View Full Version : Merchandise
LondonRover
12/12/2008, 8:34 AM
15 The shames merchandise is more expensive than ours!!!
Probably a typo but certainly brought a smile to my face - I sense a new nickname for our jackeen friends... :D
spud21
12/12/2008, 8:45 AM
Got my affiliate pack today with the new crest, rang myteam.ie as even if they are changing the crest i still prefer the current one. They said they were given the go ahead to produce packs with the new crest but the PRO was not consulted and now wants to keep the old crest as Jako have produced the kits. But he did say the new crest will be on the away and european jersey? If they end up not changing the crest i think the club may be in a position where they will have to refund the cost of the affiliate packs
Mayo Red
12/12/2008, 9:09 AM
I'm in the same boat as you spud21, got my affiliate pack yesterday with the "New" crest on it, and like you I still prefer the current one. Does that mean that we now have 2 official crests or what??? It's all a horrible confused mess which seems to me could have easily been avoided. I can't see the club springing for refunds on the packs but I'm just wondering where it leaves those of us who have already purchased them? It all smacks of a lack of communication again!
Jeebus
12/12/2008, 10:42 AM
Any chance either of ye could take a photo of the new crest and put it up here?
Redzer
12/12/2008, 11:51 AM
They said they were given the go ahead to produce packs with the new crest
Dermot, this is where we nameless bloggers need immediate answers. WHO GAVE THEM THE GO AHEAD?
thesilverfox
12/12/2008, 12:10 PM
On the myteam.ie thread in the main forum, the myteam.ie representative on foot.ie "Titan", has said that a statement from the committee should be forthcoming in regards to this crest.
In my opinion the committee are an absolute disgrace in regards to this. If they cant be open and forthcoming in regards to the crest how can we believe them when it comes to more important matters. I know they have said the crest is being kept, but people are saying we are going to have the "new" crest on the away and european kits. What team has two crests? Its a joke.
We cant be having the committee saying one thing, and then mytem coming out with the exact opposite. Both parties need to get their act together fairly quickly.
spud21
12/12/2008, 12:14 PM
Any chance either of ye could take a photo of the new crest and put it up here?
Don't have a camera with me but it's not a great crest, it's a shield with SRFC in large writing and est 1928 underneath with 3 lines - it really is awful compared to the current one. I dont even see the point in changing the crest - what's wrong with the current one? The guy i spoke to in myteam.ie was very helpful and said that the current crest could not be copyrighted so that's why there was a decision to change it, unfortunately for those of us (5 people i heard) who ordered them the whole management team wasnt consulted so it wasnt a complete decision by the board. There seems to be a lack of communication between the FAI appointed pro and the club pro, personally i think this should be one job and if it has to be 2 people they should be working together? Let's hope this mess highlights that problem and it will be sorted. If anyone has any queries on their pack i'd ring myteam as they are very helpful
srfc1928
12/12/2008, 12:46 PM
Have to say I’m surprised and disappointed with the content of the statement from the club and Jako.
I don’t think anyone on this forum is making any personal attacks on Nicky or questioning his commitment to SRFC but are trying to offer constructive views on ways to help our club. I have dealt with him in the past when purchasing equipment for teams and found the quality excellent and a great service. There is no doubt Nicky has been fantastic to SRFC but I think that the Sligo area has been good to Nicky too. That’s business and he’s not running a charity I’m sure, and I hope it goes from strength to strength for him.
But does all this take away my right to comment on things happening within my club?
A couple of comments to make on the statement from Jako, firstly do we really need a club shop open 6 days a week in the showgrounds when you have Jako based in the town?
I think people would be quite happy to have a decent shop open in the Showgrounds on match days.
Secondly what relevance to the discussion has some of the points made in the statement, i.e. donating jerseys for funerals, the fact that other clubs are ringing to buy gear, that our merchandise is cheaper that the Shams stuff?? Questioning how many other ex LOI players give contribute towards their clubs?
Its great to see the club are not changing the jersey or the crest for next season
Finally, most of the people on this forum know each other and I find the term “nameless bloggers” derogatory and a disgraceful comment on the clubs fans and I assume customers of Nicky. I don’t think anyone is suggesting for one minute we change kit supplier as the club seems to be well looked after by Nicky, which is not the case with other LOI clubs and their suppliers.
If anyone wants to PM me in relation to any of the above comments I will only be too happy to discuss or clarify them as I don’t feel the need to hide behind my user name.
Its also a pity that this was more negativity surrounding the club at a time when we should be on a high following the achievements of last season.
Have to agree with all of the above.
Absolutely spot on, Redkenrover.
Any comments made here by myself were not intended to offend anyone,
only try and offer constructive comments on how the club could maximise profits from merchandise.
After reading the “Statements” again over the last few days,
I am really disillusioned and annoyed at the hostility contained in them.
These statements are way over the top and have made the situation 10 times worse as there wasn’t really a situation to deal with.
Was the Club Statement discussed at committee level before it was released ?
Anyone who knows me, knows I am a 100% genuine Rovers supporter.
Sligo Rovers Football Club is my passion in life.
(after my wife and kids !)
Any spare money I have goes into the club
Im a season ticket holder ( I only used this once last season , I paid €15 every game and increased it to €20 when the club made its appeal)
I buy a programme and half time raffle tickets at every game,
I buy lotto tickets every week
I am a member of the 400 hundred club
I have gone to every function organised for the club and made voluntary contributions.
I contributed towards two syndicate cards last season
Im not trying to give myself a pat on the back,
just giving an outline to the level of commitment I have towards the club.
After these statements I don’t know if I can justify to myself the same level of commitment.
Like Redkenrover, if anyone wishes to PM me to discuss any of this, I will forward them my phone no.
Guts&Glory
12/12/2008, 12:59 PM
Dermot B your silence on this new development and issue is deafening.
Your so called "nameless bloggers" are spending money on myteam products after your assurances both here and on the Rovers website that the crest would not be changed.
Whats happening ???
celticV3
12/12/2008, 1:10 PM
Dermot B your silence on this new development and issue is deafening.
Your so called "nameless bloggers" are spending money on myteam products after your assurances both here and on the Rovers website that the crest would not be changed.
Whats happening ???
In Fairness can't expect Dermot on here defending against every post?
Look I think we are all looking for clarity before we go an purchase something that in the end profits the club. It's just a poor state of affairs that the club releases a statement and yet we still are as confused as before?
12/12/2008, 1:11 PM
Bit of a shambles is this
redobit
12/12/2008, 1:17 PM
I’ve been wondering about this for the last few days.
How can a simple thread, started solely in order to raise notice to a possible missed opportunity for The Rovers to make extra money during Christmas, suddenly turned into a defensive club statement; that has received press in a newspaper distributed throughout the North West of Ireland.
Do enlighten me because I just can’t get me head around it?
sligo1
12/12/2008, 1:34 PM
Hi Celtic V3,
Dermott should reply because he is the PRO of the Club.If he is not able to do the job or doesn't have enough time to do it, then he should resign the post.It is widely known that he does a lot of good work for Sligo Rovers and puts a lot of time into the club but obviously PRO duties is not one of his strong points.
The following is the first paragraph of the clubs statement...
Following recent speculation with regards to the club crest Sligo Rovers Football Club would like to issue the following Statement.
The club crest will not be changed for the 2009 season, and we have decided to keep the same home jersey for next season which means it will not have changed in two years. A proposal was made to the club by outside sources asking us if we would like to modernise the crest. We discussed the matter at board level and we decided we would consult the supporters, our members, professional staff, kit suppliers, and sponsors before making any decision. Due to the new ruling by the FAI that clubs must have an away jersey that does not clash with the home jersey of the team they are playing, unfortunately the away jersey will have to change.
It clearly states:
- the crest is not going to change
- the crest was discussed at a recent board meeting
- all the members of Sligo Rovers were written to and asked their opinion
- Sligo Rovers supporters were consulted-I'm not sure how this was done
- The clubs sponsors were consulted-who exactly are our Sponsors
I never knew that a clubs jersey should not clash with an opposing teams jersey-nice one
Why cant the current crest be copyrighted and why would MyTeam want to copyright the crest anyway?
Answers on a postcard please?
celticV3
12/12/2008, 1:46 PM
Hi Celtic V3,
Dermott should reply because he is the PRO of the Club.If he is not able to do the job or doesn't have enough time to do it, then he should resign the post.It is widely known that he does a lot of good work for Sligo Rovers and puts a lot of time into the club but obviously PRO duties is not one of his strong points.
First of all dermot has and is doing a great job. His ability as PRO should not be questioned because he has not had the time to immediately respond to internet questions? There are more direct forms of communication available why don't you make a little effort yourself and ring the club and find out what is going on rather than question the ability of the PRO because he does not have as much time for the internet as you.
Never thought I would see the day a mans ability was questioned because of his slight lack of input on the internet?:rolleyes:
showgies
12/12/2008, 2:04 PM
Hi Celtic V3,
The following is the first paragraph of the clubs statement...
Following recent speculation with regards to the club crest Sligo Rovers Football Club would like to issue the following Statement.
The club crest will not be changed for the 2009 season, and we have decided to keep the same home jersey for next season which means it will not have changed in two years. A proposal was made to the club by outside sources asking us if we would like to modernise the crest. We discussed the matter at board level and we decided we would consult the supporters, our members, professional staff, kit suppliers, and sponsors before making any decision. Due to the new ruling by the FAI that clubs must have an away jersey that does not clash with the home jersey of the team they are playing, unfortunately the away jersey will have to change.
It clearly states:
- the crest is not going to change
- the crest was discussed at a recent board meeting
- all the members of Sligo Rovers were written to and asked their opinion
- The clubs sponsors were consulted-who exactly are our Sponsors
I never knew that a clubs jersey should not clash with an opposing teams jersey-nice one
Why cant the current crest be copyrighted and why would MyTeam want to copyright the crest anyway?
Answers on a postcard please?
Dermot's statement doesn't imply:
- that all the members of Sligo Rovers were written to and asked their opinion
- The clubs sponsors were consulted.
It states that they would be consulted before any decision.
sligo1
12/12/2008, 2:17 PM
Hi Celtic V3,
Dermott issued the Club's statement here on this forum last Friday-a full 7 days ago.This was the first medium it was issued through.There has been numerous questions from Sligo Rovers supporters in relation to this "crest" including 2 from yourself-yesterday and today and clearly you are not happy with the situation.
By the way Dermott posted on another thread on the 9th December so he was well able to answer questions on this subject if he wanted.
There are numerous posts from Rovers fans over the years saying how they wrote to the Club,telephoned the Club and emailed the Club and are still waiting for a reply.So why dont you ring the Club and see how you get on?
As I said in my original post, Dermott does a lot of good work for Sligo Rovers and is by all accounts a lovely fellow but it is his position as "Public Relations Officer" of Sligo Rovers that I was querying.
When the Club makes a statement like what they have done,then they should expect questions.
Hi Showgies,
My understanding was that after consulting all of the above, they decided not to bring in a new crest-it looks like your interpretation might be the right one-the statement still isn't clear
celticV3
12/12/2008, 3:39 PM
[QUOTE]Hi Celtic V3,
Dermott issued the Club's statement here on this forum last Friday-a full 7 days ago.This was the first medium it was issued through.There has been numerous questions from Sligo Rovers supporters in relation to this "crest" including 2 from yourself-yesterday and today and clearly you are not happy with the situation.
By the way Dermott posted on another thread on the 9th December so he was well able to answer questions on this subject if he wanted.
Do you understand the job of the PRO? You do realise that the internet is just one means of communication yet you seem to expect Dermot to be here constantly so that he can answer your questions when you wish? Yes I am unhappy at the situation as both the uncertainty and the statement both seem very unorganised, but that is not the fault of the PRO.
There are numerous posts from Rovers fans over the years saying how they wrote to the Club,telephoned the Club and emailed the Club and are still waiting for a reply.So why dont you ring the Club and see how you get on?
As I said in my original post, Dermott does a lot of good work for Sligo Rovers and is by all accounts a lovely fellow but it is his position as "Public Relations Officer" of Sligo Rovers that I was querying.
When the Club makes a statement like what they have done,then they should expect questions.
You are the one requiring answers so it is you that I would ask to ring the club for clarity rather than ask me to do it for you? Coming on to foot.ie to ask for answers is clearly not going to give you the quick response you want.
This is a forum for fans, how many other PRO's are on this forum taking time out of their schedule to answer fans questions?
Guts&Glory
12/12/2008, 3:44 PM
In Fairness can't expect Dermot on here defending against every post?
Look I think we are all looking for clarity before we go an purchase something that in the end profits the club. It's just a poor state of affairs that the club releases a statement and yet we still are as confused as before?
celtic V3, Dermot's statement confirmed that the crest would not be changed yet my teams pack has the new crest.
The job as PRO is to communicate and clarify, his clarification does not stack up with myteam.ie branded pack as it has the new crest or their comments regarding advices the club gave them.
I and nobody else is looking for DB to respond to every post on here.
He could simply post one statemnt on the Rovers website clarifying the matter.
He felt it worthwhile to draw up his Jako defence statement , which doesn't stack up with matters that have since come to light.
So why not clarify a fairly fundamental Club issue such as the Club crest at a time when people are buying Rovers branded goods for Xmas.
12/12/2008, 3:52 PM
Pictures of the 'new' crest anyone?
celticV3
12/12/2008, 3:59 PM
celtic V3, Dermot's statement confirmed that the crest would not be changed yet my teams pack has the new crest.
The job as PRO is to communicate and clarify, his clarification does not stack up with myteam.ie branded pack as it has the new crest or their comments regarding advices the club gave them.
I and nobody else is looking for DB to respond to every post on here.
He could simply post one statemnt on the Rovers website clarifying the matter.
He felt it worthwhile to draw up his Jako defence statement , which doesn't stack up with matters that have since come to light.
So why not clarify a fairly fundamental Club issue such as the Club crest at a time when people are buying Rovers branded goods for Xmas.
Look if anyone is looking for clarification on the crest then get in contact with the club and try and find out what is going on. Don't wait around on a fans forum for the club to get in touch. Don't speculate before attempting to get in contact about what may happen wither.
I Have been very criticial of the board and this situation helps to justify that I think but to be criticial for the club PRO for not posting up here is clearly ridiculous.
12/12/2008, 4:21 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1074296&postcount=77
Red Star
12/12/2008, 9:17 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1074296&postcount=77
What a joke who is running our club? Is it the MC or an outside company?
BTW I’m boycotting myteam. We are a community club an outside shouldn’t have a say in the running of our club
Sean South
12/12/2008, 9:42 PM
If what Myteam are saying is correct it's a disgrace. The club crest is a symbol of identity you can't have two of them.
Inside Man
12/12/2008, 11:23 PM
The statement by the club is disgraceful.
It was in the Sligo Weekender two weeks ago, for the whole of Sligo to read! When it is only the opinion of 2-3 fans they are replying to. I would love to find out who is behind that statement and I would give them one hell of an earful.
Would be disgraceful if we had two crests for next season. For any organisation to have two crests is disgraceful, for one representing Ireland is outrageous.
However I blame nobody other than Myteam.ie for the problem. Because it can be said without their involvement we would not be in this predicament.
People questioning our PRO on here is wrong. End of story. Alot of you may not realise he is a very busy man and currently has other issues to deal with so lay off. If you have a question ring him on: 087-6172295. Shall no more be said on that light please.
13/12/2008, 9:23 AM
I can't see how anybody can blame myteam for this. They've worked successfully with how many other clubs in the league and yet we're the only ones to **** it up?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/12/2008, 9:40 AM
I can't see how anybody can blame myteam for this. They've worked successfully with how many other clubs in the league and yet we're the only ones to **** it up?
As far as I can see myteam are the only people who are saying that we are changing the crest. Why exactly is that Rovers fault?
I will admit that I haven't read every post on the matter but it sounds like mypost put a proposal to Rovers and decided to announce what they thought the decision was going to be before they actually got an answer from the club
celticV3
13/12/2008, 1:40 PM
As far as I can see myteam are the only people who are saying that we are changing the crest. Why exactly is that Rovers fault?
I will admit that I haven't read every post on the matter but it sounds like mypost put a proposal to Rovers and decided to announce what they thought the decision was going to be before they actually got an answer from the club
Myteam.ie didn't pay for those advertising signs around the county with a crest that somehow ended up on the myteam.ie packs being sent out? I think the crest was going to be changed but that decision seemingly has been again changed.
It's a simple as this. I have not got the latest jersey and will buy it regardless either before or after christmas. With the confusion surrounding the crest it is going to put people off getting the jersey as a present for christmas. The club are losing out on capitilising on the european hype still surrounding the town.
Titan
15/12/2008, 11:21 AM
Just to clear up a point.
Myteam have had absolutely nothing to do with the new crest. The crest was in place before we came on the scene.
We have used the crest that was supplied by Sligo Rovers and which we were told to use. We have invested a considerable amount of cash in Sligo packs. We wouldnt have done this without express direction from the club.
On another note.
The home jersey and crest will be the same as this season.
I probably shouldnt say any more as I will end up in trouble!
Please stop thinking that we 'encoraged' 'asked' or 'suggested' that Sligo change their crest. We didnt
red_away
15/12/2008, 11:31 AM
Can we hear from an SRFC official about this?
Redzer
15/12/2008, 11:48 AM
This is disgraceful. How the F**K can we have 2 crests. Who called for the change? The person or persons responsible for this must come forward and explain.
This deserves the same priority as Jako did, even more so IMO. Why has no one apart from the Myteam group seen this crest?
It smacks of total amateurism once again. If the committee thinks they will get away with this, they have another thing coming. I will not purchase anything with a micky mouse crest on it been passed off as genuine.
15/12/2008, 1:50 PM
Ah, for God's sake will someone put the kid's toys back in the pram and close this thread.
15/12/2008, 1:55 PM
Pint anyone?
celticV3
15/12/2008, 3:23 PM
A man walks into a bar.................
Guts&Glory
15/12/2008, 3:52 PM
A man walks into a bar.................
In a Rovers shirt with two Crests .........
15/12/2008, 4:30 PM
.........and says, I'm Nicky, has Dermot been in?
clubman
15/12/2008, 9:44 PM
.........and says, I'm Nicky, has Dermot been in?
To which the barman replied;
Yes he was in earlier but looked very confused.
He said as he left "If Carlsberg did crests......"
Inside Man
16/12/2008, 7:48 PM
I was on the phone to a friend in sligo today who said Toolin has cleared up the misunderstanding of the Crest issue? In the weekender?
All i heard was he said something like it was a small missunderstanding and that Rovers will have the one crest for 2009. However 2010 could see a new design.
16/12/2008, 8:26 PM
All i heard was he said something like it was a small missunderstanding and that Rovers will have the one crest for 2009.
which one though?
anyone get the weekender this week?
celticV3
16/12/2008, 9:29 PM
which one though?
anyone get the weekender this week?
Begs the question what was the statement about and why couldn't it clarify the situation better?
http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlausnid&cat=sport
redobit
28/12/2008, 1:35 PM
Got a Rovers jersey as a Christmas present from herself, Im glad they didnt change the crest - cause she bought it six weeks ago!!! :)
22/01/2009, 5:51 PM
'New' crest was on the 6.1 news there. Looks like the emblem on the inside of the Pats crest. Me no likey :(
Inside Man
22/01/2009, 8:08 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0122/drogheda.html
Down in the bottom right it shows the video, at 1;15 it shows a new Rovers scarf.
I hate it to be hosest! too plain! Where is the bull gone?
Boo_Boy
22/01/2009, 8:19 PM
Wow thats horrible :(.
Inside Man
22/01/2009, 8:22 PM
Wow thats horrible :(.
Kind of going for the modern look i feel with that design, still hate it though looking at it again.
22/01/2009, 8:27 PM
Whoever came up with that crest has little or no imagination. Seriously, it's terrible and I hope it's never implemented. I certainly won't buy anything with it on it anyway.
Knappagh Red
22/01/2009, 9:15 PM
[URL] Where is the bull gone?
Where did the bull come from?, the town crest has been in use since 1608 and never had a bull on it. That new maroon crest is terrible, agree with Sligoman I think a lot of people will boycott it
22/01/2009, 9:40 PM
Christ that's shockingly ****.
celticV3
22/01/2009, 10:36 PM
Who thought of that crest. Think the board were giving crayons fro christmas?
Redkenrover
22/01/2009, 10:46 PM
Hate to open this can of worms again but the scarf looks awful like the one being sold by myteam.ie. A mate of mine got the affiliate pack and the crest looks awful similar to the one on the news tonight. Looks terrible but it looks like that a new crest is to be used on a special european jersey and will eventually be implemented, probably for next season.
22/01/2009, 10:46 PM
Pic Attached for those Without Realplayer.
Ew. Maybe please God it was only one of those dodgy scarves that went out with myteam.ie. All the rest of the scarves seemed to be from there too.