View Full Version : City .v. Rovers

06/11/2003, 4:08 PM
Should be a tough game with both Greg and Dan out, who'll be captain?

The Rat is suspended for Rovers.

I'd go with

Devine
Hoggie K. Murray Derek Woodsie
Doyler Colin T. Benno Kearney
Georgie Flynny

If we win it should wrap up the Intertoto spot, cant see Pats beating Shels on Friday night, then all we'd have to do is match their results and we'd be booking our trips.

06/11/2003, 4:18 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
I'd go with

Devine
Doyler Colin T. Benno Kearney
Georgie Flynny

Yeah, I think I'd go with that team aswell. Kev Murray and Derek looks like a very dodgy centre back partnership but I can't see any way around it apart from playing O'Grady (which I wouldn't) and dropping Benno back.

Anyway, better get those vocal chords in order! All together now...
Kilcoyne is our hero
he wears a heros hat
he got his hands on milltown
said I'll be cashing that
he could have taken Rovers
to champions league success
instead he sold their ground
their just a fcuking mess.
:) :cool: :)

06/11/2003, 4:39 PM
Kev Murray is a centre-half at least. Will be tough without Greg or Dan though. Still is at the Cross.

06/11/2003, 6:18 PM
Devine
kearney Colin T. Benno Casey(nwanko?)
Georgie Doyler

probably a bit early for flynny to be starting a game

casey is a big lad and will throw himself around in there

06/11/2003, 8:31 PM
Ive a feeling it could be Mickey Buckely at the back with Derek.

I wouldnt start Flynn, he is nowhere near fit enough if Tuesdays performance was anything to go by.

Hopefully the weather will be dry and we get a good crowd again. Tmrs game is so vital. If we win its Europe, if we dont, i cant see us getting there.

So, they owe us a massive performance. Itll come Vs the Scum.
3-1 City.

06/11/2003, 8:48 PM
Originally posted by Gary
If we win its Europe

wouldnt start saying that until points r in the bag
we know how unpredictable we are

put it this way
i wouldnt like to go into the last game needing a win against drogs

NorthoftheLee
07/11/2003, 1:51 PM
Couple of potential songs in tribute to Barry Ryan.

To the tune of “He’s got the whole world in his hands”
He’s got the whole world up his nose,
Because Barry is a junkie!!!

To the tune of "Dreaming of a white Christmas"
Barry's dreaming of a white Christmas,
just like the time he used his blow,
where his eyeballs glisten, his nostrils itchin,
To taste a gram of Barrys snow.

ccfc till i die
07/11/2003, 4:09 PM
Originally posted by Colm
Yeah, I think I'd go with that team aswell. Kev Murray and Derek looks like a very dodgy centre back partnership but I can't see any way around it apart from playing O'Grady (which I wouldn't) and dropping Benno back.

Anyway, better get those vocal chords in order! All together now...
Kilcoyne is our hero
he wears a heros hat
:) :cool: :)

Come on lads we have to change the words in that song to 'eircom league success'. All the money in the world wouldn't give rovers "champions league success"

TheRealRovers
07/11/2003, 4:24 PM
Originally posted by Colm
Kilcoyne is our hero
he wears a heros hat

Ali-G
07/11/2003, 6:30 PM
is the game available on the radio on the web, in any shape or form?

Ali-G
07/11/2003, 7:08 PM
We're 1-0 down after 15 mins. Fitzpatrick with the goal.

balls

yur man
07/11/2003, 7:14 PM
horgan on 24'
1-1

07/11/2003, 8:46 PM
City: 2 Horgan & Bennett
Rovers: 2 Fitzpatrick & Robinson

yur man
07/11/2003, 8:49 PM
is that score def cos rte's website say we lost, rte radio 1 said we lost but livescore.com say we drew

whos right?

07/11/2003, 8:58 PM
nah. was a draw confirmed by someone there.

yur man
07/11/2003, 8:59 PM
great stuff, tanks

Ali-G
07/11/2003, 9:06 PM
Gordon Bennett!!!!

What were the juicy details. Bennett in the 92nd minute. Could turn out to be priceless, and with pats losing to shels, the results dont look so bad.

crc
07/11/2003, 9:45 PM
should city have had a penalty in the first 10mins or so? I was in St.Anne's end and didn't see it too well, but a Rovers guy appeared to blatantly push one of our guys in the box!:confused:

really glad scum didn't win!

07/11/2003, 9:50 PM
According to 96fm report, Behan was pushed over in the box and it should have been a penalty, but the other appeal was weak and the decision was correct.

Counting Crow
07/11/2003, 10:50 PM
Possibly the worst decision I have ever seen at The Cross..

City player ( Behan I think ) was so blatently pused by the Rovers player ...... with two hands in the back ....... and went tumbling down in the box.

Referee was 5 - 10 yards away but worse, the push happened near the Linesman on the Donie Forde side of the ground ..... right in front of him and he so obviously chickened out. H

It was pitiful.

For those not at the game it was such a pitiful decision by the ref that O'Dowed was shaking his head ann winked at the Shed after the call was made........ not in a Dan Connor fashion but as if tosay " we ( Rovers ) got away with murder there "

The League really needs to do something about the standard of refereeing!!!!!!

07/11/2003, 11:29 PM
Can someone post the starting eleven? Did Nwankwo start or come on later?

Counting Crow
07/11/2003, 11:35 PM
Tiktok the team lined out as follows:

Devine 7 ( unbelievable save midway through the second half )
Hoggy 8 ( great goal and defended well )
Coughlan 7
Bennett 7 ( super header to level the game 2 mins into injury time )
Woods 6
Kearney 6
K Murray 6
O'Grady 7
Doyler 7
George 7
Behan 7

Nwankwo 7 ( showed some nice touches and played a part in the second goal )
Colin P ( not on long enough )

07/11/2003, 11:38 PM
cheers CC, appreciated!

The Donie Forde
07/11/2003, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by Counting Crow
Tiktok the team lined out as follows:

Devine 7 ( unbelievable save midway through the second half )
Hoggy 8 ( great goal and defended well )
Coughlan 7
Bennett 7 ( super header to level the game 2 mins into injury time )
Woods 6
Kearney 6
K Murray 6
O'Grady 7
Doyler 7
George 7
Behan 7

Nwankwo 7 ( showed some nice touches and played a part in the second goal )
Colin P ( not on long enough )

Jamie Nolan also came on for Kearney...

Donie

08/11/2003, 9:14 PM
Devine 8 - unbelievable save midway through the second half
Hoggy 8 - great goal and defended well as usual
Coughlan 6 - past it
Bennett 8 - super header to level the game 2 mins into injury time, proved he should be starting along side Dan
Woods 7 - gave away a bit too much ball, but did a lot of blocking and running
Kearney 4 - should never have started after last Tuesdays display
K Murray 5 - not up to it at this level yet
O'Grady 7 - solid
Doyler 7 - looks jaded to me
George 8 - superb first half, is still hopeless at the deadball...
Behan 7 - looked ok, seems to have one good shot in a game

Nwankwo 6 ( didn't think all that much of him myself )
Colin P, Jamie Nolan ( not on long enough )

09/11/2003, 3:12 AM
Originally posted by patsh
Devine 8 - unbelievable save midway through the second half
Hoggy 8 - great goal and defended well as usual
Coughlan 6 - past it
Bennett 8 - super header to level the game 2 mins into injury time, proved he should be starting along side Dan
Woods 7 - gave away a bit too much ball, but did a lot of blocking and running
Kearney 4 - should never have started after last Tuesdays display
K Murray 5 - not up to it at this level yet
O'Grady 7 - solid
Doyler 7 - looks jaded to me
George 8 - superb first half, is still hopeless at the deadball...
Behan 7 - looked ok, seems to have one good shot in a game

Nwankwo 6 ( didn't think all that much of him myself )
Colin P, Jamie Nolan ( not on long enough )

Pat, what were u watching?
O Grady 7???????
He was non existent

Coughlan 6???

yet u give Kearney 4 ????????

There are too many prophets of doom around esp Neil and Colm ;) :p . Fridays display was fine. It just goes to show that if we had a midfield, ANY midfield, we would have walked the league this season.

09/11/2003, 9:57 AM
I gave Conor 7 because he was trying to covr for Murray most of the time.
Coughlan got 6, and I was being generous, because of his heading ability. Otherwise he can't run, can't pas and gives the ball away.
kearney got 4 because he was dire.
I thought there was great spirit shown by the side, a huge improvement on Tuesday and it was a decent enough game to w
atch.
As for my player ratings, it probably shows why I and so many others who post here, would never be a successful manager !....:p

09/11/2003, 1:05 PM
Originally posted by Gary
Pat, what were u watching?
O Grady 7???????
He was non existent

Coughlan 6???

yet u give Kearney 4 ????????

There are too many prophets of doom around esp Neil and Colm ;) :p . Fridays display was fine. It just goes to show that if we had a midfield, ANY midfield, we would have walked the league this season.
have YOU ever anything good to say?

09/11/2003, 3:54 PM
Oh again i forgot, Neil is a better fan than all of us. He LORDS it around the place complaining about other fans.

Bloody hypocrit!;) :rolleyes: :)

09/11/2003, 6:33 PM
Lads, couldn't ye have your little love-in when ye are standing next to each at matches?:p

10/11/2003, 11:31 AM
Lads, couldn't ye have your little love-in when ye are standing next to each at matches?:p
damnit. you got there before me :)

ccfc till i die
10/11/2003, 1:22 PM
I gave Conor 7 because he was trying to covr for Murray most of the time.
Coughlan got 6, and I was being generous, because of his heading ability. Otherwise he can't run, can't pas and gives the ball away.
kearney got 4 because he was dire.
I thought there was great spirit shown by the side, a huge improvement on Tuesday and it was a decent enough game to w
atch.
As for my player ratings, it probably shows why I and so many others who post here, would never be a successful manager !....:p

I think liam kearney is turning into the new george o callaghan. A quality player who regularly plays well and sets up chances yet some people get it into their head that they're not going to like him and that's that.