View Full Version : Ireland vs Georgia pre-match

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

bwagner
10/02/2009, 11:22 AM
A draw would be a real blow to moral and give Bulgaria an extra bit of purpose!

irishfan86
10/02/2009, 11:32 AM
I've put a few bucks down on 2-0 Ireland.

fergalr
10/02/2009, 12:46 PM
This has 1-0 written all over it.

Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 1:02 PM
I wishdraw my post and apologize. BOTH the RTE and Elevenaside changed their respective websites comments in the last hour or so.
Apologies.........
On a lighter side, I was just able to get on "Fox Football Fone In" but they forbade me from discussing this matter and made me ask a Beckham question. I could hardly come up with one so i stammered about serie A and the MLS. I am going to bed before I do anymore harm.:o

Did you get that English ****? I called the show two weeks ago and wanted to discuss Ireland's chances of qualifying. "No chance mate. Ask a question about Beck's" It must be policy. No Paddies need apply unless you want to discuss a brand of German beer.

Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 1:12 PM
If we arent able to beat Georgia at home we have no business going to a world cup. Im not saying it will be easy by any means but I do expect a win

lionelhutz
10/02/2009, 1:20 PM
Why do people say he'll play Andrews instead of Gibson? Is Gibson injured? Trapp doesn't change. Gibson will play unless he's injured.

The only game Gibson started was the Cyprus game where the midfield was overrun and unable to keep the ball. I think Trap recognised that and will play Andrews tomorrow night instead of Gibson.

Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 1:24 PM
Duff has been creating 3 to 4 excellent chances a game for Newcastle recently. He created 3 good chances for himself against Poland. I expect that to continue tomorrow night. 2-0 Ireland.

10/02/2009, 1:42 PM
Is that just a hunch ya? Cause you can't possibly be basing it on his past performances and strike rate. Plus his shooting is awful, he can barely lift the ball off the ground and gets no power in his shots.

I'll go with 2-0 to Eire, Doyle and Noel Hunt as a sub late in the game.

sorry, i should have explained - that prediction was based on the well known and respected mathematical equation - "its gotta happen sometime"

10/02/2009, 1:50 PM
I actually think both McGeady and Duff have been magnificent under Trapattoni, McGeady has definitely improved his shooting and crossing and is unlucky to not have 2 goals so far in this campaign

Torn-Ado
10/02/2009, 1:54 PM
Ireland will come out all guns blazing, score an early goal, take the foot off the pedal and let Georgia get back in the game.

1-0 or 1-1.

TheBoss
10/02/2009, 2:05 PM
Republic of Ireland team v Georgia (provisional):

Shay Given - Manchester City
Paul McShane – Sunderland (subject to fitness)
John O'Shea - Manchester United
Richard Dunne - Manchester City
Kevin Kilbane - Hull City
Aiden McGeady - Glasgow Celtic
Glenn Whelan - Stoke City
Keith Andrews - Blackburn Rovers
Damien Duff - Newcastle United
Kevin Doyle - Reading
Robbie Keane – Tottenham Hotspurs

Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 2:12 PM

Kevin Doyle - Reading

That official or what u think?

10/02/2009, 2:25 PM
That official or what u think?
Its on FAI Website

Pike B
10/02/2009, 2:30 PM
I actually think both McGeady and Duff have been magnificent under Trapattoni, McGeady has definitely improved his shooting and crossing and is unlucky to not have 2 goals so far in this campaign
I am astonished with this. I've watched all our qualifiers, and thought Mc Geady was, to be kind, crap. As did several other people with whom I spoke about those games.
I know your a clever guy and enjoy your posts, but I had to respond to this one. It's shocking.

Razors left peg
10/02/2009, 2:37 PM
I am astonished with this. I've watched all our qualifiers, and thought Mc Geady was, to be kind, crap. As did several other people with whom I spoke about those games.
I know your a clever guy and enjoy your posts, but I had to respond to this one. It's shocking.

I agree with Tets on this one

paulie_walnuts
10/02/2009, 2:41 PM
Magnificent is a bit strong I feel. They've been good, everyone has been good, solid etc. bar McShane at right back, IMO he doesn't look comfortable there.

lionelhutz
10/02/2009, 2:42 PM

Kevin Doyle - Reading

I'm delighted with this team. The fact Andrews has been picked ahead of Gibson fills me with confidence that we'll win. It gives us more a more attacking look in midfield and I think Andrews could score tomorrow night.

Ordinary Fan
10/02/2009, 2:45 PM
I think it will be 2-1 with us leading 2-0 and then conceeding 1 in the 85th minute so it will be a nerve racking final 9 minutes as we creep into our shell and give the ball away as often as possible.
I would like Andrews and Kelly to start but it most likly Mc Shane and Gibson.

Keane will score and Whealen.

paulie_walnuts
10/02/2009, 2:46 PM
If we arent able to beat Georgia at home we have no business going to a world cup. Im not saying it will be easy by any means but I do expect a win

Agree 100%.

These are the 'bread and butter' games. The home games that you get points up on the board from. Drop points in this one and we shoot ourselves in the foot. I'm confident. Why wouldn't we be confident? We've had a steady yet unspectacular start to the campaign. The Poland game was bad but I think by now we all know that we are a different prospect in competitive games. A narrow win will do for me. A win is a win, we need to keep this gap from Bulgaria and keep the pressure on the Italians.

10/02/2009, 2:47 PM
I'd prefer to see Kelly at RB but otherwise I'm happy with that.

A lot will depend on central midfield being competitive and staying disciplined and the 2 wide players bringing their A game to the occasion. I really hope Andrews impresses as it'll plug one of the glaring gaps in the team.

I think we'll play well in patches and have at least one period in each half where we concede the initiative for too long, but I think we'll get the win - I'll go for a 2-0 win that'll have us saying job done but plenty to improve on.

10/02/2009, 2:50 PM

Kevin Doyle - Reading

Happy with this team, although maybe not so much with McShane at RB, but he has done well for Hull there so worth his place. If I were Hector Cuper, I would be looking to exploit his weaknesses however.

Very much looking forward to the partnership of Whelan and Andrews, this is crucial, we really need this partnership to work until at least S Reid is available again. Im pretty confident of a win with this team and wouldnt be at all surprised if Andrews puts in a big performance.

kingdom hoop
10/02/2009, 3:06 PM
I'd prefer to see Kelly at RB but otherwise I'm happy with that.

He's only played 2 games since September though...

Which probably means he's just as likely to make a mistake as McShane!

DotTV
10/02/2009, 3:32 PM

Kevin Doyle - Reading

9 Premiership players, 1 from celtic and a top scorer from the Championship. Not bad.

10/02/2009, 3:41 PM
Very surprised he went for Andrews over Gibson but the team does look a bit stronger because of the decision.

10/02/2009, 3:51 PM

Magnificent is a bit strong I feel. They've been good, everyone has been good, solid etc. bar McShane at right back, IMO he doesn't look comfortable there.
fair enough, magnificent is a bit strong, but both wingers have been involved in the build up to the goals so far in the qualifiers, McGeady crossed for Doyle in the Georgia game, Duff ran through the Cyprus defence to cross for Keane to nod into the net.
McGeady hit the outside of the near post against Montenegro when he should have aimed for the far post, he aimed for the far post against Cyprus and lifted it over the crossbar, if nothing else he is learning! Trapattoni has already spoken of how he's worked with McGeady on simple things to improve his overall game, like how to stand when receiving a ball.
Compare and contrast the performance of both players under the previous two managers and there's a clear sign of improvement.

Drumcondra 69er
10/02/2009, 4:15 PM
Very surprised he went for Andrews over Gibson but the team does look a bit stronger because of the decision.

Not surprised at all, the way elements of the media cr@p on and from some of the posts I've seen you'd swear Trap had never made an unforced change before in his career.

Correct and obvious choice for me, very happy about it.

Buller
10/02/2009, 4:33 PM
The team in training was

Given

Kelly O Shea Dunne Kilbane

McGeady Andrews Wheland Duff

Doyle Keane.

Is that a mix between Whelan and Ireland?! Meh, the next best thing to him coming back I suppose... :D

10/02/2009, 4:34 PM

Kevin Doyle - Reading

when you look at that we have most players from the top league in the world. we should be a very capable team.

10/02/2009, 4:52 PM
when you look at that we have most players from the top league in the world. we should be a very capable team.

says who? and in what sense? I actually think we'd be better if they were all playing in the Primera Liga... :o

10/02/2009, 5:14 PM
eh possibly to do with form in champions league etc and how english teams have been competing the last few years.

I cant really think of any other barometer.....

Noelys Guitar
10/02/2009, 5:38 PM
Not a big fan of McShane but he has been a Premierhsip regular. I thought when Andrews came on against Poland he changed the game. I am hoping that he is one of those players who seems to excel in international football. Really looking forward to tomorrow night.

10/02/2009, 5:45 PM
eh possibly to do with form in champions league etc and how english teams have been competing the last few years.

I cant really think of any other barometer.....

overall technical quality, skill, overall competitiveness etc etc... the comparator you use confines the quality of the premiership to 4-6 teams max.

anyhoo, the premiership hasnt exactly benefitted the English national team so i wouldnt expect it will do much for us in the grand scheme of things. How many of our team benefit from participation in the Champions League? One?

Anyway, sorry, im dragging this off topic.

10/02/2009, 5:49 PM
Good news about Andrews. I hope he makes his mark. Gives the team a bit more of a confident and offensive look about it.
Gibson would need more 1st team football before assuming such an important role in our team.

cavan_fan
10/02/2009, 5:56 PM
overall technical quality, skill, overall competitiveness etc etc... the comparator you use confines the quality of the premiership to 4-6 teams max.

anyhoo, the premiership hasnt exactly benefitted the English national team so i wouldnt expect it will do much for us in the grand scheme of things. How many of our team benefit from participation in the Champions League? One?

This season has shown a greater competitiveness in the Premiership than previous years. Man City are probably as good as the majority of Champions League group teams.

Premiership hasnt done a lot for england but then that is equally to do with a woeful manager. (I have a horrible fear that under a top manager like Capello they could win the next World Cup).

10/02/2009, 6:10 PM
This season has shown a greater competitiveness in the Premiership than previous years. Man City are probably as good as the majority of Champions League group teams.

Premiership hasnt done a lot for england but then that is equally to do with a woeful manager. (I have a horrible fear that under a top manager like Capello they could win the next World Cup).

ah jaysis, you sound like an english tabloid!!! :D

first sentence is fine but it is still just one season in how many?

10/02/2009, 6:31 PM

Anyway, sorry, im dragging this off topic. ...no need to apologise. It'll be of high relevance if we actually manage to qualify for SA as pretty much our entire squad play in the same football culture and system as the English.

Premiership hasnt done a lot for england but then that is equally to do with a woeful manager. (I have a horrible fear that under a top manager like Capello they could win the next World Cup). They'll have a better chance with Capello I don't doubt. But I reckon the pace and relative physicallity of the way the game is played in these islands just isn't condusive to winning a round-robin and knockout tournament involving seven games in a month at the end of the season. Too much luck needed when it comes to avoiding injuries and suspensions.

10/02/2009, 6:39 PM
Why do people say he'll play Andrews instead of Gibson? Is Gibson injured? Trapp doesn't change. Gibson will play unless he's injured.

What was that Owlsfan :)

back of the net
10/02/2009, 6:43 PM

god i have lost count of how many times i have tried explaining that to my mates....

not sure if its cos i have very dumb mates or that im just **** at explaining things ((-:

anyhow completely agree with u skstu

10/02/2009, 7:39 PM
Premiership hasnt done a lot for england but then that is equally to do with a woeful manager. (I have a horrible fear that under a top manager like Capello they could win the next World Cup).I share your fear. The pace of some of their younger players is scary and they have more balance in midfield than in recent years. They have potential match winners all over the place. Goalkeeper is still a worry for them at this point in time. I don't think the traditional big countries are at the top of their games right now and Sth Africa in June will be a lot cooler than the usual June temperatures at a major tournament.

By and large I'd agree with Stu's post, but that said, how many leagues in the world have great depth?

10/02/2009, 7:41 PM
I'm hoping for a nice comfortable victory tomorrow. I'm happy with the team selection overall but would prefer Kelly or Foley to McShane at RB but the rest picks itself. McGeady needs a big game because Hunt will be breathing down his neck & hopefully Duff stays on the left - he is much more effective on that side.

I'm off to bed now to catch the 6.30am flight to Dublin......

Come on boys let's top the group and move a step closer to Africa 2010.

Scram
10/02/2009, 7:50 PM
I'm hoping for a nice comfortable victory tomorrow. I'm happy with the team selection overall but would prefer Kelly or Foley to McShane at RB but the rest picks itself. McGeady needs a big game because Hunt will be breathing down his neck & hopefully Duff stays on the left - he is much more effective on that side.

I'm off to bed now to catch the 6.30am flight to Dublin......

Come on boys let's top the group and move a step closer to Africa 2010.

If he insists on playing McShane I'd rather him in the center with O'Shea on the right.

10/02/2009, 9:15 PM

i have that same fear.

Ditto your original point too.

Playing against top quality CL opposition 8 games a season is good i.e. the top 4, plus villa are there now too, so you could say 10 of very high quality and then the next 3 or 4 teams all decent too. Playing against those teams definitely benefits the players.

10/02/2009, 9:18 PM
Three players are missing from the Georgia team to play Ireland in tomorrow’s World Cup qualifier in Croke Park.

Lasha Saluqvadze, Giori Shashiashvli and Levan Mchedlidze, who were in the first XI that played their last qualifier against Bulgaria on October 15, have made way.

Levan Kenia is a long-term injury victim.

Kakha Kadadze (AC Milan) and Blackburn's Zurab Khizanishvili should return from injury and suspension respectively.

Kaladze plays but im not sure if thats necessary a good thing for them, how fit can he be??!

10/02/2009, 9:56 PM
Kenia was their motm and scored against us so that can only be good. Salukvadze is a regular for the Russian champions. Shashiashvili has played every game this season for Sturm Graz. Mchedlidze is only 18 and just moved on loan from Empoli (Serie B) to Palermo (Serie A) and scored for them against Genoa last week.

So I think we can take those injury pullouts as a big positive. Kadadze looked a bit shaky in Mainz but obviously he's a big player for them.

danonion
11/02/2009, 6:14 AM
Hope not anticipation ...

Ireland 5 Georgia 1

1from McGeady in an offside position, a peno from Robbie after O'Shea trips over his own feet in the box, Kilbane to head home a corner and Glenn Whelans deflected free kick, won by a Stephen Hunt dive. Zurab Kizinivishililili from Blackburn to head home in stoppage time. Robbie backpasses after the restart and Kiely's (Given sent off for dissent) long kick ends up in the net before the final whistle sounds.

Ahem

Ireland 2-1 Georgia with Robbie and a defender to score. Georgia goal comes in added time

Pike B
11/02/2009, 7:46 AM
Last evening made two first goalscorer scorecast bets.

Brazil 2-1 Italy (Robinho to score first) Close, but no cigar..

Ireland 3-0 Georgia (Doyle to score first) Heres hoping..

11/02/2009, 9:24 AM
just want end of day to come now and watch it. ye get old too early waiting for Ireland matches to come round :D

11/02/2009, 9:28 AM
I was just on holidays with a bunch of Irish rugger heads who were a bit dismissive of Irish football.

I'd love to beat Georgia by more than the rugby team did in 2007 WC and see what they think! What was the rugby margin - 2 points?

11/02/2009, 9:45 AM
I was just on holidays with a bunch of Irish rugger heads who were a bit dismissive of Irish football.

I'd love to beat Georgia by more than the rugby team did in 2007 WC and see what they think! What was the rugby margin - 2 points?

Stutts unfortunately i have lots of friends like that over here, and it drives me mad, especially when they make derogatory remarks like football fans are stupid and thick etc. They are the thick ones for not actually having a clue. Often think if they read this forum they might realise their naivety, even including the few fools on this forum.

Btw I generaly try and ensure i don't end up on holidays with these sorts :p

11/02/2009, 10:59 AM
Paul, you are making more sense, at a gradual pace, as the years pass by;)
Stutts, you are hanging out with the wrong crowd.