View Full Version : Waterford Athlone Situation

Pages : 1 [2]

blue til i die
23/10/2008, 3:35 PM
from btid.net

It's understood that the decision was made by the FAI last night (Wednesday) and was due to be issued by the Communication department of the league to both clubs and the media this afternoon (Thursday)

However, it's now understood that the FAI have to decided to hold another meeting to discuss the decision that they reached last night and MAY yet decide to change their orignal decision.

The Sheliban
23/10/2008, 4:17 PM
I will never, ever, ever forget the actions of Shelbourne FC and their fans in the 2002 season. To quote Stuey Byrne; "Despicable"

Actually, I find that fair enough.
There are many Shels fans who don't mind Pats now but personally I too will never ever forget the disgusting behaviour of their manager and fans in the 2002 season. Which was a shame because before that, I'd always had a bit of a soft spot for them.

And if the rules say Waterford are to be awarded a 3-0 win, then that's fair enough too.

23/10/2008, 4:26 PM
Actually, I find that fair enough.
There are many Shels fans who don't mind Pats now but personally I too will never ever forget the disgusting behaviour of their manager and fans in the 2002 season.
Can't accept that Pats fans behaved disgustingly. No argument on the manager. Himelf and Keely both should've been banned for their part in it

Duffman
23/10/2008, 5:54 PM
from btid.net
However, it's now understood that the FAI have to decided to hold another meeting to discuss the decision that they reached last night and MAY yet decide to change their orignal decision.

"Sure lets see how the game tomorrow pans out first lads" I can imagine that committee saying. Even less respect now for the whole scene. Can't get anything right.

23/10/2008, 6:04 PM
from btid.net

It's understood that the decision was made by the FAI last night (Wednesday) and was due to be issued by the Communication department of the league to both clubs and the media this afternoon (Thursday)

However, it's now understood that the FAI have to decided to hold another meeting to discuss the decision that they reached last night and MAY yet decide to change their orignal decision.That more like it.

I knew the decision making all looked like it was going a bit too smoothly....

El-Pietro
23/10/2008, 6:24 PM
LMAO

Because your club is disgusting.

I will never, ever, ever forget the actions of Shelbourne FC and their fans in the 2002 season. To quote Stuey Byrne; "Despicable"
not to drag things too far off topic but is this the same stuey byrne who "alledgedly" texted his buddy Pat Fenlon the Drogheda United FAI cup team the night before they were due to play?

Despicable is right

stann
23/10/2008, 10:02 PM
Waterford handed another 3 points it appears. Graham Kelly is the referee for tomorrow's match with Dundalk.

:(

You'll not find a single Waterford fan that agrees with that, especially after our last game at Tolka!
Another point of bitter rivalry between the two clubs it seems! :D

Higgo
24/10/2008, 12:10 AM
LMAO

Because your club is disgusting.

I can assure you 100% that I have/will never celebrate anything that Shels win off the pitch (unless it is directly related to our survival). Just 'cos I follow Shels does not mean I agreed with the behaviour of the people we had in place at the time...far from it in fact. I think your comments are quite ignorant to be honest. Shelbourne FC is made up of many people who work their arses off voluntarily simply for the love of the reds, I think it is very narrow-minded of you to make a judgement of the club based on something that has happened in the past. The whole culture of the club has changed drastically over the last couple of years, you're just too bitter to see that.

24/10/2008, 12:17 AM
Yeah I'm bitter. You could have my dad, jesus, Eddie Gormley and Jessica Alba working for you and I'd still hate everything about you.

Enjoy your promotion

Higgo
24/10/2008, 12:22 AM
Yeah I'm bitter. You could have my dad, jesus, Eddie Gormley and Jessica Alba working for you and I'd still hate everything about you.

Enjoy your promotion

I'm sorry, that's just mindless garbage. I will thoroughly enjoy it, if it transpires.

Joey Killester
24/10/2008, 12:27 AM
Speaking for numerous Shels fans, we hate yous, Dodge, as much as you hate us so I dont see what the problem is. I personally couldnt care less if you, or anyone else, dont want to see us going up.

Higgo
24/10/2008, 12:34 AM
Speaking for numerous Shels fans, we hate yous, Dodge, as much as you hate us so I dont see what the problem is. I personally couldnt care less if you, or anyone else, dont want to see us going up.

"Speaking for numerous Shels fans"?? What??? Do ya not trust your own opinion enough?

Joey Killester
24/10/2008, 12:40 AM
Im not sure what you mean there, Higgo. I suppose I was just saying in a round about way that we all hate Pats.

24/10/2008, 12:42 AM
I'm sorry, that's just mindless garbage.

I can assure, it certainly isn't mindless. Whether you dispute it or not, I've thought long and hard about it, and decided I still hate.

If you disagree with me - fine, if you don't care about my thoughts - fine but don't dismiss it as a nonsense.

Higgo
24/10/2008, 12:45 AM
I can assure, it certainly isn't mindless. Whether you dispute it or not, I've thought long and hard about it, and decided I still hate.

If you disagree with me - fine, if you don't care about my thoughts - fine but don't dismiss it as a nonsense.

I just think you're being irrational to be honest. Anyway, we'll never agree so not much point in talkin' any more about it.

24/10/2008, 8:34 AM
Lads, lads, lads, let's not bicker and argue over who hates who.

Let's all just agree that both Shels and Pats are a shower of c**ts and move on eh?

24/10/2008, 8:37 AM
"Sure lets see how the game tomorrow pans out first lads" I can imagine that committee saying. Even less respect now for the whole scene. Can't get anything right.

As Stan stated in another thread "new information has come to light" which puts a different slant on things. I happen to know 2 pieces of information that could make a difference to things and know that they would be considering these!

Hang tight people.

mcgonigle
24/10/2008, 9:06 AM
I think the main problem with this new rule is that it is open to abuse. What is to stop a team fielding an ill eligible player on purpose, maybe unlikely but don't say it couldn't happen. If team A needs a win and team B is indifferent, what is to stop them coming to an agreement where team B plays an ill eligible player. Both teams can then play like they want to win and if Team B wins or it's a draw then Team A will get the 3 points anyway through this rule.

sligored
24/10/2008, 9:12 AM
I think the main problem with this new rule is that it is open to abuse. What is to stop a team fielding an ill eligible player on purpose, maybe unlikely but don't say it couldn't happen. If team A needs a win and team B is indifferent, what is to stop them coming to an agreement where team B plays an ill eligible player. Both teams can then play like they want to win and if Team B wins or it's a draw then Team A will get the 3 points anyway through this rule.

put a huge fine in place and they would think twice

noby
24/10/2008, 9:13 AM
I thini match fixing is frowned upon in general. Plus there's no rule stopping a sick registered player from playing. Once you're eligible it doesn't matter if you're ill.

stann
24/10/2008, 10:28 AM
Well the new info didn't make any odds in the end.

Just been officially communicated to the WUFC office that Athlone Town have forfeited the match 3-0 and been fined €2,500 for fielding an ineligible player.

Ouch on that fine, but it is the one stipulated in the rules apparently. Hard not to feel bad for Athlone though.

On a side note, our manager has some choice words for Mr Keely over his article in the Sun today too, which I didn't hear earlier but will be avidly listening out for at 12.

24/10/2008, 10:54 AM
Whats to stop anyone fixing a match in more simple ways (eg doing a Grobelaar)?

The existing rules is the answer btw......

24/10/2008, 11:21 AM

If someone wants to fix a game they will.

What the rules now stops is opposing teams from spoiling the game. If, for example, tonights game between Dundalk and Waterford was the last game of the season, under the old rules Dundalk could've played 11 unregistered/suspended players to ensure the won the game. They'd have been docked 3 points but it'd mean that Waterford didn't gain anything on them

The new rule stops that

harps1954
24/10/2008, 11:22 AM
Confirmed just now on a Press Release from FAI.

SMorgan
24/10/2008, 12:09 PM

What the rules now stops is opposing teams from spoiling the game. If, for example, tonights game between Dundalk and Waterford was the last game of the season, under the old rules Dundalk could've played 11 unregistered/suspended players to ensure the won the game. They'd have been docked 3 points but it'd mean that Waterford didn't gain anything on them

The new rule stops that

There is an anomaly there, but that's totally the wrong way to address it. If the FAI wants to address that particular point then they could dock the points from the offending club and order a reply if it is found that the offending club has gained an advantage.

This rule means clubs are awarded points off the field of play and that should never never happen in a league situation when there is a real possibility of other clubs being disadvantaged. This is a rule that we'll be coming back to again, and again and again over the years unless its changed.

Mental Man
24/10/2008, 1:18 PM
Looks like John Delaney and Milo looking after their old club again :p.

24/10/2008, 1:29 PM
There is an anomaly there, but that's totally the wrong way to address it. If the FAI...
Again, this is the rule that every other country in the world uses.

Its just our idiot clubs that have the problem, our idiot refs that don't realise the mistakes, and our idiot administrators that take a month to do anythign about it

There's nothing wrong with the rule at all

24/10/2008, 1:54 PM
Dundalk fans are complaining about their club being disadvantaged, yet if Athlone gained a result by fielding an unregistered it would be Waterford that would be suffering through no fault of their own.

Athlone fecked up so forfeited the game- simple.

TheBoss
24/10/2008, 3:06 PM
I think to blame Athlone for this is wrong, It is up to the FAI to inform them a list of players that are eligible to play, then in that case, Athlone can be blamed.

higgins
24/10/2008, 3:31 PM

The new rule stops that

Do you know what the previous rule was ?

I think you'll find what you've just said is wrong.
The rule that was there two years ago would have allowed the FAI to do many things, a fine and awarding the other team a 3-0 victory were well within the rules. Also the option of the replay was allowed too.

These rules appear much more restricted in what you can do.

24/10/2008, 4:05 PM
Do you know what the previous rule was ?
Yes, as a Pats fan I was all too aware of the intiricacies of it...

These rules appear much more restricted in what you can do.
To prevent this precise rubbish from clubs. The FAI can't be accused of bias or inconsistency now because there is only one option.

Previously every single ruling was challenged by clubs. Now its one rule for all

SMorgan
24/10/2008, 4:12 PM
Dundalk fans are complaining about their club being disadvantaged, yet if Athlone gained a result by fielding an unregistered it would be Waterford that would be suffering through no fault of their own.

Athlone fecked up so forfeited the game- simple.

Behave yourself!! Waterford disadvantaged my backside.

The player came on with 12 minutes left. If the game had been called off at that point, due to a hurricane, the result would have stood.

As I keep on saying this is not a complaint about Dundalk is being disadvantaged. It that's the rule is clearly and very obviously unfair and if it is maintained we'll be going over this ground again with other clubs. I wonder if Harps were relegated as a result of it, would you see matters in a different light? And before you ask, yes if Dundalk got the advantage of this rule I'd still say its unfair, just as I didn't argue that Dundalk be given 3 points when Rovers played a suspended player against us.

24/10/2008, 4:16 PM
It that's the rule is clearly and very obviously unfair

The amount of people arguing with you would indicate that the "clearly and very obviously" part of your argument is wrong

I can't see one single way in which this rule is unfair

Louth4sam
24/10/2008, 4:21 PM
If Cobh where playing away to Bohs in the last game and needed a win to stay up and Bohs where winning 3-0 and made a substation in the final minute and a player that was ineligible came on. Cobh would then get three points they didn't deserve and stay up. Would that be fair on the other clubs?

SMorgan
24/10/2008, 5:58 PM
I can't see one single way in which this rule is unfair

I think I'll end my involvement in this debate on that absolute gem.

Tir Oilean
24/10/2008, 7:41 PM
Exactly. An 11 team premier is the one thing we have not tried, and we all know that ONE of these random changes will sort out Irish football.

Worthy of a nomination for POTM!

24/10/2008, 8:10 PM
I just think you're being irrational to be honest. Anyway, we'll never agree so not much point in talkin' any more about it.

Irrational hatred by a football fan of a rival team....:eek:

Who'd have thunk it.

SMorgan
24/10/2008, 9:20 PM
Ok, Waterford can keep their 2 points:D

The Sheliban
24/10/2008, 9:42 PM
Can't accept that Pats fans behaved disgustingly. No argument on the manager. Himelf and Keely both should've been banned for their part in it

Sorry Dodge. You remember the Shels fans - I remember the Pats fans. The threats of what Pats fans were going to do to us if we dared show up at Inchicore (remember Eurosaint and his mates) The statement on one board that a Pats fan was going to bring a rifle down to Tolka. The large antagonistic and foul-mouthed crowd taunting Ollie at Richmond who then proceeded to complain to the Gards when he finally snapped at the end of the game. The shower of tykes who showered us with stones from over the wall every time we went there. Sorry, ye behaved disgustingly.

While I do appreciate there were many who didn't associate themselves with that kind of behaviour, I'm sorry, my view of the club took a tarnishing that I can't get rid of.

24/10/2008, 10:11 PM
Having met some of the shels apes over the years I dont think anyone can take the moral high ground.

BillyG
24/10/2008, 10:43 PM
Sorry Dodge. You remember the Shels fans - I remember the Pats fans. The threats of what Pats fans were going to do to us if we dared show up at Inchicore (remember Eurosaint and his mates) The statement on one board that a Pats fan was going to bring a rifle down to Tolka. The large antagonistic and foul-mouthed crowd taunting Ollie at Richmond who then proceeded to complain to the Gards when he finally snapped at the end of the game. The shower of tykes who showered us with stones from over the wall every time we went there. Sorry, ye behaved disgustingly.

While I do appreciate there were many who didn't associate themselves with that kind of behaviour, I'm sorry, my view of the club took a tarnishing that I can't get rid of.

(remember Eurosaint and his mates)........Oh sorry totally out of context but knowing eurosaint like i do that made me lol just know. He couldnt beat his way out of a wet paper bag with a hammer. Will let you back to your argument now.

25/10/2008, 12:56 PM

I'm not sure if you'll be able to hear me up there on Mount Victim but I'd just like to point out that in all my years following the LoI Shels away support is right up there with Shams away support in the mongoloid stakes.

Whatever ye were getting from the Pats crowd it wasn't going too far astray.

As for the rule does anyone else not think it's very easily open to corruption??