View Full Version : Ireland’s U21s Friendly against Germany
27/01/2009, 10:05 AM
Don Givens to announce Ireland’s U21 squad for Friendly match against Germany
Disaster Manager Don Givens will tomorrow (Tuesday) name the Republic of Ireland U21 squad to face Germany in a Friendly International at Turner’s Cross on Tuesday, February 10 next. The match against Germany will be the first of the year for the U21 squad who are building for the qualifying tournament of the UEFA Championship of 2011. The draw for the Championships qualifying campaign will take place in Aarhus, Denmark, on February 4th. The opening matches of the qualifying campaign will take place on the weekend of March 29th, concluding with the final matches on September 7th, 2010.
With Denmark automatically qualifying for the finals as hosts, the remaining 52 teams will be drawn into ten groups – eight with five teams and two with six. All of the 52 nations allocated to five draw pots in accordance with their coefficient ranking. The Republic of Ireland have been placed in Pot D. Ireland were unfortunate to be drawn in a very difficult group for the UEFA Championship of 2009 which is scheduled to be concluded in June of 2009 in Sweden.
Read more at www.fai.ie (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3950)
happydays97
27/01/2009, 10:43 AM
Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad v Germany (10/02/09)
Shane Redmond - Nottingham Forest (on loan at Eastwood Town)
Stephen Henderson - Bristol City
Michael Spillane - Norwich City (on loan at Luton Town)
Eddie Nolan - Preston North End
Shane Lowry - Aston Villa
Brendan Moloney - Nottingham Forest
Christy Fagan - Unattached
Barry Maguire - FC Utrecht
John Joe O’Toole - Watford
Stephen Gleeson - Wolverhampton Wanderers
James McCarthy - Hamilton Academical
Owen Garvan - Ipswich Town
Michael Liddle - Sunderland (on loan at Carlisle United)
Alan Judge - Blackburn Rovers
David Meyler - Sunderland
Graham Carey - Celtic
Cillian Sheridan - Celtic
Sean Scannell - Crystal Palace
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3952
27/01/2009, 11:04 AM
No Ireland based player in that lot ..... again.
How many of that lot named about are getting into the first team regularly?
disabledrog
27/01/2009, 11:06 AM
were in the off season and you want dem to be included?cop on
27/01/2009, 11:08 AM
were in the off season and you want dem to be included?cop on
Yes, yes i do.
I always want a decent U21s manager ..... but that aint gonna happen either.
bwagner
27/01/2009, 11:11 AM
Nevermind the irish league players they are on a break.
Great call for Maguire
the doc
27/01/2009, 11:12 AM
Same could be said of some of the senior squad! Blind leading the blind I'm afraid!
27/01/2009, 11:15 AM
The Irish League is in full swing at the moment :confused:
bwagner
27/01/2009, 11:16 AM
No its not dude, Givens always plays Coleman of Sligeach
Hibs4Ever
27/01/2009, 11:48 AM
No its not dude,
It is ;) Irish league is Northern Ireland
The League of Ireland is on it's break now.
GenerationXI
27/01/2009, 11:55 AM
Can't wait for this to be honest. Another thrashing for Ireland unfortunately. Andreas Beck (Hoffenheim), Sami Khedira (Stuttgart) and Serdar Tasci (Stuttgart) are all going to be playing according to www.kicker.de (http://www.kicker.de). Not to mention Marko Marin (Borussia Monchengladbach), who has 6 league goals under his belt this season, and Kevin Prince Boateng (Borussia Dortmund) who recently transferred back to his homeland from Spurs on loan. Boateng's little brother Jerome (HSV) may also be in the team. :)
With regard to the Irish squad all I can say is that I signed Owen Garvan in FM09 for Liverpool and he was a superstar. Let's hope he can make an impression in Turner's Cross on the 10th. :D
DeNiro
27/01/2009, 12:04 PM
Great call for Maguire
When did he switch back to us?
27/01/2009, 12:41 PM
Is that a first call up for Graham Carey?
no place for Keith Treacy?
Christy Fagan gets a call up despite being "unattached"?
<EDIT>
According to this - http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=612174&sec=transfers&&cc=5739 - Treacy is out with a knee injury for Blackburn
Since this game is on the weekend before the Georgia game, what are the chances of any player being called into the senior squad - even if it's just to train?
Dr. Ogba
27/01/2009, 1:04 PM
yeah was wondering about Treacy alright. how about Stephen Quinn? is he still eligible?
TheBoss
27/01/2009, 1:22 PM
If any of you are wondering the match is Live on Sky Sports :D
irishfan86
27/01/2009, 6:14 PM
yeah was wondering about Treacy alright. how about Stephen Quinn? is he still eligible?
Not sure, but if they're building for 2011, they might be just taking players who are eligible for that tournament.
27/01/2009, 9:11 PM
Givens should pick the best eligible players not good enough for senior squad. We gave a good account of ourselves in St. Mary's vs England but with 6 players still U19 eligible. Why not try and build a team with a winning mentality instead of compromising results?
boovidge
28/01/2009, 10:40 AM
With regard to the Irish squad all I can say is that I signed Owen Garvan in FM09 for Liverpool and he was a superstar.
:D Yeah he gets incredible, same with Scannell. James McCarthy isn't rated very highly though :confused:
Good to see Maguire in the U21 squad
29/01/2009, 9:48 AM
from http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3953
Coleman and Galway Rovers Jay O’Shea were left out of the squad for the game at Turner’s Cross (7.30 pm ko) because of a lack of match fitness. The League of Ireland season will not kick-off for another month.
While I don't disagree with leavimng LOI players out, some of the players he selected aren't exactly getting regular football...
30/01/2009, 3:18 PM
While I don't disagree with leavimng LOI players out, some of the players he selected aren't exactly getting regular football...
Just on that, according to UEFA.com, players who were born on, or after, the 1st January 1986 qualify to play for this year's U-21 Championship.
Assuming that players born on or after the 1st January 1988 will qualify for the next set of qualifiers, this is the list of those players in England and Scotland who have started 1 or more games for their club
Player Name Club Date of Birth Age Home AwayTotal
Michael Spillane Norwich 23/03/89 19 14 18 32
Anthony Pilkington Huddersfield 06/06/88 20 12 16 28
Jamie McCarthy Hamilton 12/11/90 18 11 12 23
Scott Davies Reading 10/03/88 20 13 10 23
Stephen Gleeson Wolverhampton Wanderers 03/08/88 20 11 11 22
Jimmy Ryan Accrington 06/09/88 20 11 11 22
Owen Garvan Ipswich 29/01/88 21 6 10 16
Aidan Downes Yeovil 24/07/88 20 7 9 16
John-Joe O'Toole Watford 30/09/88 20 9 6 15
Sean Scannell Crystal Palace 17/09/90 18 6 7 13
Michael Liddle Sunderland 25/12/89 19 6 7 13
Damien McCrory Plymouth 01/01/90 19 7 5 12
James Berrett Huddersfield 13/01/89 20 3 5 8
Andy Jackson St Johnstone 09/01/88 21 3 4 7
Cillian Sheridan Celtic 23/02/89 19 4 3 7
Keith Treacy Blackburn 13/09/88 20 3 3 6
Brendan Moloney Nottingham Forest 18/01/89 20 4 2 6
Anthony Stokes Sunderland 25/07/88 20 3 2 5
Julian Kelly Reading 06/09/89 19 2 3 5
Eddie Nolan Preston 05/08/88 20 1 2 3
Lanre Oyebanjo Histon 24/04/90 18 3 0 3
Karl Moore Man City 09/11/88 20 3 0 3
Alan Power Hartlepool 23/01/88 21 2 0 2
Andy McNulty Inverness CT 16/01/89 20 0 1 1
Alan Judge Blackburn 11/11/88 20 0 1 1
Note: some of these players are out on loan, I've just listed their parent clubs
Onynajo has started more games than this, but since I don't include non-league games in Irish Abroad, the 3 games he's started have been in the cup
30/01/2009, 4:08 PM
Did that Barry Maguire guy not declare for the Netherlands?
09/02/2009, 10:51 AM
If any of you are wondering the match is Live on Sky Sports :D
Confirmed, it's on Sky Sports 3, starting at 7:30: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12942,00.html
Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 4:52 PM
James McCarthy out of the game injured. Disappointing, was lookin forward to seeing him alongside Garvan
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0210/under21.html
chimpster
10/02/2009, 5:20 PM
Scott Davies (Reading - season-long loan at Aldershot) has been called up as a replacement and is in Cork for tonight's match.
Paddy Garcia
10/02/2009, 6:16 PM
Any links to tonights game?
TheBoss
10/02/2009, 6:22 PM
Updates here:
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1267/
10/02/2009, 6:26 PM
Any links to tonights game?http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=29993&part=sports
WexCar
10/02/2009, 6:27 PM
game live on skysports 2 now
Maroon 7
10/02/2009, 6:28 PM
Look at the size of those Germans.:eek:
Our lads look like ball boys compared to them.
1-0 to germany
edit: 1-1 now, Spillane with a heady.
Paddy Garcia
10/02/2009, 7:11 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=29993&part=sports
Great - many thanks guys
irishultra
10/02/2009, 7:19 PM
don givens is a clown. the team is all over the place
Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 7:21 PM
The German's have hit the post three times in the space of 10 mins.
10/02/2009, 7:22 PM
Any links to tonights game?
Seems to be on here too.
http://www.justin.tv/uktvsport1
Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 7:28 PM
don givens is a clown. the team is all over the place
Seriously???? I thought we've been doing pretty well
Even Ray Houghton has been saying we are the better team. Yes Germany have hit the woodwork a few times but we have created some great chances of our own
10/02/2009, 7:35 PM
Seriously???? I thought we've been doing pretty well
Even Ray Houghton has been saying we are the better team. Me too, though Redmond is having a 'mare in goals. He could do with being subbed. At fault for the goal and he made a feeble effort at saving the last effort that hit the post.
Yet again we have a team of teenagers (avg age 19?) against a full team of 21 year olds!
10/02/2009, 7:38 PM
Just seen the German goal, poor keeping to say the least.
Hard to believe anyone could get beat from that angle. (about 2 degrees from the touchline!!)
Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 7:53 PM
Good start to the second half. For all the German's strength we are showing more guile.
Watching the game on Sky and I notice that there's an electronic scoreboard in the St Anne's end. Is this the first LoI ground with such a thing?
Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 8:02 PM
Watching the game on Sky and I notice that there's an electronic scoreboard in the St Anne's end. Is this the first LoI ground with such a thing?
There is one in Terryland too
Brendan 82
10/02/2009, 8:07 PM
Been watchimg it on the net. have to say that Judge and Gleeson have really impressed me. Scannell too
Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 8:10 PM
Been watchimg it on the net. have to say that Judge and Gleeson have really impressed me. Scannell too
Scannell looks to have alot of potential. his decision making needs to improve a bit.
Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 8:11 PM
Ireland well on top now. Long time since I've seen a German team this rattled.
There is one in Terryland too
Oops! I remember now that you say it.
10/02/2009, 8:47 PM
I just saw that this was on SS2. I thought, oh feck I've missed it, how could I miss it.
Then I remembered I cancelled my sky sports subscription 4 months ago.
FarBeag
10/02/2009, 9:09 PM
Scannell, Spillane, Garvan, Gleeson and Judge( a little on the small side though) are the only ones I would have any optimism about
I can see how Sheridan can’t get many games at Celtic. He has no ball control whatsoever.
stiffler
10/02/2009, 9:10 PM
who was man of the match then?
robertob
10/02/2009, 9:14 PM
If I heard right, then it was Scannell...
FarBeag
10/02/2009, 9:14 PM
Scannell got it.