View Full Version : New manager?

18/11/2008, 10:36 AM
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=d4228cb2-bd87-4562-bbe5-39104494ce75

Im confused here... Is Vinny not staying on?

hollocaine
18/11/2008, 10:48 AM
Well Vinny was just a Caretaker Manager so that statement, vague as it is, is no great surprise. Vinny has yet to publicly confirm his plans so we'll see what happens. At least it's good to see the club are wasting no time in preparing for next season.

18/11/2008, 10:55 AM
What a shame I was hoping he'd stay on. But if Vinny does go, thanks for getting us through a tight spot!

18/11/2008, 11:27 AM
I thought there was a coaching badges issue for Vinny, unless he has that sorted now?

18/11/2008, 11:42 AM
I'm not sure Vinny wants the hassle of it full time. I don't know though. There'll be even less money to work with next season too. I think he's doing his badges at the moment but hasn't got any yet. Des Cawley has the UEFA A badge as far as I know. He wanted the job last time around so I'd guess he'll be wanting it again. I wouldn't expect people to be queueing up for it.

18/11/2008, 3:37 PM
i heard that dessie cawley has an excellent chance of gettin the job...

18/11/2008, 4:05 PM
I heard he's applying alright. I suppose it depends on who else is in for it if anyone. Club AGM coming up in early December too I believe so who knows who'll be making the decision. You could find yourself in charge yet Marty!.

18/11/2008, 4:08 PM
Marty for Chairman! I will be his campaign manager! :D

18/11/2008, 4:33 PM
I heard he's applying alright. I suppose it depends on who else is in for it if anyone. Club AGM coming up in early December too I believe so who knows who'll be making the decision. You could find yourself in charge yet Marty!.

Yea the AGM will be soon upon us. Will be interesting I'm sure, I can hardly wait ;)

Chairman Marty has a good ring to it.

18/11/2008, 7:00 PM
Yea the AGM will be soon upon us. Will be interesting I'm sure, I can hardly wait ;)

Chairman Marty has a good ring to it.

http://seedgivethtree.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/mao1.jpg

Not this sort of Chairman?

Salmon Coloured
18/11/2008, 11:25 PM

Thats chairman LMAO.

sparkey
19/11/2008, 10:28 AM

Fit him out with a pair of glasses and a Town scarf and there starts to be a resemblance:D

19/11/2008, 10:50 AM
Fit him out with a pair of glasses and a Town scarf and there starts to be a resemblance:D

Ooooh Photoshop idea. Watch this space.

20/11/2008, 7:44 AM
thats chairman lmao.
lol :D

20/11/2008, 6:31 PM
Marty for Chairman! I will be his campaign manager! :D

magicme if you are goin to be my campaign manager get your arse down to flancare park tom nite!!!:D longfordian you can be my legal expert!!:D

20/11/2008, 6:36 PM
Sound. Knowing you there'd be plenty to keep me occupied anyhow.

20/11/2008, 7:07 PM

I good background in libel law is handy to have.

20/11/2008, 7:13 PM
Yup, and personal injury law if those fans games against UCD are reinstituted. I'd anticipate that being mainly defence work.

Black and White
20/11/2008, 7:23 PM
Hey lads....John Gill is available!!3 promotion sin 4 seasons in the 1st division!!lol (hes still ours so stay away)hint hint :D

20/11/2008, 7:30 PM

exactly thats why i need a defence lawyer and you have practiced for me before unofficially!!;)

20/11/2008, 7:31 PM
Yup, and personal injury law if those fans games against UCD are reinstituted. I'd anticipate that being mainly defence work.

im expectin some personal claims coming in after my sliding tackles against scumlone!!:D

20/11/2008, 8:41 PM
Here Marty can I be in charge of promotions? Promotional posters, flyers, ad campaigns and the likes? :)

20/11/2008, 10:20 PM
Here Marty can I be in charge of promotions? Promotional posters, flyers, ad campaigns and the likes? :)

You said photoshop ideas it is now two days photoshop it already mister gfx man!

21/11/2008, 5:15 AM
You said photoshop ideas it is now two days photoshop it already mister gfx man!

I never mentioned a deadline Mister. Watch out for it tomorrow, I'm a busy man you know. Hmph. ;)

21/11/2008, 8:32 AM
Sorry wont make it tonight Marty, am fighting a flu and need to be fit for Sunday's final. I can work on the campaign from my bed!

ltfc_2004
21/11/2008, 10:38 AM
A lot of things you can work on from your bed Magicme !!! boom boom

Marty you need an experienced political campaigner in the background manipulating people and stirring ****e !!! My rates are reasonable and brown envelopes are accepted

21/11/2008, 11:26 AM

I know. The book I am writing, my fake tan, my christmas card writing, angel card readings. Loads of stuff. Thats why I love my bed. :p

22/11/2008, 8:11 AM
At long last, what you all have been waiting for....

Long Live Chairman Marty!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7617395@N02/3049992400/in/photostream/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7617395@N02/3049994058/

22/11/2008, 11:59 AM
Great stuff Pauro. I can see those featuring in One F In Longford next time around!.

22/11/2008, 6:25 PM
Sorry wont make it tonight Marty, am fighting a flu and need to be fit for Sunday's final. I can work on the campaign from my bed!

didnt know magicme you are goin to the fai cup final.. will give you a aw text on the way up and see if we can meet up to discuss strategy!!:D

22/11/2008, 6:26 PM

Marty you need an experienced political campaigner in the background manipulating people and stirring ****e !!! My rates are reasonable and brown envelopes are accepted

ltfc _ 2004 considering i survived iceland consider that done!!:D

22/11/2008, 6:27 PM
At long last, what you all have been waiting for....

Long Live Chairman Marty!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7617395@N02/3049992400/in/photostream/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7617395@N02/3049994058/

brilliant!!!:D thats me in twenty years time me thinks unless i get married quickly! any takers???:D magicme??

22/11/2008, 6:28 PM
Great stuff Pauro. I can see those featuring in One F In Longford next time around!.

thats has to be reproduced for next season all rite...

23/11/2008, 9:03 AM
http://s356.photobucket.com/albums/oo3/Pauro_76/?action=view&current=ChairmanMarty.jpg

Test...

RockofGibraltar
06/12/2008, 1:52 PM
heard there are 9 applicants so far, vinny, des cawley and ex galway boss tony cousins are the only names i heard

the budget for next season will be drastically reduced aswell.heard around 100k in total for players and staff..thats roughly €2500 a week..not a lot if you have a squad of i supose at least 18 and coaching staff..

another long season ahead id imagine :(

06/12/2008, 1:56 PM
Yeah I don't think we'll be pulling up any trees next year but we can only spend what we bring in and there's bills to pay. Every club is reducing their budget so hopefully wages will come down. Some of our better players this year were on next to nothing.

06/12/2008, 7:02 PM
believe the budget was reduced by 200k... dont forget trevor croly is another in the running.. also heard the other night that pats under 20 coach has also applied for the job.. does any pats fans care to elaborate on who it is ???:confused:

06/12/2008, 7:33 PM
also i heard too that the club are expected to make a loss of 30 k for the year if you include assets and liabilites...

07/12/2008, 5:50 PM
The last Pats under 21s coach we took on has done alright for himself in the game..Yeah I had heard there's a loss forecast for the year. No great shock considering the econonomy at the moment and another reason we have to cut back.

07/12/2008, 7:03 PM
heard today that theres a very great chance that adrian murphy will make a comeback playing for us next season.. heard that his old fella got the boot at longford slashers and has no committments now.. it would be good to have him back.. I think Darren McKenna and him would be a great option.. heard also the interviews are for this week...anyone else hear any other names for the town job??

howsyourtouch
08/12/2008, 7:24 PM
will he still give the commiment doh...think he is happy playin area league and to be honest to anyone that has seen him playin here for the season he is a good area league player,not sure if he could take the step up,hope im wrong doh...

08/12/2008, 7:33 PM
will he still give the commiment doh...think he is happy playin area league and to be honest to anyone that has seen him playin here for the season he is a good area league player,not sure if he could take the step up,hope im wrong doh...

whos he playin for in the area league btw??

howsyourtouch
08/12/2008, 10:27 PM
playin for camlin this season,scored the winner in the match against the stillery on saturday in the final fews mins...4-3 it finished...best two teams in the league...

08/12/2008, 11:56 PM
the budget for next season will be drastically reduced aswell.heard around 100k in total for players and staff..thats roughly €2500 a week..not a lot if you have a squad of i supose at least 18 and coaching staff..

Nowhere near enough.

A manager worth his salt will swallow between 4 and 6 hundred of that budget.

2k for a squad and coaches = Finishing somewhere between tenth and twelfth.

09/12/2008, 12:30 AM
I had heard it was going to be about 150k but it's still a big reduction alright. That's the starting budget, there's always room to increase it slightly if fundraisers are going any way well. A good bit of change to the management committee for this year I believe so we'll see how that goes for them.

09/12/2008, 12:53 AM
I had heard it was going to be about 150k but it's still a big reduction alright. That's the starting budget, there's always room to increase it slightly if fundraisers are going any way well. A good bit of change to the management committee for this year I believe so we'll see how that goes for them.

Choice of manager is going to be absolutely crucial for ye if that's the kind of budget you're going to be operating off.

There will be a lot of absolute dross around next year, finishing ahead of Athlone, Wexford, Cobh and Mervue could be achievable depending on the guy.

Even this early I think it's gonna be a real haves versus have nots division next year.

Apologies for the rant they are tired of me on the Limerick forum. :p

rebelraider
09/12/2008, 1:08 AM
rumour matthews gone from cork city caulfield to take over if he wants it

09/12/2008, 7:05 PM
rumour matthews gone from cork city caulfield to take over if he wants it

where will matthews go to now?? surely shamrock rovers have their minds made up at this stage.. he wont come back to us at all after all the bad blood before in the past..

Rocky77
09/12/2008, 7:16 PM
where will matthews go to now?? surely shamrock rovers have their minds made up at this stage.. he wont come back to us at all after all the bad blood before in the past..

Coming back is a non-runner but I don't know how much bad blood there is. I think Alan is on good terms with almost everyone in the club.

09/12/2008, 7:33 PM
Don't think there's any bad blood remaining from anybody at the club as far as I know. But as said he won't be back here, we can't afford him and he doesn't fancy the First Division.