20/10/2003, 6:51 PM
city lineout
as normal
conor o grady in the stand watching

20/10/2003, 7:00 PM
same starting lineup as drogs on friday
k murray in midfield on Osam (bless him:))

crowd circa 2,500 ish
50 odd city fans

so far "the games like watching a rugby match"

0-0

19mins gone Shels 1 Waaaterford 0
jamie harris with a cheeky roll of the ball under dan o connor when played through in the box

20/10/2003, 7:37 PM
HT 0 - 0

City playing well was what the text I got said.
I'd say we can do a "Pats" a snatch this one...

20/10/2003, 7:39 PM
0-0 HT
"zzzz some handbags between coughlan and bird. maybe these teams should not be allowed play each other?"

lol

HT Shels 2 waterford 0
harris 14min
wes hoolihan38mins

roddy collins in attendance at tolka

20/10/2003, 7:44 PM
Ireland - Premier Division
20:43 October 20

HT Shelbourne 2 - 0 Waterford U.

HT St. Patricks 0 - 0 Cork City

Even Stephen so far !!

20/10/2003, 7:52 PM
Still no change ..... still half time :D

20/10/2003, 8:02 PM
1-0 city
"hoggie header great move, derek long ball, doyle george kearney and colin t cross"

magic ..
cheers pete for txt :)

20/10/2003, 8:04 PM
Horgan

Nice one.

Shelbourne 25 13 9 3 36 19 17 48
Bohemians 24 12 7 5 42 29 13 43
Cork City 27 10 11 6 37 25 12 41
St Patrick's Ath 25 8 12 5 35 29 6 36
Waterford Utd 27 9 9 9 35 47 -12 36
Longford Town 26 8 10 8 38 35 3 34
Shamrock Rov 25 9 7 9 30 27 3 34
Drogheda Utd 26 6 7 13 25 38 -13 25
Derry City 25 4 11 10 25 38 -13 23
UCD 27 4 8 15 18 34 -16 20

SSS
20/10/2003, 8:06 PM
Backs to the wall now lads!

20/10/2003, 8:07 PM
We should be hammering smalltime outfits like this. Come on City... put them right for once.

SSS
20/10/2003, 8:14 PM
We are now 2-0 George!

20/10/2003, 8:14 PM
2-0 city :D :)

doyle skins right back, crosses at pace for GOC to place ball in the net

all city v SPA threads and updates merged into 1 thread

20/10/2003, 8:16 PM
Georgio.

20/10/2003, 8:25 PM
merged AGAIN

20/10/2003, 8:34 PM
Just over I think.

Good result.

20/10/2003, 8:36 PM
2-0 fulltime
fair play city

up the REBEL ARMY :)

20/10/2003, 8:42 PM
wow posts in this thread dissapearing all of a sudden?

20/10/2003, 8:44 PM
massive result

when is the last time we actually beat one of the"big" dublin four away..............apart from rovers in the cross:D

Counting Crow
20/10/2003, 8:44 PM
Neil..........that has got to be the understatement of the year.........."good result" ........ it was a massive result.

There is now distance between us and SPA and I think after the Cup Final I can see them cracking altogether.

Plus Waterford were hammered again so that's them out of it.

Ironic that "The Homeless" are now our only real threat - should make for a spicy game @ the Cross in November.

Delighted for Dolan in particular.

Oh and we can cheer on Longford now on Sunday.

20/10/2003, 8:45 PM
apparently according to someone over on citynet there was a cork city fan thrown out of the ground
no updates on why ?

yur man
20/10/2003, 8:47 PM
Originally posted by Counting Crow

and ucd tomorow :)

Ali-G
20/10/2003, 8:56 PM
great result lads. Delighted to hear Hoggie get his annual goal. Are we now 7 matches unbeaten since Flynny got injured? If so, dare I say it....
Flynny out.

dermo
20/10/2003, 9:11 PM
great result, has to be sweet for pat, fresh air now between us spa & waaaaaaaerford. nicce

Eric
20/10/2003, 9:56 PM
A truely well deserved victory tonight.

City were well on top for the whole game. City had the majority of possession in the first half but never really caused any major threats. Greg had a few long range efforts but nothing close. He had a great game in midfield and won a lot of possession.

Second half City started to shine and some lovely play by both wingers and the two up front started to create some chances. Hoggie took his goal really well with a powerful header, although what he was doing coming from the left I'll never know!!!!

I thought Kearney had his best game so far for City and Georgie was outstanding once again. Overall a great team performance and just shows what can be done if we don't sit back after going in front.

As regards the City fan that was thrown out I thought it was a major over-reaction by the head steward. He came into the City fans moaning about abuse that was been thrown at some fella claiming to be Pats manager. When one City fan told him to ''**** Off out of the stand'' he was grabbed by the stewards and removed from the ground

ger121
20/10/2003, 11:24 PM
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh the dizzy heights of second. Enjoy it while it lasts. Coz you'll be back in toto land by tomorrow night;)

20/10/2003, 11:39 PM
Well done to the boys.
I've never seen City win at Richmond Park...maybe I'm the jinx!
Think I'll book them flights back for the Shels game now...

NorthoftheLee
21/10/2003, 8:39 AM
great performance by the lads.........first half was even enough..thought city were the better team tho.......second half City played some great footie............Top performers......George, Greg, Doyler and Kearney......saying that...no one played poorly........some of georgie's flicks were class.....he done a rivaldo type back foot flick over 2 pats players to doyle at one stage.......absolutley class...........doyler was ruled off twice for offside when he was one on one.no way was he........hoggies goal was class. great team goal..........georgies was good too.....pity that tv3 couldnt be botheres having a camera at the game............
one sour note tho.............st pats head steward waded in and started threatening a city fan with expulsion after they had gone 2-0 down.......all he was doing was giving eamonn collins some friendly encouragement ;).... another fan told him to fuc off etc..and was then surrounded by about 6 stewards and a couple of guards....completely over the top.....your man was escorted out of the ground......there was never any hint of aggro before that.......everyone was in good mood obv..with the scoreline the way ot was.........

21/10/2003, 9:13 AM
I’ll point it out again, Frontline do the security, its not the Pats head steward. And yeah they are tossers. (Mind you, the only fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans…)

Miles the better team, fully deserved your win. Our lot weren’t up for it in anyway. I though O’Callaghan was class for you. If Bird had’ve converted his two absolute sitters, it would have been very unfair on you

21/10/2003, 9:51 AM
Well happy with the win. Doyler was excellent. Georgie was just unreal, some of his flicks and turns were out of this world, I bet Brian Kerr was an interested spectator especially if he ever gets to pick a B squad.

Kearney had a very good game too.

Why is it the only ground in Dublin that we have trouble in is Pats. Everytime. Last night was a joke. A plain clothes steward came right into the City section to stop a fan mocking Who Are Ya. So another City fan, who though he was a Pats fan told him to f-off. Next thing he's thrown out. When we asked another steward who the plain clothes fella was he said he's the head steward. We asked him what his bosses name was, he said he didnt know :rolleyes:

You know if Bohs and Shels drew with each other twice and we won the rest of our games......:D

Ah well I can dream.

21/10/2003, 9:52 AM
great win indeed

NorthoftheLee
21/10/2003, 9:52 AM
ok the frontline head steward doing the stewarding at the Pats Home game was way over the top.........

it must be racism against us cork folk if we are the only ones being picked on.....:eek:

oh ya where the hell were the shed end invisibles last nite??? not one chant or song by the home support...thats was pretty poor.....

21/10/2003, 10:10 AM
Cup fever mate…

‘Twas the same v Bohs. Like the team, we didn’t really care last night (until you went two up and then we moaned a bit :) )

21/10/2003, 10:22 AM
When the offside was given against Doyle early in the second half I thought, 'Right, we're even now as Bird was robbed in the first half.' But then we had 3 more dreaful offside decisions given against us when we looked very dangerous on the break. Osam was a shadow of his former self. Greg won the midfield battle with some well timed, hard challenges, winning back possesion for us at important times. The ref did ok and deserves credit for recognising the dives. I think the guy who got thrown out should have kept out of the situation. Eanna was rightly being cautioned for abusive and obscene language towards players and Collins. It was all very silly really on a night that we've waited a long time for. Our support was great other than that.
Kevin Murray is not a natural midfield player.

NorthoftheLee
21/10/2003, 10:34 AM
Peader i think you should keep peoples names out of it.........they might not apreciate it............and the said steward mentioned nothing about abusive language towards the players.....

21/10/2003, 11:16 AM
Not only that but Pats fans we giving Dolan worse abuse than Who Are Ya got within earshot.

A plainclothes steward wading into a group of City fans was just stupid.

21/10/2003, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
Peader i think you should keep peoples names out of it.........

I make no apology for naming Eanna.
I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down. He hits the drum well and leads many songs/chants which is the kind of thing we should be recognised for. The guy who came into the stand was just having a word and it should have been left at that.
Away supporters are always going to get more attention from the stewards. Presumably because they're traditionally out numbered and it's usually for their own safety.

b_mcsweeney
21/10/2003, 11:50 AM
game wise, thought kearney had a good game and looked like (hopefully) the answer to the left sided problems. would be hard to pick out a man of the match, entire team played well (greg, doyle, colin t, georgie also well worthy of mention). i didn't think kevin murray contributed too much to the game mind, am as unconvinced as others of his suitability to be playing in midfield. the other thing is that if bird hadn't fluffed a one on one with devine it could all have been very different. still, after the turners cross game we lost to pats, i reckon we were due that bit of luck. first goal was the best team goal i've seen city score in a long while, beautifully worked. and then we worked the break well for the rest of the game. frost bite never felt so good.

on the steward thing, there was nothing being said that i haven't heard thousands of times before, from both city fans and other teams fans at the cross and on the road. seemed like we scored and in a fit of pique the steward felt the need to pick on somebody. even yer man who got hauled out after for having a go at the steward, i didn't think he said anything particularly untoward, given the circumstances. all in all, i thought they were very heavy handed about it, considering there was no hint of trouble before or after that (the stewards were way more het up than the pats fans themselves, thats for sure).

joe
21/10/2003, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by Dodge
(Mind you, the only fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans…)

i saw a pats fan ejected a couple of seasons back, or do you mean 'the only away fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans'

21/10/2003, 11:57 AM
ive no idea what this was all about , sounds OTT
but given the amount of gards around the city end from the start (ive never even seen that many for a rovers game) Im guessing here that the messing around in the last league game when CCFC fans got on the pitch and argued over a flag with gards brought OTT attention from stewards and gards

21/10/2003, 12:07 PM
Fully deserved win, thought Kearney was outstanding, found loads of space as usual, this time he saw more of the ball. Pat's missed the three boys out injured, and i think those that were playing definitely had one eye on the cup final.

Two well worked goals aswell. If bird had been sharper it could have been a completely different tale.

As for the steward thing (mountains...molehills), my take on it was that the lad that was thrown out jumped into a situation that wasn't his fight, he did act threatening with his OTT reaction. Having said that he probably thought (as i did initially) the 'head steward' was a drunken Pats fan about to have a go.

the 'Longford 'til Full time' chant was class, whoever started it :D

21/10/2003, 12:28 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down.

What a load of b0llocks!
How exactly is he or anyone else leaving the club down? Your at a football match, you should expect to hear plenty of obscenities being shouted at the opposition, who knows at times it may distract them! It shows pride and passion and is all part of the game.
I suppose you've never cursed at a football match Peadar?

21/10/2003, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down.

The whole club eh? Will, you ever go away and get one of thse things called a life. :rolleyes: .

massive result. I dont care that SPA have 2 games in hand, the way they are playing they wont be racking up any points anyway. Heres hoping we dont do the typical City thing and bloody lose our streak to UCD on friday.

Is this our best run of away form ever. 10 from the last twelve available points?

21/10/2003, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by joe
i saw a pats fan ejected a couple of seasons back, or do you mean 'the only away fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans'
Yeah, sorry, only away fans. A few local muppets have been turfed out too...

21/10/2003, 12:53 PM
Cup fever mate…

‘Twas the same v Bohs. Like the team, we didn’t really care last night (until you went two up and then we moaned a bit :) )
Jaysus, ye could set your watch by him....:rolleyes:
It's a wonder he didn't claim that they played their u-16 side......

21/10/2003, 1:00 PM
Last night an hour before kick off I sent GWA a text. I told him I thought you’d hammer us. We were missing the three lads that got injured in the Bohs game. If you were at the game, you’d know that the players weren’t up for it (and most of the lads here have posted the same) This isn't an excuse, its a condemnation of our players...

Read my earlier post, I’ve said your were EASILY the better team and thoroughly deserved your win.

Now **** off and stop ****ing commenting on every post I make…

21/10/2003, 1:08 PM
Last night an hour before kick off I sent GWA a text. I told him I thought you’d hammer us..............................
Now **** off and stop ****ing commenting on every post I make…
I'll just ignore the obsessed one's outburst and post whatever I like........
Off again Mr. Knowall, its a wonder you are not a millionaire from all the money you should win by knowing everything.........

21/10/2003, 1:10 PM
Its my own fault, I know better than this....:rolleyes:

BUT Of ****ing course I know what players are injured. Christ it was in every newspaper preview…

21/10/2003, 1:17 PM
Originally posted by Colm
How exactly is he or anyone else leaving the club down?

So you think it enhances the image of the club and its supporters?
Do you think that it is in some way providing a boost for your team? Shouting profanities at the opposition manager when you're 0-2 up is hardly going to provide the "12th man."
If you all have the attitude that it's ok to behave like this and it's an offence to be reprimanded by the security staff then you're going to continue to have people ejected from eL grounds and we're going to continue to see threads on this board about it.
If you're happy with that then perhaps there are many others who need to "get a life."

21/10/2003, 1:23 PM
Its my own fault, I know better than this....:rolleyes:

BUT Of ****ing course I know what players are injured. Christ it was in every newspaper preview…

What did I tell you, ObsessedBoy "knows better than this"......
He can read papers and tell the results from that...
David Blaine is only trotting after him
Yawwwwnnn

Shed End John
21/10/2003, 1:47 PM
Originally posted by Counting Crow
Neil..........that has got to be the understatement of the year.........."good result" ........ it was a massive result.

It was indeed. Especially seeing as we have a pretty sorry record at the Stadium of S***e. Cup Final should be an interesting game, hope Longford knock eight bells out of them!!