Drogs were offering 2000 and an apartment and BTW still owe 10k of the transfer fee which we have kindly deferred.
13/02/2009, 12:36 PM
i noticed someone posted that on the Harps forum, saying he was on €1k a week. :rolleyes: if our budget is 9-10k how the hell could we have Peers and Parkhouse taking up 2k of the budget? with 12/13 other players and 3 or 4 more yet to come in.
Not quite €1k but close, Ive been told €800 a week which is crazy money for a player in the current financial situation of the League.
I would say most of the better players would take €500 a week as I doubt there is much better offers available to them.
sligored
13/02/2009, 1:04 PM
it seems that galway and harps supporters have a problem with sligos success on and off the pitch. Jealousy, the green eyed monster. Good supporters who are willing to help out when finance is needed is what makes sligo rovers the great club that it is and the top club in the region.
We can only pay what the fai allow, so stop WUMMING.
There's no talking to these people...
dublinred
13/02/2009, 1:16 PM
There's no talking to these people...
He a good one for you , our new Portuguese striker......
Idálio Alexandre Ferreira Espírito Santo
13/02/2009, 1:20 PM
He a good one for you , our new Portuguese striker......
Idálio Alexandre Ferreira Espírito Santo
Nick for short ;)