View Full Version : Fair Play award

09/12/2008, 4:01 PM
Rumours that we finished as runners up. Worth a couple of grand; we would get our usual minuscule chance of qualifying for Europe if we were runners up to one of the European teams (Bohs, Pat's, Derry and Sligo, pending implosions, licences, etc.)

HarpoJoyce
09/12/2008, 5:05 PM
Rumours that we finished as runners up. Worth a couple of grand; we would get our usual minuscule chance of qualifying for Europe if we were runners up to one of the European teams (Bohs, Pat's, Derry and Sligo, pending implosions, licences, etc.)

vg if that is correct.
Cork City and Derry City consistently finish very high in that table.
As you say, UCD have benefitted from that in the past.

09/12/2008, 5:26 PM
The A Championship and Fair Play money (touch wood) are welcome lump sums we wouldn't have budgeted for and hopefully will help ease the pain of the loss of sponsorship cash.

10/12/2008, 1:05 PM
Full time football next year so!

Burnsie
10/12/2008, 3:14 PM
The A Championship and Fair Play money (touch wood) are welcome lump sums we wouldn't have budgeted for and hopefully will help ease the pain of the loss of sponsorship cash.

I've been out of the country for much of this year, and am completely out of the loop. I assume the Budweiser deal was not renewed then?

10/12/2008, 3:15 PM
Nope. Apparently it might encourage kids to drink. (Not Budweiser's call to end it either)

Burnsie
10/12/2008, 3:21 PM
It certainly didn't encourage them to go to football matches.

26/01/2009, 3:43 PM
Ireland are currently on 7.872 in the Fair Play rankings (http://www.uefa.com//MultimediaFiles/Download/uefa/KeyTopics/79/50/80/795080_DOWNLOAD.pdf) (small pdf file), needing 8.000 to get a team into the draw. Doesn't look likely at this stage.

HarpoJoyce
05/02/2009, 7:19 AM
http://www.uefa.com/uefa/keytopics/kind=8/newsid=795065.html
"..Criteria changes
The UEFA Executive Committee endorsed a change to the criteria for allocating the additional places reserved to Respect Fair Play winners in next season's UEFA Europa League. As defined in the club competitions regulations, the three places in the UEFA Europa League will automatically go to the three best-placed national associations in the Respect Fair Play ranking, provided they attain an average of 8.0 points or more. This means that contrary to previous editions, there will not be a draw to determine which two national associations will have the right to enter an additional team on top of the outright winners...."

05/02/2009, 10:43 AM
Buggery boo. That's us gone. And it'll probably mean the award keeps giong to those nice Norwegians too.