View Full Version : Stadium
Black and White
10/12/2008, 7:55 PM
Lads just out curiosity...where are ye playing your home european games??? The showgrounds hardly are up to current European standards????
10/12/2008, 8:01 PM
No-one seems to know yet.
Could be the Showgrounds, but the Flansiro and Terryland have been mentioned.
sligofan4ever
10/12/2008, 8:04 PM
Apart from improving the Jinks Avenue stand. What exactly would need to be done for the Showgrounds to be up to standard ?
10/12/2008, 8:27 PM
Jinks wouldn't need much done. Just a spring cleaning and a few new seats. It's the two ends that aren't up to stndards.
Only1Rovers
10/12/2008, 8:35 PM
I love the title of this thread.
Jinks wouldn't need much done. Just a spring cleaning and a few new seats. It's the two ends that aren't up to stndards.
Indeed. Temporary seating could be installed either end. Not a huge problem I wouldn't think.
forza rovers
11/12/2008, 8:56 AM
Apart from improving the Jinks Avenue stand. What exactly would need to be done for the Showgrounds to be up to standard ?the lights on the jinks side are not euro standerd but the lights on the treacy side are.
Redzer
11/12/2008, 9:34 AM
There's not a hope in Hell of the Jinks passing. The seating is dangerous in the extreme.
11/12/2008, 10:25 AM
Its more to do with little things like power of floodlights and access to hospitals and stuff like that. The amount of seats you have means nothing. We played the first two rounds in Richmond last year with 3,000 capacity
redobit
11/12/2008, 10:57 AM
Id say the seats are the least of our worries. The health and safety boys would be more concerned that you have to walk on gravel everywhere in the ground. If the council get the tarmacadam down in the car park and that, it would make a big difference.
11/12/2008, 12:00 PM
. If the council get the tarmacadam down in the car park and that, it would make a big difference.
why should the council do it?
redobit
11/12/2008, 12:30 PM
Thought there was an agreement for the car park be re-surfaced and that they would take charge of it for a few years
11/12/2008, 12:43 PM
The rules are more flexible for the qualifying rounds than the actual first and second rounds etc etc. Don't think the Showgrounds should have any major problems hosting the first qualifying round.
red arrow
11/12/2008, 6:12 PM
the corporation (not the co. council) have agreed to tarmacadam from the entrance at the all weather pitch up to the new office(i think i'm correct in my assumption) this is the agreement as part of the new public car park at the showgrounds. it should have started last week but is definately going ahead. this would improve the appearance greatly. the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money. hopefully the whole thing will start in the new year
Only1Rovers
11/12/2008, 8:56 PM
the lights on the jinks side are not euro standerd but the lights on the treacy side are.
so don't turn on the lights on the jinks avenue side....what's the issue?
lifelong rover
11/12/2008, 9:29 PM
lads I was in the stadium to-day work has started on the tar mac.
clubs have to have 3000 permanant seats ,this is one condition that i know of
brianw82
12/12/2008, 7:43 AM
the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money
Brilliant if it happens. Dodging puddles is one of my least favourite things about the Showgrounds.
forza rovers
12/12/2008, 8:30 AM
so don't turn on the lights on the jinks avenue side....what's the issue?even with the 2 lights on and the jinks side not,it is still pretty dark.
Redzer
12/12/2008, 8:55 AM
the corporation (not the co. council) have agreed to tarmacadam from the entrance at the all weather pitch up to the new office(i think i'm correct in my assumption) this is the agreement as part of the new public car park at the showgrounds. it should have started last week but is definately going ahead. this would improve the appearance greatly. the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money. hopefully the whole thing will start in the new year
Amazing!! We get far more information from yourself, than from the 15 or so Management comittee members. Fair play.
Mayo Red
12/12/2008, 9:16 AM
Sure wouldn't we fill Thomond Park, now that UEFA have passed it!!;)
12/12/2008, 9:07 PM
even with the 2 lights on and the jinks side not,it is still pretty dark.I think Only1Rovers was being sarcastic about not switching the lights on;)
Amazing!! We get far more information from yourself, than from the 15 or so Management comittee members. Fair play.To be fair, the news about the car park has been about a while now. It was in the programme months back.
Redzer
15/12/2008, 11:57 AM
To be fair, the news about the car park has been about a while now. It was in the programme months back.
The proposal was mentioned all right, but the fact that it is to go ahead immediately was news to me.
Rovers fan
15/12/2008, 12:05 PM
The proposal was mentioned all right, but the fact that it is to go ahead immediately was news to me.
There was a tiny piece in the champion(not the sports section) a few months ago about it. The council build it and get to use for I think 5 years. We get a nominal fee ad after the 5 years it's ours.
Black and White
15/12/2008, 12:56 PM
How many seats are there in the Showgrounds??
15/12/2008, 1:04 PM
How many seats are there in the Showgrounds??
just under 2000 in Treacy Ave. (main stand) and just under 900 in Jinks afaik
Only1Rovers
15/12/2008, 6:11 PM
I think Only1Rovers was being sarcastic about not switching the lights on;)
He was........;)
15/12/2008, 11:07 PM
Corporation must have done something anyway (http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimnews.php?articleid=000004242)
mint sauce
01/01/2009, 8:48 AM
Corporation must have done something anyway (http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimnews.php?articleid=000004242)
so any word on doing anything more to the stoney/gravel top that was laid around the all weather pitch, has not been used much for parking since laid by xmas shoppers (not from what i have seen anyway), but might not be long getting cut up again once is used more often after the holidays and everyone starts playing again
is the plan to still tarmacadam it