View Full Version : Christmas Movies
11/11/2008, 5:59 PM
Its that time of year folk, we wont be able to get away from them so no harm in knowing which ones are actually worth watching.
Bad Santa (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0307987/) - 2003
A miserable conman and his partner pose as Santa and his Little Helper to rob department stores on Christmas Eve. But they run into problems when the conman befriends a troubled kid, and the security boss discovers the plot.
-eeoI17A-1Q
Pike B
11/11/2008, 6:37 PM
Best Christmas movie ever is It's A Wonderful Life.
But you better be prepared.. It's heart warming!! :)
Bad Santa is very funny. Wasn't expecting much when it was recommended by a work colleague last year but it will definitely be getting an airing again this year.
For me, Christmas Eve is all about Dickens.
Any one of a number of A Christmas Carols, of which the Patrick Stewart (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0216621/) one is one of the better ones (no YT clip, sorry), and the Albert Finney / Alec Guinness one is probably the best.
y48PQGbdY60
Even Scrooged would always get a watch Christmas Eve if it was on.
oAK_2PUvHy8
Best Christmas film of them all is It's A Wonderful Life though. Pike B is right, heartwarming, unashamedly feel-good stuff. It's lovely!
ErrzjGCi3gY
Pike B
11/11/2008, 6:55 PM
Bad Santa is very funny. Wasn't expecting much when it was recommended by a work colleague last year but it will definitely be getting an airing again this year.
For me, Christmas Eve is all about Dickens.
Any one of a number of A Christmas Carols, of which the Patrick Stewart (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0216621/) one is one of the better ones (no YT clip, sorry), and the Albert Finney / Alec Guinness one is probably the best.
y48PQGbdY60
Even Scrooged would always get a watch Christmas Eve if it was on.
oAK_2PUvHy8
Best Christmas film of them all is It's A Wonderful Life though. Pike B is right, heartwarming, unashamedly feel-good stuff. It's lovely!
ErrzjGCi3gY
I agree with you on the Dickens thing. I read Christmas Carol every year..
Scrooged is my favourite movie version!!
stojkovic
11/11/2008, 7:38 PM
It's not Christmas Day until you've watched It's a Wonderful Life :)
Pike B
11/11/2008, 8:18 PM
It's not Christmas Day until you've watched It's a Wonderful Life :)
It's not!!??
I've been watching it on the wrong bloomin day all these years then?? I watch it on Christmas Eve!! :D :D
11/11/2008, 8:27 PM
It's not Christmas Day until you've watched It's a Wonderful Life :)I've never seen it, you mean, I've never experienced Christmas?:eek:
Pike B
11/11/2008, 9:17 PM
I've never seen it, you mean, I've never experienced Christmas?:eek:
Boy oh boy are you in for a treat this Chistmas.. Watch it, you'll not be sorry!!
corkboy360
11/11/2008, 9:29 PM
Best Christmas movie ever is It's A Wonderful Life.
But you better be prepared.. It's heart warming!! :)
I usually hate old films but I give that movie a five star rating.Fantastic
On a side not national lampoons christmas vacation is good.
Pike B
11/11/2008, 9:36 PM
I usually hate old films but I give that movie a five star rating.Fantastic
On a side not national lampoons christmas vacation is good.
Another must watch at Chrimbo.. Great shout!!
12/11/2008, 12:14 AM
Nightmare before christmas. Classic.
12/11/2008, 9:54 AM
Myself and some mates watched Bad Santa with someone doing sign language on the screen. Boy did we crack up at the "F**K me Santa" signing.
Have never seen A Wonderful Life either.
For me Christmas eve is Santa Claus the Movie time. Ever since my boys were small our tradition is to watch it with hot choc and mince pies after their bath/shower, all snuggled up under duvets and then they go to bed full of the wonderment of how the whole Santa thing works. Think this will be our last year though. :mad:
Oh and as a child (and indeed still) A Christmas Carol was always one of my favourite books, so much so my youngest son was Christened Jacob Marley.
12/11/2008, 10:06 AM
One of my guilty little pleasures is watching "Santa Claus; the Movie" with Dudley moore. Great stuff
12/11/2008, 10:43 AM
Nightmare before christmas. Classic.
Great shout. It's fantastic.
I've never seen Wonderful Life but I might try and see it this year. My personal favourite is Home Alone. I used to love it when I was younger and still think it's a great movie. It's not Christmas unless I get to watch it.
12/11/2008, 10:48 AM
Bad Santa is brilliant as is Santa Claus the Movie, has anyone mentioned Elf yet? About as good as Will Ferrell gets.
12/11/2008, 11:04 AM
Other favourites in our house are "The Santa Claus" movies. Santa even brought them on dvd for my youngest one year!
endabob1
12/11/2008, 11:06 AM
Not strictly a christmas Movie but always on tv at Christmas, the original Willy Wonka Movie with Gene Wilder, a proper classic
12/11/2008, 1:04 PM
Home alone. Brilliant kids film.
Bad santa - 'you won't walk right for a week'.........
Have never seen A Wonderful Life either.
Amazed at that. :eek:
Seriously, you have to put that right this year. You absolutely will not regret it.
Here's another Christmas-wouldn't-be-Christmas show, this at Christmas is the only reason I still keep a VCR attached to the telly! :D
gM_ZWiG5jE4
Blackadder's Christmas Carol
HarpoJoyce
12/11/2008, 3:50 PM
For feature lenght An Nightmare Before Christmas is excellent.
On It's A Wonderful Life. I once saw a Christmas-theme heist movie and two security guards are distracted by the film on TV. One says "I've never seen It's a Wonderful Life." and the second one responds "How can you not live in this country and not have seen It's A Wonderful Life."
But for a short Christmas Card (a little early I know) there the animation directed by Francis Ford Coppola of William S. Burrough's The Junky's Christmas.
(I did post this up before in a short-lived 'Animation' thread maybe last year.)
Part One
tLAboW9-Uss&feature=related
HarpoJoyce
12/11/2008, 3:51 PM
Part Two "The Junky's Christmas"
bSZ7Hq1A_As&feature=related
12/11/2008, 4:16 PM
Amazed at that. :eek:
Seriously, you have to put that right this year. You absolutely will not regret it.
See I dont get to watch much tv over Christmas. With 22 people in my parents house Christmas day it is all hands on deck and then party all night!
I recorded it last year on sky+ but it got deleted by accident. Think am not meant to see it!
Home alone. Brilliant kids film.
Definitely, the first and second.
I can't watch It's A Wonderful Life - everytime I've looked at it, it has bored me to tears and switch off. So there :p
Pike B
12/11/2008, 6:53 PM
Someone already said it, but Nightmare Before Christmas is a classic.. Five Star..
Mine would be
It's a wonderful life
Bad Santa
Nightmare Before Christmas
The Grinch
Home Alone
12/11/2008, 8:52 PM
For some reason I've always really disliked Nightmare Before Christmas. And I've never managed to watch It's a Wonderful Life right through either. Agree with whoever said Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, it really wouldn't feel like Christmas morning if one or more of the stations didn't have it on.
12/11/2008, 8:54 PM
Nightmare before Christmas. Classic.
It is definitely a classic, love it
Nightmare before Christmas (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0107688/) - 1993
DnH_OJcpZYQ
Pike B
12/11/2008, 9:37 PM
Mine would be
It's a wonderful life
Bad Santa
Nightmare Before Christmas
The Grinch
Home Alone
Grinch animated classic with Karloff, or modern live action with Jim Carrey??
12/11/2008, 10:13 PM
Grinch animated classic with Karloff, or modern live action with Jim Carrey??
Both are good, I was thinking of the animated one though
stann
12/11/2008, 11:29 PM
See I dont get to watch much tv over Christmas. With 22 people in my parents house Christmas day it is all hands on deck and then party all night!
I recorded it last year on sky+ but it got deleted by accident. Think am not meant to see it!
Just do it woman! :mad: :p
Seriously, try again this year, Sky+ it again if need be, but just watch it, I know you'll absolutely love it!
Just to add another one, Miracle on 34th Street, the original is the best though I do have a sneaking preference Dickie Attenborough in the remake over Edmund Gwenn. Can't find a decent YT clip though.
13/11/2008, 8:38 AM
bad santa is brilliant.
f*k me santa, f*k me santa, f*k me santa :D
13/11/2008, 9:01 AM
bad santa is brilliant.
f*k me santa, f*k me santa, f*k me santa :D
Come to the foot.ie christmas meeting up and I will show you that line in sign language!! :D
yeah Stann, dont worry, I will record it again this year and make sure I watch it.
I saw the Nightmare Before Christmas last year for the first time and I agree it is great. Have never seen the Grinch. As I said our gaff is manic from 2 days before Christmas until 2 days after so I dont get to see much telly.
13/11/2008, 12:35 PM
Just watched it's a wonderful life. Probably only the 2nd ever black and white film to watch in full(the other being To Kill A Mocking Bird which I had to watch for leaving cert:D). Not bad at all.
Pike B
13/11/2008, 6:28 PM
Both are good, I was thinking of the animated one though
Agreed..
Pike B
13/11/2008, 6:34 PM
Just watched it's a wonderful life. Probably only the 2nd ever black and white film to watch in full(the other being To Kill A Mocking Bird which I had to watch for leaving cert:D). Not bad at all.
I don't want to be rude but what are you 12?? You've only ever seen two black and white movies!!!!!
So you've never seen:
Casablanca
Schindlers List
The Maltese Falcon
The Philadelphia Story
White Heat
Mr Smith Goes To Washington
The Seventh Seal
Sunset Boulevard
Raging Bull
Night of the Hunter
Psycho
Metropolis
Or anything by Charlie Chaplain,Laurel and Hardy or The Marx Brothers????
13/11/2008, 7:09 PM
I don't want to be rude but what are you 12?? You've only ever seen two black and white movies!!!!!
So you've never seen:
Casablanca
Schindlers List
The Maltese Falcon
The Philadelphia Story
White Heat
Mr Smith Goes To Washington
The Seventh Seal
Sunset Boulevard
Raging Bull
Night of the Hunter
Psycho
Metropolis
Or anything by Charlie Chaplain,Laurel and Hardy or The Marx Brothers????20 and no, never seen any of them. I hate old films.
Pike B
13/11/2008, 7:23 PM
20 and no, never seen any of them. I hate old films.
I'm only 6 years your senior, so it's kind of weird for me to say this but...
I weep for the future!!! :(
13/11/2008, 9:02 PM
20 and no, never seen any of them. I hate old films.
Silgoman, you would be surprised man, seriously, film didn't just get automatically good because they were in colour. There are some gems out there in black and white.
13/11/2008, 9:25 PM
Nightmare Before Christmas and The Grinch (with Jim Carrey) are two personal favourites. Jim Carrey is brilliant in the latter.
gtRReVWNrFc&feature=related#
Heliodorus
02/12/2008, 12:47 PM
Silgoman, you would be surprised man, seriously, film didn't just get automatically good because they were in colour. There are some gems out there in black and white.
And remember colour film was around surprisingly early (at least the 1920's if not earlier) many directors chose to make films in B&W because they often looked better this way than in colour. I Mean, a film noir in colour just doesnt have the same effect.
Most of the main film directors of today who are discussed on this forum hero worship the directors of yesteryear who worked in B&W
Heliodorus
02/12/2008, 12:50 PM
So you might watch the crappy remake of a film which is in colour but not the original which might be regraded as a classic?
DolansWaistcoat
10/12/2008, 3:42 PM
home alone part 1 and 2 are class and the music really makes them.
Santa claus the movie(dudley moore 80s one,not the recent one) is my all time favorite because it's the first xmas film I remember seeing growing up.I watched it again last year for the first time in about 10 years at least and was shocked to see haycinth's sister from keeping up appearances(the one married to onslo)as mrs claus,she was as clean and not smelly lookin at all:D
11/12/2008, 5:05 PM
Bad Santa on c5 tonight. :)
irishultra
11/12/2008, 7:48 PM
a christmas story
seriously if u havent seen this make it your business to rent it. ive never seen it on tv, well once the time i watched it, and it actually made my christmas.
the grinch
2000 version. very very very good.
snow day
nah prob not but i love it
and obviously home alone, the santa claus and all the usuals.
12/12/2008, 9:11 AM
Bad Santa on c5 tonight. :)
Dam missed it. Was in a school the other day though and there was a kid who was the double of the wee curly haired lad. I had to resist the urge to offer him sandwiches!!!
12/12/2008, 9:17 AM
Dam missed it. Was in a school the other day though and there was a kid who was the double of the wee curly haired lad. I had to resist the urge to offer him sandwiches!!!
I hope you at least wedgied him! (On a related matter how the hell does one spell weggie, wedgie, wejjy :confused: )
I watched most of Deck the Halls yesterday, Matthew Broderick and Danny Devito, it was really, really bad.
12/12/2008, 9:27 AM
I hope you at least wedgied him! (On a related matter how the hell does one spell weggie, wedgie, wejjy :confused: )
I watched most of Deck the Halls yesterday, Matthew Broderick and Danny Devito, it was really, really bad.
Jaysus no! Want to go back into schools not get barred from them!!
Yeah watched that myself with the kids the other night and thought it was woeful. My youngest lad loved it but then he just loves anything to do with christmas and would watch paint dry as long as it was in the shape of Santa Claus.
15/12/2008, 10:17 AM
Bad Santa is brilliant as is Santa Claus the Movie, has anyone mentioned Elf yet? About as good as Will Ferrell gets.
Yeah, not very good !! :eek: Saw it last night, brutal show i thought.
15/12/2008, 10:21 AM
Yeah, not very good !! :eek: Saw it last night, brutal show i thought.
Really? I watched it again last night and really enjoyed it. Compared to some of the recent Christmas films it's great.
15/12/2008, 10:56 AM
Santa Claus ( Dudley Moore one)
Home Alone 1
Home Alone 2
They'd be my top three, saw a Its a Wonderful Life years ago, can only remember it vaguely but i remember enjoying it. Have tried to watch A Nightmare Before Christmas a few times but i keep falling asleep, must be because i wait till so late to watch it. A Miracle on 34th Street (the newer one) isn't bad either, a nice Christmas film but i wouldn't say its brilliant. Bad Santa was better at second watch. Went to see Four Christmases recently, had some funny parts in it but certainly not a classic.