View Full Version : Tribune: FAI bans 30 in campdown on hooligans
03/12/2008, 5:27 PM
Go and do that on the Hill at a Dubs game and tell us how you get on.
So it appears crowd trouble in the GAA is specifically a Leinster problem.
Glad that has been cleared up
The Tribune is a terrible newspaper in all respects and that is where the criticism should be directed. They'll probably ignore th eelague again next season and run the story for a 3rd time this time next year.
I'd agree with that.
The part about Garda spotters in particular cracked me up.
Are the fans of some clubs expected to make room in their cars so the guards can travel with them??
03/12/2008, 5:31 PM
...The part about Garda spotters in particular cracked me up.
Are the fans of some clubs expected to make room in their cars so the guards can travel with them??
Well, I got my driving licence a little while ago, so as long as Angus, Pineapple Stu or Bald Student is going too, we could probably fit one. I'm not sure I'd advise letting a cop watch Pineapple Stu drive though. I figure he'd be doing well to get to the M50 before arresting him. ;)
03/12/2008, 5:38 PM
Well, I got my driving licence a little while ago, so as long as Angus, Pineapple Stu or Bald Student is going too, we could probably fit one. I'm not sure I'd advise letting a cop watch Pineapple Stu drive though. I figure he'd be doing well to get to the M50 before arresting him. ;)
The Green Party have so disillusioned society that even the UCD lads have ditched their bicycles for cars. :eek:
03/12/2008, 5:56 PM
The Green Party have so disillusioned society that even the UCD lads have ditched their bicycles for cars. :eek:
I'm in the US at the moment. When I put the foot down in the car, the needle on the petrol gauge visibly moves and I can feel a disturbance, as if millions of greens cried out in pain and were suddenly silenced.
03/12/2008, 6:07 PM
This is very exaggerated i was at that game and bohs fans had flares and cork city fans had smoke and also a flare that didnt last long at the other end of the derrynane ( where ye were) and yes they might of pushed and shoved but certainly did not "knock lumps out of anyone":rolleyes:
Not exaggerated at all. If you were in the shed you were a fair bit away from what happened. There was on flare and a few smokes. One steward kicked things off by wading into the crowd knocking people aside and he was followed by 20 or so trainee gardaí and a few non trainee. At one stage a motor cycle cop was in the thick of it with no numbers. Challenged on this he said he wanted to get stuck into soccer fans.
03/12/2008, 6:24 PM
I don't understand your last comparison, would you prefer Irish Football to develop a mental illness.
There is the McDonald's model of replying to ever negative point, article or letter published. But that was more manageable in the 'hardcopy' era. Nowadays, when Irish Football does reply and attempt to manage some aspects of the media they are hysterically accused of extreme behaviour.
Of course, it does not make sense to sue (even threathen to sue) unless the injury is obvious. Otherwise you gain a reputation like Robert Maxwell's.
(And I don't mean a nice trip on a yacht.)
I wouldn't like to have the GAA "pravda" style media coverage. However there does need to be a level of media management. The media can say what they like about the FAI or football in this country and get away with it.
Mad Moose
03/12/2008, 7:15 PM
Cheech - your entire knowledge of English league football must revolve around Premier Soccer Saturday (or whatever it's called this week) because you're laughably way off the mark if you think that trouble in and around English football games is a thing of the past.
It doesn't happen so often in the sanitised Premiership any more - but outside of that there are certain teams and fixtures that almost always result in trouble. There's a conspiracy of silence over this in the national media, but the local media reports it all the time.
Take for example, the predictable violence that followed last night's Swansea v Cardiff match : a fixture that always results in trouble in, around or near the grounds. Look at the video footage on the URL link below - literally battalions of Police involved (over 500), on a scale you didn't even see at contentious IRA funerals during the Troubles :
http://www.thisissouthwales.co.uk/news/Police-attacked-derby-clash/article-512127-detail/article.html
Google any recent Millwall and Leeds encounters for another fixture that always has trouble around it. Over 10 fans were arrested inside the stadium during the last encounter.
And that's just a start. Without even searching, I'll guarantee you there would've been trouble before or after the Birmingham City v Wolves game on the weekend.
Your confidence assertion that there is more trouble at EL games than there is in England shows that you just can't be taken anywhere near seriously on this issue.
Something else to chew over with your popcorn whilst watching Premier Soccer Saturday...
Cheech I am going to back up dcfc Steve on this one and I'm not sure you are particularly well informed at all before making statements you clearly know nothing about and to weigh that up against League of Ireland troubles is simply nonsense. I get to a hell of a lot of games here and all the talk last night here regarding the Stoke City v Derby County league cup tie revolved around the clash off the pitch between Derby's Lunatic Fringe and Stoke City's Naughty Forty. I remember been caught up in after match violence between Birmingham City and Cardiff City. As I was caught up in it it didn't matter to police whether I was involved or not and we were charged, battoned and the dogs were used. I managed to escape down a side street and it was the worst case of violence I was ever caught up in. But its part of the football experience. And it simply never got any mention whatsoever in the media here. Likewise at Molinyeaux for Wolves v Stoke. Its another nasty derby game with huge focus on off the pitch activities. We had to get off the train from Stoke and get a later train such was the danger to us on that train. It never got a mention. I can't imagine what it was like when there was a problem worth reporting on.
To even mention football violence in Ireland in the same breath is simply ridiculous. I agree also that the Premier Lague is sanitised football. Current Chelsea support is utterly unrecognisable to its support in the 1970's and 1980's.
As for the tribune article. Absolutely and utterly pathetic stuff. I have no problem with people been banned, in fact I welcome it. I have no problem with that been reported either if its fact. But to report it as part of sch a sensational declaration as this is irresponsible.
By and large there isn't a hooligan problem in any sport in this country.
I'm sure we can all find instances in other sports. We have issues in football too but they are pretty minor. The Tribune is a terrible newspaper in all respects and that is where the criticism should be directed. They'll probably ignore th eelague again next season and run the story for a 3rd time this time next year.
As for general media coverage this is one area where the FAI could do much better. The GAA get good press because they are paranoid about their image. They will threaten to sue any paper that dares to utter criticism. The FAI have failed to sue in every case despite blatant libel.
And out come the tin-foil hats again.:rolleyes:
04/12/2008, 10:31 AM
Not exaggerated at all. If you were in the shed you were a fair bit away from what happened. There was on flare and a few smokes. One steward kicked things off by wading into the crowd knocking people aside and he was followed by 20 or so trainee gardaí and a few non trainee. At one stage a motor cycle cop was in the thick of it with no numbers. Challenged on this he said he wanted to get stuck into soccer fans.
i honestly dont see any problem here - i mean you give it and then you take it -whats the problem - unless you actually expect the police to be fair minded:rolleyes:
cheech
04/12/2008, 11:02 AM
Cheech I am going to back up dcfc Steve on this one and I'm not sure you are particularly well informed at all before making statements you clearly know nothing about and to weigh that up against League of Ireland troubles is simply nonsense. I get to a hell of a lot of games here and all the talk last night here regarding the Stoke City v Derby County league cup tie revolved around the clash off the pitch between Derby's Lunatic Fringe and Stoke City's Naughty Forty. I remember been caught up in after match violence between Birmingham City and Cardiff City. As I was caught up in it it didn't matter to police whether I was involved or not and we were charged, battoned and the dogs were used. I managed to escape down a side street and it was the worst case of violence I was ever caught up in. But its part of the football experience. And it simply never got any mention whatsoever in the media here. Likewise at Molinyeaux for Wolves v Stoke. Its another nasty derby game with huge focus on off the pitch activities. We had to get off the train from Stoke and get a later train such was the danger to us on that train. It never got a mention. I can't imagine what it was like when there was a problem worth reporting on.
To even mention football violence in Ireland in the same breath is simply ridiculous. I agree also that the Premier Lague is sanitised football. Current Chelsea support is utterly unrecognisable to its support in the 1970's and 1980's.
As for the tribune article. Absolutely and utterly pathetic stuff. I have no problem with people been banned, in fact I welcome it. I have no problem with that been reported either if its fact. But to report it as part of sch a sensational declaration as this is irresponsible.
HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO SAY THIS?
I know there is football violence in England!!
I didn't say there wasn't!! I was using the point that it normally happens away from the ground (Steve was arguing that it happens in the grounds too but that wasn't relevant to my point) yet everyone accepts that there is a serious hooligan problem there. I was using that as an example as people on this thread don't associate young Bohs hooligans smashing up buses going down O'Connell St because there are Rovers fans on it as been an LOI problem.
If you would read the entire thread you would see that I was debating with a Bohs lad that trouble involving football fans here on match night in my opinion, IS connected with the LOI. He said it wasn't. My point was that there is trouble away from the ground in England and we all know this to be a football hooligan problem. But if it happens in Ireland - then it is not. I wasn't "weighing" up hooliganism in Ireland against England!
Hope that explains things for you.
Now hopefully you will answer me a question. How long have you been in England?
Mad Moose
04/12/2008, 1:14 PM
Well I can now see where you were going actually with that with regard to away from the ground but having said that the scale of the matter between both countries is incomparable. Your right football is accepted here, its swept under the carpet and just not given any profile whatsoever.
To answer your question I'm here a year and a half at this stage. Thankfully I wasn't around for the violence of the 70's and 80's but from what I've seen and what hasn't actually been reported I can only imagine the scale of the problem.
Lads, the fact that a lot of you completely misintrepeted Cheech's post (when it seemed pretty obvious the point he was trying to make) and started having a go at him would suggest you need to calm down and take your finger off the trigger.
passerrby
04/12/2008, 3:35 PM
Lads, the fact that a lot of you completely misintrepeted Cheech's post (when it seemed pretty obvious the point he was trying to make) and started having a go at him would suggest you need to calm down and take your finger off the trigger.
was just about tomake the same point were people purposely misreading his posts because I thougt his point was clear, most voilence, hooligans etc takes place outside of grounds in england subways city centers etc that does not mean it has nothing to do with football
corkboy360
04/12/2008, 3:45 PM
Who mentioned the shed:confused:
Were you actually there "the shed" died November 18th 2005 ;):p
04/12/2008, 11:14 PM
Who mentioned the shed:confused:
Were you actually there "the shed" died November 18th 2005
Aren't you still calling it that? Shed end, whatever.
i honestly dont see any problem here - i mean you give it and then you take it -whats the problem - unless you actually expect the police to be fair minded:rolleyes:
Don't expect it at all, but I'll always have a problem with someone with the power to arrest me laying it on like that.
For Jaysus sake man get off your ratio mantra.
As regards football there is the EL teams right down to Sunday mroning kickarounds going on in the country all the time every weekend.
Believe me, you know and I know if there was hassle at those games e.g. EL Reserve / 'A' games, Leinster or other provincial Senior or Junior games, Junior Cup games etc. it would be reported in the papers - especially the herald!!
It doesn't happen at those levels in football, it does happen at those levels, as well as right down to U-12 games in the GAA world - get over it!!
I'm posting this article from todays Indo just in response to the above post and not to start a tit-for-tat GAA v soccer row. I know there are violent incidents at club level in the GAA but to say there are none in soccer is just daft.
Jail for footballer who punched ref
By Conor Gallagher
Friday December 05 2008
A soccer player who punched a referee after he was sent off for violent contact was jailed yesterday.
Shane Brennan (20), of Cromcastle Drive, Kilmore, Dublin, was playing for an under-18 side in a north Dublin League when he hit referee Mark Davidson in the mouth. Mr Davidson said since the incident he had spent over €3,000 on dental work and expected to spend another €60,000. Judge Katherine Delahunt dismissed this figure as excessive and sentenced Brennan to two years, suspending the final 12 months on condition he engage with the probation service and seek treatment for his bipolar depression.
She noted he showed a "lack of empathy" with the victim because he tried to justify his assault by saying, "I had never been sent off in my life."
Assault
Brennan had pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to assault causing harm at Portmarnock Sports and Leisure Centre on May 15 2007.
The court was told how the accused was sent off during a game between Portmarnock FC and Donaghmede Celtic. Mr Davidson said Brennan, who played for Portmarnock, was ordered off after he pushed an opposition player to the ground.
Prosecutor Garnett Orange said: "The accused saw more than red and punched the referee in the face."
Defence counsel Ray Colgan said Brennan suffered from serious bipolar depression and has had several psychotic incidents.
Mr Colgan said his client had recently spent three months in a residential care home because of his illness.
A soccer player who punched a referee after he was sent off for violent contact was jailed yesterday.
Seems to show a bias in the laws of the land. When do GAA players & fans get jailed for punching officials?
05/12/2008, 2:24 PM
Seems to show a bias in the laws of the land. When do GAA players & fans get jailed for punching officials?
Now the judiciary are out to get us aswell?!?!?! :eek:
06/12/2008, 1:43 AM
Now the judiciary are out to get us aswell?!?!?! :eek:
For once I agree with Pete. Actually I think thats twice in five years but you get the idea.
cheech
08/12/2008, 1:56 AM
Thank you man.
You voice an opinion and you are ridiculed. People think you are saying something else, put you down and dance all over your grave.
Even on the internet people don't like getting things wrong.
shefellover93
08/12/2008, 3:17 PM
Specific for Derry?
Okay Shamrock Rovers fans getting battered in the Brandywell by your security.
Derry fans fighting fans in the Cat and Cage.
Specific in general?
There have been many many incidents this last few seasons with the schooligans from more than one club.
"yeah, when did you see it? I haven't seen trouble at a game in years and I support a team who supposedly has one of the worst problems. In fact the only thing that would come close to being called trouble I've seen at games was the Gardaí almost kicking off a few times with their supposed "crowd control" measures."
Hill 16 Pub Rovers and Bohs fans.
Inchicore Rovers and Bohs fans bus wrecked, mini riot on street.
Bohs schooligans attacking buses that Rovers fans get from Tolka after their games.
Pats V Cork. Cork fan gets nose broke. Another gets split with rock while in Richmond Park.
Rovers fans attacking Section A in Dalymount Park.
Dundalk fans attacking Rovers fans outside Oriel Park.
Young Shels fan gets bottled nearly loses an eye by Bohs fan outside Tolka.
Young Bray fan gets badly beaten up outside Finn Park by Harps fans.
Bohs fans attack pub in Derry.
Rovers fans attacked outside ground in Limerick.
Rovers fan getting glassed in face in Horseshoe by Cork fan.
Young Harps fan gets nose broke outside Showgrounds by Sligo fan.
Thats just off the top of my head.
I'm not saying that hooliganism is widespread in the league because it is not. But it is there and to make a joke of it or to say it doesn't happen is not helpful.
Sorry m8, I stand outside the ground before and after all City games and not once did any violent incident ever occur
08/12/2008, 5:12 PM
Sorry m8, I stand outside the ground before and after all City games and not once did any violent incident ever occurSorry 'm8' but that's actually not true.
shefellover93
08/12/2008, 7:22 PM
Sorry 'm8' but that's actually not true.
Well sorry for using the word 'm8', no need to take offense:rolleyes:
It is true, I stand directly outside the Horseshoe and have done for the last 4/5 years and not once has there been a violent incident, that's the truth and I think I'd know considering the fact that I was standing outside there. I mean if there were other incidents outside the front I imagine a crowd would have formed/something would have indicated that an incident took place. Maybe this incident was before that and in that case I apologize but it hasn't happened in the last 4/5 years and I can promise you that
08/12/2008, 8:30 PM
It is true, I stand directly outside the Horseshoe and have done for the last 4/5 years and not once has there been a violent incident, that's the truth and I think I'd know considering the fact that I was standing outside there. I mean if there were other incidents outside the front I imagine a crowd would have formed/something would have indicated that an incident took place. Maybe this incident was before that and in that case I apologize but it hasn't happened in the last 4/5 years and I can promise you thatI know of at least 2 seperate incidents that happened to Rovers fans around Turners Cross last month. I don't have proof to link to here so not going into detail on them but whether you choose to believe it or not is irrelevant, it happened.
brianw82
08/12/2008, 8:59 PM
I don't have proof to link to here so not going into detail on them but whether you choose to believe it or not is irrelevant, it happened.
This is the problem. What do people here accept as 'proof'? Does it have to be reported in the papers? Pictures of injuries? Incidents caught on tape?
95% of all these incidents are one guy saying 'I seen this' and another saying 'I don't believe ya, where's the proof?' and it just goes round and round.
A bit like most threads on foot.ie, in fact.
08/12/2008, 9:44 PM
This is the problem. What do people here accept as 'proof'? Does it have to be reported in the papers? Pictures of injuries? Incidents caught on tape?
95% of all these incidents are one guy saying 'I seen this' and another saying 'I don't believe ya, where's the proof?' and it just goes round and round.
A bit like most threads on foot.ie, in fact.:rolleyes:, I wouldn't normally comment but for the fact that shefellover is stating with such fact that nothing happened in Cork in the last 5 years when I know that's not true.
I could say here that no crowd incidents happen at the Showgrounds too but why deny that things do? Rarely, and generally nothing serious but stuff still happens.
shefellover93
08/12/2008, 9:57 PM
Actually if you read my post I said nothing happened outside the Horseshoe fact. I didn't deny that nothing happened around Turners Cross, I know that incidents happen there very rarely, same with every ground, and the problem with this article in the first place is that fact that it's sensationalizing these incidents and pretending that it's a major problem. Something that I think we all can agree is definitely not true
08/12/2008, 10:36 PM
It is true, I stand directly outside the Horseshoe and have done for the last 4/5 years and not once has there been a violent incident, that's the truth and I think I'd know considering the fact that I was standing outside there. I mean if there were other incidents outside the front I imagine a crowd would have formed/something would have indicated that an incident took place. Maybe this incident was before that and in that case I apologize but it hasn't happened in the last 4/5 years and I can promise you that
There was an incident inside the bar about 7-8 years ago, before Rovers fans were barred. I think thats what he was on about. To be honest i think its a poor argument if you're going that far back to prove a point, so much so that it dilutes the point(s) being made to the extent that the argument should not even be entertained.
08/12/2008, 11:22 PM
There was an incident inside the bar about 7-8 years ago, before Rovers fans were barred. I think thats what he was on about. To be honest i think its a poor argument if you're going that far back to prove a point, so much so that it dilutes the point(s) being made to the extent that the argument should not even be entertained.You referring to me? When I say Rovers I mean Rovers, not Shams. And it was last month, not 7-8 years ago. But don't let the Rebel Army glasses affect yer eyesight A face;)
08/12/2008, 11:32 PM
You referring to me? When I say Rovers I mean Rovers, not Shams. And it was last month, not 7-8 years ago. But don't let the Rebel Army glasses affect yer eyesight A face;)
Post # 122 Cheech is quoted and its that that i am referring to, and last month ..... what happened there and how come no one has heard anything about it only in this thread.
cheech
09/12/2008, 10:11 AM
There was an incident inside the bar about 7-8 years ago, before Rovers fans were barred. I think thats what he was on about. To be honest i think its a poor argument if you're going that far back to prove a point, so much so that it dilutes the point(s) being made to the extent that the argument should not even be entertained.
Look it wasn't 7-8 years ago but I'm not going to get into an debate about the timeframe. The guy has serious facial scars for life, so if you think that it is a 'poor argument' then that is your perogative.
My wife works in the Mater Hospital with the Rovers fans friend. That is how I know about the incident.
Someone asked me to name serious incidents and I named a few off the top of my head.
Everyone jumped on a point I made, including yourself until it was pointed out that for everyones belittling and pontificating at me, you were all agruing about something I hadn't even said. Your absence (like the rest of the firing squad) from the thread since speaks volumes.
I will make my point one last time.
The newspaper article was poor and I wasn't defending it. I was responding to peoples reactions to it where posters were claiming that there is no trouble in our utopian league. We all know there is so what is the point in denying it?
10/12/2008, 12:56 PM
There have been many incidents in our league over the past 5 years.You may want to re-interpret your understanding of the word "many" in the context of your view on the next quote...
Do you think that there is a hooligan problem in England? Obviously not as there is very rarely - more rarely than here maybe - trouble in or around the grounds in England.You insinuated Irish football had a greater problem that England and you were wrong. Plain and simple, wrong. Therefore save the crying that you are somehow being victimised for delivering an inconvenient truth.
I will make my point one last time.
The newspaper article was poor and I wasn't defending it. I was responding to peoples reactions to it where posters were claiming that there is no trouble in our utopian league. We all know there is so what is the point in denying it?Who claimed there was no trouble? Come on, back up your post by provding quotes.
Yes, there have been isolated incidents in Ireland, but the newspaper article was sensationalist and as a comparator Ireland still has much less football related violence than the vast majority of European countries (including England).
The reason people aren't posting any more is because the substance of your post was proved incorrect.
celticV3
10/12/2008, 1:36 PM
Can everyone not agree that the article is a load of sh!te. There is a schooligan problem at every club except ucd and that more needs to be done to stop the little rats attaching themselves to the clubs.
Limerick doesn't have a schooligan problem, neither does Monaghan for one, or Wexford, the Kildare crowd aren't what I'd call schooligans, just annoying kids, will Mervue have them?
10/12/2008, 8:46 PM
Thank you man.
You voice an opinion and you are ridiculed. People think you are saying something else, put you down and dance all over your grave.
http://www.reallifephotos.org/wp-content/photos/2008_05/wrong.jpg
11/12/2008, 9:26 AM
And no better example than yourself.
'Cry me a river...'
cheech
11/12/2008, 5:17 PM
And no better example than yourself.
'Cry me a river...'
Yawn. You again? Enough crying of rivers about your town from you on the Derry forum. You are as popular as Pat Fenlon with your own fans so don't expect other fans to pay any attention to you when Derry supporters don't.
At least it wasn't your usual self indulgent rubbish all the same.
Thanks for the brief respite.
cheech
11/12/2008, 5:18 PM
http://www.reallifephotos.org/wp-content/photos/2008_05/wrong.jpg
Good man. I enjoyed that.
Didn't think you would have the time, what with world domination to complete and 4 million euros to come by.... :rolleyes:
celticV3
11/12/2008, 5:57 PM
This is a hooligan problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvtZYJg2VFE
We most certainly have a problem with young fellas after watching the football factories and green street mixed with hormones.
11/12/2008, 6:57 PM
This is a hooligan problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvtZYJg2VFE
We most certainly have a problem with young fellas after watching the football factories and green street mixed with hormones.
That is a few dozen pussies being held back by two stewards.
Hooligan = Coward
Also, why is dutch music sooooo universally awful :)
celticV3
11/12/2008, 8:12 PM
That is a few dozen pussies being held back by two stewards.
Hooligan = Coward
Also, why is dutch music sooooo universally awful :)
I'd nearly pay for your ticket to Den Haag to say that to them "pussies":rolleyes:
Ireland does not havea hooligan problem. That is not to say we don't have hooligans, but the situation is hardly as bad as to say we have a problem. I'm sure their are more fights in the capital on a saturday night than around the league on matchday weekends.
11/12/2008, 8:56 PM
Yawn. You again? Enough crying of rivers about your town from you on the Derry forum. You are as popular as Pat Fenlon with your own fans so don't expect other fans to pay any attention to you when Derry supporters don't.
At least it wasn't your usual self indulgent rubbish all the same.
Thanks for the brief respite.
Just you keep digging in that hole fella....
El-Pietro
11/12/2008, 9:01 PM
I'd nearly pay for your ticket to Den Haag to say that to them "pussies":rolleyes:
Ireland does not havea hooligan problem. That is not to say we don't have hooligans, but the situation is hardly as bad as to say we have a problem. I'm sure their are more fights in the capital on a saturday night than around the league on matchday weekends.
this is what annoys me so much about these stories, yes stuff happens at football games, but it is nothing compared to whats happening outside any chipper in any town in ireland on a friday or saturday night
11/12/2008, 9:33 PM
Roll your eyes all you want champ.
I'm sure they would all be propah geezas, top boys, up for a ruck etc etc etc if it was just me by myself.
Hooligan = Coward.
There was an interesting study done in Italy once where it was discovered that more than half of all active ultras gave up when they found a steady girlfriend. There's a moral in there somewhere..........*
* I do of course realise the difference between ultras and hooligans so lets try not to have another one of those threads please.
celticV3
11/12/2008, 11:32 PM
Roll your eyes all you want champ.
I'm sure they would all be propah geezas, top boys, up for a ruck etc etc etc if it was just me by myself.
Hooligan = Coward.
There was an interesting study done in Italy once where it was discovered that more than half of all active ultras gave up when they found a steady girlfriend. There's a moral in there somewhere...........
I think your waiting for some form of justification for the hooligan scene from me? Keep waiting. I am merely saying that the above video is an example of a league with serious hooligan problems, the LOI does not ahve a major hooligan problem, not even a semi serious problem therefore this article is a joke because the gardai aren't going to do a tap and the FAI will say it is the responsibility for all the clubs?
What ever your opinion or thoughts on the individulas behind ultras and more than likely hooligans are thats grand but It has little relevancy to do with a rag newspaper article?
12/12/2008, 12:06 AM
I think your waiting for some form of justification for the hooligan scene from me?
Not at all.
I'm merely pointing out that in my humble opinion the vast vast majority of football hooligans are cowardly tossers who proably have daddy issues.
I'm sure there are the odd few "hard men" sprinkled among there ranks but it's the same with every large group of men.
little relevancy to do with a rag newspaper article
Anymore oh so relevant videos of ADO Den Haag for us so, you know really add to the debate??
celticV3
12/12/2008, 12:27 AM
Not at all.
[QUOTE]I'm merely pointing out that in my humble opinion the vast vast majority of football hooligans are cowardly tossers who proably have daddy issues.
I'm sure it is along those lines but as a student doing psychology i'm certain it has more than just daddy issues as its root.
Anymore oh so relevant videos of ADO Den Haag for us so, you know really add to the debate??
Well that I think that video was relelvant, it showed a league that has a hooligan problem, find me evidence of anything simular to that happening in ireland?
12/12/2008, 1:31 AM
as a student doing psychology i'm certain it has more than just daddy issues as its root.
Really??
Do you reckon so??
That's really deep that is..................
D'UH!!
Well that I think that video was relelvant, it showed a league that has a hooligan problem, find me evidence of anything simular to that happening in ireland?
Those clowns running the length of the pitch only to throw hilarious shapes when they finally got to the other side was basically a "grown up" version of Shels v Limerick a few weeks ago.
If you want to see scuts bothering a linesman may I suggest your local park any Sunday morning.
cheech
14/12/2008, 2:56 AM
Just you keep digging in that hole fella....
Serious question for you if you can move away from that mirror.
Are you basing your facts and/or assumptions regarding hooliganism in the UK on what you can glean off the net like you do with our league or do you actually go to games?
cheech
14/12/2008, 2:59 AM
Really??
Do you reckon so??
That's really deep that is..................
D'UH!!
Those clowns running the length of the pitch only to throw hilarious shapes when they finally got to the other side was basically a "grown up" version of Shels v Limerick a few weeks ago.
If you want to see scuts bothering a linesman may I suggest your local park any Sunday morning.
LOL. Don't bother hoss.
If you don't agree with the resident LOI-Lectuals on here then there is a witch-hunt....they don't like you having an opinion lad.