30/11/2008, 8:33 PM
Hi
I was wondering could ye help me ? I am coming up to Dublin on a
day trip in a couple of days, and I was thinkin of popping out to
Tallaght to see the Tallaght Stadium. I was just wondering :
1. Is it completed yet ?
2. How long would it take me to get from the centre of Dublin to
Tallaght via bus or Luas.
3. Is there a club shop there, that would be open on week days.
1) No.
2) About 40-50 minutes on the green Luas line. You'll have to walk around the Square shopping centre and cross the dual carriageway.
3) No, they have a shop just off the Nangor Road. Their website will give you more details.
Dotsy
01/12/2008, 12:10 PM
It's the Luas Red line to Tallaght.
HarpoJoyce
01/12/2008, 7:32 PM
The 'residential redbrick' partial surrounding the stadium, was inspired in a small way by Belfield Park Stadium.
ForzaHoop
05/12/2008, 12:47 PM
Should be ready for next season
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k275/joedehoop/028.jpg
05/12/2008, 12:50 PM
any significance for the red and yellow seats...the away end???
hoops1
05/12/2008, 12:53 PM
Reserved family section
05/12/2008, 12:57 PM
Reserved family section
oh right. Thought the family section would be more towards the middle of the stand/pitch. Any ideas where the "Shamrock Ultra's" will be?
05/12/2008, 12:58 PM
oh right. Thought the family section would be more towards the middle of the stand/pitch. Any ideas where the "Shamrock Ultra's" will be?
Opposite end. I don't think anyone really knows why the seasts are different colours, it might be a case that both ends are done that way.
05/12/2008, 1:17 PM
and is there a stand the opposite side? any plans for the terracing behind the goals?
05/12/2008, 1:50 PM
and is there a stand the opposite side? any plans for the terracing behind the goals?
Plan for the long term is fully enclosed all seater stadium, however, unless the ground is consistently full and making some profit SDCC are unlikely to be in any hurry to push ahead with this (maybe eventually SRFC might look to re-invest in the stadium in order to complete it). As far as I know a temporary stand is definitely being erected on the opposite side as it is necessary for segregation at the higher profile games (I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that this was a stipulation from the local Gardai).
ForzaHoop
05/12/2008, 3:49 PM
http://i490.photobucket.com/albums/rr266/dublinrovers/Picture117.jpgA closer view of new seats
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/6420/37293368hb9.jpg
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k275/joedehoop/027.jpg
Black and White
05/12/2008, 3:59 PM
Lads is this all seated??and where do away supporters go??is there entry just to the one side with the stand or is there a stand going up the far side etc??
05/12/2008, 4:05 PM
Look about 2 posts up.
Black and White
05/12/2008, 4:11 PM
Oh right....thanks!
Reserved family section
Thought they might be Thomas Davis seats until I check their colours :p
11/12/2008, 11:04 AM
Looks shocking alright. Saw yer man's excuse on the Rovers forum. Complete nonsense.
Come the first Bohs-Rovers derby (in the Cup, obviously), I'm sure you'll have a few helping hands to tear up and rearrange the seats!
11/12/2008, 11:09 AM
Well the "excuse" bit was obviously made up on the spot but the real reason was in there too. Its not Rovers ground and they don't want people thinking its Rovers grounds.
Which would be fine if the seats weren't thrown together in random blocks
Mark Breen
11/12/2008, 12:01 PM
Plan for the long term is fully enclosed all seater stadium, however, unless the ground is consistently full and making some profit SDCC are unlikely to be in any hurry to push ahead with this (maybe eventually SRFC might look to re-invest in the stadium in order to complete it). As far as I know a temporary stand is definitely being erected on the opposite side as it is necessary for segregation at the higher profile games (I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that this was a stipulation from the local Gardai).
Plan is not for a fully enclosed all seated stadium, Plan is and always has been for two stand's, one either side of the pitch.....
Also the other stand (Not yet started) is not going to be a temporary stand, Its going to be a permanent stand and SDCC are in the process of getting prices... Its either going to be a concrete build on site as with the main stand they have now, or its going to be built out of the same materials as some stadium's in England which are built off site and assembled on site....
If they go with the second option, it is likely they could have the second stand built very close to the start of the season provided they nominate the builder this side of Christmas.... But the second option my not get the go ahead due to costs......
11/12/2008, 11:23 PM
Plan is not for a fully enclosed all seated stadium, Plan is and always has been for two stand's, one either side of the pitch.....
Also the other stand (Not yet started) is not going to be a temporary stand, Its going to be a permanent stand and SDCC are in the process of getting prices... Its either going to be a concrete build on site as with the main stand they have now, or its going to be built out of the same materials as some stadium's in England which are built off site and assembled on site....
If they go with the second option, it is likely they could have the second stand built very close to the start of the season provided they nominate the builder this side of Christmas.... But the second option my not get the go ahead due to costs......
Plan is 100% for fully enclosed stadium, you can look at the current stand and see how it curves at the ends in anticipation of this. The plans should be floating about somewhere. *Actually having looked into it a bit more while it's certainly designed with the possibility of being fully enclosed it looks like only the two sides have been actually put on plan so far (at least that's all I can find now, I'm nearly sure I saw ones with the ends in somewhere)
Stand on the far side for next season will be temporary, probably similar to the one Pat's have at the moment. *Also on this point it looks like they might have this started too so temporary seating would have to be at the ends.
God I hate being wrong. I'll never be afraid to admit when I am though! :)
Seats are an amazing technicolour dream. *This I can confirm still applies.
Mark Breen
12/12/2008, 8:14 AM
Plan is 100% for fully enclosed stadium, you can look at the current stand and see how it curves at the ends in anticipation of this. The plans should be floating about somewhere. *Actually having looked into it a bit more while it's certainly designed with the possibility of being fully enclosed it looks like only the two sides have been actually put on plan so far (at least that's all I can find now, I'm nearly sure I saw ones with the ends in somewhere)
Stand on the far side for next season will be temporary, probably similar to the one Pat's have at the moment. *Also on this point it looks like they might have this started too so temporary seating would have to be at the ends.
God I hate being wrong. I'll never be afraid to admit when I am though! :)
Seats are an amazing technicolour dream. *This I can confirm still applies.
Ye the seats are a joke, Architect messed that one up, SDCC are pis sed with him... Will cost €10K to replace all the seats with green or white ones (€10 per seat cover with 1000 yellow and red seats)
I have the entire plan's here, when I figure out how to upload a tiff or pdf I’ll upload one showing the stands.... But as far as planning permission goes, Rovers only got planning permission for two stand's and a capacity of 6000 (i think its 6000 over two stands). When they went for planning with a bigger capacity design the school's put in an objection and the compromise was what is been built now. If the original design that went to planning had of been approved then there would have been stand's at either end... but as of now there is not going to be any.
So you were partly right, but as of now, there is only planning permission for two stands’.....
Mark Breen
12/12/2008, 8:23 AM
You are confused. All of the above became null and void when the council took over development. The ONLY plan at the moment is for one stand. There will be a temp stand on the far side. There have been no more plans drawn up after that.
The council are in the process of getting prices to build a new stand on the far side, these prices are expected this side of Christmas. There are two prices been sought, 1 is for a concrete build (Like phase 1) which would not be ready for the new season, there other is for the stand to be build off site and put together onsite like other stadiums around Europe have done. That one if is financially viable could be done and installed before the new season.
ForzaHoop
14/12/2008, 9:40 AM
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k275/joedehoop/Tallaght_Stadium_Development_Decemb.jpg
forza rovers
14/12/2008, 6:16 PM
it looks rank!sure even the strips are out of shape!
14/12/2008, 8:31 PM
it looks rank!sure even the strips are out of shape!
If you wince your eyes it spells out "Shams"
Different coloured seats usually look good as brightens the ground when empty but that just looks like they ran out of white & had to get some yellow/red at short notice.
The blue/grey seats in Croke Park make it very dull when empty.
14/12/2008, 8:44 PM
Is there any possible explanation as to why they're that colour? They look terrible.
14/12/2008, 8:44 PM
See Dodge's post earlier in the thread.
15/12/2008, 7:16 PM
anyone think it looks just like Lissywollen? All the Shamrock fans are going mad about it. I see no reason why?
15/12/2008, 7:37 PM
anyone think it looks just like Lissywollen? All the Shamrock fans are going mad about it. I see no reason why?
Cos it looks awful. No pattern to anything. Seats should be all green and green and white.
Above photo is photoshop btw.
Have to say, the photoshopped one is class..
15/12/2008, 7:50 PM
From what I've seen it looks better in reality than photos, having said that when you see the photoshop with just green and white it does look even better.
RTE showed in item about new manager tonight. IMO it looked worse than picture above.
pateen
16/12/2008, 9:04 AM
Fock the seats,
The stand looks class. We would be proud of that down in cork
16/12/2008, 9:06 AM
Seats should be all green and green and white.
Read Dodge's post.
But the seats should be uniform and organised at least. Even the blocks are random.
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k275/joedehoop/Tallaght_Stadium_Development_Decemb.jpg
All Rovers need to do is change their colours to green, white, yellow and red and Bob's your Uncle.
16/12/2008, 10:25 AM
Fock the seats,
The stand looks class. We would be proud of that down in cork
The point Rovers fans make, is that it would've been easier for the Council to just get one colour, or even green and white.
The council are obviously marking their territory and making everyone know that its not Rovers stadium.
Its very impressive when you see it forst hand, even if the tetris blocks look rubbish
ForzaHoop
16/12/2008, 10:59 AM
It is the Architect who decided on the seats and arrangement etc not the Council, the Council are not happy with the mis-matched seating colours.
So what and see what happens ! ! !
FH
16/12/2008, 11:05 AM
It is the Architect who decided on the seats and arrangement etc not the Council, the Council are not happy with the mis-matched seating colours.
So what and see what happens ! ! !
FH
Nothing will happen, nor should it. Seats are expensive and the council don't have money to be wasting on new ones.
Billy-Green
16/12/2008, 3:59 PM
Its not Rovers ground and they don't want people thinking its Rovers grounds.
The council are being so pedantic and to be quite honest childish, it would have cost less to get just green seats. If all the seats were green the staduim would look great and would also suit to have an underage international
16/12/2008, 4:49 PM
UEFA or the FAI don't care about seat colours or the layout of them when it comes to underage games. They just care about facilities and location. Tallaght will be more than adequate I'm sure despite the different colours.
Billy-Green
16/12/2008, 4:54 PM
UEFA or the FAI don't care about seat colours or the layout of them when it comes to underage games..
I wasn't even suggesting that.
16/12/2008, 4:59 PM
If all the seats were green the staduim would look great and would also suit to have an underage international
Seems like you were suggesting they need to be green to me?. Maybe you didn't mean it to come across like that but that's how it reads to me. Anyhow, it's no big deal.
17/12/2008, 12:34 PM
Think he was saying it would be far more suitable/sensible (green = Ireland) to do it.
Its very impressive when you see it first hand, even if the tetris blocks look rubbish
Good old Tetris. If can spin the yellow block above the Umbro sign can slide that down between the yellow & red block. Was the architects name Mr. Nintendo? :p
Nothing will happen, nor should it. Seats are expensive and the council don't have money to be wasting on new ones.
What's the story on this lads? Council's are cutting costs on all projects in a massve way. Is it nearly ready?
18/12/2008, 11:39 PM
Its nearly ready, and the money to get it done will be provided, but there won't be anything extra in it.
SDCC expect this to become quite the moneyspinner. They'll receive rent from Rovers and high percentages of all revenue from the ground (ads etc)
Sweet deal as I believe hasn't costs SDCC a cent of their own money?
HarpoJoyce
19/12/2008, 5:44 PM
Sweet deal as I believe hasn't costs SDCC a cent of their own money?
You need to change your beliefs.