View Full Version : Will Dundalk have to
Replace the pitch at Oriel. Read something a while back that they would have to replace their synthetic pitch with a grass one.
Louth4sam
17/11/2008, 4:22 PM
Nope, we are upgrading it as far as i know. Still don't know the ins and out but heard that we could have a temporary measure of replacing the filling. Or replacing the pitch altogether for a higher spec one.
Its a good source of income so i can't see us going back to grass.
Jeebus
17/11/2008, 4:37 PM
Is there any hope that they might change their games to a Friday or Saturday night?
baddebt
17/11/2008, 7:49 PM
i see the issue of the pitch and having the advantage is already an issue and has been mentioned on MNS.
If it was an advantage for us then we would have been unbeaten at home since we got the surface in.
when your on it , it just feels like your on a grass pitch.
I hope Drogheda don't get relegated , because it will be a pleasure taking 3pts of them at home and away next season.
redobit
18/11/2008, 1:07 PM
i see the issue of the pitch and having the advantage is already an issue and has been mentioned on MNS.
If it was an advantage for us then we would have been unbeaten at home since we got the surface in.
I hope Drogheda don't get relegated , because it will be a pleasure taking 3pts of them at home and away next season.
Sligo Rovers have a synthetic training pitch, and Ive been told its better quality than the Dundalk one, and let me tell you if may feel kinda like grass when your running on it. But try doing a sliding tackle on it, it peels your skin like a cheese grater. If found out the hard way.
Good money spinner tho.
What happens if the pitch fails uefa standards which it has done already twice in recent times.These pitches only get a licence from uefa for a two year period they then have to be totally replaced to apply again ,this will cost a fair amount of money and ur running out of time to have it ready for next season.There is a very high maintenance prog to be followed to keep it up to standard which Dundalk have failed to do since it was installed.
passerrby
25/11/2008, 1:14 PM
What happens if the pitch fails uefa standards which it has done already twice in recent times.These pitches only get a licence from uefa for a two year period they then have to be totally replaced to apply again ,this will cost a fair amount of money and ur running out of time to have it ready for next season.There is a very high maintenance prog to be followed to keep it up to standard which Dundalk have failed to do since it was installed.
would not agree that they have failed to maitain it its in excellent condition however if it is open to the public it is impossible to maintain a eufa standard so i think the problem will be if they use a sytetic surface for next season would it still be a source of revenue
randomcomment
26/11/2008, 2:08 PM
I've played full competitive matches on both Sligo's pitch and in Oriel. Let me tell you Oriel is ten times better. Still not great for sliding tackles though. When wet, maybe it is.
jinxy lilywhite
26/11/2008, 2:11 PM
I've played in Oriel many times and i found going to ground was grand. Its not as bad as some other jobs.
Rovers Maniac
26/11/2008, 2:20 PM
If you look at te last 2 seasons Dundalk would appear to have an advantage playing on that surface compared to other sides. They actually had a better record at home than Harps two seasons ago even though Harps finished a massive 10 points clear of them, Cobh got only 2 points more to them despite fininshing 11 points clear of them. You can argue how big an advantage it is but you can't argue if it is or is not an advantage IMO.
jinxy lilywhite
26/11/2008, 2:42 PM
If you look at te last 2 seasons Dundalk would appear to have an advantage playing on that surface compared to other sides. They actually had a better record at home than Harps two seasons ago even though Harps finished a massive 10 points clear of them, Cobh got only 2 points more to them despite fininshing 11 points clear of them. You can argue how big an advantage it is but you can't argue if it is or is not an advantage IMO.
It is absolutely no advantage to us. Both teams have to play on it. We lost 4 games this season on it. We lost to Shels, Longford and Limerick twice. With the exception of Longford the other 3 times we lost the teams that beat us played better football and kept the ball on the ground more. Its a perfect pitch for teams that want to play football.
A distinct disadvatage against us is the cabbage patches then that we have to be forced to play on when we travel away from home.
Rovers Maniac
26/11/2008, 3:37 PM
It is absolutely no advantage to us. Both teams have to play on it. We lost 4 games this season on it. We lost to Shels, Longford and Limerick twice. With the exception of Longford the other 3 times we lost the teams that beat us played better football and kept the ball on the ground more. Its a perfect pitch for teams that want to play football.
A distinct disadvatage against us is the cabbage patches then that we have to be forced to play on when we travel away from home.
Your home record says otherwise it is klaughable that you would even challenge this.
jinxy lilywhite
26/11/2008, 4:00 PM
Your home record says otherwise it is klaughable that you would even challenge this.
Of course I'll challenge it.
This season we clocked up 40 Points at home out of 54. Last seasons champs where cobh with 45 pts taken from home. Rovers amassed 46 pts in 2006 and sligo in 2005 got 35 points at home.
Those points achieved had more to do with the teams themselves rather that the pitch that they played on. Cobh and Shamrock Rovers both got more points than us at home in the years that they won it. So where their pitches that season giving them an unfair advantage? In both those season cobh drew with us in 2007 and rovers beat us while drawing the other game. Our only advantage over the other teams is that we are better than them at home. If Oriel was grass it would still of given the same results.
The Lilywhites
26/11/2008, 4:05 PM
2006 Champions - Shamrock Rovers - Unbeaten at home
2007 Champions - Cobh Ramblers - Unbeaten at home
2008 Champions - Dundalk - Beaten four times at home
There's no unfair advantage for Dundalk. Teams are generally stronger at home than they are away, but we've actually lost less games away from home this season (although we've picked up more points at Oriel). In 2006, when we finished second to Rovers, we picked up more points away than we did at home. Dundalk are not strong at home because of the artificial surface, despite what some people want to believe. But it's good to see you're getting your excuses in early.
Rovers Maniac
26/11/2008, 4:18 PM
Of course I'll challenge it.
This season we clocked up 40 Points at home out of 54. Last seasons champs where cobh with 45 pts taken from home. Rovers amassed 46 pts in 2006 and sligo in 2005 got 35 points at home.
Those points achieved had more to do with the teams themselves rather that the pitch that they played on. Cobh and Shamrock Rovers both got more points than us at home in the years that they won it. So where their pitches that season giving them an unfair advantage? In both those season cobh drew with us in 2007 and rovers beat us while drawing the other game. Our only advantage over the other teams is that we are better than them at home. If Oriel was grass it would still of given the same results.
Considering you actually finished 11 points behind Cobh last season while just picking up 2 points less shows you have a real advantage. Once again this season you were top buy taking 3 points more than Shels, even say Shels had hung on against Limerick and had won you lads would not have been promoted and still have had the best home league record. I would discount your first full season by saying that it took you time to get used to it to be fair. But the last two season you could not have any argument that it is a major advantage to Dundalk to play on that pitch. As it was for Luton Town, Oldham and QPR all clubs who have fallen away since they were made tear up their plastic pitches.
p.s. stop being so defensive i have not used the word unfair, but i have used the word advantage.
Louth4sam
26/11/2008, 4:26 PM
p.s. stop being so defensive i have not used the word unfair, but i have used the word advantage.
It is an advantage to any team that tries to play football on it. When most teams come to Oriel they sit back and defend so obviously they are going to be disadvantaged.
redobit
26/11/2008, 4:43 PM
You have to agree that a synthetic pitch does play differently than a grass pitch. For this reason it does take a longer to get used to how the pitch plays. By playing on it reguarly you therefore have to have an advantage, all be it a small one.
jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2008, 10:24 AM
If we go next season unbeaten at home to Cork, Bohs, Derry and St. Pats I will take my hat off and say the our pitch gives us an advantage.
Rovers Maniac
27/11/2008, 10:27 AM
If we go next season unbeaten at home to Cork, Bohs, Derry and St. Pats I will take my hat off and say the our pitch gives us an advantage.
Your getting mixed up, having an advantage does not make you unbeatable, it just means your picking up more points than those group of players would do on a normal grass surface.
jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2008, 11:19 AM
Your getting mixed up, having an advantage does not make you unbeatable, it just means your picking up more points than those group of players would do on a normal grass surface.
Then your missing the point as well. Could we not of picked up the majority of our points because we have a superior team with a superior budget to attract the best players in the 1st division.
27/11/2008, 11:44 AM
Then your missing the point as well. Could we not of picked up the majority of our points because we have a superior team with a superior budget to attract the best players in the 1st division.
You might have. But being only team to play on the plastic every week absolutely gives you an advantage. There's no question about it.
27/11/2008, 11:53 AM
Surely then we have a disadvantage when we go and play on grass.. :rolleyes:
Black and White
27/11/2008, 12:17 PM
Chap that i work with weas telling me today in the canteen that a the club got the go ahead with the current pitch...that would be great if it where true...hes a season ticket holder and knows a few on the board!:D Basically put forward to the FAI that ripping it up would kill us straight away money wise...thats what has saved us from going bust...great revenue generated from it week in week out...esp in the of seaqson when Dundalk arent playing!
27/11/2008, 12:20 PM
So...you built a pitch to save yourself from going bust, spent the profits on your squad, but then forget to factor in replacing the pitch, and now can't afford this, but you're going to plead puppy dog eyes?
Black and White
27/11/2008, 12:52 PM
No....over spending nearly ruined us a good few years ago...the pitch has generated extra revenue from which has increased are season budget over the past few years which enabled us to attract better palyers whcih has now resulted in promotion...we wouldnt be able to compete to our full potential next season if it cost us all that money to rip the pitch up and relay it again on top of trying to attract a whole crop of better palyers to keep us in the Premier Division next season...u ****!
And anyway...the FAI owe us a favour from two years ago....John Gills successful first season with us!!!
27/11/2008, 12:59 PM
we wouldnt be able to compete to our full potential next season if it cost us all that money to rip the pitch up and relay it again on top of trying to attract a whole crop of better palyers to keep us in the Premier Division next season
But if the pitch has to be relaid (and I don't know if it does or not), then you can't spend all the money on your team and not leave any aside for relaying the pitch. You can't just say "How could we afford that as well as our nice expensive team?"
In fairness I think they mean that PP makes money so not only do they have to pay to change it, but they're losinga revenue stream too.
I should point out I've no problem with it...
27/11/2008, 1:05 PM
I agree with that alright, but if this was something they knew about since they got the pitch laid down, then they shouldn't be trying to weasel out of it with "we've no money" arguments, having spent all the money on the team.
But then this brings me back to the query I had in the first place (and indeed, gufct at the start of the thread), which basically was whether the above assumption is correct.
jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2008, 2:03 PM
1) The current pitch is below uefa/fifa spec. When it was installed it was within spec but the rules have since changed. Dundalk Fc and the pitch installers are in contact with one another as to upgrade the pitch and who is liable for the charges.
2) The majority of the cost of the artifical surface was the installation. It was putting in the edges/kerbing and the foundation under the pitch. So to rip that up would be a big costly job and to revert to grass would probably kill us.
In essesence only the surface needs to be replaced and will be replaced before start of the new season or whenever the tests will take place. I would plead with the club not just to get the one thats closest to spec but to get the best effin one there is so this problem doesn't occur again and it needs maintenance then so be it.
BTW I wish people would stop linking our surface to the QPR, Luton town and Oldham type of surface. Those where completely different types of surfaces to what we have
Elfsborg had a plastic pitch. You wouldn't think it while watching the game though. Superb
27/11/2008, 3:25 PM
1) The current pitch is below uefa/fifa spec. When it was installed it was within spec but the rules have since changed. Dundalk Fc and the pitch installers are in contact with one another as to upgrade the pitch and who is liable for the charges.
2) The majority of the cost of the artifical surface was the installation. It was putting in the edges/kerbing and the foundation under the pitch. So to rip that up would be a big costly job and to revert to grass would probably kill us.
In essesence only the surface needs to be replaced and will be replaced before start of the new season or whenever the tests will take place. I would plead with the club not just to get the one thats closest to spec but to get the best effin one there is so this problem doesn't occur again and it needs maintenance then so be it.
Makes much more sense; cheers!
passerrby
28/11/2008, 4:27 PM
but if you put the best pitch that money can buy ,your only hope of maintaining that star level is to close it to all but senior football otherwise a year of rental will result in it losing its uefa status
Buller
28/11/2008, 4:45 PM
I've played in oriel and its grand... definately not a real advantage for the other team.
higgins
28/11/2008, 11:57 PM
And anyway...the FAI owe us a favour from two years ago....
You are getting that favour !!!
Have you any deals going with the FAI ?
29/11/2008, 1:03 AM
You are getting that favour !!!
How is winning promotion on the field a favour?
forza rovers
29/11/2008, 10:53 AM
are ye going changing the nights ye play on?
29/11/2008, 11:43 AM
Is there any hope that they might change their games to a Friday or Saturday night?
its only a train journey away Jeebus....unless you work late earning your millions?;)
29/11/2008, 12:08 PM
its only a train journey away Jeebus....unless you work late earning your millions?;)
Getting the train to the game is grand but there is no train or bus back to Dublin after the match though.. :(
29/11/2008, 1:33 PM
Getting the train to the game is grand but there is no train or bus back to Dublin after the match though.. :(
ah sure were massive, we always have people following us from Dublin that drive :D
are ye going changing the nights ye play on?
How many times has this question already been asked? I'm sure you will find out when the rest of us do.
higgins
30/11/2008, 7:15 PM
How is winning promotion on the field a favour?
I said nothing about your league win.
Have the FAI given money to Dundalk that other First Division clubs were not getting ?
On what basis were they given that money ?
I take it you don't know a lot about your clubs accounts ?
05/12/2008, 6:52 PM
Come out and say what you are implying and quit with the cloak and dagger :rolleyes:
Black and White
05/12/2008, 8:07 PM
We havnt being handed any favours from the FAI...actually if you look at things....Waterford where 2 year ago (Delaney fan of Waterford), last game of this season(shels game got a DUBLIN ref, our game got a Cork ref) amazed something weird didnt happen in that shels game...act it did, both games where supposed to start and finish at same time...Shels game started a full 3.5 mins after our game! Also...earlier on in the season, we played waterford in oriel...player fouled miles inside the box and marney tapped the ball into the net...ref decided he wasnt playing advantage when the ball went in, and gave a free kick on the side line...WTF like!!ball was nowhere near where he gave the free...up on 1 of the videos on dundalkfc.com
MY POINT....FAI appointed some very dodgy refs to alot of our games this season...we have struggled with money over the past 5 to 6 years and we HAVE not had any financial help from those shower of c!nts (c@nts) in merrion square!
HarpoJoyce
06/12/2008, 12:10 AM
....MY POINT....FAI appointed some very dodgy refs to alot of our games this season...we have struggled with money over the past 5 to 6 years and we HAVE not had any financial help from those shower of c!nts (c@nts) in merrion square!
Same as those goons at Lancaster Gate!
http://www.thefa.com/TheFA/ContactUs/Postings/2004/06/fa_pages.htm
"FA Incentive Schemes
The Football Association
25 Soho Square
London
W1D 4FA
Tel: 0845 458 1966
Fax: 020 745 5776
Description: The official England supporters club."
06/12/2008, 3:00 AM
We havnt being handed any favours from the FAI...actually if you look at things....Waterford where 2 year ago (Delaney fan of Waterford), last game of this season(shels game got a DUBLIN ref, our game got a Cork ref) amazed something weird didnt happen in that shels game...act it did, both games where supposed to start and finish at same time...Shels game started a full 3.5 mins after our game! Also...earlier on in the season, we played waterford in oriel...player fouled miles inside the box and marney tapped the ball into the net...ref decided he wasnt playing advantage when the ball went in, and gave a free kick on the side line...WTF like!!ball was nowhere near where he gave the free...up on 1 of the videos on dundalkfc.com
MY POINT....FAI appointed some very dodgy refs to alot of our games this season...we have struggled with money over the past 5 to 6 years and we HAVE not had any financial help from those shower of c!nts in merrion square!
There is no anti-Dundalk bias going on. If there is a reason for us to have hassle it will be the schooligans, of which every club has this cross to bear...Higgins could vouch for this! Now id like to know what money Dundalk recieved more than other 1st Div clubs from the FAI? If it aint fair complain :D:D:rolleyes:
Black and White
06/12/2008, 9:39 AM
Thats the thing...we havnt received any money from the FAI just money for the positions we finish in the league every year and off course for wining the league this season!
Only other money we have received was a grants from the government for the development of the pitch etc...Gerry Matthews who owns the club has being pumping his own money in since he took over 4 years ago!!
higgins
12/12/2008, 3:49 AM
No payments made on the basis you 'would' have rightfully been in the premier division and entitled to this but as you were overlooked in the beauty contest and you felt hard done by?
jinxy lilywhite
12/12/2008, 7:24 AM
No payments made on the basis you 'would' have rightfully been in the premier division and entitled to this but as you were overlooked in the beauty contest and you felt hard done by?
Well done higgins it took you 13 days to come up with that.
as far as I am aware we never received anything so if you are going to make accusations like you'd want to back it up with something substantial
brianw82
12/12/2008, 7:40 AM
last game of this season(shels game got a DUBLIN ref, our game got a Cork ref)
With 25-30% of the country's population being from Dublin, the simple fact of the matter is that a lot of refs are going to come from the city, and will have to ref games involving Dublin teams. Besides, who's to say that ref wasn't from somewhere like Tallaght? What would it matter to him if Shels go up?
A Dublin ref won't support a team just because they're from Dublin (there are 6 Dublin teams after all), it's not like assigning an Irish ref to take charge of Ireland v England, now is it?
Well Red
14/12/2008, 1:17 PM
As a Sligo Rovers supporter I wish Dundalk a happy return to the top division. I am old enough to remember that Dundalk FC were good friends to Sligo in the past and its great to see Dundalk back where they belong.
Look forward to visiting Oriel Park next season and it would be nice to Sligo and Dundalk back among the leaders next season. Enjoy your Christmas