View Full Version : Paul McGrath

kingdomkerry
22/11/2008, 12:58 PM
Just watched "Play it again Des" on RTE. Dunphy was on. He picked out a clips of Paul McGrath against Italy in USA 94.

I know that was the best performance from a defender i had ever seen but it was nice to relive it.

All I can say. What a ****in legend!!

SUB of the day
22/11/2008, 1:29 PM
Genuine legend.Playing to that standard in Giants stadium, despite carrrying an injury, surely makes it one of the best performances in a green jersey ever.

musicinmouth
22/11/2008, 4:09 PM
Agreed!

I remember him saying that he would welcome an opportunity to take some defensive training sessions with the Irish team... hope someone takes him up on it...

junglegym
22/11/2008, 8:14 PM
Legend :D

SuperDub
22/11/2008, 8:24 PM
What a legend i was watching that programme this afternoon. If only we had a defender like him in the cureent set up.

Paddy Garcia
22/11/2008, 9:19 PM
What a legend i was watching that programme this afternoon. If only we had a defender like him in the cureent set up.

If we only had a midfielder like him in the current set up!

seanfhear
23/11/2008, 10:16 AM
If we only had a midfielder like him in the current set up!
A team of 11 Paul McGraths would be pretty damned good.
I would go for
I dont think he would have been a great winger but I think he would have made a good fist of every other posiion.

Crosby87
23/11/2008, 11:49 PM
AHHH......just from growing up 10 miles from Giants Stadium, and going to Ireland in my youth...this was when they got stuck in the tunnel, in 100 degrees and THEN were told to go back and change b/c they had on the wrong uniforms. I will never forget it. I mean we have the Jets and Giants now, and after today there is excitment that has never really been, but I remember that day against Italy like it was yesterday...Ohhhhhh ahhhhhhhh Paul McRaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Junior
25/11/2008, 9:52 PM
uniforms?

You crazzzy guys!!

Supreme feet
26/11/2008, 2:32 AM
Met Paul at a cancer fundraiser back in June, struck me as being extremely nice, polite and quiet. Didn't object to me having a photo taken with him. I was starstruck! Great player too, will never forget his performances - not just in the glory days against England, Spain, Denmark and Italy, but notably when our backs were against the wall in the Euro '96 qualifiers. At times it seemed like he was the only one offering any resistance to the inevitable.

Qwerty
26/11/2008, 3:19 AM
Did he ever have a poor game for Ireland? Did he ever have a poor game since he left MANU? We were privileged to have him play for us. A genuine legend.

DeLorean
26/11/2008, 8:49 AM
Genuine legend.Playing to that standard in Giants stadium, despite carrrying an injury, surely makes it one of the best performances in a green jersey ever.

Ya it was probably the best I've seen anyway. The Italians getting to the final and the performance of Roberto Baggio in the rest of the tournament made it even more impressive. I suppose other performances that deserve honourable mentions would have been:

Roy Keane (v. Holland (h) WCQ02)
Roy Keane (v. Portugal (h) WCQ02)
Shay Given (too many to mention but one that sticks out would be the 1-1 draw away to Switzerland WCQ06)
David O'Leary (v. England (h) ECQ02 didn't give Lineker a kick)
Andy Reid (v. Germany (h) ECQ08)

Probably not in the same class but I thought Kevin Doyle was brilliant against Cyprus recently, phenominal work rate.

26/11/2008, 9:03 AM
can you get play it again des as a podcast rather than live streaming?

EastTerracer
05/12/2009, 3:24 PM
Just wanted to wish Paul McGrath a belated Happy Birthday for yesterday. The great man was 50 years old on December 4th. One of our best ever. Hope he's doing ok at the moment.

yapster
05/12/2009, 7:22 PM
The best player Ireland ever had, proved himself world-class on the biggest stages and his football brain was top notch. Thank you Paul you made me proud to be Irish.

Colbert Report
06/12/2009, 1:13 AM
Paul McGrath turning 50? Feck I'm old.....

06/12/2009, 8:30 AM
You know you're getting old when your childhood heroes are well in their 40s and 50s. Couldnt believe how much Ronnie Whelan had aged last time i saw him on the telly. Had the pleasure of seeing him in a bar in Dublin once, an absolute gentleman, he's had his problems, but he'll always be a hero for all of us.

06/12/2009, 8:32 AM
Probably not in the same class but I thought Kevin Doyle was brilliant against Cyprus recently, phenominal work rate.

If you want to include work rate, some of the games Ray Houghton put in for us were phenominal. One of the great unsung (two special goals apart) players of the Charlton era. .

EastTerracer
14/05/2011, 2:41 PM
Twitter never looked better - the great one himself is now tweeting from Wexford @paulmcgrath5

DeLorean
20/12/2015, 9:57 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eL0tGIoxzA

DeLorean
11/05/2017, 9:10 AM
McGrath reflects on his time at Derby County

http://www.derbytelegraph.co.uk/derby-county-was-perfect-place-to-go-after-leaving-villa-says-paul-mcgrath/story-30323967-detail/story.html

12/06/2018, 1:19 PM
McGrath featured briefly in Tommy Bowe: The End Game on RTE last night: http://www.rte.ie/player/show/10890844
It's a short documentary following Bowe in the last year of his career, and how he's preparing for a life after rugby. He speaks with AP McCoy, Derval O'Rourke and McGrath on how their lives changed after retiring from professional sport.
It's not available outside Ireland

02/12/2019, 9:29 AM
Turns 60 this week. A nice piece with Roy Curtis. https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/i-was-doing-so-many-strange-things-with-so-many-weird-substances-i-honestly-never-thought-id-see-60-paul-mcgraths-milestone-birthday-38742621.html

Can't help but think there's never been a truer icon of Ireland. The difficult childhood, the battles with alcohol, the deep insecurity, yet an incredible ability to perform way beyond what could reasonably be expected on the world stage. I was 11 in 1994 and that performance against Italy will never fade from memory, it may not have resulted in a world medal or a major trophy but it will always be one of the greatest performances in Irish sporting history.

04/12/2019, 11:38 AM
Big man's birthday today.

Happy birthday Paul!

seanfhear
04/12/2019, 3:19 PM
Is Paul McGrath the best Performer ever for Ireland . I mean over a long period and great performances over a long period ?

04/12/2019, 3:35 PM
I'd have to go with Robbie Keane.

04/12/2019, 7:29 PM
Is Paul McGrath the best Performer ever for Ireland . I mean over a long period and great performances over a long period ?

He is in the top 3 best players for me (with Robbie Keane and Brady). My favourite Irish player for sure.

Eminence Grise
04/12/2019, 10:06 PM
I'd rate McGrath as our best. Favourite hardly does him justice - revered, maybe? Mrs Grise gave me a gift of a signed pic one Christmas, and I get a thrill every time I look at it. No matter what position he played in, he was sheer class. Seemed to have a built-in radar.

If they could bottle and sell the love people feel for him, the FAI would be debt-free in a jiffy!

seanfhear
05/12/2019, 1:16 AM
I think I’d go with McGrath especially when you throw in Great Performances in Important Games and over a long period .

DeLorean
05/12/2019, 8:18 AM
It'd be hard to overlook Robbie Keane alright in terms of his overall contribution internationally. I think it's clear he wasn't our best ever player in an overall sense, but his prolificacy and longevity were off the charts, and was responsible for so many important moments.

DeLorean
05/12/2019, 8:21 AM
I'd rate McGrath as our best. Favourite hardly does him justice - revered, maybe?

Winning the PFA Player's Player of the Year for 1992/93 showed just how revered he was. I think Van Dijk (last season) was the only other non-English defender to win the award.

ForzaForth
06/12/2019, 9:10 AM
From the olden days, I'll just mention the great Billy Lacey from Enniscorthy. Born sometime in the very late 1800s I think, I believe he moved to Dublin at about the age of twelve and played for Shelbourne. Then moved to Everton and his career was messed up by the First World War. Moved to Liverpool FC after the War where he won two Division 1 championship medals and played 230 times overall with the Reds. Had a remarkable international career which spanned 21 years and played for all three Irish versions - a united Ireland team, Northern Ireland and Ireland. Apparently he's Ireland's oldest ever international player at the age of forty-one. Managed Bohs after his career ended. A plaque was erected on his house in Enniscorthy in 2010 - I must go and see it.

I'll reference Johnny Giles as well as he's also got very strong Wexford links. I'm pretty sure his nephew has played for Wexford FC. About 30 years ago, I bumped into him going on a training run near the Co. Wexford coastline. Johnny would have been about fifty then, I reckon, but the pace he was going at was jaw-dropping for a man of his age.

The Donie Forde
06/12/2019, 10:12 AM
From the olden days, I'll just mention the great Billy Lacey from Enniscorthy. Born sometime in the very late 1800s I think, I believe he moved to Dublin at about the age of twelve and played for Shelbourne. Then moved to Everton and his career was messed up by the First World War. Moved to Liverpool FC after the War where he won two Division 1 championship medals and played 230 times overall with the Reds. Had a remarkable international career which spanned 21 years and played for all three Irish versions - a united Ireland team, Northern Ireland and Ireland. Apparently he's Ireland's oldest ever international player at the age of forty-one. Managed Bohs after his career ended. A plaque was erected on his house in Enniscorthy in 2010 - I must go and see it.

Just to add to your Lacey knowledge, he was player-manager of Cork Bohemians in 1932-33. Cork Bohs were also in the league the following season but I believe Lacey had taken over at Dalymount that season.

ForzaForth
06/12/2019, 6:15 PM
Thanks, Donie

Jolly Red Giant
06/12/2019, 7:18 PM
It'd be hard to overlook Robbie Keane alright in terms of his overall contribution internationally. I think it's clear he wasn't our best ever player in an overall sense, but his prolificacy and longevity were off the charts, and was responsible for so many important moments.
Jaysus - no - good goal poacher but the best player - no not by a long shot.

There are many Irish players I would rank above him - and these are the ones that come to mind.

Liam Brady
Shay Brennan
Noel Cantwell
Johnny Carey
Tony Dunne
Charlie Hurley
Roy Keane
Con Martin
Paul McGrath
Alf Ringstead
Liam Whelan (who could have been the best of the lot if he hadn't been killed in the Munich air crash)
Ronnie Whelan

and Johnny Giles has to be considered the best of the lot for me.

DeLorean
10/12/2019, 3:29 PM

There are many Irish players I would rank above him - and these are the ones that come to mind.

Liam Brady
Shay Brennan
Noel Cantwell
Johnny Carey
Tony Dunne
Charlie Hurley
Roy Keane
Con Martin
Paul McGrath
Alf Ringstead
Liam Whelan (who could have been the best of the lot if he hadn't been killed in the Munich air crash)
Ronnie Whelan

and Johnny Giles has to be considered the best of the lot for me.

This was the question though - "Is Paul McGrath the best Performer ever for Ireland . I mean over a long period and great performances over a long period ?"

10/12/2019, 3:36 PM

would you stop..... robbies goal record was incredible and that must put him near or at the top. what exactly did you also want him the contribute?

only in Ireland would a player of robbies ability not get the credit it deserves. baffling really

seanfhear
10/12/2019, 8:38 PM
I don’t think he did as much as Paul McGrath in big games .

Fixer82
10/12/2019, 9:42 PM
No comparison.

Totally different kind of player.

Paul playing up front for his 80 odd caps wouldn't have scored a quarter of what Robbie scored and Robbie wouldn't have put in defensive performances like McGrath did.

10/12/2019, 9:47 PM
I don’t think he did as much as Paul McGrath in big games .

really?

2 September 2000 Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands Netherlands 2–2
10 November 2001 Lansdowne Road, Dublin, Republic of Ireland Iran 2–0
5 June 2002 Kashima Soccer Stadium, Kashima, Ibaraki, Japan Germany 1–1
11 June 2002 International Stadium, Yokohama, Japan Saudi Arabia 3–0
16 June 2002 Suwon World Cup Stadium, Suwon, South Korea Spain 1–1
1 April 2009 Stadio San Nicola, Bari, Italy Italy 1–1
18 November 2009 Stade de France, Paris, France France 1–1

I love McGrath - as i said, my favourite Irish player ever, but Robbie's record in the big games stands up to scrutiny whether getting us 3 points or scraping one. McGrath is top 3 for sure. I would probably have him at #2 (and can see why people would have him at #1) but we shouldn't downplay Robbies international record.

Yard of Pace
15/12/2019, 7:06 AM
but we shouldn't downplay Robbies international record.

If anyone seeks to downplay SIXTY-EIGHT international goals, they need to re-assess their entire life! I mean.....68.

We often had to do without McGrath (and I absolutely adore the man), and we could get by as we had other options who could do a good job, but Robbie could get us wins in game's we'd have drawn otherwise, or gain us draws instead of losses. Regularly, for a ridiculously long time.
Doesn't feel right to compare the two players anyway.

But, come on, Robbie's goal tally puts him in the top 5 players ever, because that goal tally is 68.

As someone said, only in Ireland.

youngirish
15/12/2019, 12:19 PM
The question of who were Ireland's best players ever is always very subjective. Is the question which player played the best or was the most essential for Ireland over a prolonged International career or alternatively who was the best player to ever line out for Ireland if we consider their career as a whole including their club form? If it's the former then it's hard to overlook Robbie Keane as being a contender and even less talented players like Richard Dunne for instance. If it's the latter then unfortunately Dunne wouldn't get a look in but Keane could still make a case albeit far less of one than his namesake Roy or McGrath. I would argue as a player he wasn't in the same league as either when you consider his career as a whole.

On a sidenote in a segment on Sky recently where Townsend was picking a team of the best players he ever played with throughout his career he claimed McGrath was hands down the best player he had ever seen. He mentioned a story at Aston Villa where McGrath was on an exercise bike during training (as he didn't train with the rest of the team) when the coach increased the incline at which point he jumped off. When he was asked angrily why he stopped cycling McGrath apparently replied that he always gets off his bike to push it up hills. Apparently he still came out that weekend and put in a motm performance as per usual.

Colbert Report
15/12/2019, 5:12 PM
Robbie Keane is a legend but there's no comparison between him and Paul McGrath. Paul is in a league of his own, best player we'll every have, no doubt about it in my mind. Virgil van Dijk is the closest thing to McGrath in today's game, and he's not nearly as good. Top five players I've seen for Ireland, born in 1983 myself:

5)Denis Irwin
4)Robbie Keane
3)Damien Duff
2)Roy Keane
1)Paul McGrath

17/12/2019, 3:12 PM
If anyone seeks to downplay SIXTY-EIGHT international goals, they need to re-assess their entire life! I mean.....68.

We often had to do without McGrath (and I absolutely adore the man), and we could get by as we had other options who could do a good job, but Robbie could get us wins in game's we'd have drawn otherwise, or gain us draws instead of losses. Regularly, for a ridiculously long time.
Doesn't feel right to compare the two players anyway.

But, come on, Robbie's goal tally puts him in the top 5 players ever, because that goal tally is 68.

As someone said, only in Ireland.
It's also worth comparing him with second place on that metric: Niall Quinn on 21.

brine3
18/12/2019, 1:40 PM
Paul McGrath made more than 68 crucial interceptions, I can tell you that.

seanfhear
18/12/2019, 3:39 PM
Paul McGrath made more than 68 crucial interceptions, I can tell you that.
In about 10 matches :wink:

22/01/2020, 1:37 AM
I think if I was to go off-the-top of my head without thinking I have always said my top-3:

Denis Irwin
Roy Keane
Robbie Keane

Paul is in his own category. Beyond those mere mortals.

17/04/2020, 9:50 AM
Reprint in today's independent from when McGrath announced his retirement: https://www.independent.ie/sport/on-this-day/its-sad-but-ive-had-a-great-time-the-day-paul-mcgrath-called-time-on-a-glittering-career-39134196.html

17/04/2020, 12:01 PM
Did his son make it as a pro?

17/04/2020, 12:45 PM
He signed for Liverpool and played for Ireland under 16 but never went much further. This is the last article I can find about him, playing alongside his own son; https://www.somersetcountygazette.co.uk/sport/15676523.taunton-town-defender-chris-mcgrath-son-of-paul-mcgrath-lines-up-alongside-son-callum-in-somerset-premier-cup/