View Full Version : Martin Cullen: "I want an Irish team in the Premiership"

Pages : 1 [2] 3

22/12/2008, 4:36 PM
The MK Dons move would suggest that a consortium could quite easily buy an ailing club and simply move them….

Following the MK Dons farce, the FA have allegedly acted to close the loop-hole that they allowed be created in that case (i.e. that you can move clubs around like chess pieces).

We'll only know for sure how water-tight it is if and when someone tries to do it again.

gotaroundbetter
22/12/2008, 4:52 PM
Aren't Sunderland Irish? Martin, waht next are you going to claim our great Glasgow club Tweedledum aren't Irish too?

This is the idiot who came up with evoting machines that use 20 yearold computer technology and then spends millions storing machines that were obsolete years before he even bought them.

Sorry to dissapoint you, but he didn't that honour goes to Noel Dempsey.
Now persisting with them and storage :rolleyes: thats another story.

dcfc1928
22/12/2008, 5:35 PM
Martin Cullen
Constituency office 8 Ballinakill Crescent
Ballinakill
Waterford

Telephone 051 844860.
Fax number is 051 876943.

Email: ministersoffice@dast.gov.ie

Clinic Times

• The Tavern, Lower Yellow Road at 5pm on Fridays
• Furlongs, Passage, second Tuesday of every month, 5pm to 6pm

CSFShels
22/12/2008, 6:08 PM
Would a full-on petition not be more effective?

reder
22/12/2008, 6:09 PM
Truely terrible idea and thats coming from someone who has actually attended hundreds of LFC games. The club itself would be a classless piece of sh1t with no history and small sections of scummy inbreds, like some of our lot, would travel over and create trouble which would be perfect fodder for the GAA driven media here, to bash the game of football as a whole. The EL would suffer just as much as anyone from this.

I cant see one positive for the EL in this.

22/12/2008, 6:22 PM
I'd have a slight preference for an Irish team in Serie A. More sunshine and fabulous art galleries for the away trips.

:D:D fabulously understated humour there - just shows how feckin ridiculous were Cullens comments.

ofjames
22/12/2008, 6:23 PM
I have three thoughts:

1) when you consider its population and the huge demand and market for 'cross channel soccer' (as RTE like to call it) in this country, there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club.

Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer.

2) Regardless of whether this would actually be a good thing for Irish football, this will not happen anytime soon unless there is a complete overhaul of the game to run on a purely commercial basis. If it hadnt been for the introduction of the extended champions league, this may possibly have happened some time in the 1990's. However, the biggest clubs are now quite happy with the status quo, such that they have even disbanded their elite lobby group G14. Unless they suddenly decide to break away from their national associations and UEFA, the chances of this happening are nil.

3) Most of you lads cannot give an impartial or objective comment on this as to whether a dublin PL club would contribute to the betterment of irish soccer due to your commitment and dedication to the eircom league. Clearly, the formation of such a club in dublin would sound the death knell of the eircom league as even a semi-prof league, let alone one that is fully pro . Like what happend the AIL in rugby once the provinces went professional... the little public interest that exists in the eircom league at present would fall away completely.

It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a professional domestic league in this country, and seeing as most of you guys seem to still think that goal still to be sensible and feasible... (i am doubtful on both of these fronts), you are most definitely not going to support a proposal that would destroy that vision... Even if it would lead to a more successful national team in the long run

22/12/2008, 6:25 PM
I have three thoughts:

1) when you consider its population and the huge demand and market for 'cross channel soccer' (as RTE like to call it) in this country, there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club.

Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer.

2) Regardless of whether this would actually be a good thing for Irish football, this will not happen anytime soon unless there is a complete overhaul of the game to run on a purely commercial basis. If it hadnt been for the introduction of the extended champions league, this may possibly have happened some time in the 1990's. However, the biggest clubs are now quite happy with the status quo, such that they have even disbanded their elite lobby group G14. Unless they suddenly decide to break away from their national associations and UEFA, the chances of this happening are nil.

3) Most of you lads cannot give an impartial or objective comment on this as to whether a dublin PL club would contribute to the betterment of irish soccer due to your commitment and dedication to the eircom league. Clearly, the formation of such a club in dublin would sound the death knell of the eircom league as even a semi-prof league, let alone one that is fully pro . Like what happend the AIL in rugby once the provinces went professional... the little public interest that exists in the eircom league at present would fall away completely.

It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a professional domestic league in this country, and seeing as most of you guys seem to still think that goal still to be sensible and feasible... (i am doubtful on both of these fronts), you are most definitely not going to support a proposal that would destroy that vision

why not the Primera Liga?

22/12/2008, 6:55 PM
blah blah blah

We already have a football team in Dublin though. 7 to be exact playing in top two tiers of our ****ing national league. (Yes, **** shock horror we have a football league!:eek::eek:)

If Cullen wants football of an ''acceptable standard'' so he can sit in his fatcat corporate box with the rest of his Premiership loving, invisible importing, hypocritical Fianna Fáil chums, he can invest some major money into the LoI instead of inventing some souless club with no history or tradition, a.k.a Franchise Football.

maroon ultra
22/12/2008, 9:39 PM
[quote=ofjames;1078431]I have three thoughts:

Yes, because population and market demand are reason enough to play in another countries football league. :rolleyes: Sure there is a huge market for premiership teams in Asia too and a huge population, might as well add a few teams as well.

"Indeed, if football in europe did operate on a franchise system similar to US sports, i would think that such a club would have materialized long ago. To me, commercially this is a no brainer."

Yeah we could have this Dublin team sponsored by Mcdonalds or even KFC. KFC Dublin FC. That certainly would be a commercial 'no brainer'.

22/12/2008, 10:46 PM
Jesus Christ. i thought Cullen would be the only one stupid enough to think this is a good idea but obviously there are at least two complete fcuking morons on this island. Pity

There are ****ing loads on boards. Idiots.
http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055446109

Boh_So_Good
22/12/2008, 10:48 PM
We need overseas politicians to run our country. The ones we have now are not good enough and the people deserve better. We need to bring in British polticians into this country to run Ireland.

The good people of Ireland deserve quality ministerial performance and world class Government. The Irish Government simply isn't working and we need to look overseas for our Government.

22/12/2008, 10:50 PM
We need overseas politicians to run our country. The ones we have now are not good enough and the people deserve better. We need to bring in British polticians into this country to run Ireland.

The good people of Ireland deserve quality ministerial performance and world class Government.

God Bless the Act of Union
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Act_of_Union_1800)

Boh_So_Good
22/12/2008, 11:12 PM
I would love to see the day when good looking women are girlfirends of Irish Ministers. I mean, that Monica Leech what a national embrassement! She looks like a man. Now compared here to wives and girlfriends of French and Italian politicians. What a joke our domestic politicians' women are.

The good people of Ireland deserve more from their polticians than chain-smoking midgets banging drag queen lookalikes in Kuala Lumpur at Irish taxpayers expense!

endabob1
23/12/2008, 8:16 AM
Jesus Christ. i thought Cullen would be the only one stupid enough to think this is a good idea but obviously there are at least two complete fcuking morons on this island. Pity

Where does he say it's a good idea?

He says that Commercially it would probably be very succesfull, "there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club." I agree with him and I think from a TV rights pov Sky would be very much behind it. This doesn’t mean I think it’s a good idea, I’m simply giving my thoughts on the likely reasons why it would hypothetically be successful, these reasons would also be in the thoughts of anyone willing to stump up the cash for such a venture.
He also says "Regardless of whether this would actually be a good thing for Irish football, this will not happen anytime soon unless there is a complete overhaul of the game to run on a purely commercial basis."
Again I have to agree, simply because of the UEFA/FA/FIFA & FAI obstacles likely to be in the way.
His third point "Most of you lads cannot give an impartial or objective comment on this" is borne out by your (and others) responses, understandably it's an emotive subject but you have called him a moron for agreeing with Cullen when he does no such thing.
His comparison with the AIL & the move to professional Rugby by the 4 provinces is a very good one, the AIL gets tiny attendances and most of their support has moved to the provincial sides, yet you will always find supporters of AIL club sides who have little or no interest in the provincial game. While not a complete death knell for the AIL it certainly means that the league will never grow to anything beyond an amateur, local level.
I think the introduction of a football club in Dublin attracting 30k+ would undoubtedly have a similar effect on the domestic scene in Dublin at least and consequently across the country and I'm guessing 90% of people on here feel the same way which is why everyone who supports a LOI club is so vehemently opposed to the idea.

redobit
23/12/2008, 8:25 AM
Like those scarves said:

'Our Clubs Our Country'.

23/12/2008, 8:32 AM
I don't see how EPL football matches every second weekend in Dublin would increase Sligo Rovers' attendance

23/12/2008, 8:47 AM
It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a professional domestic league in this country,It would be the ultimate admission of defeat with regard to establishing a nation.
Even if it would lead to a more successful national team in the long runBy subserving our own nation?

23/12/2008, 8:51 AM
Would a full-on petition not be more effective?
What petition has ever worked? bar bringing back wispas...

Write to him at the ministry asking a question, he has to reply to you

23/12/2008, 11:25 AM
when you consider its population and the huge demand and market for 'cross channel soccer' (as RTE like to call it) in this country, there is absolutely no doubt that dublin could quite feasibly sustain a premier league club.
Championship at best.

And your analysis omits the reality that a major part of 'cross-channel' soccer's success here is that it is arms-length, sanitised fare, ideal for the novelty fan.

Even if Dublin Franchise can manage to prise people away from their current brand, going to the Theatre of Dreams on a Ryanair jolly twice a year does not a regular-attending football supporter make,

23/12/2008, 12:10 PM
Championship at best.
Premiership or nothing, I'd say.

Would you get 15000 out to see QPR? Not a chance.

endabob1
23/12/2008, 1:24 PM
Slightly out of date but interesting none the less, between 2,500 & 5,000 a week travelling to the UK

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/away-for-the-game-1056570.html

23/12/2008, 1:28 PM
Slightly out of date but interesting none the less, between 2,500 & 5,000 a week travelling to the UK

Dreadful guestimate. "Its either 2,500 or double it"

And still way, way less than attend LOI matches each week

23/12/2008, 1:48 PM

"When you are a fan like I am it is just something you have to do." says the Sunderland Irish fan in that article

jesus we really are a nation of thicks

23/12/2008, 1:55 PM
"When you are a fan like I am it is just something you have to do.".......for a short period of time until something else newer and better comes along and I'll be all over it like a bad smell. Come on Munster!!!!!!!"

endabob1
23/12/2008, 1:55 PM
Dreadful guestimate. "Its either 2,500 or double it"

And still way, way less than attend LOI matches each week

Thats what I thought, TBH I expected the figure to be higher

Boh_So_Good
23/12/2008, 2:30 PM
I was thinking about all this today and I think this might be a carrot (lie) Cullen is holding out to the Sheeple as a YES vote Sweetener for the Lisbon Treaty.

The Masonic Common Purpose agenda runs seminars for politicians teaching them to bully and fool the electorate without any restraint is good if it achieves the ultimate goal of an EU facist superstate. I suspect that we have not heard the last of this and we may well get. "Lisbon will allow for the Premiership to expand into Ireland" and expect to see NeoCons such as Gordon Brown and Barroso coming out with the same line as the Lisbon Vote nears.

Considering that the Irish premiership brigade are instinctual traitors by their very nature, it makes perfect sense that the greatest act of teason in the history of Ireland (our entire political machine at war with our Republic) would reach out to them in time as they are a natural collaborator.

Boh_So_Good
23/12/2008, 2:47 PM
Some gas comments on the original youtube link.

23/12/2008, 3:00 PM
Thats what I thought, TBH I expected the figure to be higher

I'd pretty certain it's far higher. Ever seen Dublin airport on a Saturday morning? It's weird.
Add a few thousand extra onto that number if you include the exodus to see Celtic and Rangers. The ferries from Belfast and Larne are packed on Saturdays. (although, the have to have seperate ferries, obviously :rolleyes:)

23/12/2008, 3:05 PM
I'd pretty certain it's far higher. Ever seen Dublin airport on a Saturday morning? It's weird.

Its weird but its not thousands and thousands weird.

sonofstan
23/12/2008, 3:21 PM
Its weird but its not thousands and thousands weird.

Thing is, if somewhere vague figure between 2.5k and 5k go each weekend, the total number who go once/ twice/ thrice a season - and consider themselves 'fans' - is probably a decent multiple of that, whereas the 12k who go to a LoI game of a friday probably represent the majority of the total who go at all in a season.

To put it another way - only a minority of the total number of travelling Irish prem fans go every week, whereas a relatively large number go a few times a season, whereas - I would guess - most of those who do go to LoI games go most weeks (or most home games anyway), so that the 12k average total attendance at League games here probably represents half - or more - of hte total who ever go.

A wide but shallow pool of one kind of fan V a small but deep pool of the other.

bluesfan
23/12/2008, 4:09 PM
I have three thoughts:
. Even if it would lead to a more successful national team in the long run

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know the rules regarding international football? With no national league left, and therefore no teams in any European competition and the only club team to speak of playing in a foreign country's league, would Ireland even be entitled to field a national team in either FIFA or UEFA competitions?

23/12/2008, 4:27 PM
Liechtenstein's clubs play in Switzerland, but they have to organise a domestic Cup to keep their national team in UEFA.

Rovers should team up with Ryanair to issue a joint statement denouncing this as nonsense. :)

Straightstory
23/12/2008, 8:40 PM
I was thinking about all this today and I think this might be a carrot (lie) Cullen is holding out to the Sheeple as a YES vote Sweetener for the Lisbon Treaty.

The Masonic Common Purpose agenda runs seminars for politicians teaching them to bully and fool the electorate without any restraint is good if it achieves the ultimate goal of an EU facist superstate. I suspect that we have not heard the last of this and we may well get. "Lisbon will allow for the Premiership to expand into Ireland" and expect to see NeoCons such as Gordon Brown and Barroso coming out with the same line as the Lisbon Vote nears.

Considering that the Irish premiership brigade are instinctual traitors by their very nature, it makes perfect sense that the greatest act of teason in the history of Ireland (our entire political machine at war with our Republic) would reach out to them in time as they are a natural collaborator.

Quite the barmiest conspiracy theory I've ever seen. You're either joking or an acolyte of the hugely sinister Declan Ganly - a man who appeals to the very worst instincts of Irish people (rather like Roy Keane). 'European Fascisct Superstate' - don't be so ridiculous.

Mr_Parker
23/12/2008, 8:49 PM
I have met Cullen on several occassions. What an idiot to come out with something like this. I can't wait until I have the pleasure again.

Boh_So_Good
23/12/2008, 11:33 PM
Quite the barmiest conspiracy theory I've ever seen. You're either joking or an acolyte of the hugely sinister Declan Ganly - a man who appeals to the very worst instincts of Irish people (rather like Roy Keane). 'European Fascisct Superstate' - don't be so ridiculous.

Then why bother replying, Oh EU lovin NeoCon? Nevermind, I think we all know the answer to that.

Have no fear, on the eve of the Lisbon Treaty vote, I shall ressurect this thread to remind as many of the non-Sheeple folks here on foot.ie why they might consider voting NO. Not all of us want to live in a bland, souless, undemocratic EU McSuperstate with 32 mega soccer clubs run by NeoCons and Financial Criminals who want to "upgrade" us with microchips because they loath individuality and regional cultures.

Just because the likes of Martin Cullen is an anti-Irish loser do not assume the rest of us are just as worthless. Now hurry back to your Common Purpose seminar as I think the module on destroying local communities/cultures is just about to start.

24/12/2008, 5:31 PM
Cowan just rolled out Cullen to distract attention from the collapse of the Irish economy.

24/12/2008, 8:17 PM
There are ****ing loads on boards. Idiots.
http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055446109

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58355814#post58355814

You can't compare a Sligo person supporting Sligo and a Mayo person supporting Sligo for jaysus sake.

could say the same for a culchie supporting Manchester United...

CSFShels
24/12/2008, 8:52 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3910

Sure when the head of the FAI couldn't even give a ****e enough to mention the league, something is seriously wrong.

24/12/2008, 10:45 PM
http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58355814#post58355814

could say the same for a culchie supporting Manchester United...

This is funny ! (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=58359848&postcount=62)

oriel
26/12/2008, 3:03 PM
Just picking this up now, I think I read a figure of 10,000 per week leave Ireland to watch matches in the UK, this is an all ireland figure from which Celtic come out on top with around 5,000 (as they would atttract more support from sections within NI + ROI for historical reasons) and Man U next at around 3,000, all of the others were in high hundred figures.

Dont ask me where I read this, I think it was the Sun Indo and was a good few yrs ago.

Ps Cullen couldnt even get the name right, the legal entity of the top div in england is called 'The (barclays) Premier League' - the use of 'premiership' ended 2 seasons ago

fionnsci
27/12/2008, 10:31 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/letters/2008/1227/1229728559325.html

Fair play Turlough! That'll take him down a peg or two.

Shelsman
27/12/2008, 2:16 PM
Cowan just rolled out Cullen to distract attention from the collapse of the Irish economy.

POTM !

Funny, and posibly true, but this has only upset about 12,000 of us so it's hardly worked on the scale he had envisaged. We need to do like the Americans and declare war -wasn't there some weapons of mass destruction on the Isle of Man or something? :D

EalingGreen
30/12/2008, 10:49 AM
Under European competition and restraint of trade laws, if a Dublin-based club was to be accepted into the English Premiership in accordance with the rules of the premiership, there is nothing that could legally be done to prevent that. That is now an established legal fact within the EU, and will remain so until and unless a contrary judgement.

So there are no such regulations for anyone to list that are legally enforceable. Which may explain why they haven’t been.

Unwittingly, DCFC has hit upon why this suggestion is about as feasible as an Irish Mission to Mars: The Premier League would NEVER entertain "Dublin United FC" joining them.

Think about it. The EPL is arguably the most lucrative cash generator in world sport. It is controlled by the Chairmen of the 20 participating clubs - many of them Billionaires. They are all absolutely desperate for their own club to remain in the EPL.

WHY ON EARTH WOULD THEY VOTE TO EXCLUDE ONE OF THEIR OWN, IN ORDER TO MAKE WAY FOR A CLUB WHICH DOESN'T EXIST AND WHICH DOESN'T EVEN HAVE A STADIUM, NEVER MIND FANS, FROM AN OVERSEAS CITY IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION ENTIRELY?

Whenever Rangers & Celtic crash out of Europe early (i.e. half the time), someone connected with those clubs suggests that they should be allowed to join the EPL. Yet despite both these being long-established clubs with a hugely impressive history, with massive support and excellent stadia, in a British city which is only 5 hours by train from the furthermost existing EPL club (Pompey), the EPL still politely tells them to Sod Off every time.

And even in the hugely unlikely event of the the EPL expanding its remit outside of England, off the top of my head, I can think of half a dozen major European capital cities alone which would be far more likely/feasible to be invited to join before Dublin (Paris, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Prague, Budapest, Brussels etc).

I can see why LOI fans are outraged by this suggestion. But for the above reasons, IT SIMPLY WILL NOT HAPPEN. So after registering their disgust with the Minister concerned directly, I would suggest that they simply forget about this.

bigmac
30/12/2008, 12:08 PM
I have three thoughts:

3 good thoughts, despite the over-reaction of many on the board. Had any of the various "breakaway" leagues touted by the G14 to threaten UEFA over the last few years actually become reality, then I would think that some billionaire may have attempted to get a Dublin club into the mix (obvioulsy not in the current economic climate). However, joining an established closed shop is a non-runner, and would indeed spell the end of football in Ireland as we know it.

My various thoughts include the following (some devils advocate so try to avoid calling me names please...)

Firstly, I think that the nature of this forum lends itself to a predictable overall response to this issue - obviously we are all wedded to our local clubs and want this ludicrous proposal to be laughed out of it.
Secondly, taking rugby as an example is a good comparison - however the provincial structure in Ireland lent itself very neatly to the transition to professionalism. There already was a long history of inter-pro competition and the various traditions of the provinces were well established. There are no such structures already in place in football
Thirdly, on the continuing rugby theme, Wales and Scotland were forced to create regional teams from scratch. This has had mixed results. The Celtic Warriors were formed from 2 of the stronger league teams, yet only lasted a year before being disbanded, while the Ospreys have gone from strength to strength
Fourthly, I find it a bit ironic that "national" issues are being thrown out when many of the people on this board see as perfectly acceptable the long-term goal of an All-Ireland league, with feeder national leagues from Ireland and the North.

As I've said, with a forum like this, when a proposal arrives, the first question we ask ourselves is "how will this affect my club".
Given that this scheme would kill the professional clubs in existence already, it's fairly obvious that none of us are in favour of it, whereas there may be some qualified support for a Celtic League, provided all clubs had a shot at getting into it and regionalisation was not applied.

stamullendrog
31/12/2008, 2:48 PM
read in the paper yesterday joe dolan toured russia years ago and the government thought he was a communist.pity he wasnt and didnt lead a coup so idiots like cullen would have no job today

ShnaeGuevara715
02/01/2009, 12:49 AM
Well lads, didn't he just say this in passing with absolutely no intention of following up? Just a dumb*ss attempt to say what he thought people would like to hear? Tryin to be... down with the kids :cool:

Infact, apart from the minority LoI populace, maybe a large chunk of the other 3.9million in the country heard it and said "that would be class! Man Utd home! Savage!" Maybe not.

Its just highlighted the different evolutionary paths (or stages on the same path) between the currently local passionate semi pro loi club surviving on the will of the community with the Premiership Era english clubs who are just money machines who could fill their stadiums ten times over with their "fans" in South America and Asia. Proper fans galled at the idea while armchair fans just think of the glamour. (Though in fairness, if a club did get in, spent the resulting millions and millions on LOI players, facilities, clubs etc would that be worth the selling of whats left of our footballing soul? Trophies change minds?lol)

Also a team couldnt just jump into the Premiership like that, they'd have to start in League 2 at the highest. I think the Football League has tested the Old Firm with that before, see if they'd suffer Torquay United et al lol Look at the Welsh teams, whens the last time any of them were in the Premiership? Politicians are shortsighted insincere, corrupt, incompetent idiots of the highest order. I omit none from that statement... since Joe Higgins lost his seat lol

02/01/2009, 10:35 AM
Politicians are shortsighted insincere, corrupt, incompetent idiots of the highest order. I omit none from that statement...

Whilst the core of what you are trying to say is true, it isn't at all served by being capped-off by such a childishly feeble assertion... :o

Fivesilver
03/01/2009, 12:48 PM
joe dolan toured russia years ago and the government thought he was a communist.pity he wasnt and didnt lead a coup so idiots like cullen would have no job today

I'm pretty sure you'd find that if we had become a corrupt communist dictatorship, you'd find yourself petitioning Local Commissar Cullen under the framed portrait of General Secretary Ahern to get that new plough for your collective farm.

'Twould be the same rats, only in a slightly different sewer. :(

03/01/2009, 2:39 PM
I'm pretty sure you'd find that if we had become a corrupt communist dictatorship, you'd find yourself petitioning Local Commissar Cullen under the framed portrait of General Secretary Ahern to get that new plough for your collective farm.

'Twould be the same rats, only in a slightly different sewer. :(

and the populous would be stood in the People's Stadium on a Saturday afternoon watching CSKA Limerick play Lokomotiv Monaghan