View Full Version : Premier Division Team Of The Season

CraftyToePoke
28/10/2008, 2:56 PM
When will this be announced, and what are your thoughts about who is going to be in it? Thanks.

28/10/2008, 3:07 PM
Obviously biased as everyone on here is but my team:

Brian Murphy
Heary Murray Gartland ????
McGinn Fahey Gamble Brennan
Fenn Mooney

Subs:Jay O Shea, O Donnell, Coleman, McGlynn, Quigley, Barry Murphy

Some tough choices. Cant really think of a stand out left back. Idea?

I know McGinn plays on the left sometimes but even though Im not a fan of Brennan he's scored plenty of important goals.

Centre mid Fahey was a shoe in, not certain about Gamble, biased because I saw him most I guess. Molloy hasnt had th best of seasons, poor first half, O Donnell stood out in games Ive seen but dunno how he's been all year for Bohs.

Fenn gets in because for me he's been vital to Bohs this year, all their quality play went through him.

Mooney gets in becuase even though he's gone months he's still top scorer. Quigley would be in if he wasnt allowed.

28/10/2008, 3:15 PM
Kendrick's been pretty good at LB.

28/10/2008, 3:17 PM
Kendrick's been pretty good at LB.

:eek: I think he's incredibly dodgy tbh. Good going forward but no small part of why Drogs havnt been as strong defensively as usual imo

28/10/2008, 3:20 PM
Their gameplan relies on getting width from the full-backs and he's done that brilliantly for them. Not a great defender but neither was Webb tbh.

28/10/2008, 3:21 PM
Their gameplan relies on getting width from the full-backs and he's done that brilliantly for them. Not a great defender but neither was Webb tbh.

Fair enough for Drogs.

But when Im picking a defender for a team of the season I like to think they would be decent at defending....

28/10/2008, 3:25 PM
Chris Butler ;)

28/10/2008, 3:26 PM
Chris Butler ;)

Honestly couldnt say-dont know enough about him. I was thinking of Sligo though, theyve had an excellent year and play some lovely football.

Rovers Maniac
28/10/2008, 3:34 PM
I would rate Butler as high as Coleman at the very least, it was neck and neck with him and Peers for my player of the season for us. Shame i hope he makes it back.

wexfordned
28/10/2008, 3:43 PM
Mark Rossiter for LB. Rock solid & scored some important goals. O'Donnell has been excellent this season for Bohs.

28/10/2008, 3:44 PM
Mark Rossiter for LB. Rock solid & scored some important goals. O'Donnell has been excellent this season for Bohs.

Didnt Powell play a lot at Left back too though?

Didnt thnk Rossiter played there enough

Rambling Along
28/10/2008, 4:39 PM
--------Brian Murphy
Heary Murray Gartland Coleman
McGinn Fahey Gamble Brennan
--------Boco Quigley

iceman
28/10/2008, 4:49 PM
Ollie Cahill has had a great season.

Inside Man
28/10/2008, 5:09 PM
Jay O'Shea would be up there for me. If Galway stay up they can thank him.
Wouldn't have Chrissy Butler near it.
I would however put Raf Cretaro in there with no hesitation. Has been a revelation in the league for us this year. Our best and most consistant player.
Not much talk about him anywhere but he is for sure a smashing player. Suprised none of the top clubs have come calling as of yet...

sligofan4ever
28/10/2008, 6:08 PM
Murphy (Bohs)
Coleman (Rovers) Gartland (Drogs) Murray (Cork) Butler (Rovers)
McGinn (Derry) Fahey (Pats) Brennan (Bohs)
Cretaro (Rovers) Mooney (Cork) Quigley (Pats)

Subs: Murphy (Shams),Rossiter (Bohs),Guy (Pats), Keegan (Drogs), O Shea (Galway)

Rambling Along
28/10/2008, 6:19 PM
Jay O'Shea shouldn't be anywhere near the team as he's only come to life in the last 10-12 games. Up to then he was ignored by Fenlon for the U-23's and by Givens for the U-21's which shows his early season form like Galway's was poor.
Alright fair enough he's been their star man but he shouldn't be on the Team of the Season for picking up his form and only really starting to hit the net in the last series because if thats the case Davin O'Neill down at Cobh should be up front alongside him on the Team of the Season!

28/10/2008, 6:25 PM
B. Murphy

Coleman Almeida Gartland Powell

Rossiter Fahey O'Donnell McGinn

Quigley Mooney

Thats just based on what I have seen this season myself, Almeida has looked a class act in Sligo defence. Powell looked excellent the few times I saw him too.

I had to include Mooney, he's been away a good while now but is still top scorer in the league.

Best player this season has to be Fahey, he will no doubt have a selection of clubs to choose from in Jan.

28/10/2008, 6:40 PM
Ollie Cahill has had a great season.

Nah, he's past it to be honest

Bohemian1890
28/10/2008, 6:49 PM
B.Murphy(Bohs)
O.Heary Burns Mcguinness Rossiter

Joxer(Kalonas)O Donnell Deegan Brennan

Fenn Crowe

That IMO is a great team,id say they would run away with the league.

Subs.J.Byrne,A.Murphy,Powell,Croinn,Powell,Konopka :ball:

CharlesThompson
28/10/2008, 9:27 PM
Murphy (Bohs)
Coleman (Rovers) Gartland (Drogs) Murray (Cork) Butler (Rovers)
McGinn (Derry) Fahey (Pats) Brennan (Bohs)
Cretaro (Rovers) Mooney (Cork) Quigley (Pats)

Subs: Murphy (Shams),Rossiter (Bohs),Guy (Pats), Keegan (Drogs), O Shea (Galway)

Ehrm,... Let me start by saying that if there were no Bohs, I'd be following the fortunes of Sligo Rovers ahead of any other team. But please tell me that this team you've picked with three Sligo players and two Bohs players is tongue in cheek.

finnpark
28/10/2008, 10:33 PM
Why does everyone think Coleman is so great, he should spend more time in defense and stop running up the field being caught out of position. Also, he is not a left back btw. Here is my team of the season:

---------------------------- B Murphy (Bohs) --------------------------

Byrne (Drogs) ----- Gavin (Pats) ----- Harris (Pats) ------ Powell (Bohs)

Guy (Pats) (Capt) --- Fahey (Pats) --- Dempsey (Pats) -- Brennan (Bohs)

-------------------- Quigley (Pats) ----------- Farren (Derry)

Subs
Murphy (Shamrock)
McGuinness (Bohs)
Heary (Bohs)
Ronsinson (Drogs)
Cahill (Drogs)
McGinn (Derry)
Kalonas (Bohs)
Ndo (Shamrock)
Rowe (Bray)

Worst team of the season:
Devine (Cork City) (Capt)
Delaney (Derry)
Malcolm (Finn Harps)
Rogers (Pats)
McCullogh (Galway)
Breen (Finn Harps)
Lester (Galway)
O'Callaghan (Cork City)
Tyrell (Finn Harps)
Crowe (Bohs)
Kudovic (Sligo/Drogs)

sligofan4ever
28/10/2008, 10:36 PM
Ehrm,... Let me start by saying that if there were no Bohs, I'd be following the fortunes of Sligo Rovers ahead of any other team. But please tell me that this team you've picked with three Sligo players and two Bohs players is tongue in cheek.

There is a 3rd Bohs player on the bench :).

28/10/2008, 10:59 PM
Delaney (Derry)
Malcolm (Finn Harps)
Rogers (Pats)
McCullogh (Galway)
Breen (Finn Harps)
Lester (Galway)
O'Callaghan (Cork City)
Tyrell (Finn Harps)
Crowe (Bohs)
Kudovic (Sligo/Drogs)

Seriously, I know it's all about opinions and all but...seriously? You must be joking. He's been immense this season. Along with McGinn and Farren my player of the season for us.

dcfc1928
28/10/2008, 11:01 PM
Delaney (Derry)
Malcolm (Finn Harps)
Rogers (Pats)
McCullogh (Galway)
Breen (Finn Harps)
Lester (Galway)
O'Callaghan (Cork City)
Tyrell (Finn Harps)
Crowe (Bohs)
Kudovic (Sligo/Drogs)

Derry fans would be very surprised at Delaney being mentioned here. There were doubts when Kenny signed him but he's been rock solid (most of the time).

finnpark
28/10/2008, 11:06 PM
Hes good under the big high long ball but he lacks pace :)

28/10/2008, 11:14 PM
Delaney (Derry)
Malcolm (Finn Harps)
Rogers (Pats)
McCullogh (Galway)
Breen (Finn Harps)
Lester (Galway)
O'Callaghan (Cork City)
Tyrell (Finn Harps)
Crowe (Bohs)
Kudovic (Sligo/Drogs)

You're having a laugh, Crowe has had a great season, has worked his socks off, has made loads of goals, ok he hasn't scored as many as he did in other seasons but wtf???

In fact this is pointless, Team of the season is Bohs. Player of the season is a toss up between Brian Murphy and Owen Heary. Anyone who doesn't have Heary in their line-up is deluded. He has been immense for us this year. Finn Park you've also got two central defenders from a team that has conceded ten more goals than us in your line up.

For the sake of argument, if I have to pick a team that is not exclusively Bohs it would be this.

Brian Murphy
Owen Heary Liam Burns Jason McGuinness Mark Rossiter
McGinn Fahey O'Donnell Brennan
Quigley Crowe

And thats being generous.

Olander
28/10/2008, 11:18 PM
Seriously, I know it's all about opinions and all but...seriously? You must be joking. He's been immense this season. Along with McGinn and Farren my player of the season for us.

Derry fans would be very surprised at Delaney being mentioned here. There were doubts when Kenny signed him but he's been rock solid (most of the time).

You're having a laugh, Crowe has had a great season, has worked his socks off, has made loads of goals, ok he hasn't scored as many as he did in other seasons but wtf???
lads why are ye so surprised? its funn pirk we are talking about here :)

arse and elbow comes to mind :o

Candystripe
28/10/2008, 11:27 PM
From what I've seen

Brian Murphy
Heary Murray Gartland Holmes
Fahey Gamble Molloy
McGinn Quigley Farren

That would be a defence that would very rarely ever concede.

With Gamble & Molloy in the middle it gives Fahey all the time he needs.

The current top two scorers, not sure how many Quigley has but Farren has now 20 this season.

This team wouldn't need subs.

BTW Delaney has had a brilliant season after a few dodgy games at the start of the year.

Can't pick Mooney (not here anymore)

WoodquayBoy
29/10/2008, 8:53 AM
Purely judging on players I've seen in the flesh, so will probably be slightly lopsided, but here it goes:
B Murphy (Bohs)
Coleman (Sligo) Delaney (Derry) Gartland (Drogs) Rossiter (Bohs)
McGinn (Derry) O'Donnell (Bohs) Fahey (Pats) O'Shea (Galway)
Quigley (Pats) Boco (Sligo)
Would have seen Sligo play us 3 times and Derry 3 times, hence the bit of weighting in their favour. Murray (Cork) was in running for CB slot but hew was in a defence that we scored five against in 2 games, so that ruled him out.
I know Mooney is still top scorer, but really impressed by Boco and was delighted he missed recent game against us. As someone else said, if we stay up it is thanks to O'Shea, so he is being picked out of position purely for that

29/10/2008, 10:30 AM
Hes good under the big high long ball but he lacks pace :)Shows the ridiculous nature of this thread, as is pointed out every year.

As pointed out above, Delaney could well be our Player of the Season.

None of us see enough games to make anything near an informed judgement, so people either
1) pick too many of their own teams players
2) base it on the one or two games they see of opposition players
3) make assumptions based on previous seasons

29/10/2008, 11:06 AM
From what I've seen

Brian Murphy
Heary Murray Gartland Holmes
Fahey Gamble Molloy
McGinn Quigley Farren

That would be a defence that would very rarely ever concede.

Surely not? While Holmes looks great going forward he's very weak defensively. Although, there are not many stand out left backs in the league at present.

niallsparky
29/10/2008, 1:05 PM
From what I've seen:

Brian Murphy (Bohs)

Owen Heary (Bohs) Liam Burns (Bohs) Graham Gartland (Drogs) Mark Rossiter (Bohs)

Niall McGinn (Derry) Keith Fahey (Pats) Stephen O'Donnell (Bohs) Killian Brennan (Bohs)

Mark Quigley Neale Fenn

Subs: Barry Ryan (Pats), Jason McGuinness (Bohs), Gary Deegan (Bohs), Paul Keegan (Drogs), Glen Crowe (Bohs).

mrtndvn
29/10/2008, 2:57 PM
Murphy

Heary
Gartland
Burns
Rossi

McGinn
McGlynn
Fahey
kearney

Farren
Quigley

El-Pietro
29/10/2008, 5:44 PM
hers a freak

and hes awful

31/10/2008, 6:36 PM
Why does everyone think Coleman is so great

simply because he is!;) and have you ever watched him? very rarely these days does he get caught out of position, hes as good as any attacker on our team at getting forward and beating players.

your "worst team of the season" is a joke!, why would you bother!? youve even included a captain!!:D

El-Pietro
03/11/2008, 6:11 PM
GK: Brian Murphy

RB: Owen Heary
LB: Mark Rossiter
CB: Dan Murray
CB: Liam Burns
RM: Killian Brennan - gets shifted here because McGinn is better
CM: Joe Gamble
CM: Keith Fahey
LM: Niall McGinn
CF: Dave Mooney
CF: Mark Quigley

probably a bit biased with Joe Gamble but Dan Murray has been incredible this season - towards the latter stages as well. Born leader

Bunny Kelly
03/11/2008, 6:39 PM
Murphy

Heary Burns Peers Rossiter (no one else done enough & Rossiter has played there a good few games)

McGinn Fahey O Donnell Brennan

Quigley Mooney (has had too much of an impact not to be included)

03/11/2008, 7:23 PM
GK: Murphy

RB: Heary
LB: Rossiter
CB: Gartland
CB: Gavin

RM: McGinn
LM: Brennan
CM: Fahey
CM: O'Donnell

CF: Crowe
CF: Quigley

Subs: Ryan, Coleman, Burns, O'Shea, Boco, Mooney, Stewart.

Obviously, Bohs form the spine of the team. They were outstanding this season. IMO, Stephen O'Donnell was one of their best players. Any time I saw Bohs play, he was their main man.

If Mooney had stayed, he'd easily be in there.

03/11/2008, 8:02 PM
hers a freak

and hes awful

There goes your credibility.

04/11/2008, 8:00 PM
LOI site poll team of the season (http://www.eircomloi.ie/news-centre/news-1/2008/news-15/index.xml)

04/11/2008, 8:36 PM
Ah jeez...

Bohs were good but, seriously, that's a joke.

Rambling Along
04/11/2008, 8:37 PM
Ah jeez...

Bohs were good but, seriously, that's a joke.

Only that way because Bohs fans have no lives and spend their days at their computers!:D

04/11/2008, 8:45 PM
Only that way because Bohs fans have no lives and spend their days at their computers!:D

Bohs fans wouldn't have voted Anto Murphy and Ken Oman in the side. J McGuinness wasn't included in the poll and was better than Ken Oman. KO and AM wouldn't get into the Bohs Team of the Season, but replace Oman with McGuinness and AM with McGinn and its not far off being right IMO.

Candystripe
04/11/2008, 11:48 PM
Bohs fans wouldn't have voted Anto Murphy and Ken Oman in the side. J McGuinness wasn't included in the poll and was better than Ken Oman. KO and AM wouldn't get into the Bohs Team of the Season, but replace Oman with McGuinness and AM with McGinn and its not far off being right IMO.

So how the feck is connor Powell in the team of the year??????? Mc Ginn seriously has destroyed almost every defender in the country and really took the p1ss outta Powell in the games they were up against each other.

He only gets 12% while a tube like Brennan gets 86% and others 2%

But Crowe getting 72% is probably right, at least that gives the polls some credibility :eek::confused:

SwanVsDalton
05/11/2008, 1:55 AM
There goes your credibility.

People have made their minds up bout Big Clive unfortunately nothing he can do to change them. He's had a great season.

ciaraa
05/11/2008, 4:40 AM
But Crowe getting 72% is probably right, at least that gives the polls some credibility :eek::confused:

ha ha! class

Jersey Cow
05/11/2008, 12:55 PM
It is quite laughable that Oman and Powell are in there...both hardly playes all year!!....interseting even moreso is that all the Bohs players ahd already been signed by Connors!!

05/11/2008, 1:00 PM
It is quite laughable that Oman and Powell are in there...both hardly playes all year!!....interseting even moreso is that all the Bohs players ahd already been signed by Connors!!

1. It's Connor not Connors
2. Oman played more than McGuinness and Powell played more than both. See here: http://www.walkthechalk.com/team.php?id=21

At least get the facts right if you want to criticise.
The options given for people to vote were limited. They wouldn't have been in my team either, but it's easy to see how they made it.

finnpark
05/11/2008, 1:03 PM
Surely not? While Holmes looks great going forward he's very weak defensively. Although, there are not many stand out left backs in the league at present.

Yes, Holmes is very weak defensively. He is probably more of a left winger by nature. In fact both Harps' full backs are too attacking.

neutrino
05/11/2008, 1:04 PM
A selection like this would be credible if it was made with input from managers, players, media and supporters. But us supporters are just a bias lot looking out for our own team;) I would say though that a title winning team would always have alot of players in selections like these and rightly so.