View Full Version : Bray Latest Team in

27/10/2008, 1:54 PM
trouble according to todays Independent .Players taking 40% wage cut and Budget slashed by 25% for next season.

brianw82
27/10/2008, 2:00 PM
"Bray Latest Team in"

What exactly is that supposed to mean? English, you speak it?

Not surprised to hear about the money trouble. Their crowds seem to be getting worse as the season goes on.

27/10/2008, 2:14 PM
No surpirse at all. Our crowds are terrible and we have a fairly big squad.

Hopefully, we stay up and get rid of some players.

Candystripe
27/10/2008, 2:22 PM
Looks like the end of high wages for players and smaller squads as well. Is it only Pats and the big pub who now have either a sugar daddy or a massive overdraft?

Everyone else now are trying to live within their means!

27/10/2008, 3:22 PM
The fact is a lot of clubs are overspending and there's not enough fans to support the league.

The clubs need to cop on.

27/10/2008, 3:25 PM
the support is there if the football was at a higher level. The "Real Fact" is that there are far to many poor/average players in the league getting paid to much money !

27/10/2008, 3:31 PM
The fact is a lot of clubs are overspending and there's not enough fans to support the league.

The clubs need to cop on.

Spot on. id imagine a lot fo clubs will be taking big cuts this year.

Our rumoured wages(including backroom staff) was over 50k a week this year. Next year it is to be cut to between 15 and 20k.

There'l be a lot of players free and only one club in a position to pay big money. Wages will certainly be coming down

27/10/2008, 3:34 PM
So that leaves us, Rovers, UCD, and Wexford that haven't been in financial trouble this year.

It's like an Irish version of Battle Royale

KianD
27/10/2008, 3:41 PM
So that leaves us, Rovers, UCD, and Wexford that haven't been in financial trouble this year.

Monaghan?

The Lilywhites
27/10/2008, 3:42 PM
Dundalk.

passerrby
27/10/2008, 4:09 PM

monaghan dundalk and shels have been ommited from your list oh and yous have been no bastion of financial stability over the past few years

Buile Shuibhne
27/10/2008, 4:12 PM
and Shelbourne.

Who else is in Fran Gavin's bakers dozen?

27/10/2008, 4:13 PM
monaghan dundalk and shels have been ommited from your list oh and yous have been no bastion of financial stability over the past few years

When were City in trouble this season ? *

* a few idiots on here misreading an SK interview to speculate that we'd have to go part-time next season does not equate to financial troubles....

passerrby
27/10/2008, 4:21 PM
agree steve i should have included them. very few of us rock solid clubs left... maybe we should consider setting up our own league

27/10/2008, 4:35 PM
When were City in trouble this season ? *

* a few idiots on here misreading an SK interview to speculate that we'd have to go part-time next season does not equate to financial troubles....

Have you paid Conor Sammon's transfer fee from over half a year ago?

Bohemian1890
27/10/2008, 4:39 PM
Looks like the end of high wages for players and smaller squads as well. Is it only Pats and the big pub who now have either a sugar daddy or a massive overdraft?

Everyone else now are trying to live within their means!
Four other teams pay out more in wages than Bohs.

Could Derry be one of the teams paying out more??

Looks that way considering dungannon and other clubs are still waiting for transfers fees:o.

Bohemian1890
27/10/2008, 4:42 PM
Have you paid Conor Sammon's transfer fee from over half a year ago?
Still not paid UCD:eek:thats Dungannon and UCD now,so we can take it Derry are having financial trouble.

Didnt Bray say they made a profit about 5 weeks ago??

27/10/2008, 4:45 PM

That's why I said this year champ

passerrby
27/10/2008, 4:49 PM
Still not paid UCD:eek:thats Dugannon and UCD now,so we can take it Derry are having financial trouble.

sorry steve i have to withdraw my offer to you until you can furnish me with proof of your financial sustainability

Ceirtlis
27/10/2008, 4:55 PM
I think i remember Eddie Gormley giving out a few weeks ago that there were teams above them in the league that were there due to overspending while Bray had stayed sensible. It is hard to budjet though for the attendances they have been getting in fairness.

27/10/2008, 6:42 PM
Heard somewhere that only two First Division clubs have paid their players every week this season aswell.........

6yardpunisha
27/10/2008, 6:52 PM
Spot on. id imagine a lot fo clubs will be taking big cuts this year.

Our rumoured wages(including backroom staff) was over 50k a week this year. Next year it is to be cut to between 15 and 20k.

There'l be a lot of players free and only one club in a position to pay big money. Wages will certainly be coming down

on tonights echo that coughlan brought team away for a few days and told them the budget is 15k per week for next season

passerrby
27/10/2008, 7:25 PM
Heard somewhere that only two First Division clubs have paid their players every week this season aswell.........

I wonder who the other club is

27/10/2008, 7:50 PM
So when is Pete Mahon doing his next interview? He will surely be calling for points deductions here too then will he?

Sad news, but maybe with so many teams in bother it could be a major wake up call to all clubs to curb the spending.

27/10/2008, 8:25 PM
I wonder who the other club is

One begins in L and ends in 7.

The other is Dundalk.

Was surprised myself but that's what the officianado told me.

HarpoJoyce
27/10/2008, 10:49 PM
Sad news, but maybe with so many teams in bother it could be a major wake up call to all clubs to curb the spending.

It appears the noises from many clubs is to change their recent habits.

But if many clubs are in a similar situation, does that not let them off the hook a little bit?
'Everybody is spending too much'
'We're all in the same boat'
I think the Natural competitiveness of these great clubmen will return very quickly. Especially those that use the long arm of the law to renege on payment of their debts.

passerrby
27/10/2008, 10:52 PM
It appears the noises from many clubs is to change their recent habits.

But if many clubs are in a similar situation, does that not let them off the hook a little bit?
'Everybody is spending too much'
'We're all in the same boat'
I think the Natural competitiveness of these great clubmen will return very quickly. Especially those that use the long arm of the law to renege on payment of their debts.

agree harpo i dont believe most clus have learned anything from this seasons fcukups they,ll do it all over again given the chance

higgins
27/10/2008, 11:39 PM
If someone told you only Limerick 37 and dundalk have paid their players on time this year then they are simply telling lies.

Shelbourne have no no wage issues this season.

L37Ultra
27/10/2008, 11:42 PM
If someone told you only Limerick 37 and dundalk have paid their players on time this year then they are simply telling lies.

Shelbourne have no no wage issues this season.

Limerick have paid all their players on time this year, I know that for a fact. I can't comment on Dundalk though.

28/10/2008, 1:52 PM
So when is Pete Mahon doing his next interview? He will surely be calling for points deductions here too then will he?
That'd be a bit much. In fairness, from what I've heard, it seems that the board are just cutting costs before they get into serious trouble.

AFAIK, we don't have a hefty, outstanding tax bill or need a large sum of money before a certain date (like Sligo), we don't have a large debt or have to go into examinership (like Cork or Drogs), we haven't had to defer wages. AFAIK, all the club are doing is making a pre-emptive move before things get worse.

There's only three weeks left in the season. We do have two home games in that time against Drogs and Cobh but that won't really add much. Cobh won't get the crowds in and I don't think Drogs will be as big a draw as there were before.

28/10/2008, 1:56 PM
we haven't had to defer wages.
What's a 40% wage cut if it's not a wage deferral? Unless you're simply not paying them that ever, which is worse.

Surprised at Bray, to be honest. Thought the large losses you seem to always rack up were at least being happily enough covered by the directors, as there was rarely a peep out of the Carlisle.

Just us and Rovers left standing. Going to be a very poor Premier Division next year, I'd say. The bubble has well and truly burst.

28/10/2008, 2:06 PM
What's a 40% wage cut if it's not a wage deferral? Unless you're simply not paying them that ever, which is worse.
It's a wage cut. My guess is they are cutting the wages before they get into a position where they'll have to start deferring wages.

I don't know all the ins and outs so I can't say for sure what the club are doing exactly.

28/10/2008, 2:15 PM
I don't think you can cut wages and then say you haven't deferred wages. I agree they're different words, but I think the seriousness of both is so linked, and the similarities are so marked that it's pointless differentiating between them.

28/10/2008, 2:19 PM
I don't think you can cut wages and then say you haven't deferred wages. I agree they're different words, but I think the seriousness of both is so linked, and the similarities are so marked that it's pointless differentiating between them.

The difference being though that deferred wages must be paid to get a license the next season-like us.

However a wage cut it just a restructuring of a contract with a player-similar to giving them a better contract mid-contract.

What it does do is make all the Bray players technically free agents, but given that the players have agreed to it, fair play to them. They certainly didnt have to

Student Mullet
28/10/2008, 2:22 PM
Presumably a cut is worse since the players will never get the money.

28/10/2008, 2:23 PM
Presumably a cut is worse since the players will never get the money.

Worse for the players but better for the club when it comes to licensing.

jinxy lilywhite
28/10/2008, 2:39 PM
Limerick have paid all their players on time this year, I know that for a fact. I can't comment on Dundalk though.

As far as I am aware our players where paid on time this season and have been ever since Gerry Matthews took over the club.
An incident did occur where players and the board disagreed about their first payment date but this was a storm in a teacup and would of stayed that way only for those pesky PFAI and Stephen "Unfinished Business" McGuinness.

28/10/2008, 3:51 PM
Bray are fully tax complient.

28/10/2008, 4:19 PM
Which means they've paid last year's tax bill. Doesn't mean they're able to pay this year's one necessarily.

28/10/2008, 4:24 PM
Bray are tax complient, it was only filed a short time ago.

28/10/2008, 4:59 PM
Which means they've paid last year's tax bill. Doesn't mean they're able to pay this year's one necessarily.

Considering that other clubs have asked their players to take wage cuts, deferrals, not paid their players or begged for emergency fundraising strangely it means the fact that Bray have only sought wage cuts now probably indicates they're doing better than at least half the Premier Division.

I know it's been said many times over the last few months but it's a kick in the teeth to UCD. All the clubs around us have struggled to pay players' wages this season. It means they've inflated wages demands of potential players we could have signed and have probably beaten us to players we wanted to sign because of it. Yes, those clubs are suffering financially, but the likes of Bray are essentially safe whereas we're done for. I accept we could and should have done more on the pitch to stay up but it's worth a thought.

28/10/2008, 5:04 PM
The transition to the 10 team league was always going to put massive pressure on clubs to overspend this year.

It was a stupid idea and has done a lot of damage to clubs as they all know how damaging a period in the graveyard can be.

28/10/2008, 5:08 PM
Considering that other clubs have asked their players to take wage cuts, deferrals, not paid their players or begged for emergency fundraising strangely it means the fact that Bray have only sought wage cuts now probably indicates they're doing better than at least half the Premier Division.
Absolutely; just challenging the original post. It's possible that Bray are even just above the 65% wage cap level, and by cancelling some wages, they'll come back under. Though I would doubt that, to be honest.

Sunny Jim
30/10/2008, 10:03 AM
According to this week's Westmeath Independent, Athlone Town haven't paid players or staff for the last five weeks, and they may not be paid before the season ends. You have to wonder how long they can keep going. Not sure they'll even manage to get a First Division licence for 2009.

30/10/2008, 10:24 AM
wait, so people who've been saying clubs should cut spending on players, now use the fact that they've doen that to say they're in trouble?

Just seems like Bray spotted the error of their ways before it got out of hand (and after they stayed up, obviously)

30/10/2008, 10:50 AM
There is the option of simply being able to pay your players. It's an unusual one, but it's a Plan C omitted from your post.

If you consider cutting players' wages to be a last-ditch cash-saving resort, then Bray could be in financial trouble, especially with the report in the Indo that money is tight because a property developer has pulled out his investment. That makes it sound more like being stuck for cash than trynig to sneak under the (now non-existent) 65% wage cap. Also, cutting wages with three weeks of the season to go sounds like being stuck for cash instead of trying to make budget.

30/10/2008, 10:58 AM
As has been pointed out, their crowds have been very disppointing. When you add that to a backer pulling out, and the fact they lasted until only 3 games from the end of the season before having to cut 40%, I'd say they aren't in any real trouble, just stopping the rot.

They fact they're budgeting lower next year (but not as low as 40%) would help that claim

(and by no means am I saying any club is "safe", I'm just pointing out that Bray aren't one of the worst)

30/10/2008, 11:19 AM
(and by no means am I saying any club is "safe", I'm just pointing out that Bray aren't one of the worst)

Fair enough. I agree with that summary, with the proviso that ultimately, I don't know what's really happening there.

Jersey Cow
30/10/2008, 11:27 AM
If I was UCD I would be cracking up with this news...its obvious Bray knew they were in trouble along time ago, continued to operate and now they are safe can announce this news!!..its very wrong!!

30/10/2008, 11:35 AM
But Bray have always looked safe in fairness. And if that was their motivation surely they would have held out til after the game against Cobh on Friday?