View Full Version : Robert Elliot G Gateshead b.1986

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

09/12/2016, 7:22 PM
Making his comeback on Monday night for Newcastle U23's: https://twitter.com/NUFC/status/807273816841977857

12/12/2016, 3:12 PM
Their current keeper, Karl Darlow, doesn't seem to be a major sensation so IF Elliot gets back to his best form, there is every chance he could be competing again for the No. 1 jersey.

13/12/2016, 9:55 AM
Played 90 minutes for the U23 side against Aston Villa, Newcastle won 4-2 - https://www.nufc.co.uk/matches/under-23s/2016/newcastle-united-v-aston-villa
Jake Doyle-Hayes started for Villa, and James Finnerty was an unused sub

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/02/2017, 1:27 PM
On the bench this afternoon.

Mitrovic replaces Murphy.

seanfhear
25/04/2017, 8:22 AM
Robert Elliot returned for Newcastle and played well .

Best of luck to him and I hope he is back in the Irish squad again soon .

We can do with the competition .

25/04/2017, 5:42 PM
I believe that he was playing on merit last night having impressed in training.

seanfhear
25/04/2017, 6:49 PM
He was playing very well before the Injury . Hopefully he still wants to play for us . He did get that injury playing for us if I remember correctly.....

DannyInvincible
25/04/2017, 8:38 PM
I don't see why he wouldn't still want to play for us. He always seemed keen and even cancelled his stag-do in Las Vegas and postponed his honeymoon to travel to the US for our end-of-season friendly tour in 2014: http://thestar.ie/about-us/oneill-lauds-rob-for-skipping-his-own-stag/

All the lads are heading off without me as we planned the stag do more than a year ago, before I had any involvement with Ireland. You don’t think that far ahead but in football you never know what’s around the corner. At least there’s a good reason why I’m not going on my own stag do and I will be able to look back at it and laugh. I’ve had quite a bit of stick from my mates but you can’t put a price on international football. You have to make sacrifices and I would never jeopardise my chance of playing for my country. My wedding is right in the middle of it. So I’ve spoken to the manager and goalkeeping coach, who have both been really good about the situation. My fiancée is okay with it all and says it’s a good opportunity for me. We’ve delayed the honeymoon and she will meet me out in America after the final games to start from there.

Martin seemed impressed by his show of commitment at the time:

Well, that is a big statement. Seriously, that is genuinely a big statement. I do not mean that to be in a jocular sense. It is a big statement. I spoke to Robbie and he was really keen, made the arrangements and had sorted the thing out and this is what he wants to do. That’s terrific.

CraftyToePoke
25/04/2017, 9:19 PM
Fair play to him, I heard they were to be going karting on the stag do too.

25/04/2017, 9:47 PM
That's the end of the karting jokes.

25/04/2017, 9:57 PM
next up: farting jokes.

CraftyToePoke
25/04/2017, 10:15 PM
That's the end of the karting jokes.

Ceart go leor tets.

seanfhear
26/04/2017, 7:14 AM
I don't see why he wouldn't still want to play for us. He always seemed keen and even cancelled his stag-do in Las Vegas and postponed his honeymoon to travel to the US for our end-of-season friendly tour in 2014: http://thestar.ie/about-us/oneill-lauds-rob-for-skipping-his-own-stag/
That kind of commitment is great to hear . Heartening to hear a player wanting to turn up so enthusiastically .....

Martin seemed impressed by his show of commitment at the time: That kind of commitment is great to hear . Heartening to hear a player wanting to turn up so enthusiastically .....

DannyInvincible
28/04/2017, 7:52 PM
Elliot started again for Newcastle away to Cardiff tonight. Score is still 0-0 with the second half just having kicked off.

Clark is playing in front of him and Murphy is up front.

13/08/2017, 12:22 PM
Elliot starts today in goals for Newcastle, Clark in central defence

Olé Olé
13/08/2017, 12:34 PM
Very positive to see them both start first game out. Keep Kane quiet and they'll give themselves a good platform for the rest of the season and, as importantly, the rest of the transfer window.

That's Clark and Duffy both starting in the PL this weekend. Ward and Elliott also. And Randolph and Christie impressing for Boro. And Coleman on the road to recovery in a positive manner. Good week for our back 5.

Olé Olé
13/08/2017, 12:40 PM
Dummett off injured so Clark has to play left back for the rest of the match as Lascelles comes into his centre half spot.

samhaydenjr
01/09/2017, 12:45 AM
With Tim Krul being sold to Brighton (http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41117851) does this mean that Elliot is now Benitez's choice for Newcastle No.1. And if so, what would (or should) it take for him to unseat Randolph as our No.1?

01/09/2017, 3:15 AM
Krul's gone on loan but, yes, this means Elliot is Benitez's first choice. I don't think that means he should be Ireland's first choice though - Randolph is performing at a high enough level.

DeLorean
01/09/2017, 7:40 AM
Being honest I wouldn't have thought Elliot was a better goalkeeper than Krul.

seanfhear
01/09/2017, 4:00 PM
Being honest I wouldn't have thought Elliot was a better goalkeeper than Krul.Did Krul have a bad injury . I think so . He was in great form a while back and was there not talk of a move to some big club............Some would say Newcastle are a big club but they are certainly big in the basket case club league.........

01/09/2017, 4:14 PM
yeah, cruciate.

DannyInvincible
24/09/2017, 10:56 PM
Elliot made a great save in today's game against Brighton (which Newcastle lost 1-0). Video of the save here: https://streamable.com/7rvd4

DeLorean
25/09/2017, 8:05 AM
Elliot made a great save in today's game against Brighton (which Newcastle lost 1-0). Video of the save here: https://streamable.com/7rvd4

He's probably our most in-form goalkeeper right now.

Westwood had another poor outing in the Sheffield derby. He was questionable for three of the four goals I think. Took a step in the wrong direction for the opener, a free kick which he should have been able to save comfortably. He was caught at his near post when Duffy scored United's third, although it was a rocket. Might be slightly harsh on him for their fourth but I thought he could have been a bit quicker to close down Clarke who dinked it over him.

Randolph wasn't great for Fulham's goal on Saturday either. It came from a floating cross into the box (that Christie could have done more to prevent in the first place) which I think he should have taken control of. Christie redeemed himself a couple of minutes later by scoring the equaliser.

25/09/2017, 9:19 AM
Westwood had another poor outing in the Sheffield derby. He was questionable for three of the four goals I think. Took a step in the wrong direction for the opener, a free kick which he should have been able to save comfortably. He was caught at his near post when Duffy scored United's third, although it was a rocket. Might be slightly harsh on him for their fourth but I thought he could have been a bit quicker to close down Clarke who dinked it over him.

Alas and alack yet another poor day at the office for Keiren. I put it down to me meeting him in Preston and telling him he should be Ireland's No. 1. He's barely made a save since then. The first goal from the free kick reminded me of one he conceded for Ireland (possibly against Iceland - not sure) where he was totally flat footed. Mind you the defence didn't help him out much yesterday. Was impressed with Enda Stevens. Neither O'Connell or Duffy who play for the Blades seem to have any Irish connection.

DannyInvincible
08/11/2017, 5:02 PM
'Premier League regular Rob Elliot reckons he can have no complaints about playing second fiddle to Darren Randolph': https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1774651/premier-league-regular-rob-elliot-reckons-he-can-have-no-complaints-about-playing-second-fiddle-to-darren-randolph/

It’s pretty simple, with my injury and being out for so long, Darren has been magnificent, he has been consistent both with club form and the national team. He is the number one. At the moment, all I can do is work hard, play well for *Newcastle, train hard when I am here.

I have known Darren a long time so I stay supportive and make sure that he is in the best place, ready for the games. If Darren does well, then the team does well, we all want to go on together and whatever role you play on and off the pitch, you have to do that. Once it comes to the fact that we are going to Russia next Tuesday night, that’s the main thing.

The article mentions that Elliot and Randolph know each other from when they were teenage team-mates at Charlton. Never knew that.

Just on the general keeper situation, who actually is next in line after Randolph now? Would O'Neill prefer Elliot to Westwood?

DeLorean
08/11/2017, 5:21 PM
No real way of kowing until the next friendly or if Randolph picks up a knock or suspension. Quite possible though with Westwood pulling out of yet another squad recently, albeit through no fault of his own again. His form is also the poorest its been in ages with Elliot seemingly performing consistently at a higher level.

09/11/2017, 1:38 AM
'Premier League regular Rob Elliot reckons he can have no complaints about playing second fiddle to Darren Randolph': https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1774651/premier-league-regular-rob-elliot-reckons-he-can-have-no-complaints-about-playing-second-fiddle-to-darren-randolph/

The article mentions that Elliot and Randolph know each other from when they were teenage team-mates at Charlton. Never knew that.

Just on the general keeper situation, who actually is next in line after Randolph now? Would O'Neill prefer Elliot to Westwood?
You'd imagine Elliot is second based on his selection for pre-Euros friendlies (when he got injured) and O'Neill's own words on the subject. That said, I don't think MON is particularly rigid in his selection - if a guy is playing better he'll select him.

29/11/2017, 9:32 AM
I see Rob was warming the bench last night for Newcastle against WBA but at least his replacement conceded two.

DeLorean
30/12/2017, 1:32 PM
I see Rob was warming the bench last night for Newcastle against WBA but at least his replacement conceded two.

Jeff Stelling talking about the Newcastle match against Man City the last night -

"In fairness, games against Manchester City are a great opportunity for goalkeepers to show their qualities, we always wondered why Rob Elliot was left out and he made us scratch our head a bit more after his performance the other night".

Phil Thompson then talked us through a couple of his saves and said he's been brilliant since returning from injury.

29/04/2018, 10:02 PM
Stuff the ballot box, vote Elliot for save of the season here: https://www.bbc.com/sport/live/football/43908515

DeLorean
30/04/2018, 7:47 AM
David De Gea took both gold & silver, greedy fecker.

De Gea (v Arsenal) 38%
De Gea (v Man City) 21%
Gomes (v West Ham) 15%

30/04/2018, 4:27 PM
I thought Lloris' was the best myself. However I saw both De Gea's saves live on TV and in real time each was a "wow" save.

02/05/2018, 8:24 PM
Thought De Gea's save from Aguero's header was the best, even if he used his "wrong" arm
Thought the one against Arsenal was a bit overrated, he really should have put the first shot around the post, not back into danger

Demesne Lad
26/11/2018, 12:53 PM
Looks like Rob Elliot could be on his way out of St James's Park, after 7 years but only 52 Premier League appearances.
https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/newcastle-united-transfers-rob-elliot-15458060

samhaydenjr
26/11/2018, 9:54 PM
Looks like Rob Elliot could be on his way out of St James's Park, after 7 years but only 52 Premier League appearances.
https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/newcastle-united-transfers-rob-elliot-15458060

Might be for the best if he can get regular games at Championship level.

25/06/2020, 3:04 PM
18 months later, and Elliot finally leaves Newcastle: https://www.nufc.co.uk/news/latest-news/manquillo-and-carroll-agree-contract-extensions/

Long-serving goalkeeper Elliot, 34, joined Newcastle from Charlton in 2011. He made 68 appearances during his nine-year spell, playing in the Europa League in 2012/13 and winning a Sky Bet Championship winners medal in 2016/17. Elliot was named as the club's player of the season in 2015/16, but hasn't played for the Magpies since December 2017.

Demesne Lad
11/08/2022, 5:30 PM
Appointed as Technical Director at National League Gateshead. Goalkeeper Elliot (36) will also be registered as a player "in case there's a really major emergency and we need a number nine". (Sunderland Echo)

Demesne Lad
01/10/2024, 2:08 PM
After a successful year as manager of Gateshead, winning the FA Trophy (after a penalty shoot-out) and getting 'the Heed' to a play-off place in the National League, Elliot is leaving the North-East to take charge at EFL 1 side Crawley Town.

www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport (1 October)

20/03/2025, 12:47 PM
And he's sacked, after 5 wins in 33 games. Always going to be a tough season given they came up through the play-offs last year.