View Full Version : Rovers vs Shams 1/11/08
sligofan4ever
30/10/2008, 4:56 PM
How do ye think it will go ? a big match considering ourhopes for Europe. Butler obviously only player out, but apparently Peers is supended so thats a big blow. Hopefully after all the talk about it, there will be a big attendance I think the last time we played them it was supposed to be in the region of approx 3000. in attendance according to "attendances 2008" in the main forum. Prediction Rovers 2-0 Shams.
brianw82
30/10/2008, 7:06 PM
We've absolutely got to win this, and I can't see us not winning it. Danny will obviously be in the centre of defence due to Peers's suspension, so I don't know who'll be at left back. Cook said at the Q & A that it won't be Raff, due to his current form as a forward.
sligofan4ever
30/10/2008, 7:18 PM
We've absolutely got to win this, and I can't see us not winning it. Danny will obviously be in the centre of defence due to Peers's suspension, so I don't know who'll be at left back. Cook said at the Q & A that it won't be Raff, due to his current form as a forward.
Keohane maybe ? I know he dosent have great first team experience and this is a must win but we don't have any other options for left back really.
red arrow
30/10/2008, 7:52 PM
it will be a very tough game. does anybody know if endo is playing for shams. if he is out i would be fairly confident. it would be great to see a crowd of 3000 there so let everybody get the word out. not once this year have we had 3000 people so this would be a major achievment. i believe the weather is going to be dry and if we have one of those nice crispy evenings it will add to the atmosphere. come on the bit 'o red
30/10/2008, 7:55 PM
have an inkling Richie Ryan will play left back...
sligofan4ever
30/10/2008, 8:01 PM
have an inkling Richie Ryan will play left back...
I'd rather have Richie in midfield for our remaining games , we only have one other centre midfielder and he's more reliable than Gary Curran IMO.
MMVIII
30/10/2008, 11:07 PM
Cant wait for this, hopefully a huge crowd, been delivering flyers to houses last two days so hopefully it will be worth it!
neutrino
31/10/2008, 12:37 PM
not once this year have we had 3000 people so this would be a major achievment.
that maybe so, but dont forget the average attendance that Sligo Rovers get is much better than alot of other clubs. The fact Rovers are still potentially pushing for 4th and given it's shamrock rovers, there should be a crowd well above average for this one. So hopefully we can hit the 3k mark or at least not be too far off it.
red_away
31/10/2008, 3:06 PM
After all our player sales, cutbacks, debt crisis, ridiculous fixture list etc its absolutely fantastic that we could achieve something at the end of it all, fair play to everyone involved - its sheer effort that has gotten us where we are and just proves what Johnny Chadda said...."There will always be sligo rovers".....I'm not so sure about some of our big shot colleagues in the league though?
Rovers fan
31/10/2008, 5:46 PM
Really looking forward to this one. We will badly miss peers but shams are missing a good few players aswell:
TEAM NEWS
Eric McGill (ligament) and Darren Stapleton (cartilage) are out for the rest of the season, while Darragh Maguire is suspended.
John Martin (hip) is being rested. There are fitness doubts about both Aidan Price (hip) and Stephen Rice (hamstring).
"We're down to the bears bones," says Rovers' boss Jim Crawford. "We're giving Aidan and Stephen every chance to pull through before deciding on the team.
"John Martin, I feel, came back too soon after his hip operation, so he's being rested. On the positive side, Tadhg Purcell is fit and ready and will definitely feature against Sligo.
"I've also introduced some lads from the A team to first team training. They've done really well and I wouldn't hesitate to give them an opportunity against Sligo Rovers."
Crawford's Comments ….
Last time out: a 1-3 defeat against Saint Patrick's Athletic "Although I'd only a few days' training with the lads I could see they were a good, footballing side. From the first night it was decided that we'd play that way rather than the long ball game.
"We started well and in the first-half we got the ball down and passed it around. We also kept it tight, restricting Saint Pat's – but it all changed after the break.
"In the second half we got stretched and that suited Pat's as they're a very fit side. That fitness gap between full-time and part-time is something we need to bridge."
Saturday's game against Sligo Rovers
"We're expecting a tough game up there. They're very good at home, they're fit - and they play good football. It will be a huge test for us but we're ready for it.
"I can see that our lads are really looking forward to the Sligo game, and it's our first in a fortnight. It's a good indication for us that everyone's in a positive frame of mind."
Hopefully there will be a big crowd and all of us should try to encourage as many friends as possible to go.
sligofan4ever
31/10/2008, 10:01 PM
Drogheda lost 2-1 to Finn Harps tonight, that could prove a vital part of our ambitions of gaining fourth place. A win tomorrow will put us 1 point behind Drogheda and 2 points ahead of Cork :).
Fivesilver
02/11/2008, 6:36 AM
"We're down to the bears bones," says Rovers' boss Jim Crawford.
:D:D:D