View Full Version : €50,000
have spoken to members of the trust and thet are in agreement this is the way forward 2 euro lads thats all we need from 500 people, it can be more if ye want lads. we need the support lads no bickering, name calling lads full support is needed here. Lets follow the example of red arrow, alan kerins, members of the trust and get this off the ground. Fundraisers are taking place in the next week and also a fans forum is taking place on thursday "to be clarified" in the southern.
Town Legend
01/02/2009, 4:54 PM
If your looking for E50000 and its E2 from 500 people than thats only E10000???? Have ye already got E40000 in the kitty???? :confused:
Rovers Maniac
01/02/2009, 5:04 PM
Its 60k actually that is needed to keep Cookie, not impossible as there seems to be a lot of good will out there.
TheBoss
01/02/2009, 5:09 PM
That would make it €6 from 10000 fans :D
Rovers fan
01/02/2009, 5:21 PM
Come on lads,lets get behind this! I know a lot of people will be thinking "not this again" but it's important that we hold onto cookie.
01/02/2009, 5:28 PM
Come on lads,lets get behind this! I know a lot of people will be thinking "not this again" but it's important that we hold onto cookie.
I really like Cookie, and obviously I'll be donating to get us towards the 60k, but at the same time again, as a club, I think we're looking amateurish beyond belief...
Rovers fan
01/02/2009, 5:52 PM
I really like Cookie, and obviously I'll be donating to get us towards the 60k, but at the same time again, as a club, I think we're looking amateurish beyond belief...
Agreed........
have spoken to members of the trust and thet are in agreement this is the way forward 2 euro lads thats all we need from 500 people, it can be more if ye want lads. we need the support lads no bickering, name calling lads full support is needed here. Lets follow the example of red arrow, alan kerins, members of the trust and get this off the ground. Fundraisers are taking place in the next week and also a fans forum is taking place on thursday "to be clarified" in the southern.
Fair enough but would be better if the club came out with something more than "no further comment"!
Would be unbelievable to pull this off.
redtildead
01/02/2009, 6:08 PM
That would make it €6 from 10000 fans :D
The plan is €2 a week from 500 fans for the year.
Inside Man
01/02/2009, 6:48 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1207/
Don't mean to knock it but where the hell are they gonna get 60k from in two weeks? Seems far fetched. The only way is the 2euro iniative however to get 500 hundred names in two weeks would be some achievement i can't see developing. But I will do my best and try to get as many signed as i can however some people i have talked to have been holding back as they think its just another drain from their weekly income which is dwindling ever more these days. Just a little feedback. However i'll give it my full backing.
Knappagh Red
01/02/2009, 7:08 PM
We have 500 hardcore supporters, if the trust could get the names and addresses of season ticket holders it could be a big help
Fivesilver
01/02/2009, 7:38 PM
If we can get 30 businesses (pubs, shops, nightclubs, whatever) to commit 20 euro a week, that would cover half of it. And I'm sure there are some of us who would go for 3 or 4 euro instead of two.
Rovers fan
01/02/2009, 7:41 PM
If we can get 30 businesses (pubs, shops, nightclubs, whatever) to commit 20 euro a week
While this is a good idea, who is gonna approach these businesses cos they aren't gonna volunteer imo?
Fivesilver
01/02/2009, 7:57 PM
Committee members? Trust members? Cook himself? Billy Sinclair, in the mid-70s when Sligo was hardly rolling in cash, went around the businesses in town and coaxed and cajoled them into opening their wallets.
I don't have a guaranteed solution, but it's a suggestion.
Inside Man
01/02/2009, 9:53 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0201/sligorovers.html
So basically its up to us according to this. And it has already been launched according to RTE. Bit baffling because as far as i see nothing has changed regarding this fundraiser. Its been out 3 months and all we have is 50people. So we are saying we can now get 450 in 2 weeks?
01/02/2009, 10:05 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0201/sligorovers.html
So basically its up to us according to this. And it has already been launched according to RTE. Bit baffling because as far as i see nothing has changed regarding this fundraiser. Its been out 3 months and all we have is 50people. So we are saying we can now get 450 in 2 weeks?
That article is misleading. We need €60,000 in bank, ringfenced before Valentine's Day.
01/02/2009, 10:15 PM
There´s something very suspect about this whole thing imo. But if it means Cookie will stay for another season then I´m happy.
MMVIII
01/02/2009, 10:35 PM
There´s something very suspect about this whole thing imo. But if it means Cookie will stay for another season then I´m happy.
My thoughts exactly. Think theres more to it than meets the eye.
Think this is possible but a lot of hard work, time and effort will have to be put in to it. Gonna do my bit and try and get a few mates and family to donate.
02/02/2009, 12:04 AM
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/688/1/
That should clear anything up, not that there is any doubt............
celticV3
02/02/2009, 12:19 AM
Havn't heard whats going on now, but is cookie gone or what? Also we need 60,000 to strenghten the team, Did we not sell a player recently for a lot of money?
akearins
02/02/2009, 9:02 AM
Lads just to let you know that on Sat Feb 7th the trust will have a stand in the Quayside shopping centre to sign up to the €2 a week scheme.
So please push this to anyone you know.
You can fill in the form and we will get it to your bank (forms will be sealed in envelopes) or take it away and fill it yourself.
After this what more can we do.
A lot of people have the forms but havent returned them.Just to let you know that all who have signd up names appear in the online statements, so some lads who have said they have signed up have in fact not.
02/02/2009, 11:31 AM
F.A.I statement
Football Association of Ireland
February 2nd, 2009
FAI Statement
Further to Sligo Rovers’ statement of Sunday February 1, the FAI wishes to clarify that it rejected two budgets from the management committee of Sligo Rovers only because they were unsustainable and would have led to financial difficulties for the club.
Sadly, it has been necessary this close season for the FAI to take a stronger stance on budgets if clubs are unwilling to act prudently themselves. This is in the interests of a sustainable and financially viable League of Ireland and applies to all clubs in the League. While we will continue with this policy, it remains the obligation of the directors and management committees of clubs to run their affairs in a responsible manner.
The FAI also feels obliged to clarify that under the Salary Cost Protocol adopted by all League of Ireland clubs under the participation agreement, no more than 65% of relevant income may be spent on players.
ENDS
red arrow
02/02/2009, 7:46 PM
a quick note to clear up any doubts about sligo rovers budget and the k60 fundraising venture. all players who are currently under contract (i.e. signed approx 13 or14) will have to be paid full wages from this week. if say the weekly budget is k9 then there are 6 weeks before a competitive game that totals to k54. yes! 54,000 has to be paid out in wages before a ball is kicked in anger. now even if we got 70k for seamie that does not leave a lot in the pot before the start of the season. season ticket sales would have had to be used to cover other costs. paul says he will stay if we can raise k60 so that he can buy 2 players, a tall order indeed but not impossible. what i am trying to clear up here is to negate any doubters (as there seems to be a few). if we (on this web site) concentrate in doing our bit then maybe there are people who will donate large amounts such as k5 suggested and all amounts combined will reach k60. so lets get working now, i already have got firm commitments nad if those who have promised to do the e2 ting come up trumps it will also be a help.it wont be the end of the world if we do not reach the target but it could be the beginning of a succesfull era if we do. so everybody give it your best shot. as i said before if they can raise k300 in drogheda we can raise k60 in sligo
Redkenrover
02/02/2009, 8:57 PM
Just wondering about the Super Reds scheme. Was looking in the programme of the Bray Wanderers game and noted that the last number was 158. My son was number over 160 or something so I assume that means there was in excess of 160 kids signed up.
I know it was only €5 to join, which I thought was a bit mad as the kids get a free T-shirt and entry into games, but if we could replicate this and say charge €10, (which I still think is great value) this would raise €1600. Less of course the cost of producing the membership card, this would still be a small contribution towards our target.