View Full Version : Sean Connor

The Lilywhites
27/11/2008, 4:25 PM
What's the feelings of Sligo fans on Sean Connor?

LondonRover
27/11/2008, 4:26 PM
Don't even go there.

An eejit with bullsh1t coming out of his hole.

red bellied
27/11/2008, 4:28 PM
Is he in for the Dundalk job?

The Lilywhites
27/11/2008, 4:34 PM
Apparently so.

red bellied
27/11/2008, 4:40 PM
He probably mentioned Steve Bruce and setting up a joint academy with Wigan at his inteview.

27/11/2008, 4:40 PM
Don't even go there.

An eejit with bullsh1t coming out of his hole.

Who got ye promoted after years in the graveyard and brought some great players to the club....

The Lilywhites
27/11/2008, 4:43 PM
Who got ye promoted after years in the graveyard and brought some great players to the club....

That achievement wouldn't be good enough for the Dundalk Board though...

red bellied
27/11/2008, 4:43 PM

Mickey who looks after the gear would of got us up that year and he is older than the Rovers!

27/11/2008, 5:02 PM
and brought some great players to the club....Most of which were recommended by a third party.

In fairness to Sean, he did sign Paul Brown:D

27/11/2008, 5:04 PM
Who was the 3rd party, surely taking advice is not a bad thing in a manager?

red bellied
27/11/2008, 5:11 PM
Who was the 3rd party, surely taking advice is not a bad thing in a manager?

Cassidy, he did sign Foy though and Coleman.

Rovers Maniac
27/11/2008, 5:11 PM
It would be very interesting to see how he would get on with Dundalk. I'd say he could get some decent players from the North.

Rovers Maniac
27/11/2008, 5:12 PM
Cassidy, he did sign Foy though and Coleman.

And i think Burns?

27/11/2008, 5:14 PM
i wouldnt be sure if he'd be the man for Dundalk, but he'd do a decent job with a first div team.

red bellied
27/11/2008, 5:19 PM
And i think Burns?

Could of been the Port Vale connection, Connor would of been well in there having played for them!

Rovers Maniac
27/11/2008, 5:21 PM
Could of been the Port Vale connection, Connor would of been well in there having played for them!

Quality, :D

27/11/2008, 5:27 PM
Connor signed Keith Foy, Paul Brown, Coleman and Brian Tosh afaik, rest were Cassidy

sligofan4ever
27/11/2008, 5:35 PM
He signed Faz and Brush for us I think.

27/11/2008, 5:43 PM
He signed Faz and Brush for us I think.

Faz was definetly Cassidy, almost sure Brush was too

sligofan4ever
27/11/2008, 5:45 PM
Faz was definetly Cassidy, almost sure Brush was too

Did Brush not sign the season we got promoted as back up for O Hara ? fairly sure that it was Connor.

27/11/2008, 5:49 PM
Did Brush not sign the season we got promoted as back up for O Hara ? fairly sure that it was Connor.

your kinda missing the point here i think SF4E:o

Yes, Conner was the manager when Brush signed for us, but, Gerry (not Tommy) Cassidy was the scout who was said to have informed Connor and Carr of Brush's talent and availability

sligofan4ever
27/11/2008, 5:53 PM
your kinda missing the point here i think SF4E:o

Yes, Conner was the manager when Brush signed for us, but, Gerry (not Tommy) Cassidy was the scout who was said to have informed Connor and Carr of Brush's talent and availability

Supoose I was missing the point there :D. I tought you were on about Tommy Cassidy :p.

27/11/2008, 6:15 PM
Gerry Carr claims he signed Coleman...I'd believe him over Connor any day;)

27/11/2008, 6:24 PM
Connor to be fair, is a good manager and generally signs more decent players than he does bad one's.

However, he too often let's his massively inflated ego get in his way, and you can expect a lot of fallings out with players. Also ye're football will be dire.

Not to mention he is a very unloyal person, who if he's doing a decent job, will jump ship at the first given opportunity...

I thought he'd be going to Harps anyway...

27/11/2008, 6:31 PM
I thought he'd be going to Harps anyway...Harps board want to keep Hegarty apparently:eek:

27/11/2008, 6:37 PM
Harps board want to keep Hegarty apparently:eek:

suppose he got them out of the First before, why not again albeit alot harder.

27/11/2008, 6:50 PM
Connor signed for the dole a few months back and that's the only signing that knacker should be let near.
Pat Scully is going to Dundalk. End of.

life long red
27/11/2008, 7:33 PM
Connor signed for the dole a few months back and that's the only signing that knacker should be let near.
Pat Scully is going to Dundalk. End of.
knacker in the dictionary means buyer of worn out horses for killing:p

27/11/2008, 8:25 PM
Apparently so.

Run away, run away. Seriously, he's poison. If both us and Sligo agree on something it must be true! ;)

brianw82
27/11/2008, 9:09 PM
Long ball football all the way. Hope your board wises up and doesn't hire him.

27/11/2008, 10:04 PM
knacker in the dictionary means buyer of worn out horses for killing:p

Did you think I plucked the word out the air?

srfc1928
27/11/2008, 11:36 PM
Dont do it.
He'll destroy your youth system,
to aid the first team budget.
Then walk away at the first chance he gets.
All in it for himself.

Look at the amount of people he fell out with at Rovers and Bohs

Redie
28/11/2008, 8:36 AM

You've got the wrong Cassidy

Louth4sam
01/12/2008, 6:18 PM
So would you guys recommend cook instead? ;)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/12/2008, 8:21 PM
So would you guys recommend cook instead? ;)

Wouldn't touch him. Sure he just inherited a team built by the great Sean Connor

red_away
01/12/2008, 8:32 PM
cook is over rated, he only got us to fourth as the teams around us got points deducted and he brought us to financial peril!!!

01/12/2008, 8:50 PM
cook is over rated, he only got us to fourth as the teams around us got points deducted and he brought us to financial peril!!!

Managers only spend as much as they are allowed by those in charge of the finances

dong
01/12/2008, 9:33 PM
I read in the herald that Connor is suing bohs at the moment regarding his dismissal? Even if its not true:
He's a greedy little man.

red_away
02/12/2008, 9:42 AM
Managers only spend as much as they are allowed by those in charge of the finances

Gus,

There was a little irony in my answer, to put off lilywhite!!!

Now you have unearthed the truth and everyone will know how good he is!!

02/12/2008, 12:25 PM
Gus,

There was a little irony in my answer, to put off lilywhite!!!

Now you have unearthed the truth and everyone will know how good he is!!

Ahhh :o

Doubt Cook would leave us for Dundalk anyway

The Lilywhites
08/12/2008, 2:11 PM
Connor confirmed as new Dundalk manager.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/12/2008, 3:51 PM
Connor confirmed as new Dundalk manager.

My commiserations

08/12/2008, 4:11 PM
My commiserations

Isn't it true that most Southport fans thought very little of Paul Cook?

Rovers Maniac
08/12/2008, 4:41 PM
Isn't it true that most Southport fans thought very little of Paul Cook?

Good point we`do have an excellent eye for a manager.

I honestly could not care how Connor gets on just think about Europe :)

08/12/2008, 4:49 PM
Adds something to our Dundalk games now, can't wait to see the runt back in the Showgrounds again:).

I didn't think any club would be foolish enough to appoint Connor again.

Louth4sam
08/12/2008, 5:05 PM
Thats funny because in these two threads all but a few of you thought he was a great manager and didnt want him to go.
If he gets us to the same level as he got yous and fecks off to another club i'll be more than happy.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=42912&highlight=connor
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=45282&highlight=connor

Rovers Maniac
08/12/2008, 5:13 PM
Thats funny because in these two threads all but a few of you thought he was a great manager and didnt want him to go.
If he gets us to the same level as he got yous and fecks off to another club i'll be more than happy.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=45282&highlight=connor

To be fair to Sligoman and did not see too much there. Anyway no fans wants to see their manager walk out on them. I don't blame him for going to Bohs at the time but the way he went was very disrespectful and that more than anything is what got people's backs up. Looks like he can stilll talk bull though if he got a job bar Harps. Check up on his footballing career ;)

08/12/2008, 5:19 PM

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=45282&highlight=connorHindsight is a great thing;). Dundalk had the benefit of it, we didn't, yet ye still appointed him.

How long is his contract? Just the one year I hope because if it's much longer ye could be in trouble when it comes to buying it out.

forza rovers
08/12/2008, 5:21 PM
Connor confirmed as new Dundalk manager.hard luck!expect allot of falling s out and the constant name dropping.

08/12/2008, 6:47 PM
Has Steve Bruce been on yet, or old friend, Mick McCarthy, begging to be put on the list for a pre-season