View Full Version : Paul Cook leaves Sligo Rovers by mutual consent

Pages : 1 [2]

sligofan4ever
30/01/2009, 7:18 PM
cook was on the phone to gerry farry earlier. said that he's willing to stay if he has 16 players(currently has 14). think he sat down with toolan and mary mcgowan yesterday and they proposed letting 2 of our better players go so we could bring in 4 lesser players. cook said he's not willing to do that and sounded like that decision will be forced upon any prospective new manager or else will be done before a new one takes over. so we can say goodbye to boco(derry) and peersy(bohs, pat's or shams) and look forward to a relegation battle and s**t crowds. cook sounded absolutely heatbroken that it's come this but sounded like he would defo stay if something could be sorted

Would Seamie not be one of the better players to go ?

And when you say"4 lesser players" doe's that mean were still going to sign Parkhouse,Morrison and Holmes ?

red bellied
30/01/2009, 7:20 PM
Is Toolan taking the training sessions now with Benny the Bull as the new assistant?

30/01/2009, 7:22 PM
Would Seamie not be one of the better players to go ?I assume he's counted as already gone.

30/01/2009, 7:27 PM
14:

brush
ventre
peers
butler
mauro
richie
raf
conor
cash
doc
boco
sharkey
parky
morrison

30/01/2009, 8:11 PM
lads just heard the news at work.. thought it was a windup until i read the statement.. its a major blow for your chances of goin well but i suppose i was on the cards for a good few mths when ye didnt have any signings announced..

I would like to wish paul the best of luck.. dont be surprised if ye get into a relegation battle this season...

Rovers Maniac
30/01/2009, 8:38 PM
Now that people are starting to calm down a bit, by all accounts Cook would need approx 50 to 60k to bring in 2 new players to bring our squad to 16 players. We need Cook back in place early next week, surely we can put our heads together and get this figure? :confused: Or are we going to the well one to many times?

longfordjames
30/01/2009, 9:36 PM
id love if we got him

gerardchrystal
30/01/2009, 9:38 PM
seen this coming a few weeks ago when budget wasent passed for 12k,i think he should of been a bit real in what he was going to get,a very good manager and will be a big loss.

the statment is a joke its our club not yours and if thats the way you want to treat the real supporters close the gates on the way out lads.

why did a player ask 4 a contract since last monday and no one bothered to get back to him so he duly singed for pats

was boco worth 1000 + a week
s colemans deal with everton is a joke,no frendly i suppose either, just like the celtic frendly were still owed from a couple of years ago.

i said at a agm a couple of years ago and people laughed, that the mc are running the club like a community centre.all there short of is bingo at half time,like all the draws being done in a tayto box at half time?unbeliable

30/01/2009, 10:39 PM
its a joke!i have heard that part of it was that the committee wanted to get rid of boco because of he was on big money.

its a well known fact alright that certain members of that board didnt want Boco, our most talented player, on the books.

forza rovers
31/01/2009, 8:33 AM
Can the committee please please please stop holding back information from the fans....we deserve more than what ye have been giving us recently, we bailed the club out of the situation we found ourselves in last summer, doing all we could to raise enough money for the club to survive.
we travelled the length and breath of the country to cheer on the team every week, forked out plenty of our hard earned money on it too, all because we love our club.

Ye cannot continue to go on without informing the supporters on whats happening with the club. i know its not easy but more has to be done. a 2 or 3 line statement to tell us our manager resigns was just not enough, and then to end it, 'no further comment will be made by the club'.
We still dont even know if seamie's gone or not either.

I dont like critisising people, and i dont usually, but if this has come about because of the MC not supporting the man who brought the club on leaps and bounds since his arrival, stuck with us during last seasons crisis when many others would have walked, and then went about his job in such a professional way with the small squad he had, and took us into the top 4 the way we did, something nobody could have dreamed of during the season, or going behind his back trying to do deals, then nobody will have any time for ye anymore, its gone too far....

I would expect mr chairman and whoever else to hold some sort of public meeting to address the issues, but unfortunatly, thats NEVER going to happen

srfc1928
31/01/2009, 9:41 AM
Can the committee please please please stop holding back information from the fans....we deserve more than what ye have been giving us recently, we bailed the club out of the situation we found ourselves in last summer, doing all we could to raise enough money for the club to survive.
we travelled the length and breath of the country to cheer on the team every week, forked out plenty of our hard earned money on it too, all because we love our club.

Ye cannot continue to go on without informing the supporters on whats happening with the club. i know its not easy but more has to be done. a 2 or 3 line statement to tell us our manager resigns was just not enough, and then to end it, 'no further comment will be made by the club'.

I dont like critisising people, and i dont usually, but if this has come about because of the MC not supporting the man who brought the club on leaps and bounds since his arrival, stuck with us during last seasons crisis when many others would have walked, and then went about his job in such a professional way with the small squad he had, and took us into the top 4 the way we did, something nobody could have dreamed of during the season, or going behind his back trying to do deals, then nobody will have any time for ye anymore, its gone too far....

I would expect mr chairman and whoever else to hold some sort of public meeting to address the issues, but unfortunatly, thats NEVER going to happen
great post forza

dong
31/01/2009, 9:59 AM
its a well known fact alright that certain members of that board didnt want Boco, our most talented player, on the books.
Woh there!!! Boco's our most talented footballer??? I think thats a dodgy one. Saw him miss sitter after sitter last season. Don't care if he's "not really a striker"!
Would Colemen not be more talented?

Shiba
31/01/2009, 10:13 AM
Was talking to Cook 5mins after I heard the news just bumped to him by chance,He seem gutted and contary to earlier comments would love to stay on.He was meeting all the players to tell them the news one by one and with Boco at the time.Listening to the interveiw on the radio last night the rejection of our budgets by the FAI has to have a bearing on this. Didnt hear the actual figure of the budget but I doubt by Cookies reaction that we can compete in 3 major competions with any success on that budget. As for the Fai I suppose they have their reason why they rejected our budgets but I wonder how much consideration they put into us playing in 3 comp and how much success they want us to have.We will never be able to pull in as much sponsership as the Dublin/Cork clubs as our options are smaller.as to getting major sponsers in.We all know that if we have a successful team on the pitch we will get the crowds in and I really thought Cookie was the man to do this.His chrisma and drive has been the best thing to hit this club since McStay. I agree that no one man/woman is bigger than the club but I really thought "Paul Cook" was good for the club.

The Club are wrong totally wrong with their "No Comments" statement.I thought Dermot would have copon by the past.

Just a final word on the €2 euro drive. The idea is brillant and I think the take up will improve closer to the start of the season and when the doom & gloom of January is out.

I for one am devastate that "Cook" is gone.I hope a few business investors can come in to help the club inits present climate with the exposure the club will get in Europe & Sentanta cup this season can only be good for business and the NW region in general!

We will never be successful in GAA, Rovers will put confidence and pride back into Sligo but only with help

dong
31/01/2009, 10:17 AM

Did Cook himself not say before that the MC were doing all they could?

Shiba
31/01/2009, 10:38 AM
Did Cook himself not say before that the MC were doing all they could?

Yes he did! I think by listen to him is that for him to reach 16 player squad he must offload one of our top players to get the funding to bring in 2/3 weaker players(€500pw) but he just feels that for us to compete he as manager cannot go down that road. He said he the next man that comes in maybe able to make that decision hea just cannot .And I think he is right as I know me for one have had high expectations for this season

srfc1928
31/01/2009, 10:42 AM
Dong, why not post something constructive or positive
rather than nit pick at other posts

dong
31/01/2009, 11:23 AM
Dong, why not post something constructive or positive
rather than nit pick at other posts
You're entitled to your opinion. I'll say what I want, it's my right to do so. Thanks.

Rovers fan
31/01/2009, 4:01 PM
The level of communiaction to the fans is an absolute disgrace. It just annoys me.

31/01/2009, 4:26 PM
Woh there!!! Boco's our most talented footballer??? I think thats a dodgy one. Saw him miss sitter after sitter last season. Don't care if he's "not really a striker"!
Would Colemen not be more talented?

Fair enough thats your opinion isnt it? IMO Rommy (and yes, hes not a striker) is the most talented footballer we have. He will thrive (if he stays) playing behind a fit Parkhouse this season. Yes Coleman is incredibly talented, but he's a totally different player to Rommy, who is one of the most creative players in this league.

brianw82
31/01/2009, 8:07 PM
Saw this on teletext yesterday morning, but am only online now.

Like all of you, I'm surprised, but not totally shocked, by the decision. The budget has just been reduced and reduced and reduced again since Cook came, and having to sell one of our best players to bring in 2 lesser ones just to make up the numbers is an awful decision to have to make. I agree that more information should be given, this is a community club, not some big multinational answerable to nobody.

forza rovers
01/02/2009, 7:48 AM
great post forza
it was taken from the froza rovers website

RGMY
01/02/2009, 2:31 PM
50000 euro lads cook will stay thats what it boils down to, 2 euro a week will enable cook to buy 2 players and pay them over a year so come on lads get this 2 euro fundraiser going we need 500 people 2 pay 2 euro, not even the price of a coffee. We need neighbours family friends family etc to get involved the slower return to the appeal the less chance cook will stay

01/02/2009, 2:33 PM
50000 euro lads cook will stay thats what it boils down to, 2 euro a week will enable cook to buy 2 players and pay them over a year so come on lads get this 2 euro fundraiser going we need 500 people 2 pay 2 euro, not even the price of a coffee. We need neighbours family friends family etc to get involved the slower return to the appeal the less chance cook will stay

No need for bold.

Where have you heard this from?

RGMY
01/02/2009, 2:36 PM
now sligo brewer i cant give away my source just trust me on this one, again i say 50000 euro thats what we need so get moving on this one lads

01/02/2009, 3:14 PM
now sligo brewer i cant give away my source just trust me on this one, again i say 50000 euro thats what we need so get moving on this one lads

Fair enough.

Town Legend
01/02/2009, 4:44 PM
Its up to 60000 now lads. Do you think the extra 10000 will be making its way into your chairmans back pocket???!!!!:D

SRFCbrothelutd
02/02/2009, 12:09 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1207/

celticV3
02/02/2009, 12:31 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1207/

This is becoming a joke. I don't mind helping the club out but does this sounds suspicious to anyone else?

neutrino
02/02/2009, 12:42 PM
This is becoming a joke. I don't mind helping the club out but does this sounds suspicious to anyone else?

Its a bit last gasp, but it's not surprising it's come to this. Instead of laying things out earlier and letting us in on what's going on the club wait until the last minute. If the club are straight and up front all the time, supporters will take the information on board and row in behind the club, which is what's happening now.

It would be great to keep Paul Cook on and build on last season if possible. But what happens if the money doesnt come in ? We then need to start looking for a manager 2 weeks further down the road. It's 2 weeks less preparation for the team. Any player being lined up could just sign for another club instead of waiting.

The club should have liased with the FAI earlier than trying to put through a budget that was too high. The FAI are enforcing properly now and that's their remit. If we were told at the end of last season that 60k was needed to provide a competitive budget then I think 60k would be with the club now, Cook would still be here and we'd still be buzzing with anticipation for next season.

I hope a good result is obtained at the end of all this. I'll support any venture (like all other supporters), but is it just a stop gap till the next time ? I fear so. Or maybe it's the shock tactic that needed to movtivate us supporters to raise money ? I dont know. The MC do an awful lot of work, but it's simple things like letting us know what's going on that is annoying. :(

Royal rover
02/02/2009, 1:14 PM
this is a farce - let's take a reality check - there are people losing jobs every day/week this country and economically it will be far worse than anything we have ever seen before - unlike most clubs sligo haven't asked any of the current squad to take pay cuts etc (if i'm wrong please let me know), and yet the manager walks out because of 2 players or a further 60,000, fair play to Cooke i have a huge amount of respect for what he's done, but yet he would be willing to come back if he could have 2 more players, we got into Europe by default and likewise the setanta cup etc, and once again the fans are been asked to help out, if that statement is true it makes us look F******g ridiculous as a club

02/02/2009, 2:15 PM

Yes.

Maybe suspicious isn't the word I'd use, but I really think we as a club look foolish.

Rovers Maniac
02/02/2009, 2:22 PM
To be fair to the club they can't magic money thats not there. So you either start the season with 14 and a new manager or we raise the money and get 16 players and have Cook at the helm thats the bottom line imo. Although saying that its not ideal, but the FAI have issued a statement saying there have blocked 2 budgets from us with ties into what Cook was saying i can't see whats suspicious about it.

Rovers need to set up a yearly membership of the club imo like Shams or Bohs have.

celticV3
02/02/2009, 2:26 PM
Yes.

Maybe suspicious isn't the word I'd use, but I really think we as a club look foolish.

Again though it has to be questioned the professionalism of the club. Amateur statements were a joke with the new crest issue but this has brought us to a whole new level. I'll be honest it does seem to be a very poorly executed stunt to raise more funds but no matter what cook will leave at the middle of next month if we do not raise the funds.

Surely though with the sale of coleman then that figure should be smaller?

red bellied
02/02/2009, 2:32 PM
Whats the story now, have they started training again?

redobit
02/02/2009, 2:34 PM
Yes.

So which would be more foolish looking for the club:

Trying to get money in for extra players, so that the feel good factor between the club and the supporters at the moment (Paul Cook) stays on

Vs

A decent manager leaves, the Committee sells our best players, other players leaves cause they all want to play for Paul Cook

02/02/2009, 2:47 PM
So which would be more foolish looking for the club:

Trying to get money in for extra players, so that the feel good factor between the club and the supporters at the moment (Paul Cook) stays on

Vs

A decent manager leaves, the Committee sells our best players, other players leaves cause they all want to play for Paul Cook

Well I'm a supporter, and I have to say my feel good factor and looking forward to the season is gone now.

Yes fair point absolutely but, let's say hypothetically we raise the 60k, Cookie comes back, we have a poor start to the season, and he leaves for a job in England in July.

Or the two players we buy get lonng-term injured or turn out to flops.

Maybe I'm just cynical at the minute, but would you not think that would be more foolish?

redobit
02/02/2009, 3:14 PM
Well I'm a supporter, and I have to say my feel good factor and looking forward to the season is gone now.

Yes fair point absolutely but, let's say hypothetically we raise the 60k, Cookie comes back, we have a poor start to the season, and he leaves for a job in England in July.

Or the two players we buy get lonng-term injured or turn out to flops.

Maybe I'm just cynical at the minute, but would you not think that would be more foolish?

I can understand why you would feel dishartened about the sesaon at the moment, but like every supporter when the season starts optimism always kicks in!

Your points are all valid and all probable, but surely it would be more foolish not to try!

Michael Jordan quote: I have failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed.

02/02/2009, 4:42 PM
If Cook leaves, there is more a chance we will struggle, crowds and revenue will go down and we could find ourselves in big trouble later in the year.

Not saying we don't have a choice, but i think it is in our best interest to try to raise it...