View Full Version : 2008 - Your highs and lows...

14/12/2008, 1:18 PM
Another year (nearly) over. What were your highs and lows? Here's mine...

HIGHS
- Getting my MacBook, a life changing experience and so damn useful, I'd be lost without it!
- Seeing my nephew grow up and good times with family etc.
- Excellent weekends away in New York (the best time of my life and making friends for life) and drunken lads weekends in Poznan and Sofia. Most I've travelled in a year.
- Getting to work where I'm temping, great people i've worked alongside and will stay friends with.
- Some great friends getting engaged/married/having kids.

LOWS
- Losing three jobs. One where the boss developed a coke addiction, going a bit nuts and then bringing down the business when he didnt turn up for a month and owed me money. Another where I was apparently odds on to get only for the manager to change his mind last minute and my current situation, where I'm working on an excellent site, with great people only for the area manager to take a dislike to me. Nightmare year work wise.
- Further hassle with the girlfriend. I really should have ended it this year.
- Moving from a house-share i genuinely loved. Not been the same since.
- Best mate moving from Dublin to work on the cruise ships.
- Being unemployed for a month making it a major struggle cash flow wise.
- The thoughts of coming back to London in the New Year, unemployed..

here's to 2009, a better year hopefully for all of us...

14/12/2008, 1:34 PM
Highs
Getting back together with the man I love.
Getting the job I have wanted for so long
Watching my children amaze me every day
Going into schools and having great craic with children as part of my job
Hanging out with the Flaws and then having my piece on them published

Lows

My granny dying.
My 18 year old dog dying.
Being constantly broke.
losing a job I loved (but worked out ok as got the one I really love!)
My mum's ill health
My dad suffering bigtime from collapse in property market

It has been a nightmare year in so many respects, thank God for the highs or I might not have gotten through it.

14/12/2008, 2:11 PM
Highs:

Getting my twins wings

Getting the 3some wings

Lows:

Not getting the mother and daugther wings

Getting knocked out at the quarter final level with Ireland on Pro Evolution

All in all its been a bad yea and I reckon I must be the unluckiest guy after the above serious problems.Roll on 2009.

14/12/2008, 2:15 PM
MORE HIGHS AND LOWS...

LOW:
Two of our own fans passing away this year. Enda Muldowney and Butch Treacy R.I.P.

sonofstan
14/12/2008, 2:48 PM
Highs:
Daughter doing well in Leaving and getting into college to do the course she wanted AND staying in Dublin - on the one hand I thought it might be good for her to get away for a few years, but selfishly, not quite ready for empty nest.

Bohs winning the double. Seeing every league game. Away trips to Cork and Cobh in particular were great fun, and the cup final was marvellous - and Mina Kalonas and the way he might look at you.

Barack Obama

Recession shutting up (a bit) the more egregious elements in Irish society, and (i hope) the end for a while of property as a measure of personal worth.

Lows:
Poverty.

Having no life (see second high.....)

Recession causing 'government' to attack the lowly paid, the elderly and schoolkids rather than upset their mates in the construction industry.

(Still) Unfinished PhD.

14/12/2008, 4:02 PM
Highs

Completing a long held personal ambition and running up the steps from Rocky - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOkOBXdVPBU
Driving from Philadelphia to Atlanta and seeing parts of America slightly off the beaten track
Getting back into the gym, and sticking to it
Attending the UEFA Cup Final
Getting back in the saddle, so to speak
The Ireland - Colombia game in London
Munster regaining the Heineken Cup
Getting my financial affairs in order
Attending, on average, one film a month for free

Lows

Was involved in a bus crash which did some minor damage to my lower back
The riot in Manchester was 2 blocks from where I stayed after the final
Despite point nine above, still no closer to owning my own place
Some, quite frankly, bizarre and unwelcome housemates

All in all, not a bad year
Next year, turning 30 :eek:

14/12/2008, 5:38 PM
LOWS
- Further hassle with the girlfriend. I really should have ended it this year.

here's to 2009, a better year hopefully for all of us...

Presumably except your girlfriend, who should be getting ditched soon.

Jesus man, you have to sort that out. It's getting to the point where I'm going to come over there and tell her for you;).

By the way, is she any much a looker. If she's going to be single soon, I might get a haircut...

14/12/2008, 7:43 PM
Highs:

Mauro Almeida
Europe.

Enough said!

Lows:

Johnny Chadda R.I.P.

14/12/2008, 8:24 PM
Highs:
Passing first year
Getting articles published regularly

Lows:
Relationships (or lack thereof)
Eoin Tobin RIP

Can't think of anything else, it's been a slow year.

Paddyfield
14/12/2008, 9:31 PM
HIGHS: My son's first birthday. He was only given a few hours to live when he was born in August 2007. He defied the odds and is thriving, thank God.

LOWS: Nothing springs to mind

14/12/2008, 9:47 PM
Highs: Getting a job in a local second hand car dealer. Commission is making it a great Christmas for the nephews!

Had a Rubix cube lying round the house for years. Started playing with it again in Febuary and finally six months later I realised I could just take the stickers off the cube, switch them around, and I'd get them all in place.

Climbing Knocknarea.

Lows: Getting labelled a sexist in new job and the investigation afterwards. Apparently I was wrong but there was three men on the disciplinary council! Luckily I kept it ,despite the downturn in car sales.

15/12/2008, 9:25 AM
Highs:

Getting my twins wings

Getting the 3some wings

Lows:

Not getting the mother and daugther wings

Getting knocked out at the quarter final level with Ireland on Pro Evolution

All in all its been a bad yea and I reckon I must be the unluckiest guy after the above serious problems.Roll on 2009.

Neil, I take the exact same view as you on this. ;)

15/12/2008, 9:29 AM
Highs
Getting engaged

Lows
Getting engaged :p

15/12/2008, 9:33 AM
HIGHS: My son's first birthday. He was only given a few hours to live when he was born in August 2007. He defied the odds and is thriving, thank God.

Ok, Maybe i change my mind then, with highs like that, i dont think its possible to have any lows paddyfield really, is it?!:)

15/12/2008, 9:35 AM
But seriously folks ....

Highs
- Leaving a job that I hated more than Longford itself
- Moving to a job that I actually like
- Finally getting around to doing the Goalkeeping coaching intro cert
- Beating "Section O" in the Clash of the Fans Cup
- Winning the eircom League Supporters Cup
- Not being a cripple (see lows)
- Having the craic with footy fans all over the country in the Nationwade Tour that is Division 1.

Lows
- Dislocating my SI joints during a match and thinking I was gonna be a cripple!
Being panned out on a pitch with no movement or feeling from the waist down is kinda scary!
- Physio bills ... Im fairly certain that Im keeping my local practice in business

15/12/2008, 9:51 AM

I'd imagine there could be no significant lows, after having a high like that. It makes me delighted for you, just reading it.

15/12/2008, 10:14 AM

That is brilliant news Paddyfield. Delighted for your clan..

15/12/2008, 11:34 AM
Highs:
Studying a subject that doesnt include numbers....god i love Jam Making!
Discovering Hydroelectricity
Eventually moving in to a room with the love of my life...you know who are "Mr.H" ;)
Gambling my jumpers on the high street

Lows:
Still havent lost my virginity
lost my special sock
Getting my hand caught in the cigarette machine

15/12/2008, 12:33 PM

I'll make that my high for the year too. Delighted for your family.

noby
15/12/2008, 12:34 PM
Delighted for Paddy. Tops anything I could put here.

Wolfie
15/12/2008, 12:51 PM
HIGHS

My son's first birthday, first steps and all the joy he brings to me and the Missus.

Passing driving test - at last.

Stag weekend in Munich - A great boozy weekend. Losing my mobile phone and German efficiency ensuring that my phone is not only found - but posted back to Dublin!! :)

Trapp given the Ireland job.

LOWS

A health scare that has necessitated an MRI Brain scan. Results next week.

No sunshine this year :(

15/12/2008, 1:18 PM
Good luck with that wolfie, hope everything is ok, whoever it is.

hula4
15/12/2008, 1:30 PM
highs

buying my first home
interest rates dropping!
winning the cup with my soccer team
winning players player of the year
the weekend in cardiff when munster won the heineken cup
attending the munster new zealand game

lows

cant have any lows, i have my health and there is nothing happening in my life as serious as paddyfields or wolfies, best of luck to ye both

Thunderblaster
15/12/2008, 8:12 PM
Highs: Westport United winning the league

Liverpool beating M*******er United

Becoming an uncle again

Bringing the Westport United U.14 team to the Umbro Cup in Galway

Working with kids in football.

Lows: The weather of 2008.

Blue Man
16/12/2008, 4:10 AM
Highs:

Signing as a pro in America and living the dream
Meeting so many great new people there
The look on the family's face when I strolled in the door the other day after not being home in a year!

Lows:

Tearing my cruciate in my knee on the 1st day of pre season
The lonliness and subsequent rehab after the injury
Being so far away from home
Leeds consistently letting me down
Financial turmoil of the league

16/12/2008, 9:24 AM
good man blue man, just living the dream. Living the dream man :D Just like wil ferral!!

16/12/2008, 10:54 AM
Living the dream man :D Just like wil ferral!!

Who lived the dream so much that he lost two consonants and swapped a vowel:D

Sligo Hornet
16/12/2008, 11:12 AM

Just like Carol Vorderman.....no wonder she was sacked!

16/12/2008, 11:27 AM

ya something like that. for some reason i always thought he spelt it wil?! I just got the other part completely wrong!

noby
16/12/2008, 11:36 AM
It would be great if he did spell it "wil?!".

16/12/2008, 11:50 AM
It would be great if he did spell it "wil?!".

Now that really would be living the dream;)

17/12/2008, 2:07 PM
Highs:

Starting the year by beginning a MPhil/PhD mentioned last year as an aim
Seeing out the worst season in recent memory at Rovers
That 1-1 draw in Cork

Lows:

Paul Newman RIP
Finishing second to Flynny Alberts again :(

To be continued - there's 14 days left..

17/12/2008, 2:27 PM
Lows:
Still havent lost my virginity
lost my special sock
Getting my hand caught in the cigarette machine

Maybe 2 and 3 there are a sign that the quest for 1 mightn't be far off :cool:

17/12/2008, 2:30 PM
Highs:

Seeing out the worst season in recent memory at Rovers

worse than being relegated?

17/12/2008, 2:42 PM
Yep. Last season, outside of a few away trips was torture.

One win since August I think, another 10-odd match run with no wins around April-May, 4 wins at home all season, out of the cup early on, three defeats to Bohs, 1 win from 9 against the relegated sides, no goals scored in three against Cobh, it goes on, one of the most obvious declines of a manager, the Stephen Rice saga and sh!te football to match.

We beat Bohs and Shels in 2005 with 10 and 9 men with something to play for.

sonofstan
17/12/2008, 6:56 PM
three defeats to Bohs,

Forgot that in my highs -so many to choose from, football wise, I guess.:D

18/12/2008, 10:30 AM
UPDATED LOW:
No chance of getting the job where I'm in. Area manager just completely blanked me this morning. Hell will freeze over before I get a job here. Career scrapheap. But made some good friends here.

HIGH:
Going home tomorrow for two weeks. Need a break.

18/12/2008, 10:42 AM
Highs
Promotion/new job - Already a civil servant but got promoted through an open competition so technically a now job, still in same desk in same department doing the same work so all good!
Passing the Driving Test- At the 4th attempt, biggest relief ever.
Getting Mortgage Finalised - And now watching the interest rates drop, while our house has held it's value (we got a very good price).
Wexford Youths getting to cup final and showing improvement.

Lows
Watching my grandad getting sicker all the time is difficult.
Other than that it's been a pretty good year, and I'm touching wood that next year will follow the same path.

18/12/2008, 11:41 AM
UPDATED LOW:
No chance of getting the job where I'm in. Area manager just completely blanked me this morning. Hell will freeze over before I get a job here. Career scrapheap. But made some good friends here.

UPDATED HIGH:
On the same subject. The area manager finally had a word. Although she doesnt think im right for the client (cue a lot of marketing spiel), she thinks Ive done a good job and may transfer me to another site. Im not overly delighted about it, but on the same site Im currently in the New Year for a month or so, then I'll get transferred. Not ideal but I wont be jobless, I've got to be happy with that.

18/12/2008, 12:29 PM
Why does she think you are not right for the client? Is it to with how you act(or interact) in front of the client or what?

I think we should have a thread entitled 'Pauros Daily Diary' :)

18/12/2008, 12:38 PM
Why does she think you are not right for the client? Is it to with how you act(or interact) in front of the client or what?

I think we should have a thread entitled 'Pauros Daily Diary' :)

Nice idea! Dealing with corporate type people. I cant relate to the whole corporate side really, it's a fair shout really. Still a transfer will keep me out of trouble for now. Never a dull moment!

18/12/2008, 12:58 PM
Highs:
Getting engaged
Buying our first house
Passing driving test

Lows:
Having no more luxeries.

18/12/2008, 3:15 PM
Nice idea! Dealing with corporate type people. I cant relate to the whole corporate side really, it's a fair shout really. Still a transfer will keep me out of trouble for now. Never a dull moment!

what do you mean you cant relate, its got nothing to do with relating its being cute and keeping yer mouth shut when it needs to be and saying the right things at the right time.

18/12/2008, 9:26 PM
Today was a bit of a high!

19/12/2008, 9:35 AM
Highs: Sold Magicme a lorryload of cheap speed - apparently has major side effects, but she wasn't too worried.
Finishing second to an obsolete imaginary club I managed wrecked Dfx's head more than everything other than Rovers this year.

Lows: Pauro still to set up his daily diary thread.
Pauro still hasn't ditched his girlfriend yet either - how on earth am I going to pull this Christmas if there isn't someone weak and vulnerable to target?

Sligo Hornet
19/12/2008, 9:42 AM
Highs: Sold Magicme a lorryload of cheap speed - apparently has major side effects, but she wasn't too worried.
Finishing second to an obsolete imaginary club I managed wrecked Dfx's head more than everything other than Rovers this year.

Pauro still hasn't ditched his girlfriend yet either - how on earth am I going to pull this Christmas if there isn't someone weak and vulnerable to target?

Fill yer boots Bluey......happy Christmas!:D

http://i43.tinypic.com/t9jvqr.jpg

19/12/2008, 12:15 PM

You might not be Pauros kind BB, did you ever think about that?

19/12/2008, 2:25 PM
Fill yer boots Bluey......happy Christmas!

http://i43.tinypic.com/t9jvqr.jpg

Yeah, thanks a lot Sligo Hornet. What use is the photo without any numbers?:rolleyes:

I suppose I can print it out and take it to bed tonight...

You might not be Pauros kind BB, did you ever think about that?

It's OK Paul, I'm not looking for a long term thing, just some NSA fun. By the time Pauro is realising it's juist a rebound, I'll be long gone...

20/12/2008, 10:22 AM
Yeah, thanks a lot Sligo Hornet. What use is the photo without any numbers?:rolleyes:

I suppose I can print it out and take it to bed tonight...

Plenty to work your way around there fella!