View Full Version : Combined Counties Football League

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

spcorp
30/03/2009, 10:02 AM
I am going easy on the committee, our friend from St Peters isn't being as PC!

He a good point though (not the personal stuff about my speeling - or should that be spelling??) and I don't think the second point is valid either!! but certainly if the CCFL have been as lax as he says in terms of their website they could do better than take on board the comments. Chris Hand is on Midlands R 3 on a Sunday doing a round up but perhaps the league could do more to promote it's self. It is after all one of the largest.

Any ideas??

Damo i get paid for ideas!!

Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 10:16 AM
Heard yer fella on the Radio yesterday, sounded good except for the horns blowing!!

Willow un lucky, anyone at the game? well done to Saint Peters, not a great game but a fantistic result. Last 4 of the FAI and FAI 1st round proper too!

AlwaysAHoop
31/03/2009, 1:15 PM
Back to domestic scene this week some big games in biggest domestic cup The Counties Cup,, 4 teams booked there place last week..4 fixtures this week peters AT HOME TO ARLINGTON MELVILLE AND MULLINGAR ATH i will be goin to watch that 1..and willow away to stillary and clara at home to rochfortbridge i fancy the 3 athlone clubs to progress and clara any opinions and the outcomes..

spcorp
31/03/2009, 5:04 PM
Back to domestic scene this week some big games in biggest domestic cup The Counties Cup,, 4 teams booked there place last week..4 fixtures this week peters AT HOME TO ARLINGTON MELVILLE AND MULLINGAR ATH i will be goin to watch that 1..and willow away to stillary and clara at home to rochfortbridge i fancy the 3 athlone clubs to progress and clara any opinions and the outcomes..

the counties is the big one! peters to win, mullingar to win, think stillery might pull of a shock as willow are dissappointed and the leinster defeat and that pitch over there is terrible and won't suit them, but you never know, also Clara should do the business...

AlwaysAHoop
15/04/2009, 12:25 PM
A Few suprise results this weekend especially willow losing in the semi..Peters have 7 huge games comin up in 2 weeks first 1 started last night with a win against CK United away which is a tough place to go.. Clara 2moro night and then a important semi on sunday against birr on a terrible surface in mount temple and willow travel to mullingar town..Its lookin like a close run in for every competition.

Fr Damo
18/04/2009, 9:34 AM
congrats to Davie Donoghue who has been selected to travel to Sardinia with Gerry smith and the Irish Junior International Team. He travels this Monday for five days and two international matches.
Davie joined St Peters from Heatmerchants in the summer of 07 and he previously played for Athlone Town FC youths and U20s. Everybody @ St Peters wish David a safe and fruitful trip and look forward to his return next week in time for the 1st round of the FAI cup @ home to Bluebell United.

Peters have 2 of the most important weeks of their history with a Paddy Cotter Cup semi against Birr tomorrow in temple Villa, a tough game against Mullingar Ath next wed @7.30pm in Gainstown, the Bluebell game and then the FAI cup final in Tolka Park on May 3rd against Ballymun Utd @2.30.
Buses and travel arrangements will be announced shortly, keep up to date on www.stpetersathlone.com (http://www.stpetersathlone.com)

spcorp
18/04/2009, 3:44 PM
congrats to Davie Donoghue who has been selected to travel to Sardinia with Gerry smith and the Irish Junior International Team. He travels this Monday for five days and two international matches.
Davie joined St Peters from Heatmerchants in the summer of 07 and he previously played for Athlone Town FC youths and U20s. Everybody @ St Peters wish David a safe and fruitful trip and look forward to his return next week in time for the 1st round of the FAI cup @ home to Bluebell United.

Peters have 2 of the most important weeks of their history with a Paddy Cotter Cup semi against Birr tomorrow in temple Villa, a tough game against Mullingar Ath next wed @7.30pm in Gainstown, the Bluebell game and then the FAI cup final in Tolka Park on May 3rd against Ballymun Utd @2.30.
Buses and travel arrangements will be announced shortly, keep up to date on www.stpetersathlone.com (http://www.stpetersathlone.com)

Well done to Davie, its a brilliant achievement for a club with 2 teams. Delighted for the lad, he's a gentleman.

Fair play to the CCFL for all the exposure on their website, its amazing!!!!! what a joke? not even a mention for St Peters or Davie, they just surpass themselves every year. Take a look at the AUL website or the Tipperary website, theres such a difference its unreal. Would like to compliment st peters on there page and bebo page, its excellent. Any other team gonna step up? If the league cannot promote the game with all the success at the moment, they are missing a big opportunity, but then again whats new.....

chopper harris
18/04/2009, 8:24 PM
SPCORP, you have a point there. Just checked the AUL website. They have asked all clubs to go to the final wearing tracksiuts to boast the attendance and show unity for their fellow league member (ballymun).

Will St Peters bring many to the final or are there any other teams on here interested in going? I am assuming the CCFL have lrft that week end free so clubs can attend?

Congrats to David and St peters, it is such an honour, don't under estimate the achievement of playing for your country. (a seperate issue but isn't Stephan Ireland a dope!)

spcorp
18/04/2009, 8:56 PM
SPCORP, you have a point there. Just checked the AUL website. They have asked all clubs to go to the final wearing tracksiuts to boast the attendance and show unity for their fellow league member (ballymun).

Will St Peters bring many to the final or are there any other teams on here interested in going? I am assuming the CCFL have lrft that week end free so clubs can attend?

Congrats to David and St peters, it is such an honour, don't under estimate the achievement of playing for your country. (a seperate issue but isn't Stephan Ireland a dope!)

i think peters will bring about 400, killester when they played there fai final had over 4,000 there, so i think peters will be out numbered. The AUL is a credit and what all league's should aspire to, unfortunately our lads are very very foolish in there approach.

Delighted for the lad, he's a great guy. Big honour for him and his team mates. Wouldn't ya think they would be singing it from the rooftops??

Ireland's a clown!!

workdodger
29/04/2009, 8:04 PM
With a little luck hopefully St Peters can perform and lift the trophy... Best of luck to the team and everyone associated with the club

AlwaysAHoop
09/05/2009, 12:08 PM
i heard a rumour last night that st peters might be thrown out of counties cup for not playin a fixture 48 hours after the FAI CUP FINAL..If this is true my god the league has a lot to answer to and surely there is something peters can do about it..The league should be rewarding teams for doing well in national cups.as the AUL has done for ballymun..i feel sorry for some of the players because its the top local cup and lots of Players would love the chance to win it..

chopper harris
10/05/2009, 9:46 AM
I heard this last night too, what I joke. Some posters here appear to be right about the CCFL committe, lack of professionalism, poor promotion etc. I also heard lsat night that Ballymun didn't play a game for two weeks prior to the FAI Final, Peters were out the Sunday before and Tuesday after.

There are obvious issues within the league exec becuase I know the few in place are are trying to do an awful lot and by stretching themselves are letting the ball drop. The "b" all and end all appears to be their Dinner dance at the end of year, without Top teams they have no "real" league.

Having said all of that though, it looks as though Willow ans St Peters would have a clean sweep and with Melville promoted, Monksland in a Final and temple villa flying it's about time the CCFL paid tribute to soccor in Athlone.

Congrats to all clubs mentioned above.

AlwaysAHoop
10/05/2009, 8:13 PM
Heard Both semi were played 2day after St peters put in an appeal..Just read the rules there..

In the event of an Appeal being lodged against a decision of the League with the Leinster Football Association, no points shall be awarded and no Cup fixtures shall be played, pending the outcome of such an Appeal or Protest.

Fr Damo
11/05/2009, 8:39 AM
I am not going to do the washing in public but there is a protest in with the league exec who are meeting tonight to discuss. I fully expect the protest to be thrown out. Next stop is Dublin and the LFA. This will mean a ball cannot be kicked in this particular competition until the appeal is heard. Considering we are the business end of a season surely nobody wants this??
CCFL AGM (monday 11th May) this evening in the Bridge house at 8.30pm. Looking forward to the awards night on May 28th.

11/05/2009, 9:46 AM
Unfortunately Monksland United lost the CCFL Div 2/Denis Delaney Cup Final
8-7 on pens yesterday in Clara. Game finished 2-2 AET, 3-3 on Pens and
then into sudden death.

On a bright note though, the did win promotion to Division 1

Push in the back!
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3610/3518980545_c82d206fe8.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157617871667101/)

Ian O'Reilly gets in a tangle
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3660/3519790772_76b58caa3c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157617871667101/)

Seamie McCormack saves in the shoot out
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3349/3519000315_8f6be93e09.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157617871667101/)

Division 3B is turning into a bit of a sham, 3 teams pulled out before the season ended and rumour of at
least 1 team more calling it a day when the season finishes. And with Clonbunny promoted there will be
plenty of local derbies with Monksland B, Gentex, Clonown & Moate also in D3B

Fr Damo
11/05/2009, 11:10 AM
Fair play to Monksland, they put in a lot of effort this year on and off the Park. Have a great facility out there and have a great chance of improving. More people live in monksland and it's environs than most rural villages who compete in the CCFL. Should be a good next season, head to head against willow park!

spcorp
12/05/2009, 9:31 PM
Fair play to Monksland, they put in a lot of effort this year on and off the Park. Have a great facility out there and have a great chance of improving. More people live in monksland and it's environs than most rural villages who compete in the CCFL. Should be a good next season, head to head against willow park!

well done to Monksland united, great group of lads and great facilities. looking forward to seeing you in the senior division.:ball:

chopper harris
13/05/2009, 9:49 AM
Counties Cup Final this Sunday, willow must be fancied now that Peters are out? Anyone know what happened there?
Big game also next Tuesday night, Top of the Table Clash that will decide the champs I guess. Peters look like scoring always but willow have a great defence with Robbie Shine. Should be fascinating battle. Money is on a Willow win. Crowd will spurr them on.

13/05/2009, 10:44 AM
Big one in Division 3B on Thursday ... Gentex v Clonown!
If Gentex drop points then Monksland B finish above them :)
Was shaping up nicely in last nights game between Gentex and Lawrencetown,
but a lapse in concentration by the Lawrencetown keeper in the final 5 seconds
of the game gifted Gentex all 3 points! :mad:

Fr Damo
18/05/2009, 9:22 AM
Congrats to Sully and Willow Park for lifting the Counties Cup on Sunday down in Roscrea. Mullingar Ath also deserve credit for getting to two cup finals this year as they play Peters next sunday in the Paddy Cotter cup probably in Clara.

Top of the table clash tomorrow night tuesday as willow host Peters in what can only be described as the league decider. Willow possibly favorites on the back of current form but Peters turned in a very professional performace yesterday beating Mountmellick 8 - 2 so it's all to play for.

Peters in the LFA offices for a hearing this evening in relation to the Counties Cup eleminantion, how the CCFL progressed with the cup is beyond me considering there was an appeal / protest being made.

Will Peters look for the games to be replayed if successful? Hardly but they would be entitled to it.

Battery Rover
21/05/2009, 9:30 AM
Willow vs St Peters finished 2-2 so if they both win their games this weekend we have a tie for first. A play off is scheduled for Athlone Town Stadium next Thursday evening from what I have heard if needed.

AlwaysAHoop
24/05/2009, 10:41 PM
how did final between peters and mullingar go 2day as i was away didnt hear result?

workdodger
25/05/2009, 1:45 PM
St Peters 4-0Mullingar Athletic

Peters dominated this game from start to finish.

Battery Rover
27/05/2009, 7:33 AM
St Peters and Willow Park both won their games last night so the play off decider is all set

Venue - Athlone Town Stadium
Date - Thursday 28th May
Time - Kick off 7.45pm
Admission €5 All Under 14s Free

Battery Rover
28/05/2009, 9:59 AM
how did final between peters and mullingar go 2day as i was away didnt hear result?

Match report http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2009/05/28/39968-caldwell-and-sherlock-inspire-st-peters/

02/06/2009, 8:24 AM
Willow Park are Senior Champions after beating St Peters, on penalties,
in an "All Athlone" League Play Off.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3625/3573967909_bc9c2160e2.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/collections/72157619130567962/)

Noli
05/08/2009, 5:12 PM
some interesting ties shaping up in the divisions this year(ccfl)the premier is going to be very competitive

workdodger
11/08/2009, 12:03 PM
Any predictions for the senior league this year? Did teams get stronger or weaker?

AlwaysAHoop
11/08/2009, 2:02 PM
i Think it will be 2horse race again this season as both willow and peters have got stronger.will there be an oscar traynor team his year.

Noli
11/08/2009, 3:20 PM
Yeah id say thered be an oscar traynor.Killavilla have two very strong teams this year

AlwaysAHoop
16/08/2009, 2:49 PM
yeah just watched peters and killavilla peters won 7 1 cant see killavilla winning league very young side peters were good today and exsperience showed. will be tough team to beat thou..sending off didnt help..good start for willow aswell 3 nil against portlaoise..

Noli
16/08/2009, 3:06 PM
What was the sending off like?i heard it was a deliberate handball

AlwaysAHoop
16/08/2009, 3:58 PM
What was the sending off like?i heard it was a deliberate handball
Yeah handled on the line..nothin ref could do.

Battery Rover
16/08/2009, 10:19 PM
yeah just watched peters and killavilla peters won 7 1 cant see killavilla winning league very young side peters were good today and exsperience showed. will be tough team to beat thou..sending off didnt help..good start for willow aswell 3 nil against portlaoise..

Has Damien Rushe signed for St Peters?

workdodger
20/08/2009, 6:13 PM
anybody have any midweek results? I heard Peters put 6 past melville? any truth?

Battery Rover
21/08/2009, 1:07 PM
anybody have any midweek results? I heard Peters put 6 past melville? any truth?

Didnt hear any results yet but St Peters putting 6 past Melville wouldnt be a shock seeing how the first weeks results went

Senior Division
Portlaoise AFC 0; Willow Park 3.
Mullingar Athletic 0; Mountmellick Utd 1.
St.Peters 7; Killavilla Utd 1.
Clara Town 0; Birr Town 0
CK Utd 6; Melville Utd 2.

I think Willow Park were due to play Melville during the week with Peters away to Birr

workdodger
28/08/2009, 10:51 AM
I heard that willow struggled against a poor melville side on thursday night 2-1 to willow in the end?? How did St.Peters do against Birr Town?

Battery Rover
28/08/2009, 1:44 PM
Havent heard any results yet but St Peters seem to be scoring for fun with seven against Killavilla and six against Melville and if rumours are correct about two players apparently going to sign for them this week the gulf in class will only get bigger.

AlwaysAHoop
28/08/2009, 3:16 PM
Yeah big game this weekend The top 2 face each other to early to say who will win this 1 have only seen both sides once this season..lookin forward to it hopefully weather will lay off.

Heard a few names been mentioned that peters are lookin to sign myself but u never no with rumours..Good squad up there at moment.

workdodger
02/09/2009, 9:12 AM
Senior Division
St.Peters 1; Willow Park 1
Melville Utd 3; Mountmellick Utd 2
Birr Town 3; CK Utd 1

Peters and Willow draw again! Anyone at the game?
Good to see Melville picking up results too.

Battery Rover
02/09/2009, 10:21 PM
St.Peters 1; Willow Park 1
Peters and Willow draw again! Anyone at the game?

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2009/09/02/390834-honours-even-in-tense-local-derby-as-kelly-strike-earns-peters-a-draw/

workdodger
03/09/2009, 10:42 AM
Just read the article from the westmeath you have posted battery rover, thanks. It would appear the article is massively biased to favour willow but I have also bought a copy of the paper and have seen the writer of it too, it is very obvious why the article favours willow and I would love to see or hear an unbiased version of how the game actually went! I am originally from Athlone but am not living locally anymore.

Fr Damo
04/09/2009, 7:51 AM
The writer covering the game was Kevin O Neill. Best freinds with Willow center midfielder, stood beside their dugout and hails from willow. Your surprised it was one sided?

The thing is, altough not unaccurate, it lacked any coverage of the opposition (apart from negitive comments) and therefore when Mr O neill decides he has had enough of writing for a small mined, GAA led regional newspaper and is asked to put forward some of his work at a new prospective employer these sort of pieces will not do him any favours!

On the game, Willow were the better side for most of the first half, C Hyland was sent off with a straight red for a terrible challenge and Peters only came into it with the extra man. Second half was mainly Peters, but willow looked like nicking one on the break. A Carberry put a peno into Bolgers hands and it looked like willow would hang on but Alan Kelly put away a free from the edge of the box to make it one all. I have spoken to some sensible willow lads, some releived Peters lads and all say a draw was a fair result.
Did Peters score an OG? - Yes
Did Hyland Deserve to be sent Off - Yes
Was it a peno - Yes
Did Peters deserve one goal - Yes
Could willow have scored a second - Yes

Will willow retain the league? I think peters have the bigger and better squad and will win games where willow may drop a point or two. Having said that, willow still have the edge over Peters when it comes to head to head!
Three draws (willow won one game on Pens)
and a willow win.

supersol
05/09/2009, 9:50 PM
Lads,
I was at the St.Peters Vrs Willow Park match last Sunday & have read the Westmeath Independent which i believe was the only local paper to cover this match!! (i stand to be corrected here)

I agree with Fr.Damo on a few points...

1) Willow Park Goal was an OG.
2) It was a Sending Off although the Reaction of the St. Peters Dugout made sure of the Red Card.
3) It was a Penalty
4) St. Peters did deserve their Goal.
5) Willow could have wrapped up the 3 pts if they got the 2nd goal but you have to take chances in Football.

Regards to the Bias from the mentioned reporter, i have always took time to read his Local Soccer Reports and have to say that i disagree with your comments!! (friendship with a Willow Player would cloud his reading of the match whether he watched the match beside Willow Supporters or not)

I watched the match on the Dressing Room side of the pitch and have to say that the Referee gave St. Peters almost every 50 / 50 possible!!
Again you could use your Bias Term here in my opinion??
St. Peters must have got at least 8 frees on the edge of the Willow area, one of which led to the equaliser!! (also an OG).

Overall 1 all was a fair result & after looking at the 1st few weeks results that the 2 Athlone sides will be battling against eachother on all fronts. (possibly Mullingar Ath may get involved).

Chat Soon....

06/09/2009, 2:44 PM
Some results from today

Premier Division
Monksland United A 4-1 Willow Park B
Mullingar Town P-P Temple Villa

Division 3B
Moate Celtic 4-1 Monksland United B
Gentex 2-3 Clara Town

supersol
06/09/2009, 7:47 PM
Sorry, in my last post i meant to say that it would not cloud his reading of the game instead of cloud his reading!!!
This was regard the Kevin O Neill comments!!

AlwaysAHoop
07/09/2009, 2:16 PM
Any word on oscar traynor side this year.would have a lot of players with league of ireland exsperience behind them..

Robbie shine..willow
ronan frawley..willow
alan kelly..peters
adrian carberry..peters
david o brien..monskland
claudio nardone..mullingar ath
stephen mullan..peters
tom silke..peters
mickey collins..peters
niall scullion..peters
craig tone..willow
damien rush..peters
decky fallon.peters

cant think of anymore.

And a few excellent players in league

mark sherlock
Gary mchugh
brian caudwell
Mark syron
kevin keegan
robbie hibbits
kirwan from killavila
gary stephens
Aidan hyland
peter sherlock
Benny Mcgunnies

I probably missed a few Any suggestions?I think u would have a team that could compete

the runner
08/09/2009, 11:24 AM
The Players should be asked if they want to commit to it. After all they are the ones who have tavel around the country to play the matches plus if you do not get all the best players there is no point. remember last time it was a complete disaster. after all it will be mostly Willow park and St Peters players. Too clubs who will be pushing strong for the Fai cup and Leinster cup. If you ask me the Oscar trainer is only an unnecessary distraction.

the runner
10/09/2009, 4:05 PM
Willow Park vs St Peters first round of the f.a.i cup.
What do ye think!!!!!

workdodger
10/09/2009, 5:09 PM
Should be a great cup tie! Hopefully we see a green and white win. And maybe a decent write up in the local papers. Its quite unbelievable really though. St Peters should have been seeded as this was my understanding going on the last few years.