kirbs
vinny
murphy
prunty/keogh
lavine
barrett
subs
francis byrne murphy(adrian) silke dempsey
That's way of the mark, if you ask me...
digger
dillon
barry
brian
gartland
kirbs
Keogh
murphy/Sheridan
prunty
francis
barrett
subs
dempsey, Brian Byrne, Vinny, Murphy/Sheridan,Lavine
mine:
digger
murph
fergie
mcgovern
gartland
kirbs
vinny
keogh
bryne
francis
barrett
subs:
lavine
pruny
sherdian
murphy
silke
21/10/2003, 11:26 AM
prunty will not play, his father told me he has a virus and will not be fit to play as he will not have trained all week, i hope it isn't so as he is playing the best football of his life.
mine
digger
dillon
mcgovern
ferguson
murphy
byrne
perth
keogh
kirby
barrett
lavine
thats what i think, eric should drop back to collect and feed to barrett and vinny should hold the middle, tackleing is his thing after all
Why are ye persisting with our top scorer starting on the bench? It's a mad notion...
I hear prunty will be in contention and I believe my source... Sheridan, Brian Byrne, Kirby and Prunty should play a part in trying to prove their fitness tonight... I believe that Prunty and Byrne would be great additions to the cup final squad, I also don't thnik Murph should start at RB because he is suspect in the air... Dillon, Gartland, Ferguson and McGovern should be in to counter SPA...
St Patrick's Athletic are still waiting on news regarding the condition of Ugandan international Charles Mbabazi Livingstone who is continuing to undergo tests at
St James' Hospital after leaving the pitch during Friday's league game against Bohemians with severe chest pains. Keith Fahey, meanwhile, will have an X-ray on his foot today after the injury he picked up in the same game continued to cause him considerable pain yesterday despite the fact that the swelling had gone down considerably.
Longford manager Alan Matthews has problems of his own although he is still hopeful that Alan Kirby, Darragh Sheridan (both ankle) and Seán Prunty (flu) might yet be available for Sunday's FAI Cup final at Lansdowne Road.
"What I'd be looking for, though, is they play some part against Derry (tonight)," he said yesterday. "I'm not saying they absolutely have to play to have any chance of playing (in the final) but it would be a lot to ask any of them to play in a cup final without playing for three weeks so I would certainly like them to."
IRISH TIMES
Btw How people still don't rate Francis is beyond me - look at the scoring charts FFS.....
I'd go for pretty much the same team as Xlex, except the nearest I'd have Sheridan to the pitch is the spanish arch.....
21/10/2003, 2:13 PM
well macy i just think sean is better coming off the bench, i do rate him but i think eric will supply barrett with a better supply of quality ball.
he's our top scorer... WTF, off the bench...
lads after tonight we would be better ourselves like!
Originally posted by Maz
lads after tonight we would be better ourselves like!
Now is not exactly the time for negativity...
We were on our fourth campaign, never lost to derry... Derry haven't won since the start of June.... it was only a matter of time and for Derry, this win was a must, whilst we had one eye on the cup final....
Enda M
22/10/2003, 5:11 PM
same with me lads. imo lavine cannot be left on the bench.he is absolutley top class.he runs for everything his distribution last night was top class and he nearly scored two brilliant individual goals.francis wud be an excellent sub to bring on as wud barrett and lavine but imo it has to barrett for his pace and lavine fopr the headers for his wiorkrate and his effort.francis is a deadly finisher but lads letsface it unless you play lavine behind the front two one of them has to be on the bench and i think that its between lavine and sean cos barrett has cemented his place
barrett amnd lavine definetely for me to start though!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by Enda M
he nearly scored
That sums it up - he doesn't score enough goals...... Francis to start as he's the only player we have who has consistently scored goals this season....
23/10/2003, 9:33 AM
Macy are you saying just because Eric doesn't score enough goals he is a Heskey, wash your mouth out right now !!!
but then again you and Xlex are always right aren't yee
Originally posted by max power
but then again you and Xlex are always right aren't yee
Then again you and EndaM are using some unheard of algorithm which sounds like sh!t and smells of roses...
We on the other hand are looking at a sound goals record which has helped us to achieve a great deal this season... I would like to have Eric in the Cup final side but the reality is that three into two doesn't go, and we can't reinvent the wheel for this one... Francis came to Longford to help us to Europe and Alan's good judgement will realise that...
23/10/2003, 9:47 AM
i mean no matter waht others post you shoot it down, cause your always right and you who knows everything, who are wearing the home gear on sunday and what is the chance if rain on Nov 17th !!!!
i'm a bigger fan of Eric than Sean and thats what i think, his work rate is more and he works better with Barrett, sorry Xlex but not everym one agrees with you all the time
I've got 13 or 14 reasons to choose one over the other, what have you got? an opinion, granted, but the objectivity of your explaination is what? your shooting me down with nothing but "i'm a bigger fan of Eric than Sean ".
your a fool, who's arguing for the sake of it... At the end of the day, these players in Red and Black are going to burst a gut to win this game...
Reason why Francis should be ahead of Lavine....
LTFC Scoring Chart
Sean Francis 9 3 1 1 14
Shane Barrett 5 3 0 0 8
Alan Kirby 3 1 1 1 6
Barry Ferguson 4 0 0 0 4
Eric Lavine 4 0 0 0 4
23/10/2003, 10:39 AM
the tread is team for the final .
1. i rate Eric more than Sean
2. Erics work rate is better
3.He can Supply the ball better to Barrett
4.He is better at holding the ball and laying it off
5. Sean is better coming off the bench
there are five reasons, and you don't have to be a fool to see them , i'm not the only one who thinks this, so get off your high horse and see that you are not always right and that other peoples thoughts are as valid as yours, the final is a one off game and who knows who will start, but my team would include Lavine from the start, if you don't like it who cares, jusrt don't call someone a fool just because they don't agree with every little thiing you say.
every week on these boards you have a go at someome just because they don'e agree with you, cop on and see that ohters can be and are in the right some time. nuf said
just seams that I disagree with you. Goals win games. Barrett can supply as well as score and despite his tremendous season, Shane Barrett is not our main goal threat, his assists have been brilliant and if he sticks as much quality into the dangerous 6 yard area 9/10 times I know who I'd prefer to be on the end of it... It's a pity we're having this arguement...
I'd reckon alot depends on the game we're going to play but I'm not into this gettng the ball forward as quickly as possible because no matter who plays at CB for Pat's they'll clean up. The only way we're going to win this game is if we play football, get it wide and get the crosses in... Ball in low towards Barrett and supporting Kirby... If we play football we'll get quality into the box, an area I fancy Francis to excell... If we play the ball up long and quick, I'd go for Lavine... I have, however a feeling that Lavine may start due to Pat's prowess from set pieces, and thus the stronger in the air would be an advantage, but I'm sticking my neck out here for Francis as I realise that he has put in a huge effort to work hard on his game when he's been sidelined and to his credit he has a great goal ratio...
I agree with alot of what you say but perhaps you and I (and Macy) will never agree with much more...
23/10/2003, 1:58 PM
don't think we shall ever agree, but sure its a bit of craic to shorten the work day
Originally posted by max power
don't think we shall ever agree, but sure its a bit of craic to shorten the work day
it would be a sad day... agree? ;)
23/10/2003, 2:18 PM
well if we win on sunday, i think you will agree that we both shall have serious hangovers on monday
Enda M
23/10/2003, 6:18 PM
i agree with max xlex there is no point in calling us fools just cos we think lavine is better than francis.we have our opinion you have yours so lets leave it that.at the end of thge day we are all supporting the one team and i started the thread to see all of your opinions.
town for cup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
enjoy the day lads and here is hoping we get it right and bring the cup home....lavine barrett or francis who reallyt cares thell all gve 100% and are all dangerous in their own way
24/10/2003, 11:01 AM
from the offical fai web site :
Longford Town have confirmed that midfielder Darragh Sheridan has recovered from an ankle injury and will be on the bench on Sunday.
whats the thoughts on this ???
Originally posted by Enda M
i agree with max xlex there is no point in calling us fools just cos we think lavine is better than francis.we have our opinion you have yours so lets leave it that.at the end of thge day we are all supporting the one team and i started the thread to see all of your opinions.
town for cup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
enjoy the day lads and here is hoping we get it right and bring the cup home....lavine barrett or francis who reallyt cares thell all gve 100% and are all dangerous in their own way
your all fools to us lads, they're both crap