View Full Version : Crowd Vs Longford?
I hate to say this, but the fact that our game with Longford is clashing with "The Battle Of Britain" is going to affect our crowd really badly tomorrow. The fact that the weather is crap lately wont help people away from their living rooms either.
Just another example of how stupid it is to have so many fixtures so close to each other at the end of a season.
Id say we will be lucky to see about 1500-2000 if we are lucky, but those who stay away will unfortuneatly miss a big 3-0 win for the rebel army!
I'd say there'll be 2000, hopefully 2500. City have built up an excellent supporter base this season. Fingers crossed
03/11/2003, 2:34 PM
gary could be right
come to think of it we havent had a sell-out this season:mad:
Hehe....u remember Dolan asking City supporters to make the UCD home match a sell-out at the start of the season??!!
We might not have sold out a match but we did have several good gates, and we still have the best crowds by a mile in the league.
NorthoftheLee
03/11/2003, 3:17 PM
agree with niamh,.........we havent had a sell out but out average gate i think is up...no sunday 12pm games this year......i'm gonna be optimistic and go for 3,000........
I don't see any reason why the Manchester v Rangers game should affect our crowd however being realistic I know that it definately will. And the fact that it will is, in my mind, an outrage.
As Eanna said, we have built up a very strong support base with a bigger than ever number of diehards (the away crowds alone prove that). I reckon we should get 2500-3000 regardless of any games on TV, lets just hope the weather will be nice.
I heard that longford have 300 seats reserved for the game.
03/11/2003, 4:31 PM
i think the united -v- rangers game will have a big effect.
a crowd of 2,500 or thereabouts would be great all things considered, agree that the support base has been solidified though.
Originally posted by dermo
I heard that longford have 300 seats reserved for the game.
:confused: :confused: ????????????
It would be good going if there are 20 fans down der
03/11/2003, 8:56 PM
y dont they re-arrange.....................................
MAN UTD VS RANGERS
rebelhead
03/11/2003, 9:33 PM
it would be a real shame if some of our so called supporters dont turn out to what really is such a vital match. 3 points here will set us up nicely for our game against the rovers friday night and in our conquest for europe
05/11/2003, 11:21 AM
I'd say there was less than 2000 there last night. Definitely our smallest league crowd this season, no surprise given the weather and everything.
1200 to 1400 at a push. wish I had stayed away myself, missed a excellant docu on bbc2 about the bentley dominance of the le mans race. fair play to those who stayed at home they made the right decision unlike those dopes in merrion who inssit on cramping 6 league games into 4 weeks. why 36 games when we had 27 last year and 33 before that?
05/11/2003, 3:34 PM
qoute from Mick Conroy in the sun today:
"The real losers were the fans who bothered to brave the poor weather and ended up seeing an awful game to boot"
...fair enough, but he continues....
"They would have been better off watching Manchester United in the pub."
...obviously some above share the same opinion, i think it's an attitude that stinks to high heaven. it wasn't pretty, we played crap, we dropped two points, i for one am still glad i was there.
The only way the weather and other matches wouldn't have kept people away from the Cross last night would be if City were challenging for honours. A lot of fans smply can't be arsed sitting in the rain if there is no glory in it.
Originally posted by dalo
those dopes in merrion who inssit on cramping 6 league games into 4 weeks. why 36 games when we had 27 last year and 33 before that?
at least this season we have the teams playing an even number of times. I thought the idea of teams playing each other 3 times was stupid. They really have to work on the fixtures for next season though- they should try and get more mid-week games in throughout the season
05/11/2003, 4:36 PM
RTÉ radio put the crowd at 1800 - mentioned that it was definitely the lowest of the season too...
The last few weeks for everyone have been really bad as far as I know - another reason why the FAI were geniuses to schedule the midweek games for November...:mad:
Originally posted by Éanna
They really have to work on the fixtures for next season though- they should try and get more mid-week games in throughout the season
or how about no midweek games?
05/11/2003, 9:06 PM
Originally posted by joe
or how about no midweek games?
Doesn't next season start a little earlier to give more weeks for these games? And of course there'll be two less midweeks anyway 'cos of no Special Olympics.
No Midweek games would be preferable, but priority has to be keeping an even number of games - playing each other 3 times was a joke.... Using yourselves as a case in point (to make a point not have a dig) - teams that played you twice at home obviously had an advantage over teams that had to go to the cross twice...
Originally posted by Macy
teams that played you twice at home obviously had an advantage over teams that had to go to the cross twice...
maybe not so much the case this season
fortress turners cross whereareya?
:(
only one club ever won the league playing 17 away games and 16 home... you know which one...
Its not that hard, just load the fron end of the season with the midweek games so you have space to manouvre at the end. Oh and no stupid two week break
06/11/2003, 10:07 AM
if you start it a bit earlier, spread the mid-week games out and don't have a break. of course the best thing to do would be to have a 16 team premier and play each other twice.
too many matches, not enough time :rolleyes:
Originally posted by Éanna
if you start it a bit earlier, spread the mid-week games out and don't have a break. of course the best thing to do would be to have a 16 team premier and play each other twice.
Totally, if there were 16 teams good enough.... Unfortunatley at the moment I don't think there are (and it shouldn't be done for the sake of it)...
06/11/2003, 10:25 AM
bringing it back to the crowd v longford
it was great to see the cup champions bring so many away supporters to cork for the match
nice one :)
06/11/2003, 10:32 AM
What I did think was nice was the round of applause the Shed gave Longford at the start of the game.
It doesn't happen often.
Nice Touch !!
06/11/2003, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by razor
What I did think was nice was the round of applause the Shed gave Longford at the start of the game.
It doesn't happen often.
Nice Touch !!
yeah, that was nice to see. digger got a great reception too
NorthoftheLee
06/11/2003, 12:03 PM
digger is a class act..........should show dan connor a thing or two about having a personality.......when the midget ****e linesman come down to check the nets...digger went over to him to look big......thought that was hilarious.......
crowd was very dissapointing..........terrible night tho it was....
Mick Conroys comments in the sun really ****ed me off.....I thought that guy had a bit more respect for the LOI than that...encouraging barstooling like that........
as for the 36 games.......dont see a problem......if there was no 2 week break for the Spec Olyms and the eL officials had a brain amongst them to play some more midweek games throughout the season then we wouldnt be having this fixture pile up........hopefully this will be sorted next season which i think starts even earlier...
06/11/2003, 12:33 PM
Weren't people complaining about the current format (i.e. playing each other four times a season) as well? I reckon playing each other three times, even with a different amount of home/away games, is still preferable to four meetings a season. Not enough teams to make a 16-team league with two rounds.
3 meeting a year is ridiculous, especially to the non Dub teams.
Alan Matthews said in some paper the other day that he reckons next season will be the last for the 10 team league. Anyone got any idea where he got this idea? i mean if there were 12 teams, playing 4 times, thats 46 games. Too much considering most of the league is still part time.
NorthoftheLee
06/11/2003, 12:51 PM
44 Gary 44 ...;)
3 game format is terrible................
Originally posted by Dodge
only one club ever won the league playing 17 away games and 16 home... you know which one...
who was the manager that achieved such an astounding feat Dodge?
Liam Buckley actually :D
LOL - you nearly got him Joe.... :D
okay so, who was the Director of Football then? The man who assembled most if not all of the squad, I'd say? :cool:
Originally posted by joe
okay so, who was the Director of Football then? The man who assembled most if not all of the squad, I'd say? :cool:
Thats neither here nor there :D
Isn't Liam Murphy Director of Football in Cork?
Thats neither here nor there :D
Isn't Liam Murphy Director of Football in Cork?
Nope, he's Technical Director :p
Yeah, but who was it that was really running the show?:)
Originally posted by joe
Nope, he's Technical Director :p
Jesus! That has even more power. So Murphy is still running everything then?
Lads,
would ye ever stay on topic. What's all this Technical Director/Director of Football lark got to do with 'Crowd Vs Longford?'
Jesus! That has even more power. So Murphy is still running everything then?
Naw but at least we can acknowledge that Murphy made some excellent signings for us and helped improve the club:D
On the issue of the number of teams/games...
I think that the current format is the best option right now. If there were any more than ten teams we would have too many sub standard teams with too many sub standard grounds. This would do untold damage to the league's public image and would only enforce the barstoolers theory that the EL is a load sh!te!
As for having a 16 team league, at this moment in time that is a ridulous idea. It will be 10 years, at least, before we could successfully run a 16 team league in this country imo.
Originally posted by joe
Lads,
would ye ever stay on topic. What's all this Technical Director/Director of Football lark got to do with 'Crowd Vs Longford?'
LOL
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Naw but at least we can acknowledge that Murphy made some excellent signings for us and helped improve the club:D
If its any use to you, I've consistantly said Dolan is the second most important person in our history.
Still glad he's gone.
06/11/2003, 2:14 PM
Originally posted by Colm
If there were any more than ten teams we would have too many sub standard teams with too many sub standard grounds.
Not once UEFA licencing kicks in surely?