View Full Version : GUFC v Harps

Maroon 7
03/11/2008, 3:32 PM
Might as well kick this one off.

Huge huge game next Friday. Having seen Harps at Terryland earlier in the season I think we'll score one maybe two anyway. Harps looked shambolic at the back that night but somehow got away with a point. Question is though can we keep them out at our end at the same time?

WoodquayBoy
03/11/2008, 3:44 PM
I have a horrible horrible feeling the occasion will get to us, we'll lose on Friday, and it will be ball burst, game over. We were on a great run but the wheels have come off lately, and Harps have a decent record in Terryland. Hope I'm wrong, but . . .
Anyway, think we need to win as they have Shams at home on the last day and you have to fancy them to win that, so we need 3 points on Friday

03/11/2008, 3:45 PM
Its down to how much Jeff and the players want it. The hunger that had been evident in the last couple of months wasnt there on Sunday and we have to be up for this game there is no room for excuses anymore .

My heart says we will win my head is in a tizzy. The other missing piece of the equation on Sunday was vocal support and if we do not get in excess of 3,000 at this game we might as well pack the tent lads.

sligored
03/11/2008, 3:48 PM
please god i hope cobh get relegated. cant see them getting past 29 points and that wont be enough. hopefully whoever wins friday night should be safe.
my head says that galway will pull through. i could handle harps saying up but galway offer more to the league.

Mr Maroon
03/11/2008, 3:54 PM
please god i hope cobh get relegated. cant see them getting past 29 points and that wont be enough. hopefully whoever wins friday night should be safe.
my head says that galway will pull through. i could handle harps saying up but galway offer more to the league.
If Harps win they are safe full stop.

SalvadorSanchez
03/11/2008, 5:07 PM
I see six points coming up on the horizon!
I think that harps will try to play it cagey and stop us playing and winning the game, which is a bit risky for them, I see us getting a goal and then forcing them to attack.. nightmare scenario is an early harps goal! they'll go to something like 6-3-1 if they score early.
If JK plays Glynn he'll give us a great quick option if Harps are forced to attack there'll be gaps... and if Cobh lose then we just have to get over UCD away, which isn't a great way to finish but I think we have enough to grind out a 1-0 or 2-1 in Belfield.

anyway........ arbitration awaits...

eamo1
03/11/2008, 10:21 PM
We have an awfull recent record against Harps in Terryland.Every time we should win we end up scraping a draw against them.Our bad run lately is only 2 games against Derry who are probably our bogey team anyway.I want Jeff to play the same system that he ahd been doing when we had a full team.Thats the usual back four,Foley and Lester on front of the back four with an attacking 4 of Russell,Keane,O'Shea,Faherty.Harps will probably say thye are not coming down to just "park the bus" but id be very surprised if they start with 2 up front.Im so nervous about this game.Im bringing someone to it whos never been at a Galway Utd before so heres hoping they are good luck:).

Claret Murph
04/11/2008, 6:18 AM
Like everyone else I have a bad feeling about this one as I just know Parkhurst will score . I do see loads of goals so I would say 2-2 or even 3-3 would not shock me , but we all know if we don't win it's near the end of the line . Hope I am wrong again .

sligored
04/11/2008, 8:43 AM
If Harps win they are safe full stop.

not if cobh win their last two games (unlikely but possible) and harps fail to beat shams. full stop removed maroon.

Harpsman08
04/11/2008, 3:35 PM
but galway offer more to the league.

I keep hearing this and im wondering what exactly is it Galway have to offer? the wet wet west? touch wood and all that but i only see one result on friday,cant wait ta get 2 terryland 4 the last time until 2010?lol

Maroon 7
04/11/2008, 4:08 PM
touch wood and all that but i only see one result on friday

No need to throw in the towel already. I'm sure Harps have a decent chance.

Mr Maroon
04/11/2008, 4:28 PM
not if cobh win their last two games (unlikely but possible) and harps fail to beat shams. full stop removed maroon.
I hadn't realised that. You're right. My apologies.

Harpsman08
05/11/2008, 11:15 AM
No need to throw in the towel already. I'm sure Harps have a decent chance.

lol.....lets hope ur still making jokes come half 9ish friday, cause il be smiling! :D

Hopefuli!!!!:confused:

Claret Murph
05/11/2008, 12:04 PM
lol.....lets hope ur still making jokes come half 9ish friday, cause il be smiling! :D

Hopefuli!!!!:confused:

So Harpsman08 you promise to come back on here after the game to see if you are still smiling ;)

Tir Oilean
05/11/2008, 8:58 PM
cant wait ta get 2 terryland 4 the last time until 2010?lol

You're pretty sure your going to be relegated arent you!

Mr Maroon
05/11/2008, 9:07 PM
cant wait ta get 2 terryland 4 the last time until 2010?lol
Ah don't get too down. You might get a chance to come on a giant killing mission in the cup while you're in the First Division.

Harpsman08
06/11/2008, 9:46 AM
So Harpsman08 you promise to come back on here after the game to see if you are still smiling ;)

Claret Murph.....were and when? Il b smiling!!! Going dwn early tamara and staying till sunday! :D

Giants in galway?:confused: I knew use boys in gaillimh wernt vry bright but i didnt know use were so disillusioned. Its the eircom league of ireland,im pretty sure theres no giants in it, seeing as most of the teams find it diffulcult to pay there players wages!!!

Claret Murph
06/11/2008, 2:35 PM
Claret Murph.....were and when? Il b smiling!!! Going dwn early tamara and staying till sunday! :D

Giants in galway?:confused: I knew use boys in gaillimh wernt vry bright but i didnt know use were so disillusioned. Its the eircom league of ireland,im pretty sure theres no giants in it, seeing as most of the teams find it diffulcult to pay there players wages!!!

kEEP DIGGING BOY KEEP DIGGING ..........

gilberto_eire
06/11/2008, 7:15 PM

If your going to make assumptions about Galway people being stupid then maybe you shouldn't write your sentences like a 10 year old child.... What is it your trying to say we USE!!

Terry-Lander
07/11/2008, 7:18 AM
[quote=Harpsman08;1053347]Claret Murph.....were and when? Il b smiling!!! Going dwn early tamara and staying till sunday! :D

Giants in galway?:confused:I knew use boys in gaillimh wernt vry bright but i didnt know use were so disillusioned.

Huked n fonix werked fer u

eamo1
07/11/2008, 12:53 PM
Havent been this nervous for a home game since the Play off final first leg vrs Drogs a few years ago.I know we had cup semi's this year but THE LEAGUE MATTERS MOST in my opinion and its why im more nervous now.
C'MON UTD.

wonder88
07/11/2008, 9:19 PM
3-0 McCullogh, Murphy and Lester free kick in injury time. In our own hands now going into the last game of the season, which everyone would have taken at the end of august after the game against Cobh. I have said it before but jeff has done a great job, he is a proper manager unlike the clown we had before. Again the fans played their part which the have all through the recovery. I left the new stand at half-time to saviour the atmosphere in the old stand and to change our luck, success on both counts. If we stay up it will be some achievement, but still a lot of work to be done.

eamo1
07/11/2008, 9:36 PM
Class,the new stand was buzzing at the end of the game.I had no reason to be so nervous before hand,we dominated the midfield but are lacking up front but we all knew that anyway.WHY WAS MURPHY PLAYING AND NOT RUSSELL??Murph chipped in with a nice goal though so its ok.A friend told me that apparently the guys in RTE thought we were excellent etc etc.
In our own hands now and should put a poor UCD side away next Friday but wont be easy.
WE ARE STAYING UP SAY WE ARE STAYING UP:).

geezer
07/11/2008, 10:04 PM
Jeff is a miracle worker, great performance, clean sheet and in front of cameras and a fine vocal home crowd. We played that ball around the pitch at times really well. Not good having such a crowd and no match programme or lotto tickets for sale? (whats goin on there) they should have left them activities for the fans. the club must have foregone 2grand on programme sales tonight.

it was a brilliant night though and shows the league is worse off without a club from galway

Patrick Dunne
07/11/2008, 11:02 PM
GUST were selling Lotto tickets tonight in the new stand (before the match and half-time) and in the old stand (half-time).

157 Lotto tickets were either sold or returned by sellers at Terryland tonight.
Thanks to those who make the effort on a weekly basis to help out.

gufcfan
07/11/2008, 11:26 PM
lotto tickets for sale? (whats goin on there)

We set up our stand inside the turnstile, but closer to kick-off, the rain started to come down. While we would be perfectly happy to stay in the rain, very few people ever stop to buy tickets in it. The best thing to do in this situation is to retreat to the stand and sell them where people are much more likely to want to buy. There were lotto sellers going up and down the aisles of the new stand before kick-off and at half-time as always.

Patrick Dunne
07/11/2008, 11:35 PM
You can't sell Lotto tickets in the rain, the tickets get wet and the biros won't work. There were three people selling tickets in the new stand - gufcfan, myself, and Billy Glynn.

geezer
07/11/2008, 11:38 PM
at half time i was up havin prawn sambos over the clubhouse for the 1st time this season it feckin cost me a tenner as well, Martin quinn was collecting for the tea lady up there for her efforts all season and i was just trying to ensure i got some final value out of mys season ticket. Didnt see any lottos for sale up there

Patrick Dunne
07/11/2008, 11:56 PM
Fair play to MQ - anyone who can get a tenner out a clubhouser is a miracle worker !

gufcfan
08/11/2008, 2:23 AM
Didnt see any lottos for sale up there

Fat chance any clubhousers would buy any...

geezer
08/11/2008, 7:20 PM
for chairman i say thats two miracle workers Jeff K and MQ

Claret Murph
09/11/2008, 4:18 AM
OHHH Harpsman08, OHHH Harpsman08 OHHH Harpsman08

For where are thou dear Harpsman08

Maybe he lost his keyboard ;););)

09/11/2008, 11:05 AM
hahahaha

I have a feeling there is going to be an unbelieveable amount of UCDD fans next week with donegal and cork accents !

09/11/2008, 11:06 AM
I agree with you there geezer, MQ for chairman, a true supporter of our club.

09/11/2008, 1:02 PM
The more I think of it the more I realise there is no way we deserve to stay up ahead of Galway United. GUFC recognised that they were paying a waster of a manager and that they were overspending and took steps to address both concerns during the season.

We just ploughed on, letting a tosser and his mentor severely damage our club. GUFC made some dreadful mistakes this season but at least demonstrated an ability to change direction when those mistakes became apparent.

exiled_gufc_fan
10/11/2008, 1:13 PM
The full game can be watched again on RTE Sport website
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/ireland_index.html

WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 1:26 PM
I agree with you there geezer, MQ for chairman, a true supporter of our club.
And at least he attends our home matches!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!