View Full Version : Oinking Zimbru
UCD_4_Life
16/11/2003, 9:25 PM
So, yeah, after starting a new CM career with U.C.D. yesterday (and promptly winning the league) I brought us in the the first phase of the CL against the Moldovan Midgets Zimbru.
We lost 0-2 in the first leg at their gaff following shocking performances from Pat Jennnings (who was promptly sold on to Valladolid, god knows why they wanted him), Tony Mac and Harry Donnelly (some bum who I got on a free). Back to "the home of football" for the second leg and after getting one back through Stephen Lynch (what on earth ever happened to him?) we went down to two more goals with the newly resigned Bazza having a nightmare. In to the second half and we manage to get one back through Portuguese not-so-wonderkid (though he scores a pantful of goals) Ricardo Silva. Ten minutes to go and the situation looks hopeless so I decide it's time for a tactical switch and wheel out my trusty "2-0-0-3-5" tactic and employ the long ball. It's knocked and and evil-full-back-come-centre forward Daz Ryan heads home, almost directly from the kick-off Mark Leech got another one and in a dramatic finish we...............went out on away goals.
Bragh.
UCD_4_Life
17/11/2003, 3:19 PM
Now us and Bray are involved in a battle for the title (they hammered us at Belfield 4-1 after Daz Ryan, Bazza and Robbie Griffin got sent off)...Bloody Eddie Barr.
What is this...bizarro world?
I presume this is CM4 - I have so far refrained from investing (if 'investing' is the right word) in it, as I've heard its pretty bug ridden and needs lots of patches..... am I wrong?
UCD_4_Life
17/11/2003, 5:33 PM
'Tis CM 01/02.
I gave up on CM4 a long, long time ago - it's terrible, feels about 50% complete.
Aberdonian Stu
18/11/2003, 10:21 AM
CM 01/02? Where did you get Mark Leech from?
UCD_4_Life
18/11/2003, 6:32 PM
Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
CM 01/02? Where did you get Mark Leech from?
I stuck him in with the editor, same with Rooney, Gallagher etc.
Aberdonian Stu
19/11/2003, 12:29 PM
Ah it's all becoming clear to me now...I'm only one league title away from breaking Rovers record of 15 but Schumi's already won his 16th.
19/11/2003, 2:18 PM
There is actually a Marc Leach in the game! He's with Wycome at the start I think.
UCD_4_Life
19/11/2003, 3:33 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
There is actually a Marc Leach in the game! He's with Wycome at the start I think.
Yeah, I saw him. Looks a bit pants though.
After winning the title from Pat's on the last day of the season (following our first ever win at The Tallaght Stadium) we were all off for another European tour, apparently.
After easily relieving Macedonian side Vardar of their CL status for the next year 7-2 on aggregate we got the worst possible draw in the shape of the bloody (relatively) brilliant FC Kobenhavn. FCK complete with fancy Brazilians and the disgracefully over-rated Sibusiso Zuma tore us a new one at Belfield and ran out 3-0 victors. In the return leg we managed at 1-1 draw.
Still, things are bucking up - we signed the talented-ish John Convery from Cellik on a bozzer, the fake Tó Madeira for a mere £28k and a Scottish DMC by the name of Scally (wag) who averages about 13 successful tackles per game for £475k (and another £200k after ten international apps, but he probably won't get them).
We brought in some real class in the shape of Warren "Pelé" Barton but he buggered off before the season even started.
Luckily, Andy Myler was snapped up on a free! If he doesn't bring us the Group Stages in Europe then I'll be forced to go for Ken Kilmurray...
It seems to me that CM 01/02 is a lot easier than CM4. Im finding it hard to keep UCD up any time I play whereas you lads are swanning around the Champions League and buying in players. I cant afford to buy any players only frees after spending € 45,000 on Andy Myler.
Just shows which game is more realistic.
UCD_4_Life
19/11/2003, 4:26 PM
Originally posted by lefty
It seems to me that CM 01/02 is a lot easier than CM4. Im finding it hard to keep UCD up any time I play whereas you lads are swanning around the Champions League and buying in players. I cant afford to buy any players only frees after spending € 45,000 on Andy Myler.
I won every available trophy within seven years on CM4...
I only struggled in my first season.
19/11/2003, 5:35 PM
Originally posted by lefty
That's sounds like a pretty average CMer playing with UCD in CM01/02. Winning Champions Leagues takes skill, a huge committment, but no life.:D
UCD_4_Life
19/11/2003, 6:13 PM
Originally posted by John83
That's sounds like a pretty average CMer playing with UCD in CM01/02. Winning Champions Leagues takes skill
Check.
committment
Check.
...no life.
...And check.
:D or should that be :( ?
20/11/2003, 1:44 PM
Winning Champions Leagues takes skill, a huge committment, but no life.:D I only got to the final so it must be just two out of three for me!
UCD_4_Life
21/11/2003, 3:11 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
I only got to the final so it must be just two out of three for me!
I can teach you some skills, if you like.
Aberdonian Stu
21/11/2003, 4:21 PM
Ah so you shall teach him the old ways
UCD_4_Life
21/11/2003, 5:33 PM
http://mywebpage.netscape.com/ruicosta123/unnatural.JPG
:cool:
24/11/2003, 11:26 AM
I can go one better, I had David Treseguet playing for me!
Aberdonian Stu
24/11/2003, 12:09 PM
Not at age 26
09/12/2003, 12:54 PM
Yayyy!!! Found my disc again!
Am now manager of Nigeria for the craic - have broken a great Nigerian tradition by not randomly dropping players I don't like! (When I took over, Babayaro, Udeze, Kanu and Oliseh were just some of the players not in the senior squad!) Managed to win the league by 11 points despite not training for the first 12 or so games, but now Bazza is leaving in December and, though I've signed 10-times capped Irish international Dan Connor, we're still shipping two goals a game! Jayo and Al Mahon upped and retired, while Simon Webb left on a Bosman but resigned after no-one wanted him!
09/12/2003, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
Yayyy!!! Found my disc again!
Just download the no-cd crack and be done with it. It'll save your disk drive in the long run.
09/12/2003, 1:06 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
Bazza is leaving in December He's still playing for me at 43! He's played over 1,000 games for me now. :)
UCD_4_Life
09/12/2003, 2:33 PM
Just download the no-cd crack and be done with it. It'll save your disk drive in the long run.
Aye, that's what I did.
The Champions League is still giving me no end of guff (I've walked the league every year) with the latest disappointment coming at the hands of Brondby who knocked us out 1-0 on agg. after a late strike in Belfield.
I always seem to get some over-rated Scandanavian outfit too.
I wouldn't bother with the whole international thang by the way. No matter what you do the FA hates you. Usually like twelve managers get sacked after every major tourney, even those who were in charge of the winners!
09/12/2003, 2:53 PM
Originally posted by UCD_4_Life
I wouldn't bother with the whole international thang by the way. No matter what you do the FA hates you. Usually like twelve managers get sacked after every major tourney, even those who were in charge of the winners! Yeah I got offered the Holland job (I didn't even apply!) when they sacked their manager after winning the Euro Championships. I have a world cup final to play when I get home!