View Full Version : Before the madness begins

Breifne
17/11/2003, 10:59 AM
Its really time to take stock, and assess what has really been acheived at Whitehall this term. we are now in a position where we have dreamed about, three points clear, with two games remaining. Its totally in our hands, our odds on the title are 1/2 compared with the huge offer of 20/1 at the outset.

I hope a couple of people took this up, seriously, it was always worth a punt at the start of the season.

At the start of the season, the aim was clear. A top four spot and a shot at the playoffs were the aim, and that would have been considered a big achievement. Well the current status quo is that we find ourselves in the situation, where two draws in our last two games will see that elusive first division championship trophy rest in Whitehall.

I think everyone involved in the club, and im sure to forget someone deserves a lot of credit for getting the club to this point. If we manage to close the deal and finish it out and lift the trophy it will be an exceptional season. the playoffs were always the goal of the club, and while if that is the route which must be taken, we will do everything in our power to achieve promotion through that route.

To Rocky & Breda fair play, nothing has been found wanting when it has been required, and that is the full credit of yourselves. Jeff although your no longer with the club, thanks for everything when you were.

On the management side of things, new boy John Gill has shown his ability to mould a hugely successful side from a lot of new faces. Noel White, Aidan 'Jacko' Smyth & Paul Keating have all played their significant part. Pat Turner and Christy O'Neill have done trojan work, on all fronts for the club this season.

And also the players deserve great respect from all Vikings supporters (I hope i don't forget someone, and if i do, I'm sorry in advance.)

Robbie Horgan, Brendan Kennedy, Tony 'Toccy' O'Connor, Wesley Byrne, Thomas 'Sweat' McGauley, Andy Noonan, Derek Griffin, Cathal O'Connor, Terry Gleeson, Robbie Dunne, Robbie Clarke, Paul Crowley, Aidan O'Keeffe (loan from Pats), Robbie Farrell, Alan O'Connor, Robbie Collins, Mick O'Byrne, Graham Dunning, Gavin Doyle, Keith Maher, Barry Burke, John Browne.

If I have left someone out, I apologise in advance, but its hard to remember everyone.

Maynard
17/11/2003, 3:15 PM
Here, here. Well said. Lets hope all the years hard graft will be paid off in the next fortnight.

Ringo
18/11/2003, 7:48 AM
its been a great season. lets hope we get something out of it!

LFC in Exile
26/11/2003, 11:21 AM
Lads, if its a choice between yourselves and Bray I hope ye do it. I lived in Donnycarney up to about 2 1/2 years ago and went down to Whitehall in the previous incarnation and its a good set-up with a sound crowd there. Good luck to you.