View Full Version : Is this disrespectful

26/11/2008, 11:26 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhidqlsnsnid/

the coffin is being carried lobsided, it looks terrible, am i the only one to think its disrespectful?

26/11/2008, 11:59 AM
On a slightly different note, am I a horrible person that my first thought on hearing about the poor mother getting killed yesterday while dropping the kids to school was how funny it was that she had called her daughter Courtney. Their surname is Cox.

26/11/2008, 12:02 PM
eh,ya.

26/11/2008, 12:03 PM

the coffin is being carried lobsided, it looks terrible, am i the only one to think its disrespectful?

Disrespectful????? WTF.
Coffins can be heavy buggers to carry and its hardly disrespectful if all the lads arent the same height!!!

26/11/2008, 12:07 PM

I wouldn't say it's disrespectful, but you'd have to ask why the funeral director didn't match up the heights of the people on opposite sides, that'd be fairly standard, if only to evenly distribute the weight. As Ash said, they can be extremely heavy.

26/11/2008, 12:10 PM
I wouldn't say it's disrespectful, but you'd have to ask why the funeral director didn't match up the heights of the people on opposite sides, that'd be fairly standard, if only to evenly distribute the weight. As Ash said, they can be extremely heavy.

And also added that some people might have been good mates with the deceased and asked to carry the coffin, and depending on their height might not have been able to get matching heights on the other sides.

26/11/2008, 12:11 PM
More importantly, is this...?

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b355/mattshaw4/oap.jpg

26/11/2008, 12:17 PM
And also added that some people might have been good mates with the deceased and asked to carry the coffin, and depending on their height might not have been able to get matching heights on the other sides.
And if you do get matching heights on either side, it'll probably slope backwards as, for example, taller people of the same size are at the front, but shorter people of the same size are at the back.

26/11/2008, 12:24 PM
And if you do get matching heights on either side, it'll probably slope backwards as, for example, taller people of the same size are at the front, but shorter people of the same size are at the back.
That almost happened at my Grannies funeral years ago but the funeral director copped just beofore the
lift began and put my 2 shorter uncles in the middle. Only thing was their shoulders didnt reach the coffin
at so the front and back took all the weight

26/11/2008, 12:28 PM
On a slightly different note, am I a horrible person that my first thought on hearing about the poor mother getting killed yesterday while dropping the kids to school was how funny it was that she had called her daughter Courtney. Their surname is Cox.

I heard a birthday dedication on the radio a while back from a mother to her daughter who was just turning five. The daughters name was Tamara. I thought to myself about her mum ...she was pregnant, she goes to to the flicks to 'Ring', she sees yer one with hair over her face climbing out of a well and says to herself ...hmmm Tamara's a nice name for a little girl. wtf?

anto1208
26/11/2008, 12:32 PM
I nearly fell into a grave and the coffin would have landed on me and killed me, was carrying it and when we got to the grave i was on the side facing the open grave as we went to place it on the stands the guys on the out side kind of pushed it towards the grave i was stuck in the middle the 2 end guys moved out so i was trapped in the middle with the grave behind me un able to move as it would have fallen. my heals went over the edge of the grave if it had been a wet day the ground could have given way and id have taken the whole lot with me.

26/11/2008, 12:39 PM
Tamara's a pretty common name, especially in Eastern Europe. I know a Serbian girl called Tamara and she's a ****ing ride, that's extraneous information though.

Undertakers are generally quite savvy about these things and work out the logistics quickly, I've been roped in as a pallbearer at the last minute at various funerals due to being quite tall. Coffins are a lot heavier than you'd imagine.

26/11/2008, 1:17 PM

I know well they can be extremely heavy, once carried one from the church in swinford up to the graveyard taking turns but we always kept the thing flat even whilst changing - or at least I'd like to think we did.

26/11/2008, 1:19 PM
That almost happened at my Grannies funeral years ago but the funeral director copped just beofore the
lift began and put my 2 shorter uncles in the middle. Only thing was their shoulders didnt reach the coffin

IN that case you put someone sometimes behind the coffin or else put 6 in.

26/11/2008, 1:21 PM
I nearly fell into a grave and the coffin would have landed on me and killed me, was carrying it and when we got to the grave i was on the side facing the open grave as we went to place it on the stands the guys on the out side kind of pushed it towards the grave i was stuck in the middle the 2 end guys moved out so i was trapped in the middle with the grave behind me un able to move as it would have fallen. my heals went over the edge of the grave if it had been a wet day the ground could have given way and id have taken the whole lot with me.

2 for the price of one, your family mustn't like you much :D So how did you manage to stay on it then? Did they eventually cop on and lift it back off you? No disrespect but did it a bring a bit of laughter to those congregated around the graveside?

Sligo Hornet
26/11/2008, 1:35 PM
More importantly, is this...?

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b355/mattshaw4/oap.jpg

It would be if the fella on the left was giving her a parking ticket!;)

26/11/2008, 1:41 PM
As opposed to just about to pee on her?

anto1208
26/11/2008, 3:05 PM
2 for the price of one, your family mustn't like you much :D So how did you manage to stay on it then? Did they eventually cop on and lift it back off you? No disrespect but did it a bring a bit of laughter to those congregated around the graveside?

The under taker spotted that i had 1 side of the coffin all to myself and was about to fall in to the grave he quickly but quitly pushed the cofin back a bit and we sat it down on the stands i then edged my way along the grave edge to safety mission impossible style,:D

Dont know if any one was laughing as i was terrified still get the sweats thinking back on it

Aberdonian Stu
26/11/2008, 3:18 PM
All of this reminds me of the disaster that was waiting to happen during Princess Diana's funeral. I remember watching it and noticing one of the 8 pall bearers was in quite severe pain from a fairly early stage. These were 8 big strong army lads (or some other military org, the point is they looked like they could handle it no bother) so it seemed fierce odd.

They just about managed to get through it without incident, so they didn't drop the coffin live on TV. It was later revealed, no doubt after plenty of other people noticed the same thing, that the coffin was lead-lined which explained the excess weight.

26/11/2008, 3:20 PM
BTW on teh accident yesterday did anyone find it a bit strange of the neighbour to say "she wouldn't go anywhere without her kids, not even on holidays" :shock:

noby
26/11/2008, 3:28 PM
A lot of parents go on holidays without their kids, Paul.

26/11/2008, 3:40 PM

The wise ones who want to actually relax.

I love taking my kids on holidays but I love getting away without them too. That way you can properly unwind. With them about you are constantly trying to entertain them or make sure that they are safe.

26/11/2008, 4:09 PM

Feeling guilty, Noby?

Well maybe they do but when I was growing up it never happened anyone i ever knew be that friends or cousins.

26/11/2008, 4:16 PM
Feeling guilty, Noby?

Well maybe they do but when I was growing up it never happened anyone i ever knew be that friends or cousins.

Really? My parents were forever jetting off and leaving us! They went to Australia for 3 weeks once and Canada for a month before I could join them for the remaining 2 months of our holidays!

26/11/2008, 4:22 PM
We had a similar problem at a funeral a few years back. I've a brother who's 6' 7", his twin is 6' 5". I'm 6', and the other three people involved were all two or three inches shorter than me. We did they only thing we could: we carried the coffin low. It's bloody heavy that way, even with six lifting.

As for carrying the coffin at a bit of an angle being disrespectful, screw that. The guy being carried is beyond caring, and if you're a pallbearer, the only things on your mind are either inconsolable grief or (a) this is bloody heavy and (b) I'd better not drop it.

oldyouth
26/11/2008, 11:01 PM
It's disrespectful to be discussing trivia about somebody's (anybody's) loss on a football discussion website

27/11/2008, 8:12 AM
I agree and I do feel awful for their poor families. RIP.

27/11/2008, 8:55 AM
It's disrespectful to be discussing trivia about somebody's (anybody's) loss on a football discussion website

You are right Mr. Paradox, however I didnt necessarily mean to relate it to that funeral just in general the picture and if a coffin should be held upright at all times.