PDA

View Full Version : Closure of Official Forum

Countyman
20/10/2003, 10:33 AM
Well they have gone and done it.
The board has closed the forum on the official site.

So its clear County fans are not allowed express their opinions on how our club is run or should I say they ARE allowed once it follows the official club line.

A sad day for football fans in kildare and for those who value their right to freedom of expression.

Well they cant stop us here.

driver
20/10/2003, 12:13 PM
sorry, but who do you follow, a football team or a website provider.. Now I'm not doubting your support, but why should Kildare County be obliged to provide a fourm? Do they not have the right to close it, especially since someone posted some very possibly liablious (spell?) stuff on it, for which the club could be potentially legally responsibe for since it was on their site.
Being a former website owner I have some knowledge into how fourms are run and the potential legal problems if you have unmoderated Fourms. If you feel that they closed down the site purely because they did not like what they heard then by all means start a site your self and leave yourself open to such problems.
If I remember the post in question started with, "I was talking to Pat at the last match, and he will probably kill me for saying it but....", this cannot be condoned no matter what. Any posts of this sort are not for internet fourms, they are for the courts.
I am not happy with the fourm being closed, it was a great feature and service, but I do not blame the club for removing it when it was abused in such a way.
lets get back to the football.

Estar
20/10/2003, 12:34 PM
It's not all doom and gloom, it's to reopen soon. But the flaming that went on was in poor taste IMO.

" It is the intention of KCFC to reopen the Forum as soon as possible. New registration requirements will be put in place in an effort to ensure that true fans have an oppertunity to have their say on Kildare Football".

Countyman