View Full Version : SPA 0 Cork City 2
Shed End John
21/10/2003, 1:53 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
So you think it enhances the image of the club and its supporters?
Do you think that it is in some way providing a boost for your team? Shouting profanities at the opposition manager when you're 0-2 up is hardly going to provide the "12th man."
Peadar you half-wit. Éanna is a personal friend of mine and one of the most passionate City fans that I, or anyone else, knows. Profanities are to be expected win, lose or draw or is it that you frequent the Derrynane road side where the only thing that's deafening is the silence??:mad: :mad:
I'm sure Eanna will appreciate your defence John.
As for the incident itself I think Pats were probably just being over cautious after the arguments last time round.
21/10/2003, 3:46 PM
Originally posted by Shed End John
Peadar you half-wit.
Do we need to re-open the Peter Pan Syndrome Debate again?
Because someone shouts profanities during a game doesn't make them any more passionate than someone with enough restraint to abstain.
I've already stated that Eanna is a shining example when it comes to leading the singing. This isn't a personal attack on him as he will know because he knows me long enough.
Surely the continuous singing and chanting would have bothered Collins much more given that the home "support" were so muted.
Verbal abuse is quite serious and without justification.
Some of the abuse is just in the nature of supporting a football team...you expect it.
I do agree with you Peadar though that some of it there is no justification for.
leesider
21/10/2003, 5:15 PM
thought we played very well and it was a good game to watch, everyone seem to play well with special mention going george (especially for those flicks, giles wouldn't be able to contain himself if he saw those on the premiershi*), greg (some excellent tackling), kearney (some fine crosses). K Murray was alright last night but he is not a midfielder, he seems to just sit in front of the centre halves. George also dropped a bit too deep at times, maybe that was the ploy, not too sure!! D Murray and Coughlan also looked good at the back especially Coughlan in the air but Pats got 1 or 2 chances and with nippier forwards I think they would have been tested a lot more. all in all is was an entertaining match and at last the Inchicore hoodoo is broken!!
22/10/2003, 8:34 AM
Originally posted by Berliner
Very low naming a name
It's clear that you're not one for names.
Hiding behind yet another alias.
Schunter Netz
22/10/2003, 10:04 AM
The notion that shouting filthy abuse at other people is somehow an acceptable part of watching football is very depressing and should really be seen as part of the overall sickness of violence within the game. It is something all sane people interested in footlball are anxious to stamp out, in the hope that one day, deep in the 21st century, we will be able to go to a football game, cheer our team and even leave the ground at the same time and by the same gates as the opposition fans. Its not part of GAA culture, it is essentially an English disease, which the anti-english league bunch among you should be a little more consciuous of.
[i]Its not part of GAA culture, it is essentially an English disease, which the anti-english league bunch among you should be a little more consciuous of. [/B]
gaa culture that ive seen is institutionalised filthy abuse, mainly of referees but not confined to them, that frequently degenerates into player/sideline supporter/mentooooor mass brawls
liams
22/10/2003, 10:38 AM
Its only a matter of time before someone gets the sxxxe beaten out of them in Dublin if they continue to sing obscenities at the Dubs.
It always amazes me why so much energy is put into abusing the Dubs when it would be much more beneficial to sing for the team.
22/10/2003, 10:46 AM
Originally posted by Schunter Netz
should really be seen as part of the overall sickness of violence within the game.
I don't think that any supporter of a football team can honetly say that they have never ever shouted abuse at a football match, especially when we are 'blessed' with the types of referees that our league is.
But to say that this is related to violence is rubbish.
I can honestly say that in going to City games over the last 15 years I have not witnessed violence of any kind and that includes Rovers away.
I reckon there is more violence in GAA , whether it be on or off the pitch. News of more and more beatings, mass brawls etc etc have certainly come to our attention in recent times.
And that only whats publicised.
NorthoftheLee
22/10/2003, 11:30 AM
Its only a matter of time before someone gets the sxxxe beaten out of them in Dublin if they continue to sing obscenities at the Dubs.
It always amazes me why so much energy is put into abusing the Dubs when it would be much more beneficial to sing for the team
is called football culture and traditions............opposing fans are supposed to take the mickey out of each other.......
22/10/2003, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by Peadar
Eanna was rightly being cautioned for abusive and obscene language towards players and Collins.
This coming from the fellow who hoit the roof when I named him on another thread?! You have some nerve! What Isaid to Eamonn Collins was entirely justified, and was nowhere near as bad as some of the songs that were sung before and after the incident, nowhere near as bad some of the things that were shouted by many other people, I could go on for ages. Get off the high horse Peadar- I seem to remember you have lovely things to say to David Connolly at the Australia game at Landsdowne- or would you rather I hid your name this time too? :rolleyes: MORON!
22/10/2003, 11:46 AM
as for the game, what a result and what a performance. Ignore the fact that Dodge is claiming Pats team was weakened, when will ye be at full strength? When Rivaldo signs is it?!:rolleyes: City played Pats off the park, Greg, George, Kearney, Doyler and Colin T all played excellent stuff. George was just taking the **** at the end. What a night? WHO THE **** IS EAMONN COLLINS :D
Originally posted by Éanna
as for the game, what a result and what a performance. Ignore the fact that Dodge is claiming Pats team was weakened, when will ye be at full strength? When Rivaldo signs is it?!:rolleyes: City played Pats off the park, Greg, George, Kearney, Doyler and Colin T all played excellent stuff. George was just taking the **** at the end. What a night? WHO THE **** IS EAMONN COLLINS :D
ffs eanna our injuries are well known
get ure head outta da examiner and read a dublin newspaper once in a while :rolleyes:
22/10/2003, 12:01 PM
according to the herald Osam was Doubtful for the match
fella
22/10/2003, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by wws
get ure head outta da examiner and read a dublin newspaper once in a while :rolleyes: :D
ha ha
22/10/2003, 12:04 PM
Originally posted by wws
get ure head outta da examiner and read a dublin newspaper once in a while :rolleyes:
I never read the examiner wws, its a rag. Your injuries were well known this time., I'm just tired of hearing it every time. We were missing players too, we just got on with it though
leesider
22/10/2003, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by wws
you can't get the herald in cork, all the other papers are supposed to be national....but I suppose like everything in Ireland national is Dublin!!!:rolleyes:
Originally posted by Éanna
I never read the examiner wws, its a rag. Your injuries were well known this time., I'm just tired of hearing it every time. We were missing players too, we just got on with it though
we DID get on with it
and LOST
no ones taking it away
dodge (the only pats poster to comment said yee were the better team and deserved it)
talk about chip on the shoulders when it comes to the big city club like pats
Pats were very poor on monday but for once City were able to take advantage of it. Pats might have difficulty picking it up for the Cup final on sunday.
Dunno if he injured or what but Osam had the the worst game i've ever seen him play.
Originally posted by wws
ffs :
A Realtive of yours wws????
22/10/2003, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by pete
Pats were very poor on monday but for once City were able to take advantage of it. Pats might have difficulty picking it up for the Cup final on sunday.
Dunno if he injured or what but Osam had the the worst game i've ever seen him play.
Don't think he was injured, just poor.
And Eanna... :rolleyes:
Originally posted by Dodge
Don't think he was injured, just poor.
And Eanna... :rolleyes:
I thought all Dubs were poor!!!
:p :rolleyes: :p
Lads this is getting silly as dodge said we deserved the win so lets leve it at that. We won the game.
Originally posted by Schunter Netz
it is essentially an English disease
That statement shows you know very little about what you are talking about.
English fans are very tame compared to their continental counterparts. Clearly you don't know much about football beyond Britain because then you would know that most continental fans are far more passionate, fanatical and in some cases violent than English club fans. As for club fans in South America, well lets not even go there!
As for the thing about GAA culture, whats that got to do with anything. We are part of the Irish football culture and are not connected in any way shape or form with the GAA.
23/10/2003, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by wws
we DID get on with it
and LOST
no ones taking it away
dodge (the only pats poster to comment said yee were the better team and deserved it)
talk about chip on the shoulders when it comes to the big city club like pats
big city club :D :D :D :D Jeeze I was being sarcastic- i thought the Rivaldo comment might have given you the hint:)
23/10/2003, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by Colm
That statement shows you know very little about what you are talking about.
English fans are very tame compared to their continental counterparts. Clearly you don't know much about football beyond Britain because then you would know that most continental fans are far more passionate, fanatical and in some cases violent than English club fans. As for club fans in South America, well lets not even go there!
As for the thing about GAA culture, whats that got to do with anything. We are part of the Irish football culture and are not connected in any way shape or form with the GAA.
well said. someone's obviously got a bee in their bonnet about the last traces of colonialism- hi dev :)
match v bray last season we won 3-2 in carsisle grounds with as far as i can remember the navy jersey on (the match with th amazing flynny flick that tv3 cameras missed :cool: )
gunthers rare away win that season
Originally posted by James
match v bray last season we won 3-2 in carsisle grounds with as far as i can remember the navy jersey on (the match with th amazing flynny flick that tv3 cameras missed :cool: )
I hate to point this out to you, but
THE NAVY JERSEY ONLY CAME OUT THIS SEASON.
It was first worn in May of this year.
I thought u would have known that! Afterall, everyone else did.
:p :rolleyes: :p
Originally posted by James
We were wearing our away jersey in that game but at that time our away jersey was red i.e. the old home jersey.
Speaking of that game, it was one year ago this weekend. Fast year, eh?
memory must be getting worse with old age
thanks for that gary and colm
it was of course the red jersey against bray