View Full Version : UCD v Galway Live
GalwayRed
10/11/2008, 9:32 PM
Yeah seems about right.....RTE choosing the English league over their national league. Its not a great attitude but ive come to expect it by now:mad: Still for what its worth the mns cameras will be there so the highlights will be on rte By the way UCD-Galway is the obvious choice for Fridays match because its got the most resting on it. And i wouldnt worry to much about the 20 something year old "diehard" man u fans looking for something to watch on TV. If they dont have an interest in the league theyre not going to watch it regardless of how big a crowd they see on the TV
Claret Murph
11/11/2008, 6:28 AM
I would have been happy if they would have shown any other game than UCD v UNITED as it would have ment even more would have travelled up to Dublin on Friday :)
11/11/2008, 11:12 AM
So now the ****hole known as the Belfield Bowl will be exposed to the rest of Ireland!
thats just great,good choice for promoting the league
Cos the Bray tent with 300 people in it did wonders. :rolleyes:
finnpark
11/11/2008, 11:22 AM
Where is the live TV thread gone?
United are live on TV again - it was the choice of us or Bohs v Cork but RTE said there were too many complaints with the quality of Bohs football when previously shown on the box.
Well it should be pretty one sided as UCD have nothing to play for and are rubbish plus it is not a good venue to show a live match from. In saying that I think that the other matches mean little, I doubt that Harps will beat Rivers, 1-1 I reckon so RTE had little choice but to show the team that is going to celebrate the most.
Tir Oilean
11/11/2008, 1:08 PM
Half this league's fans have their heads so far up their own hole they could perform a tonsilectomy with their teeth.
Excellent quote John83
Half this league's fans have their heads so far up their own hole they could perform a tonsilectomy with their teeth.
very generous there.
11/11/2008, 1:29 PM
I don't agree, this is a massive game for Galway and Harps too. Bohs are not exactly packing the place, ask the Derry fans about that. Cork pushing for europe will not have a massive away support imo.
Galway should have at least 500 there, poor form if not. 500 travelling fans will make for a great atmosphere.
The way numbers are going at the moment we'll have anything up to a 1000 fans there.I would think 700-800 will be the likely figure.Still there's a huge interest in the game here in Galway.4/5 buses going so far,hundreds driving,some flying and getting the train with others coming from England.
11/11/2008, 1:45 PM
The way numbers are going at the moment we'll have anything up to a 1000 fans there.I would think 700-800 will be the likely figure.Still there's a huge interest in the game here in Galway.4/5 buses going so far,hundreds driving,some flying and getting the train with others coming from England.
fair play to Galway if there is. There should be at least 20,000 at The Showgies Fri night, maybe 25,000. ;)
Finlay Harp
11/11/2008, 4:30 PM
You will do well to bring 500 to the game.
11/11/2008, 4:57 PM
You will do well to bring 500 to the game.
Think you should be more concerned about getting 500 to Finn Park rather than what we bring to Dublin.
FYI we will have minimum 500 there.
11/11/2008, 5:02 PM
Think you should be more concerned about getting 500 to Finn Park rather than what we bring to Dublin.
In fairness Conor, United only had about 20 at the Pats game,even if it was a Tuesday night. You might bring 500, but i dont see ye bringing 1000.
11/11/2008, 5:21 PM
In fairness Conor, United only had about 20 at the Pats game,even if it was a Tuesday night. You might bring 500, but i dont see ye bringing 1000.
I did say i think 700/800 would be more reasonable/attainable.
The Pats game was on a Monday night.We were hardly going to bring many to that,like must clubs in the LOI.
500+ away fans from any club is an excellent away support.
adamd164
11/11/2008, 8:12 PM
I'd be far from certain that Cork will get a premier league license next year
You must have more info than Alan Mathews anyway, cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.
11/11/2008, 8:18 PM
cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.Unlucky!
adamd164
11/11/2008, 8:20 PM
Unlucky!
Why's that? Won us the setanta cup with a bunch of kids. Would be ahead of Derry in the league if not for our points deduction and yet the sun shines out of Stephen Kenny's arse.:rolleyes:
11/11/2008, 9:10 PM
question for you conorh though where did all the support come from all of a sudden??:confused:
exiled_gufc_fan
11/11/2008, 9:22 PM
question for you conorh though where did all the support come from all of a sudden??:confused:
On top of United's core support of prob between 500 and 600 there would be a large section of the Galway sporting public that are open to coming along to games. Some of these face a difficult choice when both Galway United and Connacht Rugby kick off almost simultaneously less than a mile apart on a number of Friday nights during the season - something which does neither club any favours.
United's football since Kenna took over has (re-)won a lot of admirers, especially those that were disillusioned with the football played under Cousins. And this message has been reinforced by a positive local media and the tv coverage.
A moderately successful United team would pull in very respectable crowds - indeed we have seen it in the past.
But this weeks away support will be borne a combination of three things:
1. That this is one of United's most important game since the 1991 Cup Final;
2. The relatively good run of results recently that has generated huge optimism that we can stay up;
3. Huge goodwill towards the club in the City and County.
11/11/2008, 9:22 PM
The support has always been there.We've averaged 1300 this season while occupying 12th place for the majority of it.Last year we averaged about 2100 or something like that iirc.
The reason behind the huge away support travelling is simple.It's a MUST win game.
Add into that the excellent football they've been playing,the atmosphere at Terryland in recent months and Kenna is proving a big hit down here aswell.
shantykelly
11/11/2008, 10:08 PM
You must have more info than Alan Mathews anyway, cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.
well, its probably more stable than the bank at the minute ;)
can't see there being a problem with cork getting a licence next year, sure they've already been punished for entering examinership, and yes, i realise the fai can and will implement more of a punishment, but then they will have set a precedent, and would have to do the same to drogs.
Finlay Harp
11/11/2008, 10:53 PM
I can assure you there will be substantially more than 500 at Finn Park on Friday night. I look forward to MNS on Monday to view your massive support.
maroon ultra
11/11/2008, 10:59 PM
Just in case you miss mondays show, you can also view our massive support on rte.ie.
Tir Oilean
12/11/2008, 8:57 AM
Its unusual for us to bring anything more than 20-30 to an away match on the bus but you'll always find there are 50 more that go by car. The big bonus this year is Kenna. Our exact average as on our own forum is 1412 this season. Our Hardcore I would put at around 6/700. The extras for this game and the Sligo game are mostly hangers on that have seen the buzz in Terryland and want to take part. The thing is though we must try and maintain status is the Premier on Friday night and then secue Jeff for next season in order to keep these new supporters otherwise we'll be back to gates of 900.
WoodquayBoy
12/11/2008, 9:05 AM
fair play to Galway if there is. There should be at least 20,000 at The Showgies Fri night, maybe 25,000. ;)
What, blades of grass?
I love it when peole don't get jokes, and post something jokey in reply to it.
12/11/2008, 9:49 AM
What, blades of grass?
Its more blades of grass than is on Finn Parks playing surface at the minute. :o
Just found this song Galway fans are planning to put onto their next DVD about their support. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oIxlyDtCuU
WoodquayBoy
12/11/2008, 10:38 AM
I love it when peole don't get jokes, and post something jokey in reply to it.
And I love it when someone gets a joke, posts a smart-alec comment in reply to continue the provincial rivalry love-in, and some other guy doesn't realise and posts something like the quote above
12/11/2008, 10:47 AM
That was you trying to be smart alec? jaysus....
12/11/2008, 10:52 AM
And I love it when someone gets to continue the provincial love-in
:eek: Im shocked truely shocked. :eek:
12/11/2008, 10:54 AM
And I love it when someone gets a joke, posts a smart-alec comment in reply to continue the provincial rivalry love-in, and some other guy doesn't realise and posts something like the quote above
Don't worry WQB - Dodge doesn't get sarcasm....
12/11/2008, 11:02 AM
LOL, the irnoing is delicioius
HarpoJoyce
12/11/2008, 11:07 AM
I have to say I'm more than a bit dissapointed that we are breaking our duck and a home league match will be televised live. How close can you get!
It's being several seasons now since we went a whole season without a live game involving UCD broadcast on the tele.
It was bad enough in the days during our Sunday afternoon Premier Division games (1995 +) when RTE used to record our matches and show 20 - 30 mins of highlights most forthnights. Now we'll have the 90 mins plus the MNS again on the Monday.
12/11/2008, 12:09 PM
provincial rivalry love-in
is that some kind of a TV show?:eek:
12/11/2008, 12:37 PM
Right choice.
Game matters more and could very well have a crowd around the same size as ours if Galway bring over 500.
Cant imagine most Bohs fans bothering coming out with nothing to play for and a cup final coming up. Even if we get a decent awy attendance for us its not gonna be more than about 200.
12/11/2008, 12:39 PM
Cant imagine most Bohs fans bothering coming out with nothing to play for and a cup final coming up.It's still a Bohs game? Why wouldn't they go and watch it:confused:.
12/11/2008, 12:45 PM
It's still a Bohs game? Why wouldn't they go and watch it:confused:.
Have a look at their last attendance and come back to me....
EVERY club has a smaller crowd when there's nothing to play for
Hibs4Ever
12/11/2008, 12:47 PM
Right choice.
Agree, am looking forward to watching it
WoodquayBoy
12/11/2008, 1:33 PM
is that some kind of a TV show?:eek:
Yeah, its on the City Channel
12/11/2008, 1:52 PM
Yeah, its on the City Channel
oh, well we wouldnt get that, were not a city ;)
we have a great football team though:)
Rovers Maniac
12/11/2008, 1:59 PM
Galway game is the right game lads, have to laugh at those suggesting the Bohs v Cork game, Bohs have little to play bar that they want to keep the winning vibe going before the cup final and some of their players will be playing for contracts, and most of the Cork won't be arsed about it as they won't be with Cork next season as well as the UEFA licence question still in some doubt.
and most of the Cork won't be arsed about it as they won't be with Cork next season as well as the UEFA licence question still in some doubt.
Strange....theyve been arsed about every other game since we entered examinership. In fact they seemed more 'arsed' than they did at the start of the season in some cases.
Our players will be well up for it, whether we have the quality is certainly debatable but motivation and effort is not imo
whether we have the quality is certainly debatable but motivation and effort is not imoI'd be happy enough about most areas bar up front, The Dud & The Pity are impotent.
Rovers Maniac
12/11/2008, 2:56 PM
Strange....theyve been arsed about every other game since we entered examinership. In fact they seemed more 'arsed' than they did at the start of the season in some cases.
Our players will be well up for it, whether we have the quality is certainly debatable but motivation and effort is not imo
Knew you would bite Micls :) although i was hoping A Face would be floating around as well :p
12/11/2008, 8:08 PM
Have a look at their last attendance and come back to me....
EVERY club has a smaller crowd when there's nothing to play forYou said most Bohs fans won't be bothered...I'd be fairly sure most Bohs fans will be there, just not as many as normal...although in my opinion, the ones who "can't be bothered" are not fans in the first place.
13/11/2008, 11:20 AM
Given only 200 Bohs fans travelled to Belfield recently (admittedly on Hallowe'en night), I think it's fair to suggest the travelling crowd will be well down on normal.
So UCD fans- you reckon there's any chance you guys will get a result?
13/11/2008, 11:23 AM
Nope.
Though we always up our game on telly in fairness. Maybe if we throw in a few of the A Team from Tuesday night, we might get somewhere (seriously).
13/11/2008, 11:24 AM
You said most Bohs fans won't be bothered...I'd be fairly sure most Bohs fans will be there, just not as many as normal...
It depends how many fans you consi8der them to have. If you compare it to when we played them earlier in the year I think Im right in saying 'most' of them wont be there. Same with the amount that will go to the cup final
13/11/2008, 2:41 PM
You said most Bohs fans won't be bothered...I'd be fairly sure most Bohs fans will be there, just not as many as normal...although in my opinion, the ones who "can't be bothered" are not fans in the first place.
Actually - there might be a few more there than normal tomorrow night - as it's one of the first nights the club will be selling tickets for the Cup Final
There are now 6 full coaches confirmed for tomorrows match in Belfield, 3 through the GUST, 1 from Terryland (all volunteers from the club), 1 from The Bish secondary school and 1 from Athenry. A second bus from Athenry might yet be run depending on how many more names come in over night.
Add this onto people driving and the Dublin based supporters, I believe we will easily surpass the 500 anyway?
13/11/2008, 6:50 PM
1 from The Bish secondary school
Hardcore. :D
This fan gloating is all getting a bit silly gentlemen.