View Full Version : would it be possible?---(how to get supporters thread)

irishultra
26/11/2008, 11:48 PM
to like get robbie keane in some tv ad, shay given, duffer, richard dunne etc. talkin about the teams they loved as a kid.

have duff and dunne with shamrock rovers jerseys, blabbering on about their love for rovers, keane likewise.

doyle with cork.

u get the idea.

brianw82
26/11/2008, 11:50 PM
I don't know if any of them actually supported Irish teams as kids.

GalwayRed
27/11/2008, 12:01 AM
Thats the problem because sure robbie keane supported Liverpool as a kid. Id say its similar with a lot of other irish internationls as well.

Kivlehan
27/11/2008, 12:07 AM
I don't know if any of them actually supported Irish teams as kids.

Actuality is irrelevant. If you show them enough cash, I'm sure they'll start to recall fond memories of their favorite League of Ireland teams.

Good idea.

Ceirtlis
27/11/2008, 12:25 AM
to like get robbie keane in some tv ad, shay given, duffer, richard dunne etc. talkin about the teams they loved as a kid.

have duff and dunne with shamrock rovers jerseys, blabbering on about their love for rovers, keane likewise.

doyle with cork.

u get the idea.

To answer the first question. Yes if you paid them enough money but it would almost definetly be a British team.

Secondly Doyle is from Wexford, also played for St.Pats so he was 19 or 20 when he signed Cork so why would he talk about his love for them as a kid.

In fairness you deserve one of these :rolleyes:

irishultra
27/11/2008, 12:42 AM
pay them? it should be there god damn duty as irish int. players to do it.

brianw82
27/11/2008, 1:41 AM
"Howrya, my name's Robbie Keane. I'm from Crumlin, right, and I'm tellin' ye, ye should get along and support St. Pats next year. They're only a bus ride away from me ma's house, but I was too busy running around in me Liver-poo-el jersey as a ladeen to go. But you should go. Sure I'd go meself, if I wasn't playing for my boyhood favourites already."

27/11/2008, 8:22 AM
Just because they supported english teams doesnt mean they didnt support Irish ones too.

irishultra
27/11/2008, 9:05 AM
im nearly positive big dunne supported shamrock rovers

27/11/2008, 9:25 AM
Roy Keane could do a Cobh Ramblers one.

27/11/2008, 9:41 AM
I can't see how this would work without looking contrived and crappy.

Monkey knife fights are the way forward here people!

GalwayRed
27/11/2008, 10:07 AM
im nearly positive big dunne supported shamrock rovers
Yeah he is a Rovers fan but i would say he i one of few irish internationals that has a league of ireland club as their first choice support

pixiehead
27/11/2008, 10:11 AM
Actuality is irrelevant. If you show them enough cash, I'm sure they'll start to recall fond memories of their favorite League of Ireland teams.

Good idea.

:D:D:D. Its not a bad idea. My brother had his lads premiership mad. But they only play Irish teams on the playstation now and they want LOI kits from Santa this year just for the fact that
1. Their on the playstation
2. Teams are regularly on the TV
3. Im A fan

Things like Magazines and player stickers and cards are the way forward. Kids love that Sh1t. The bloody GAA do it why cant we???

27/11/2008, 10:43 AM
:D:D:D. Its not a bad idea. My brother had his lads premiership mad. But they only play Irish teams on the playstation now and they want LOI kits from Santa this year just for the fact that
1. Their on the playstation
2. Teams are regularly on the TV
3. Im A fan

Things like Magazines and player stickers and cards are the way forward. Kids love that Sh1t. The bloody GAA do it why cant we???

These are on the way for next season with a lot of clubs. We have 6 player stickers this season as part of the NDC promotion but we are looking at having our squad done for next season as they are such a hit.

I was in a small rural school in the back end of Monaghan last week and before I got out of the classroom most of the kids had Paul Whelan or Brendan Kennedy etc stuck on their copy books. Major marketing tool.

I dont see why we couldnt have a handle of the Irish star players talking about growing up supporting their local clubs or playing for them in Roy Keane's case. Make people realise that alot of Irish footballers wouldnt make it over in England if they hadnt come through their LOI clubs juvenile or senior set up.

27/11/2008, 11:07 AM
Duffer has been spotted at a few Bray games in the past hasn't he?

Given just about knows where Finn Park is. It was a battle to get Packie Bonner to play in our legends game, he did eventually and had a great time, both he and his twin brother played for Harps in their time.

Caleb Folan im sure is a Monaghan United fan. Along with Killer Kilbane, Aiden McGeady, Clintion Morrison and Dean Kiely.

endabob1
27/11/2008, 11:09 AM
I was thinking along a similar line but rather use TV footage of eg. Doyle playing for Cork & then for Ireland, Keane with Cobh & Ireland to try to get the message accross that these players have a history in the league, I'm no marketing or production guru but I would imagine you could put a decent ad together.

27/11/2008, 11:17 AM
Duffer has been spotted at a few Bray games in the past hasn't he?Wasn't that because he's related to Robbie Doyle, or have I got my wires crossed there?

27/11/2008, 11:17 AM
And they used to be managed by his agent..

27/11/2008, 11:19 AM
Duffer was at Belfield a few times while Doyle played for us, so that's the (main) reason.

27/11/2008, 11:39 AM
Kilbane has a good Longford mammy so we're "claiming" him.

27/11/2008, 12:28 PM
Going back a bit but I think Kevin Moran was born in the same building on Dublin Street, Monaghan as Charles Gavin Duffy.

Folan is at all our games during the summer, he has a season ticket.*

Ex Ireland International Jonathan Douglas played for us and future Ireland International Mark Connolly (currently playing at Under 19's level) did too.

*This may quite possibly be a total fabrication.

27/11/2008, 12:29 PM
We'll claim Kevin Moran, thanks. :)

27/11/2008, 12:30 PM
Actually, maybe it was his mother that was born here or some other Irish player. Am slightly delusional now.

27/11/2008, 12:31 PM
Matty Holland's mum was from Monaghan.

27/11/2008, 12:34 PM
See I knew there was one!!! Thanks. Phew. Brain waving a white flag here.

back of the net
27/11/2008, 1:03 PM

Good idea.

dont think u would have to show them any cash kivlehan - im sure they wouldnt mind tellin a few porkies if it was for the good of the game in ireland and they could stimulate more interest in the game in this country

27/11/2008, 1:59 PM
If it was done well then it would definitely work. Kids would love it and help them make the connection.

John O'Shea - Waterford
Would Stephen Ireland claim Cobh?

Demoshield
27/11/2008, 2:05 PM
If it was done well then it would definitely work. Kids would love it and help them make the connection.

John O'Shea - Waterford

Yes I can just see it now
"When I was young, & had a full head of hair, me granny used to bring me to see the ramblers" OOOppppssss!!!:o

27/11/2008, 2:19 PM

John O'Shea - Waterford

Stephen Ireland doesn't even claim this country never mind Cobh. Now if it had pink wheels and steering wheel.........................

27/11/2008, 5:22 PM
Not every club would have someone associated with their club/town/county so it wouldn't work.

27/11/2008, 6:04 PM

Feck him!

We'd rather have Roy Keane. At least he still attends Ramblers matches. Give it a few years and Stephen O'Halloran can do the advert.

6yardpunisha
27/11/2008, 6:43 PM
Stephen Ireland doesn't even claim this country never mind Cobh. Now if it had pink wheels and steering wheel.........................

i presume you have seen the email:D

Mr Maroon
27/11/2008, 7:55 PM
Not every club would have someone associated with their club/town/county so it wouldn't work.
I don't see why that would stop if from going ahead. Just do it for the clubs that have someone.

29/11/2008, 10:14 AM
Yeah, getting kids to think LOI is "cool" will benefit all clubs. Regionally choose maybe 3-4 "star" footballers to talk about their LOI club kinda in the way that the memories campaign for the new Landsdowne is being done and it will raise the profile.

Kildareman
29/11/2008, 10:58 AM
Yes I can just see it now
"When I was young, & had a full head of hair, me granny used to bring me to see the ramblers" OOOppppssss!!!:o
Lads please, Leave the granny out of this.:D

saintmaniac
30/11/2008, 4:07 PM
Fahey said in an interview recently on the Pats website that he never followed the League at all as a kid. It was only when he started playing for Pats that he really became aware of it. I'd imagine this story is typical among footballers.

Willo Flood is apparently a Pats fan, but he's not high profile enough for an ad campaign, Glenn Whelan as well. I suppose we could lay claim to Paul McGrath as well, depending on what mood he's in... But my point is, it'd be hard enough to get international players to admit lifelong love affairs with LOI clubs, particularly ones that are more 'marketable'.

Give Fats six months in the Championship maybe ;)

soccerc
30/11/2008, 5:09 PM
Willo Flood is apparently a Pats fan, but he's not high profile enough for an ad campaign, Glenn Whelan as well.

Dunno about Willo tbh, he may come to the odd game but as a kid he wasn't a Pats fan unlike Glenn, Alan & Stephen Quinn or Sean Dillon