View Full Version : Owen Coyle
tommy_c12000
22/10/2008, 9:43 AM
It's great to see another Scottish-born Irish man doing well. Having completed a very good job at both Falkirk and St Johnstone, he has guided Burnley to a very credible 6th in championship. If he keeps it up he will be a shoe in for a premiership job within a couple years. Suppose to favour attacking football encouraging each and every player to express themselves on the ball. He probably rates as 3rd in the "Best Irish manager abroad" at this given juncture behind Roy Keane, and probably Mick McCarthy. He has definitely surpassed David O' Leary in the reputation stakes. His reputation is certainly growing by the week with his chairman apparently living in constant fear that he'll be snapped up by a bigger club. If he keeps going the way he's going, he will be a very strong candidate for the Irish job in a few years.....probably after the Brady era ends in tears..........
carloz
22/10/2008, 10:16 AM
Afer they played Arsenal in the Carling Cup last year, Wenger was full of praise for Coyle and the way he has his side playing. Looks like he has a big future in the game
Claret Murph
22/10/2008, 12:11 PM
I tell you they really rate him in Burnley at the moment . At the start of the season they lost their first two games and a few boo boys were around , but since then they have done very well .
Last night was a classic from OC as they were 1-1 away to Coventry so what does he do ? errr lock up shop and hang on for a draw or go for it well with 30 minutes left he took off two midfielders and a defender and put on 3 attackers to replace them . Yes they had 5 forward players and it paid off and they won 3-1 .
He said this morning that this can leave short at the back but 3 points for a win is away better than 1 for a draw . Hey you roll your dice and you take your chance I would say :):ball::)
tommy_c12000
12/10/2012, 7:56 PM
Two things need to happen:
1. Delaney needs to sound out Coyle and see if he is interested in the Irish job.
2. If he is, John needs to get Denis O'Brien and Trap in a room and negotiate cancellation of his contract. He has just over a yr and half left on his contract now. We're talking around 1&1/4m. Probably get rid of him for just under a million. In the long run it will be money well spent if we can get Coyle in.
This circus has to stop now.
Olé Olé
13/10/2012, 1:09 AM
Coyle will command a lower salaray also. This will help to cushion the blow of the settlement.
Coyle's first year at Bolton and his time at Burnley were resounding successes. He's been somewhat unlucky since. I'd like to see his name under consideration.
Colbert Report
13/10/2012, 7:32 AM
Trap is going nowhere and the money means nothing to him, he's a millionaire several times over. This is about pride, and he agreed to stay on for another two years. No way he goes anywhere before that, unless he dies.
the bear
13/10/2012, 8:28 AM
Trap is going nowhere and the money means nothing to him, he's a millionaire several times over. This is about pride, and he agreed to stay on for another two years. No way he goes anywhere before that, unless he dies.
Trapatonni sleeps with the fishes
Drumcondra 69er
13/10/2012, 12:00 PM
Coyle will command a lower salaray also. This will help to cushion the blow of the settlement.
Coyle's first year at Bolton and his time at Burnley were resounding successes. He's been somewhat unlucky since. I'd like to see his name under consideration.
I reckon he'll go back to Burnley, absolutely no chance he'll take the Ireland job if it was available.
DannyInvincible
30/11/2012, 6:07 PM
'Owen Coyle: Irish cap but born and bred in Gorbals': http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/owen-coyle-irish-cap-but-born-and-bred-in-gorbals-1-2668096
WHEN he was a player, Owen Coyle admits that pragmatism trumped over patriotism. So convinced was he that he wasn’t good enough to play for Scotland, he jumped at an offer to represent the Republic of Ireland.
It is a decision which almost took him to a World Cup finals, narrowly missing out on a place in Jack Charlton’s squad for the 1994 tournament in the United States.
Coyle remains fiercely proud of his Irish heritage but both his accent and his sense of footballing identity are firmly rooted in the land where he first made his name as a prolific striker and then one of the most highly
regarded young managers of recent years.
Currently in between jobs following his dismissal by Bolton Wanderers last month, Coyle was back on home turf in
Glasgow yesterday in his role as a Scottish Football Association youth ambassador at a Tesco Bank Football Challenge event at the Toryglen Regional Football Centre.
He may yet find himself being approached by the SFA for an altogether more elevated post as he has emerged as one of the leading potential candidates to succeed Craig Levein as the new Scotland manager.
Coyle has also been linked with the Republic of Ireland job in the recent past, amid speculation over Giovanni Trapattoni’s future, but it is clear he feels a strong affinity to Scotland despite his status as a former Irish international. “My mum will probably fall out with me here,” he smiled, in reference to his Donegal parentage. “But the simplest answer to whether I feel more Irish or Scottish is that at the time I was asked to play for Ireland, I was a part-timer with Dumbarton in the Scottish First Division.
“I was asked if I wanted to play for the Irish under-21 side back in 1987. At that time, the Scotland under-21 side was one of the best we’d had for a long, long time. Seven or eight of them were first-team regulars, a lot of them with the Old Firm – lads like Ian Durrant, Derek Ferguson, Derek Whyte, Peter Grant, Joe Miller, Robert Fleck and Ian Ferguson.
“I was 9st 7lbs at the time – before I bulked up to 9st 12lbs later on my career! So it was a very simple choice for me when Ireland asked me to represent them.
“My ambition was to play at the highest level possible and, if I’m being totally honest, I didn’t and still don’t think I would have been good enough to play for Scotland.
“But the Irish watched me play six or seven times for Dumbarton and my first game for them was actually against Scotland. It was a European Under-21 Championship qualifier at Tynecastle in February 1987.
“I remember big Alex McLeish and the St Mirren goalkeeper Campbell Money were the two over-age players in the Scotland team that night. In the first minute, I waltzed past Big Eck and then took the ball round Campbell and scored. Scotland still won 4-1, though. Robert Fleck got a hat-trick and Ian
Ferguson scored the other one. As I say, they had a fantastic team back then.”
Coyle actually managed just seven minutes of action for the Irish senior team, replacing Tommy Coyne in the final
stages of a famous 1-0 friendly win over the Netherlands in Tilburg just two months before the 1994 World Cup finals.
At that time, Coyle was perhaps at the height of his powers as a player with Bolton Wanderers and was regarded as a serious candidate for the Irish squad which travelled to the USA. But he lost out as Charlton named Coyne, John Aldridge, Tony Cascarino and David Kelly as the four strikers in his party. Coyle never won another cap for
Ireland but has no regrets.
“I’ve got Irish parents and I’m very proud of that,” he added. “That will never change. But I’m Gorbals born and bred.”
At 46, Coyle knows he may be regarded by some as still too young for the Scotland job. But, while he understands the perception that international football is better suited to older, more experienced coaches, he does not feel it would necessarily preclude him from taking it on at this stage of his career.
“There is a lot of merit in that argument,” said Coyle. “International football management has always been associated with the older age group but I think it has changed a wee bit in recent times. Look at Michael O’Neill in charge of Northern Ireland, or Slaven Bilic when he was with Croatia. They are both younger coaches. I’ve always loved working day-to-day with players, I’ve never made any secret of that, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t listen to what the SFA had to say if they were to consider me.
“We’ll wait and see what comes up. There are fantastic candidates for the job, such as Gordon Strachan. There are a number of others out there. We’re very lucky in that respect and I’m pretty sure the SFA will get the right man.
“What I will say is that we have a good group of players and you want the national team to do well. There is no reason why we can’t do so again. I think everyone would now accept that to finish above either of the
current top two in our World Cup group is going to be
extremely difficult.
“We could probably win all our remaining games and still not do it. It’s not like club football, there are no transfer windows. The new man will have to work with the players currently available and the younger ones coming through.
“But whoever comes in would still want to finish as high up the group table as possible and then give us a chance of qualifying for the next European Championship in 2016.”
http://images.fanpop.com/images/image_uploads/Braveheart-braveheart-727143_413_479.jpg
Good man yourself Owen.
30/11/2012, 8:24 PM
Call him up Trap!
CraftyToePoke
03/12/2012, 2:34 AM
I'm sure I read an interview with this guy someplace else another time, a time when possibly the Scots job wasn't available, when he was going on about growing up in an area dubbed 'little Donegal' and being aware of being Irish. Strong ex-pat community, big Gaoth Dobhair influence of his father, etc.
03/12/2012, 7:04 AM
This one perhaps?
disappointed but never disillusioned (http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/disappointed-but-never-disillusioned-1258845.html)
DannyInvincible
03/12/2012, 6:33 PM
They called where he grew up 'mini-Donegal' so when he, Glasgow-born, was given the chance to play for Ireland , he didn't have to think about it. There was a choice, he says because Scotland wanted him too, but there was no decision to make. His first match for the U-21s was against Scotland and Coyle, as he tended to do, scored early, but Scotland went on to win.
Hmm... A glaring inconsistency there.
CraftyToePoke
04/12/2012, 2:14 AM
What a carry on from him. Eyes peeled so for what he spouts when Trap does leave.
04/12/2012, 9:17 AM
Hmm... A glaring inconsistency there.
There is no inconsistency from Owen, if you think so then read them both again.
DannyInvincible
04/12/2012, 9:32 AM
There is no inconsistency from Owen, if you think so then read them both again.
So, did Scotland want him or not? The more recent piece would indicate there was no interest from the SFA and that he didn't see himself as good enough anyway, whilst the older piece claims the SFA were interested and that he chose to play for Ireland in spite of this.
"My ambition was to play at the highest level possible and, if I’m being totally honest, I didn’t and still don’t think I would have been good enough to play for Scotland."
There was a choice, he says because Scotland wanted him too, but there was no decision to make.
04/12/2012, 9:37 AM
he didn't have to think about it. There was a choice, he says because Scotland wanted him too
Ya he clearly says in the other article that he thought scotland didnt want him. Why lie now or then?
04/12/2012, 9:46 AM
So, did Scotland want him or not? The more recent piece would indicate there was no interest from the SFA and that he didn't see himself as good enough anyway, whilst the older piece claims the SFA were interested and that he chose to play for Ireland in spite of this.
That's not an inconsistency. In the Scotsman article, there is an implication that he had a choice to join the SFA u21, whereas in the Indo article, it directly states that he had an invitation from the SFA to join the squad.
As I wrote, there is no inconsistency from Owen in this matter. If you feel there is an inconsistency, then that comes down to another factor - journalistic style/emphasis/slant.
peadar1987
04/12/2012, 9:54 AM
The way I read it, the SFA wanted him, and in an ideal world he would have liked to play for them, but thought that he'd have a better chance of not just sitting on the bench if he declared for Ireland.
Worked out really well for him as well
DannyInvincible
04/12/2012, 9:54 AM
That's not an inconsistency. In the Scotsman article, there is an implication that he had a choice to join the SFA u21
How do you surmise that? The implication is the exact opposite. Why would he think of himself as not being good enough if they'd offered him the choice? And why would he bother mentioning the lowly level at which he was playing in comparison to other under-21 players the SFA did actually entertain?
04/12/2012, 10:02 AM
How do you surmise that?
I don't surmise my opinion, I base my opinion on an accurate understanding of what Owen is quoted as saying :)
Why would he think of himself as not being good enough if they'd offered him the choice?
Owen stated his reason, mentioned below.
And why would he bother mentioning the lowly level at which he was playing in comparison to other under-21 players the SFA did actually entertain?
That was answered by, he didn't feel he was as good as those players he mentioned and would not have been good enough to make the first team.
Paddy Garcia
05/12/2012, 6:24 PM
I really don't like being disOwened by former players.
DannyInvincible
05/12/2012, 10:30 PM
I really don't like being disOwened by former players.
That one made me recoyle in horror!
TrapAPony
05/12/2012, 10:32 PM
I think Coyle is up his Owen arse
Sullivinho
05/12/2012, 10:37 PM
Owen, no!
Eminence Grise
06/12/2012, 6:14 PM
Aaaarrrgh. What's with all the punning?
Scot to stop!
07/12/2012, 12:18 AM
Hey, I'm a Scot too,
And this is crazy,
But here's my number
So Coyle me, maybe?
And all the Irish boys,
Tried to change me
But here's my number
So Coyle me, maybe?
:o
CraftyToePoke
15/06/2013, 12:42 PM
Is the new Wigan manager.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22902197
03/12/2013, 1:18 PM
Two things need to happen:
1. Delaney needs to sound out Coyle and see if he is interested in the Irish job.
2. If he is, John needs to get Denis O'Brien and Trap in a room and negotiate cancellation of his contract. He has just over a yr and half left on his contract now. We're talking around 1&1/4m. Probably get rid of him for just under a million. In the long run it will be money well spent if we can get Coyle in.
This circus has to stop now.
Glad we didn't get him in. At one stage the "Arsene Wenger Out!" fans were touting Coyle for the Arsenal job. Now lost his last two jobs. On a slide. Who next? Sheffield Wednesday ?
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 2:14 PM
Glad we didn't get him in. At one stage the "Arsene Wenger Out!" fans were touting Coyle for the Arsenal job. Now lost his last two jobs. On a slide. Who next? Sheffield Wednesday ?
Brian Clough was sacked after 40 days at Leeds. Lucky Forest didn't hold that against him.
Coyle has taken over two rotten teams with loser mentalities who belong in the second division. I wouldn't write him off yet.
03/12/2013, 2:19 PM
Brian Clough was sacked after 40 days at Leeds. Lucky Forest didn't hold that against him.
Coyle has taken over two rotten teams with loser mentalities who belong in the second division. I wouldn't write him off yet.
Are you implying that he would be a write-off as a manager if took over the Sheff Wed job?
03/12/2013, 2:44 PM
did wigan not win the FA cup last year
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 2:57 PM
Are you implying that he would be a write-off as a manager if took over the Sheff Wed job?
No, I was merely disagreeing that we should feel we dodged a bullet by him not becoming the new Ireland manager.
If you want to talk about Wednesday though, I watched my lads take the easiest 3 points we'll take this season from anyone off the Owls last week on Sky Sports. Destined for the drop unless Jermaine Johnston can save them. Coyle would need his head examined to be taking over there.
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 2:58 PM
did wigan not win the FA cup last year
I have no idea who won that cup last year, it means nothing to me anymore. I do know they got relegated and their best players fled like proverbial rats from a ship though.
03/12/2013, 3:13 PM
I have no idea who won that cup last year, it means nothing to me anymore. I do know they got relegated and their best players fled like proverbial rats from a ship though.
well now that you do I am sure you'll change your mind that they have a "loser mentality" given they actually won one of the three competitions they were in last year. given the size of the crowds that they attract and the much bigger clubs in their catchement area wigan actually did very well to stay in the EPL as long as they did.
all good players leave a relegated club. no news in that
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 3:58 PM
well now that you do I am sure you'll change your mind that they have a "loser mentality" given they actually won one of the three competitions they were in last year. given the size of the crowds that they attract and the much bigger clubs in their catchement area wigan actually did very well to stay in the EPL as long as they did.
all good players leave a relegated club. no news in that
You must be joking. Wigan are a horrid club in a rugby league area where most football fans support Man United (my English cousin from there is one). Like Blackburn they have feck all fans in relation to their status. They stayed up as it's a vanity project for that ******** Dave Whelan and were eventually relegated despite having many quality players in their squad.
03/12/2013, 4:03 PM
No, I was merely disagreeing that we should feel we dodged a bullet by him not becoming the new Ireland manager.
If you want to talk about Wednesday though, I watched my lads take the easiest 3 points we'll take this season from anyone off the Owls last week on Sky Sports. Destined for the drop unless Jermaine Johnston can save them. Coyle would need his head examined to be taking over there.
In a sort of roundabout way you are saying his career would be a write-off, if he took the SW job.
I'd agree that he shouldn't be written off just yet.
which means he shouldn't go for the SW job :)
03/12/2013, 4:07 PM
You must be joking. Wigan are a horrid club in a rugby league area where most football fans support Man United .
Did I not read somewhere that you're a Huddersfield fan?
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 4:19 PM
Did I not read somewhere that you're a Huddersfield fan?
You did, and our top level is being competitive in the Championship. We don't have a fanbase for the EPL. If someone bought the club and started splashing the cash to get us into the EPL to tread water and eventually be relegated, the majority of the fans would hate it. Instead we have a sensible chairman who spends sensibly (we're due 8.3m for Jordan Rhodes and we've banked the most of that for the future stability of the club) and the fans are perfectly happy to slowly build a squad and maybe one day get promoted on merit. In the meantime, beating top of the table on Burnley on Saturday with a good young manager and some exciting young players is good enough.
03/12/2013, 4:32 PM
Apart from the "horrid" bit (a value judgement on your part), surely Huddersfield is no different to Wigan.
Yard of Pace
03/12/2013, 4:44 PM
Apart from the "horrid" bit (a value judgement on your part), surely Huddersfield is no different to Wigan.
No, not much different at all. Except, like a lot of clubs in the Championship, they have some notion of being a massive club, whilst we know our place. I thought I made that clear in my last post!! In terms of fanbase, we'd be the same, but I'd love to know what their top earner is on compared to ours. I'd say it's at least 4 times as much.
03/12/2013, 4:49 PM
I'd say any notions of Wigan being a massively club are entirely based on the fact they were recently in the Premier League. I doubt any such notions would have existed before Paul Jewell came along. I'm sure expectations will return to normal.
04/12/2013, 11:17 AM
I sense Owls Fan preparing a response.
04/12/2013, 11:32 AM
The opportunities for having a poke at Owls are far too infrequent, that's why we try and provoke a response.
He's a hit and run poster these days with a good turn of foot ..... for a guy his age.
Deckydee
13/11/2014, 4:37 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/leave-the-boos-at-home-says-owen-coyle-30732931.html
Olé Olé
13/11/2014, 6:23 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/owen-coyle-irish-cap-but-born-and-bred-in-gorbals-1-2668096
This was posted by DI earlier.
WHEN he was a player, Owen Coyle admits that pragmatism trumped over patriotism. So convinced was he that he wasn’t good enough to play for Scotland, he jumped at an offer to represent the Republic of Ireland.
It is a decision which almost took him to a World Cup finals, narrowly missing out on a place in Jack Charlton’s squad for the 1994 tournament in the United States.
Coyle remains fiercely proud of his Irish heritage but both his accent and his sense of footballing identity are firmly rooted in the land where he first made his name as a prolific striker and then one of the most highly
regarded young managers of recent years.
Currently in between jobs following his dismissal by Bolton Wanderers last month, Coyle was back on home turf in
Glasgow yesterday in his role as a Scottish Football Association youth ambassador at a Tesco Bank Football Challenge event at the Toryglen Regional Football Centre.
He may yet find himself being approached by the SFA for an altogether more elevated post as he has emerged as one of the leading potential candidates to succeed Craig Levein as the new Scotland manager.
Coyle has also been linked with the Republic of Ireland job in the recent past, amid speculation over Giovanni Trapattoni’s future, but it is clear he feels a strong affinity to Scotland despite his status as a former Irish international. “My mum will probably fall out with me here,” he smiled, in reference to his Donegal parentage. “But the simplest answer to whether I feel more Irish or Scottish is that at the time I was asked to play for Ireland, I was a part-timer with Dumbarton in the Scottish First Division.
“I was asked if I wanted to play for the Irish under-21 side back in 1987. At that time, the Scotland under-21 side was one of the best we’d had for a long, long time. Seven or eight of them were first-team regulars, a lot of them with the Old Firm – lads like Ian Durrant, Derek Ferguson, Derek Whyte, Peter Grant, Joe Miller, Robert Fleck and Ian Ferguson.
“I was 9st 7lbs at the time – before I bulked up to 9st 12lbs later on my career! So it was a very simple choice for me when Ireland asked me to represent them.
“My ambition was to play at the highest level possible and, if I’m being totally honest, I didn’t and still don’t think I would have been good enough to play for Scotland.
“But the Irish watched me play six or seven times for Dumbarton and my first game for them was actually against Scotland. It was a European Under-21 Championship qualifier at Tynecastle in February 1987.
“I remember big Alex McLeish and the St Mirren goalkeeper Campbell Money were the two over-age players in the Scotland team that night. In the first minute, I waltzed past Big Eck and then took the ball round Campbell and scored. Scotland still won 4-1, though. Robert Fleck got a hat-trick and Ian
Ferguson scored the other one. As I say, they had a fantastic team back then.”
Coyle actually managed just seven minutes of action for the Irish senior team, replacing Tommy Coyne in the final
stages of a famous 1-0 friendly win over the Netherlands in Tilburg just two months before the 1994 World Cup finals.
At that time, Coyle was perhaps at the height of his powers as a player with Bolton Wanderers and was regarded as a serious candidate for the Irish squad which travelled to the USA. But he lost out as Charlton named Coyne, John Aldridge, Tony Cascarino and David Kelly as the four strikers in his party. Coyle never won another cap for
Ireland but has no regrets.
“I’ve got Irish parents and I’m very proud of that,” he added. “That will never change. But I’m Gorbals born and bred.”
At 46, Coyle knows he may be regarded by some as still too young for the Scotland job. But, while he understands the perception that international football is better suited to older, more experienced coaches, he does not feel it would necessarily preclude him from taking it on at this stage of his career.
“There is a lot of merit in that argument,” said Coyle. “International football management has always been associated with the older age group but I think it has changed a wee bit in recent times. Look at Michael O’Neill in charge of Northern Ireland, or Slaven Bilic when he was with Croatia. They are both younger coaches. I’ve always loved working day-to-day with players, I’ve never made any secret of that, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t listen to what the SFA had to say if they were to consider me.
“We’ll wait and see what comes up. There are fantastic candidates for the job, such as Gordon Strachan. There are a number of others out there. We’re very lucky in that respect and I’m pretty sure the SFA will get the right man.
“What I will say is that we have a good group of players and you want the national team to do well. There is no reason why we can’t do so again. I think everyone would now accept that to finish above either of the
current top two in our World Cup group is going to be
extremely difficult.
“We could probably win all our remaining games and still not do it. It’s not like club football, there are no transfer windows. The new man will have to work with the players currently available and the younger ones coming through.
“But whoever comes in would still want to finish as high up the group table as possible and then give us a chance of qualifying for the next European Championship in 2016.”
Now, we have this:
AS A highly-promising young striker back in the 1980s, Owen Coyle had a big decision to make on his international allegiance.
The Scottish-born striker opted to throw in his lot with Ireland and, in some sort of a prequel to the experience facing James McCarthyand Aiden McGeady in Glasgow on Friday night, the then Dumbarton player made his first appearance for Ireland in his native Scotland, Coyle on the wrong end of a 4-1 defeat for the Irish U21s in Edinburgh back in February 1987.It turned out to be a meagre return for Coyle: two U21 caps (1987), two B caps (1990-92) and a single senior cap against Holland (1994), meagre in the sense that a career with Scotland could have offered him more, though it's not a source of anger for the Glasgow man, now 48.
"It was a huge thing for my family to see me represent Ireland, and I finally won my one, elusive full cap against Holland in a friendly before the 1994 World Cup. It was a fantastic journey. I have no regrets," says Coyle.
McGeady and McCarthy have never expressed regret over their decision to opt for Ireland over their native land,. though many Scottish fans, encouraged by some rather loose and immature talk from people like Gordon Strachan and Gordon McQueen in the last week, will be given food for thought if they play against their native land in Glasgow on Friday night, though it seems as if injury will rule out McCarthy.
And Coyle, who got stick from Scottish fans when he wore the green jersey in an U21 game at Easter Road back in '87, feels that Scottish fans who jeer McGeady and McCarthy but welcome non-native Scots into their fold are being hypocrites.
"With all due respect, I feel it would be slightly hypocritical for Scotland fans to get too serious about it all because there are players in the Scotland team who were not born in Scotland. It certainly won't affect James or Aiden," Coyle believes.
"To be involved in football, you have to have a thick skin and these guys are two terrifically talented players who would play in the Scotland team all day long.
"Supporters maybe aren't aware of all the circumstances that lead someone to make such a decision either. It was a different era when I chose to play for Ireland and I think supporters who knew the game could understand it.
no abuse
"I was fine. I didn't get abuse. With the type of personality I had, I would like to think I would have been able to deal with it anyway," says Coyle, who took the offer from Jack Chartlon to join the Ireland fold in 1987.
"I had been born and brought up in the Gorbals within an Irish family in an area that was known as 'mini-Donegal'.
"We were brought up within an Irish culture and spent three months over the summer in Ireland," he says.
"It was probably much simpler for me. I love Scotland and I am proud of where I was born, but I was close to Ireland. It was not a tough decision to make.
"From a footballing perspective, I might also have looked at the Scotland squad and felt I would only make it onto the bench as well."
Sectarianism has a regular place at the table of the Scottish game and that, says Coyle, could play a part in the crowd's reception for McCarthy and McGeady on Friday.
"I would like to think that anti-Irish sentiment is not a part of our modern society. I hope we have moved on, but it would probably be naive to think that there won't be some people who come along to give them a bit of stick with something of an agenda. The main thing is that it doesn't get vitriolic," he added.
"It is pantomime, I think that sums it up. The game has evolved in many ways and the supporting of football has changed as well. When I played, fans would often applaud a member of the opposition team as they recognised his talent. It is different now, though, and some supporters do now come along to abuse players. If that is the case during this game, so be it.
"James and Aiden will probably get some stick, but it should be because the supporters are simply upset that they chose to play for Ireland above Scotland and nothing else."
Contradictory or just a dual-national? A bit of both it appears.
CraftyToePoke
13/11/2014, 6:44 PM
[URL]Contradictory or just a dual-national? A bit of both it appears.
I remember thinking he had whatever angle best serves his chances when either country had an opening for a manager before also.
DeLorean
26/05/2016, 2:10 PM
Leaves Houston Dynamo (http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36387772)
seanfhear
26/05/2016, 3:54 PM
Owen Coyle's stock as a manager has fallen a lot in 4/5 years.
Its not that long ago since he was " A bright new manger with a big future"
Some mangers cannot seem to get off the Merry go round but Owen Coyle seemed to get unseated earlier than looked likely only a few years ago.