View Full Version : 3 Pitch Invasions

redobit
19/11/2008, 8:50 AM
3 pitch invasions over the weekend. Is it the case of a normal fine or an elevated fine. Hopefully the powers that be will consider the emotions of the nite and do noting.

19/11/2008, 9:23 AM
Where? Tolka, Kildare and somewhere else. Don't think there was one in Belfield though I didn't hang around long. Sligo maybe? Can't think of anyone else that 'won' anything. I doubt there'll be fines for people going on the pitch after winning something/staying up/qualifying for Europe but there should be a fine for all the kids on the pitch in Tolka trying to cause trouble.

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 9:23 AM
3 pitch invasions over the weekend. Is it the case of a normal fine or an elevated fine. Hopefully the powers that be will consider the emotions of the nite and do noting.

You could hardly call Dundalk's one a proper pitch invasion. They won the League for gods sake.

Shelbourne's one was different and they should be punished.

Where was the other?

The Lilywhites
19/11/2008, 9:25 AM
Sligo.

19/11/2008, 10:05 AM
The FAI should be consistent (:eek:) and fine clubs no matter what the occasion is. If they fine clubs for pitch invasions in March then they should do the same for the last game of the season.

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 10:21 AM
there should be a fine for all the kids on the pitch in Tolka trying to cause trouble.

What trouble did they cause?

19/11/2008, 10:33 AM

No trouble was caused. Pigs were a bit over cautious by keeping the Blades' fans behind for nearly an hour :D

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 10:36 AM
No trouble was caused. Pigs were a bit over cautious by keeping the Blades' fans behind for nearly an hour :D

Exactly, i dont know what Schumi is on about. God forbid young supporter's go to their teams match and get caught up in a historic moment of their club's history and do a lap of honour

19/11/2008, 10:52 AM
I don't think they actually caused too much trouble, I left soon after the end so I didn't see if anything happened after. They all legged it down to the Limerick end straight away and I doubt it was to congratulate them on the equaliser.

God forbid young supporter's go to their teams match and get caught up in a historic moment of their club's history and do a lap of honourA lap of honour after missing promotion in the last minute? :rolleyes:

19/11/2008, 10:53 AM
Exactly, i dont know what Schumi is on about. God forbid young supporter's go to their teams match and get caught up in a historic moment of their club's history and do a lap of honour

I presume he's talking about Shels, not Rovers schooligan pitch invasion at Tolka the previous week. The Shels one certainly wasn't celebrating anything & was an act of aggression.

You have to fine everyone or nobody. Since the clubs signed up to the rules they should suck it up & pay.

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 10:54 AM
I don't think they actually caused too much trouble, I left soon after the end so I didn't see if anything happened after. They all legged it down to the Limerick end straight away and I doubt it was to congratulate them on the equaliser.

A lap of honour after missing promotion in the last minute? :rolleyes:

Ha ha i thought u were on about the shamrock rovers match m8

Kildareman
19/11/2008, 11:06 AM
I cant see fines handed out for scenes of celebration, but what happened at Tolka might be viewed more seriously. It really depends on the ref and the observers report.
There is no way Kildare County can be held responsible as firstly the FAI planned a presentation in front of the Dundalk fans in the new stand but then changed to the main stand in front of the County fans ???? And secondly, the stewards controlling the Dundalk fans were all employees of the FAI and under the control of the FAI.
Maybe we can fine them for damage to the pitch ;).

19/11/2008, 11:12 AM
Your taking the p*ss?In what case? Shels one was a clear act of aggression, the Rovers one wasn't, but it was a bunch of kids who know nothing about Milltown or the history. It was a bunch of kids running round a pitch.

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 11:14 AM
In what case? Shels one was a clear act of aggression, the Rovers one wasn't, but it was a bunch of kids who know nothing about Milltown or the history. It was a bunch of kids running round a pitch.

What happened with the shels one?
There are a few videos of the hoops on their forum. They got caught up in the moment, i thought it was great to see young lads enjoying the occasion

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 11:48 AM

Shelbourne "fans" (I wouldn't really call them fans, never seen any of them at Tolka earlier in the year) ran the length of the pitch to attack the Limerick supporters. I have never laughed so much in my life to be honest. They ran the pitch expecting us to get scared and move away from the pitch edge but when we didn't they didn't know what to do. Throwing punches from about 5 yards away from someone is just embarrassing :D

We were then kept inside in Lolka for about an hour afterwards while the gardas said there was a "riot" :o outside. The Supporters Club bus had to get a garda escort out of Dublin.

Don't agree with people seeing this in the same light as what happened at Kildare. Massive difference and fans should be entitiled to celebrate a league win on the pitch like Dundalk did. If not we would lose the soul and passion of the League.

All an overall plan from Shelbourne to stop us going to Newbridge afterwards :eek:

19/11/2008, 11:52 AM
Ha ha i thought u were on about the shamrock rovers match m8No problem, I was wondering what you were on about!

oldyouth
19/11/2008, 12:33 PM
A few 'Howyas' from Fingal went running around the pitch at full time at Ferrycarrig Park on Saturday. Nothing serious, they were only around 15-18 yr olds out for a season end run around. Their kids were absolutely mortified though. :D

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 12:38 PM
Their kids were absolutely mortified though. :D

Quality. :D

Im sure it would have been the same if Wexford fans ran onto the pitch. Their sister/wife would have been mortified. :p

oldyouth
19/11/2008, 12:40 PM
Quality. :D

Im sure it would have been the same if Wexford fans ran onto the pitch. Their sister/wife would have been mortified. :p
Is that not the same thing????

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 12:42 PM
Is that not the same thing????

Yes thats what I meant ;), which is why I said sister/wife :p. Whatever you lot do down in Wexford is up to yourselves.

I suppose its easier to get away with that sort of thing when its always dark around the town :cool:

19/11/2008, 1:23 PM
Massive difference and fans should be entitiled to celebrate a league win on the pitch like Dundalk did. If not we would lose the soul and passion of the League.

I don't think clubs should be fined for this kind of thing but if the FAI are to stick by their rules then the said clubs must be fined.

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 1:34 PM
I don't think clubs should be fined for this kind of thing but if the FAI are to stick by their rules then the said clubs must be fined.

Agreed, but they should also use a bit of common sense and be more lenient in Dundalk's and even Sligo's case.

If they did go around fining clubs for things like that the League would lose its enique human touch that other leagues around the club don't have.

19/11/2008, 1:38 PM
The trophy presentation in Newbridge was in the stand over the far side of the pitch from the Dundalk fans. If we hadn't of invaded the pitch, we wouldn't have actually been able to see it.. Were we just supposed to applaud the team nicely and go home?

19/11/2008, 1:38 PM
There are a few videos of the hoops on their forum. They got caught up in the moment, i thought it was great to see young lads enjoying the occasionThere was no harm in it, but quite a few of those young lads are the ones the guards public order unit escort from the ground to the bus stop on a regular basis.

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 1:45 PM
There was no harm in it, but quite a few of those young lads are the ones the guards public order unit escort from the ground to the bus stop on a regular basis.

So that means they cant creat an atmosphere?

19/11/2008, 1:51 PM
So that means they cant creat an atmosphere?1) IMO, some of them are little toerags. Thats why they need shadowed by a Gardai unit.

2)If by creating an atmosphere you meaning running round the pitch like a labrador in a park, then we'll have to differ on what creating an atmosphere is.

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 1:55 PM
2)If by creating an atmosphere you meaning running round the pitch like a labrador in a park, then we'll have to differ on what creating an atmosphere is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Erud4F_A60M
This is in my opinion an atmosphere, a great trouble free night was had by all

dublinred
19/11/2008, 2:01 PM
I think that there is a traditional in the FAI that the fines cover the cost of the Xmas party so wouldn't be surprised if there were a few fines for last weekend.

19/11/2008, 2:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Erud4F_A60M
This is in my opinion an atmosphere, a great trouble free night was had by all
Don't get me wrong, the stuff in the stands from Rovers was great, both the noise and the banners and it gave a bit of flavour to what was a meaningless match, but I didn't think the stuff at the end did anything for the atmosphere and really leaves the FAI no option but to fine you. We'll agree to differ I suppose!

Duffman
19/11/2008, 2:02 PM
Is there no differentiation between "invading" the pitch during a match and when the match is over ? There were DFC fans on the pitch at 2am in Oriel on Sunday morning, should that count as well?

Billy-Green
19/11/2008, 2:06 PM
really leaves the FAI no option but to fine you. We'll agree to differ I suppose!

Agree with ya about the fine, i'd say we will get a fine but only a small one

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 2:07 PM
Is there no differentiation between "invading" the pitch during a match and when the match is over ? There were DFC fans on the pitch at 2am in Oriel on Sunday morning, should that count as well?

Yes, I for one demand that they but stripped of their Premier League status :p :D

If Limerick had won the League i'd be still on the pitch :p

Joe Strummer
19/11/2008, 4:16 PM
Did Drogheda not get some stupid fine last season for the pitch invasion the night they won the league???

20/11/2008, 10:14 AM
Lets hope the FAI get raped for the flares last night :)

L37Ultra
20/11/2008, 3:08 PM
Lets hope the FAI get raped for the flares last night :)

They are so stupid they will probably end up fining themselves :D